DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “at least one auxiliary stowable passenger is provided through a side-to-side movement without removal or addition of components to the baby stroller” of claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Similarly, the “retractable canopy that covers the primary seat and the at least one auxiliary stowable passenger seat” of claims 1 and 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Also, the “auxiliary stowable passenger seat” of claims 1 and 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The drawings are replete with such issues and lack several of the limitations in the claims as noted above and below regarding indefiniteness and, therefore should be thoroughly reviewed and corrected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims are replete with limitations that are not illustrated by the drawings or discussed in the specification in a manner in which Examiner can ascertain the scope of the claim. For example, claim 1 recites “a retractable canopy that covers the primary seat and the at least one auxiliary stowable passenger seat.” However, the drawings do not show a canopy covering both seats. Based on the original disclosure, it is not clear how the canopy deploys to cover either one or two seats, especially since the disclosure indicates a laterally opening stroller as well as a longitudinally telescoping stroller (at least claims 2 vs 3). Claim 2 recites the secondary seat “provided through a side-to-side movement without removal or addition of components.” This is unclear and confusing because the original disclosure is not clear as to how this is achieved and the scope of the claim is therefore indefinite. Claim 4 recites “wherein the front-to-back movement is through the at least one auxiliary stowable passenger seat folding under the primary seat.” This is not shown in the drawings and the scope of the limitation is therefore rendered indefinite as Examiner is not able to ascertain the structure covered by this claim limitation. As noted, the claims are replete with such issues and should be carefully reviewed and corrected before resubmission.
Claims 2 and 3 recite the limitation "the at least one auxiliary stowable passenger" in lines 1-2 of the claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claims recite a stowable passenger seat, but do not previously recite a stowable passenger.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krieger (US Pat. No. 8,256,793) in view of Gondobintoro (US Pat. No. 6,676,140).
Regarding claim 1, Krieger discloses A multi-functional baby stroller (title) comprising: a primary seat (generally at 30); a retractable canopy (28) that covers the primary seat; a spring-loaded umbrella (20) that is capable of opening to cover a person operating the multi-functional baby stroller; and a storage area (at least area under seat as shown in fig 1) capable of receiving a diaper bag.
Krieger does not specifically disclose at least one auxiliary stowable passenger seat; the canopy covering the at least one auxiliary stowable passenger seat.
At least Gondobintoro discloses at least one auxiliary stowable passenger seat (Abst, figs 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the stowable passenger seat as in Gondobintoro with the stroller arrangement of Krieger to provide at least one auxiliary stowable passenger seat; the canopy covering the at least one auxiliary stowable passenger seat, since it would have allowed for greater occupancy without significant modification.
Regarding claim 2, Krieger in view of Gondobintoro discloses wherein the at least one auxiliary stowable passenger is provided through a side-to-side movement without removal or addition of components to the baby stroller (since a front-rear direction or side-to-side direction have not been established and Gondobintoro may be interpreted as side-to-side expansion in view of indefiniteness noted above).
Regarding claim 3, Krieger in view of Gondobintoro discloses wherein the at least one auxiliary stowable passenger is provided through a front-to-back movement without removal or addition of components to the baby stroller (at least Abst, figs 2-3 of Gondobintoro).
Regarding claim 4, Krieger in view of Gondobintoro discloses wherein the front-to-back movement is through the at least one auxiliary stowable passenger seat folding under the primary seat (at least fig 2, where the secondary seat is stored behind and below the primary seat; as best understood in view of indefiniteness noted above).
Regarding claim 5, Krieger in view of Gondobintoro discloses wherein the storage area is provided under the baby stroller (at least annotated fig below).
Regarding claim 7, Krieger in view of Gondobintoro discloses the invention except for specifically pointing out wherein the stroller is formed of titanium and composite metals.
However, the use of composite metals or titanium as materials for the frame of the stroller is an obvious matter of design choice.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the stroller is formed of titanium and composite metals, since it would have made a sturdy and lightweight frame and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 8, Krieger in view of Gondobintoro discloses further comprising: a slot at a side of the stroller to expand the at least one auxiliary stowable passenger seat (at least slots 30, figs of Gondobintoro).
Regarding claim 9, Krieger in view of Gondobintoro discloses wherein the spring-loaded umbrella is detachable (at least fig 1 of Krieger).
Regarding claim 10, Krieger in view of Gondobintoro discloses wherein the retractable canopy is removable (at least col 3, lines 28-29 of Krieger).
Regarding claim 11, Krieger in view of Gondobintoro discloses further comprising: an extender portion capable of pulling forward to extend the baby stroller to receive the at least one auxiliary stowable passenger seat in a front-to-back direction (telescoping frame, fig 3 of Gondobintor as best understood in view of indefiniteness).
Regarding claims 12-16, Krieger in view of Gondobintoro discloses further comprising: a detachable foot rest capable of being stored in the storage area when not in use (see annotated fig below); further comprising: a detachable tray capable of being stored in the storage area when not in use (see annotated fig below); further comprising: an opening on a side of the baby stroller to allow a child riding in the baby stroller to see out the side of the baby stroller while seated (see annotated fig below); further comprising: a detachable handle capable of being stored in the storage area when not in use (see annotated fig below); further comprising: a receiver that receives the spring-loaded umbrella when not in use (see annotated fig below).
Regarding claims 18-20, Krieger in view of Gondobintoro discloses A multi-functional baby stroller comprising: a primary seat; at least one auxiliary stowable passenger seat; an extender portion capable of pulling forward to extend the baby stroller to receive the at least one auxiliary stowable passenger seat in a front-to-back direction; a slot at a side of the stroller to expand the at least one auxiliary stowable passenger seat; a retractable canopy that covers the primary seat and the at least one auxiliary stowable passenger seat; a spring-loaded umbrella that is capable of opening to cover a person operating the multi-functional baby stroller; and a storage area capable of receiving a diaper bag (see discussion of claims 1, 8 and 11 above); wherein the storage area is capable of receiving a plurality of detachable accessories selected from the group comprising: a handle, a foot rest, and a tray (wherein the storage area is capable of storing these items, also see discussion of claims 12-13 and 15 above); further comprising: a receiver that receives the spring-loaded umbrella when not in use (see discussion of claim 16 above).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krieger and Gondobintoro as discussed above and further in view of Cortez (US Pat. No. 9,668,589).
Regarding claim 6, Krieger in view of Gondobintoro disclose the invention except for specifically pointing out wherein the storage area is a baby strap carrier that is capable of being converted to a diaper changing pad attachable underneath the primary seat or the at least one auxiliary stowable passenger seat.
However, at least Cortez discloses a baby strap carrier that is capable of being converted to a diaper changing pat attachable to the stroller for changing (at least figs 2-7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the strap carrier capable use as a changing table technique of Cortez with the teachings of Krieger to provide wherein the storage area is a baby strap carrier that is capable of being converted to a diaper changing pad attachable underneath the primary seat or the at least one auxiliary stowable passenger seat, since it would have provided a dual use of the diaper bag and made the stroller more versatile.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krieger and Gondobintoro as discussed above and further in view of Guimaraens (US Pat. No. 8,991,409).
Regarding claim 17, Krieger in view of Gondobintoro disclose the invention except for specifically pointing out the receiver further comprising: a fastening mechanism capable of securing the receiver around the spring-loaded umbrella for storage when not in use.
However, at least Guimaraens discloses an umbrella storage arrangement for a stroller (at least figs 5 and 6) wherein the receiver (at least figs 1A, 1B) further comprising: a fastening mechanism (generally at 128) capable of securing the receiver around the spring-loaded umbrella for storage when not in use (at least col 5, lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the storage securing means of Guimaraens with the umbrella of Krieger, since it would have provided a simple means of storage that keeps the umbrella out of view and secure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited disclose numerous aspects of the claims. Accordingly, a thorough review of the references cited prior to amending the claims may be useful for an indication of what would be considered obvious in view of the prior art.
JACOB B. MEYER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3613
/JACOB B MEYER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613