DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/01/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) under the combination of prior arts have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Attar (US PG.no 20230088185), further in view of Thomas (US pg. no. 20210119828).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 8-11, and 14-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kok (US pg. no. 20250071063), further in view of Attar (US PG.no 20230088185), further in view of Thomas (US pg. no. 20210119828).
Regarding claim Kok discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a first network device, a first message generated by an originating network device that includes BGP message associated with an address identifier of the originating network device([0019] discloses switch or routers, including leaf switches and spine switches LSN 106, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SS1 202A, SSN 202B, can exchange routing information using advertisements 204 (message) that are a specific type of configuration-based communication or messages about associated networks. This communication can include information about bandwidth associated with the networks. The leaf switches and spine switches LSN 106, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SS1 202A, SSN 202B capable of exchanging BGP…exchange routing information among routers or switches that may be in different Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102 (the address information of routers and switches corresponds to address). The routing information may include a complete route to each destination, such as, from a local host to a remote host. While BGP uses the routing information to prepare a routing table 220 and other tables associated with network reachability, it also enables switches or routers to exchange such information across the Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102. The BGP peers can, therefore, inform about routes between each other using the advertisements 204. For example, BGP peers can store routing tables 220 that may include routing information received from the advertisements 204, local routing information for local routes (such as not including a spine switch or gateway), and information that a BGP peer can advertise to other BGP peers in a separate advertisement. Further, the routing table 220 may be generated, in part, by an adaptive routing algorithm 208. The routing table 220 may be used by a routing process of the BGP peer to select a best or active route and may advertise this best or active route to other BGP peers. However, a BGP peer may be configured to advertise different routes to a same destination BGP peer or host; [0022] discloses the advertisements 204 may include a BGP update (message). The BGP update may include a header; a listing of withdrawn routes, such as using internet protocol (IP) address prefixes associated with routes subject to being withdrawn from service or not reachable; infeasible route length of such withdrawn routes; route attributes (route information), including a route origin (associated address to route information), a multiple exit discriminator (MED), the origin's route preference, aggregation information, communities information, confederations information, and route reflection; network layer reachability information (NLRI), including those IP address prefixes of reachable routes (associated address that is address information of remote routes) being advertised; and a total route attribute length directed to route attributes for a reachable route to a destination BGP peer or host); and
determining, by the first network device and based on the BGP message, route information associated with the address identifier and a path from the first network device to the originating network device([0020] discloses exchange routing information among routers or switches that may be in different Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102. The routing information may include a complete route to each destination, such as, from a local host to a remote host. While BGP uses the routing information to prepare a routing table 220 and other tables associated with network reachability, it also enables switches or routers to exchange such information across the Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102. The BGP peers can, therefore, inform about routes between each other using the advertisements 204. For example, BGP peers can store routing tables 220 that may include routing information received from the advertisements 204, local routing information for local routes (such as not including a spine switch or gateway), and information that a BGP peer can advertise to other BGP peers in a separate advertisement. Further, the routing table 220 may be generated, in part, by an adaptive routing algorithm 208. The routing table 220 may be used by a routing process of the BGP peer to select a best or active route (corresponds to determining routing information associated with the address) and may advertise this best or active route to other BGP peers),
But, Kok does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the route information comprises local path quality information indicating a quality of a local link between the first network device and an intermediate network device, and
remote path quality information indicating a quality of a remote path between the intermediate network device and the originating network device, and
wherein the route information further indicates: (i )an association between the local path quality information and a local link identifier corresponding to the local link, and (ii) an association between the remote path quality information, the route location identifier attribute, and the local link identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Attar discloses what Kok discloses that is:
determining, by the first network device …, route information associated with the address identifier and a path from the first network device to the originating network device([0020] discloses exchange routing information among routers or switches that may be in different Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102. The routing information may include a complete route to each destination, such as, from a local host to a remote host. While BGP uses the routing information to prepare a routing table 220 and other tables associated with network reachability, it also enables switches or routers to exchange such information across the Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102. The BGP peers can, therefore, inform about routes between each other using the advertisements 204. For example, BGP peers can store routing tables 220 that may include routing information received from the advertisements 204, local routing information for local routes (such as not including a spine switch or gateway), and information that a BGP peer can advertise to other BGP peers in a separate advertisement. Further, the routing table 220 may be generated, in part, by an adaptive routing algorithm 208. The routing table 220 may be used by a routing process of the BGP peer to select a best or active route (corresponds to determining routing information associated with the address) and may advertise this best or active route to other BGP peers);
Attar further discloses:
wherein the route information comprises local path quality information indicating a quality of a local link between the first network device and an intermediate network device ([0082] As shown in FIG. 5B, a packet transmitted by a leaf device acting as a destination leaf device(originating network device) may include a header 510 and a payload 512. In this example, the header 510 includes a Feedback (FB) Load Balancing Tag (LBT) field 514 and a Feedback (FB) Metric field 516 ((route information)). The FB LBT field 514 may include a FB LBT identifying a port (e.g., uplink) of the source leaf device associated with a congestion feedback metric provided in the FB Metric field 516 (information indicating a quality of a local link)…The congestion feedback metric may indicate a level of congestion (e.g., maximum or total level of congestion) experienced by a previous packet (or multiple packets) that travelled through the fabric from the source leaf device to the destination leaf device that comprises the part of link from the source leaf device (the first device) to the intermediate device (spine device corresponds to the local path); [0080] The congestion information and the LBT may be retrieved from the packet 500 by the destination leaf device, and the destination leaf device may store the congestion information… the destination leaf device may aggregate congestion information for each of a plurality of uplinks (e.g., identified by LBTs) …The destination leaf device may opportunistically transmit congestion state feedback indicating the congestion information associated with the LBT (e.g., as stored at the destination leaf device) to the source leaf device by piggybacking on packets in the reverse direction), and
remote path quality information indicating a quality of a remote path between the intermediate network device and the originating network device ([0082] As shown in FIG. 5B, a packet transmitted by a leaf device acting as a destination leaf device(originating network device) may include a header 510 and a payload 512. In this example, the header 510 includes a Feedback (FB) Load Balancing Tag (LBT) field 514 and a Feedback (FB) Metric field 516. The FB LBT field 514 may include a FB LBT identifying a port (e.g., uplink) of the source leaf device associated with a congestion feedback metric provided in the FB Metric field 516. In other words, the port identified in the FB LBT field may identify the port of the source leaf device for which the feedback is provided. The congestion feedback metric may indicate a level of congestion (e.g., maximum or total level of congestion) experienced by a previous packet (or multiple packets) that travelled through the fabric from the source leaf device to the destination leaf device that comprises the part of link from the intermediate device (spine) to the destination leaf (originating device); [0117-00122] Each spine device 716 may periodically generate a local congestion metric for each of its downlinks 718…[0121] The spine device 716 may decide whether to modify a value in the CE field of the packet header prior to forwarding the packet to the destination leaf device. More particularly, once the spine device 716 selects one of its downlinks via which to send the packet, the spine device may compare the local congestion metric for the selected downlink with the value in the CE field of the packet header. If the local congestion metric of the selected downlink is larger than the value in the CE field, the spine device 716 may replace the value in the CE field with the local congestion metric…When the destination leaf device receives the packet, it may update its Egress Congestion State Table 722 based, at least in part, upon the value in the CE field of the packet in association with the LBT tag provided in the packet header. The leaf device 704 may opportunistically provide feedback to the source leaf device 702 by providing the value obtained from the CE), and
wherein the route information further indicates: (i )an association between the local path quality information and a local link identifier corresponding to the local link([0076] discloses an LBT that identifies a port/u[plink of the source leaf device. Attar explains that the LBT may be a port number identifying the uplink and operates as an identifier for paths originating from that port; [0105-0108] discloses generating a local congestion metric for each uplink, with each uplink having a corresponding metric. Attar expressly associates uplink identifier with corresponding local congestion metric) , and
(ii) an association between the remote path quality information, information identifier attribute, and the local link identifier ([0088] discloses an ingress congestion state table in which the source leaf stores congestion state; [0089] discloses the feedback metric is associated with the particular uplink-destination-leaf-device pair, and the entry corresponding to the identified port and destination leaf device is updated based on the feedback metric; [0109] the ingress congestion table stores for each destination leaf device (destination TEP), a remote congestion metric for each uplink; [0137-0138] for each destination leaf device and each source-leaf uplink, the source leaf maintains a remote congestion metric and performs a lookup of the remote congestion metric associated with each possible uplink for the identified destination leaf device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of the combination with Attar. The modification would allow bath building between specific leaf nodes in leaf spine topology using identifying information of nodes to communicate data to specific node. The modification would allow effective communication in leaf-spine topology.
But, the combination does not explicitly disclose: receiving, by a first network device, a first message generated by an originating network device that includes a route location identifier attribute associated with an address identifier of the originating network device;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Thomas discloses receiving, by a first network device, a first message generated by an originating network device that includes a route location identifier attribute associated with an address identifier of the originating network device ([0029] each of leaf devices 10A and 10B (originating device when originating the advertisement) use Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) to advertise an Ethernet segment route that includes a Route Distinguisher (RD) (a route location identifier attribute), ESI, and an originating network device's network address (e.g., IP address) that corresponds to identifier of the originating network device; [0030] discloses each of leaf devices 10A and 10B may advertise an Ethernet AD route per Ethernet segment to advertise reachability of the leaf device for the Ethernet segment. For example, each of leaf devices 10A and 10B, for each EVI, use BGP to advertise an Ethernet AD route that includes an RD (which may include, e.g., an IP address of the originating PE device), ESI, Ethernet Tag Identifier, and VNI);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of the combination with Thomas. The modification would allow employing advertised originating-leaf identifier with link state mechanism in order to index and retrieve remote link health information to select a path for effective communication.
Regarding claim 3. The combination discloses method of claim 1.
Kok, discloses further comprising: updating a path number attribute of the first message; and
sending the first message to an intermediate network device (FIG. 2 illustrates a system 200 for global bandwidth-aware adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network. The routing protocols 214 can be used to modify 218 an adaptive routing, such as the adaptive routing algorithm 208, in the at least one switch LSN 106. The modification 218 is for selection from different routes, represented by different hops 212, for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The different hops 212 enable the use of a different route, such as using a data communication link 206B from another leaf switch N2 114 to the spine switch SSN 202B that corresponds to updating path number information)).
Regarding claim 5. The combination discloses method of claim 1.
Kok discloses wherein: the remote path quality information indicates a quality of a remote path from the intermediate network device to the originating network device via one or more other links (fig. 2 adv. 204 between 202A and 106 (originating network device see fig. 3) advertising link information (path quality) communication link 206C) (remote path) that connect the intermediate network device to the originating network device ([0020] discloses exchange routing information among routers or switches that may be in different Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102. The routing information may include a complete route to each destination, such as, from a local host to a remote host. While BGP uses the routing information to prepare a routing table 220 and other tables associated with network reachability, it also enables switches or routers to exchange such information across the Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102. The BGP peers can, therefore, inform about routes between each other using the advertisements 204. For example, BGP peers can store routing tables 220 that may include routing information received from the advertisements 204, local routing information for local routes (such as not including a spine switch or gateway), and information that a BGP peer can advertise to other BGP peers in a separate advertisement. Further, the routing table 220 may be generated, in part, by an adaptive routing algorithm 208. The routing table 220 may be used by a routing process of the BGP peer to select a best or active route (corresponds to determining routing information associated with the address) and may advertise this best or active route to other BGP peers);
Regarding claim 6. The combination discloses method of claim 1.
Thomas further discloses , wherein determining the route information comprises:
identifying, based on receiving the first message from the intermediate network device via the local link that connects the first network device and the intermediate network device, the local link; and
determining, based on the local link and the route location identifier, the local path quality information and the remote path quality information associated with a path from the first network device to the originating network device via the local ([0029] each of leaf devices 10A and 10B (originating device when originating the advertisement) use Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) to advertise an Ethernet segment route that includes a Route Distinguisher (RD) (a route location identifier attribute), ESI, and an originating network device's network address (e.g., IP address) that corresponds to identifier of the originating network device; [0030] discloses each of leaf devices 10A and 10B may advertise an Ethernet AD route per Ethernet segment to advertise reachability of the leaf device for the Ethernet segment. For example, each of leaf devices 10A and 10B, for each EVI, use BGP to advertise an Ethernet AD route that includes an RD (which may include, e.g., an IP address of the originating PE device), ESI, Ethernet Tag Identifier, and VNI);
Kok discloses, further comprising: sending, based on monitoring the local link and to an intermediate network device, a third message that includes a path quality attribute associated with the local link (fig. 3 and fig. 2 discloses a network topology where leaf switches and spine devices to exchange path quality and status information to select the best path to reach remote destinations; [0024] Therefore, in at least embodiment, FIG. 2 illustrates a system 200 for global bandwidth-aware adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth (path quality) between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network. The routing protocols 214 can be used to modify 218 an adaptive routing, such as the adaptive routing algorithm 208, in the at least one switch LSN 106. The modification 218 is for selection from different routes, represented by different hops 212, for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The different hops 212 enable the use of a different route, such as using a data communication link 206B from another leaf switch N2 114 to the spine switch SSN 202B).
Regarding claim 8. The combination discloses method of claim 1.
Kok discloses, further comprising: sending, based on monitoring the local link, a third message that includes a path quality attribute associated with the local link (fig. 3 and fig. 2 discloses a network topology where leaf switches and spine devices to exchange path quality and status information to select the best path to reach remote destinations; [0024] Therefore, in at least embodiment, FIG. 2 illustrates a system 200 for global bandwidth-aware adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth (path quality) between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network. The routing protocols 214 can be used to modify 218 an adaptive routing, such as the adaptive routing algorithm 208, in the at least one switch LSN 106. The modification 218 is for selection from different routes, represented by different hops 212, for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The different hops 212 enable the use of a different route, such as using a data communication link 206B from another leaf switch N2 114 to the spine switch SSN 202B).
Regarding claim 9. The combination discloses method of claim 1.
Kok further discloses, wherein the first network device is indirectly connected to the originating network device (fig. 3 discloses in light of the instant application disclosure in [0042], spine switch 302b (first network device) is indirectly connected to 106) , the method further comprising:
receiving, from the intermediate network device a message that includes a path quality attribute (fig. 2 and 3 fig. 114 configured to exchange information 204 (BGP update message) in leaf spine topology), associated with a path from the second network device to the originating network device ([0024] Therefore, in at least embodiment, FIG. 2 illustrates a system 200 for global bandwidth-aware adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network. The routing protocols 214 can be used to modify 218 an adaptive routing, such as the adaptive routing algorithm 208, in the at least one switch LSN 106. The modification 218 is for selection from different routes, represented by different hops 212, for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The different hops 212 enable the use of a different route, such as using a data communication link 206B from another leaf switch N2 114 to the spine switch SSN 202B; ([0019] discloses switch or routers, including leaf switches and spine switches LSN 106, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SS1 202A, SSN 202B, can exchange routing information using advertisements 204 (message) that are a specific type of configuration-based communication or messages about associated networks. This communication can include information about bandwidth associated with the networks. The leaf switches and spine switches LSN 106, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SS1 202A, SSN 202B capable of exchanging BGP…exchange routing information among routers or switches that may be in different Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102 (the address information of routers and switches corresponds to address). The routing information may include a complete route to each destination, such as, from a local host to a remote host. While BGP uses the routing information to prepare a routing table 220 and other tables associated with network reachability, it also enables switches or routers to exchange such information across the Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102. The BGP peers can, therefore, inform about routes between each other using the advertisements 204. For example, BGP peers can store routing tables 220 that may include routing information received from the advertisements 204, local routing information for local routes (such as not including a spine switch or gateway), and information that a BGP peer can advertise to other BGP peers in a separate advertisement. Further, the routing table 220 may be generated, in part, by an adaptive routing algorithm 208. The routing table 220 may be used by a routing process of the BGP peer to select a best or active route and may advertise this best or active route to other BGP peers. However, a BGP peer may be configured to advertise different routes to a same destination BGP peer or host; [0022] discloses the advertisements 204 may include a BGP update (message)). and
updating, based on receiving the second message, remote path quality information indicated by the route information that is associated with the path (FIG. 2 illustrates a system 200 for global bandwidth-aware adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network. The routing protocols 214 can be used to modify 218 an adaptive routing, such as the adaptive routing algorithm 208, in the at least one switch LSN 106. The modification 218 is for selection from different routes, represented by different hops 212, for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The different hops 212 enable the use of a different route, such as using a data communication link 206B from another leaf switch N2 114 to the spine switch SSN 202B that corresponds to updating path number information).
Regarding claim 10. The method of claim 1,
Kok further discloses, wherein the first network device is indirectly connected to the originating network device (fig. 3 discloses in light of the instant application disclosure in [0042], spine switch 302b (first network device) is indirectly connected to 106) , the method further comprising:
identifying, based on the route information, the local path quality information and the remote path quality information associated with the path from the first network device (fig. 3, any of the spine switches) to the originating network device (fig. 3 any of the leaf switches);
selecting, based on the local path quality information and the remote path quality information, a particular local link for forwarding traffic associated with the address identifier; and forwarding the traffic via the particular local link (([0019] discloses switch or routers, including leaf switches and spine switches LSN 106, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SS1 202A, SSN 202B, can exchange routing information using advertisements 204 (message) that are a specific type of configuration-based communication or messages about associated networks. This communication can include information about bandwidth associated with the networks. The leaf switches and spine switches LSN 106, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SS1 202A, SSN 202B capable of exchanging BGP…exchange routing information among routers or switches that may be in different Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102 (the address information of routers and switches corresponds to address). The routing information may include a complete route to each destination, such as, from a local host to a remote host. While BGP uses the routing information to prepare a routing table 220 and other tables associated with network reachability, it also enables switches or routers to exchange such information across the Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102. The BGP peers can, therefore, inform about routes between each other using the advertisements 204. For example, BGP peers can store routing tables 220 that may include routing information received from the advertisements 204, local routing information for local routes (such as not including a spine switch or gateway), and information that a BGP peer can advertise to other BGP peers in a separate advertisement. Further, the routing table 220 may be generated, in part, by an adaptive routing algorithm 208. The routing table 220 may be used by a routing process of the BGP peer to select a best or active route and may advertise this best or active route to other BGP peers. However, a BGP peer may be configured to advertise different routes to a same destination BGP peer or host; [0022] discloses the advertisements 204 may include a BGP update (message); [0024] Therefore, in at least embodiment, FIG. 2 illustrates a system 200 for global bandwidth-aware adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network. The routing protocols 214 can be used to modify 218 an adaptive routing, such as the adaptive routing algorithm 208, in the at least one switch LSN 106. The modification 218 is for selection from different routes, represented by different hops 212, for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The different hops 212 enable the use of a different route, such as using a data communication link 206B from another leaf switch N2 114 to the spine switch SSN 202B; [0045] discloses form the modification of the adaptive routing using the weighting values, there are merely exemplary and non-limiting. The routing protocols are used to modify an adaptive routing, as supported in part using the examples in FIGS. 1-3, in the at least one switch for selection from different routes for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The selection may be enabled within leaf switches or spine switches or a combination thereof based in part on determination made in at least one of such leaf switches or spine switches that may be nearest to a failed or congested link that may be downstream (reflecting a remote location) relative to a local host machine);
Regarding claim 11. In the combination Kok discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions, the set of instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first network device (fig. 3, 202A) , cause the first network device to:
All other limitations of claim 11 are similar with the limitations of claim 1, and is rejected on the analysis of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 14. The combination discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11.
All other limitations of claim 14 are similar with the limitations of claim 6, and is rejected on the analysis of claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 15. The combination discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11.
Kok further discloses wherein the one or more instructions further cause the first network device to:
receive a second message that includes the BGP update message information ((fig. 3 discloses a network topology where leaf and spine devices to exchange BGP update message 204 indicated in [0022]); and
monitor, based on receiving the second message, the local link that connects the first network device and the originating network device associated with the address identifier ([0024] Therefore, in at least embodiment, FIG. 2 illustrates a system 200 for global bandwidth-aware adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network. The routing protocols 214 can be used to modify 218 an adaptive routing, such as the adaptive routing algorithm 208, in the at least one switch LSN 106. The modification 218 is for selection from different routes, represented by different hops 212, for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The different hops 212 enable the use of a different route, such as using a data communication link 206B from another leaf switch N2 114 to the spine switch SSN 202B).
Thomas discloses BGP update message of BGP LS comprising route location identifier attribute ([0029] each of leaf devices 10A and 10B (originating device when originating the advertisement) use Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) to advertise an Ethernet segment route that includes a Route Distinguisher (RD) (a route location identifier attribute), ESI, and an originating network device's network address (e.g., IP address) that corresponds to identifier of the originating network device; [0030] discloses each of leaf devices 10A and 10B may advertise an Ethernet AD route per Ethernet segment to advertise reachability of the leaf device for the Ethernet segment. For example, each leaf devices 10A and 10B, for each EVI, use BGP to advertise an Ethernet AD route that includes an RD (which may include, e.g., an IP address of the originating PE device), ESI, Ethernet Tag Identifier, and VNI);
Regarding claim 16. The combination discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15.
All other limitations of claim 16 are similar with the limitations of claim 8, and is rejected on the analysis of claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 17. The combination discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11.
All other limitations of claim 17 are similar with the limitations of claim 9, and is rejected on the analysis of claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 18. In the combination Kok discloses a first network device (fig. 3 202A), comprising: one or more memories (fig.3 202A comprising memory); and
one or more processors (fig. 3, 202A comprising processor) to:
All other limitations of claim 18 is similar with the limitations of claim 1, and is rejected on the analysis of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 19. The combination discloses first network device of claim 18.
Kok further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive a second message that includes the BGP update message information ((fig. 3 discloses a network topology where leaf and spine devices to exchange BGP update message 204 indicated in [0022]); and
monitor, based on receiving the second message, the local link ([0024] Therefore, in at least embodiment, FIG. 2 illustrates a system 200 for global bandwidth-aware adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network. The routing protocols 214 can be used to modify 218 an adaptive routing, such as the adaptive routing algorithm 208, in the at least one switch LSN 106. The modification 218 is for selection from different routes, represented by different hops 212, for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The different hops 212 enable the use of a different route, such as using a data communication link 206B from another leaf switch N2 114 to the spine switch SSN 202B).
Thomas discloses receiving BGP update advertisement message of BGP LS comprising route location identifier attribute ([0029] each of leaf devices 10A and 10B (originating device when originating the advertisement) use Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) to advertise an Ethernet segment route that includes a Route Distinguisher (RD) (a route location identifier attribute), ESI, and an originating network device's network address (e.g., IP address) that corresponds to identifier of the originating network device; [0030] discloses each of leaf devices 10A and 10B may advertise an Ethernet AD route per Ethernet segment to advertise reachability of the leaf device for the Ethernet segment. For example, each of leaf devices 10A and 10B, for each EVI, use BGP to advertise an Ethernet AD route that includes an RD (which may include, e.g., an IP address of the originating PE device), ESI, Ethernet Tag Identifier, and VNI);
Regarding claim 20. The combination discloses first network device of claim 18.
Kok further discloses, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a second message that includes a path quality attribute; and update, based on receiving the second message, the route information ([0082] As shown in FIG. 5B, a packet transmitted by a leaf device acting as a destination leaf device(originating network device) may include a header 510 and a payload 512. In this example, the header 510 includes a Feedback (FB) Load Balancing Tag (LBT) field 514 and a Feedback (FB) Metric field 516 ((route information)). The FB LBT field 514 may include a FB LBT identifying a port (e.g., uplink) of the source leaf device associated with a congestion feedback metric provided in the FB Metric field 516 (information indicating a quality of a local link)…The congestion feedback metric may indicate a level of congestion (e.g., maximum or total level of congestion) experienced by a previous packet (or multiple packets) that travelled through the fabric from the source leaf device to the destination leaf device that comprises the part of link from the source leaf device (the first device) to the intermediate device (spine device corresponds to the local path); [0080] The congestion information and the LBT may be retrieved from the packet 500 by the destination leaf device, and the destination leaf device may store the congestion information… the destination leaf device may aggregate congestion information for each of a plurality of uplinks (e.g., identified by LBTs) …The destination leaf device may opportunistically transmit congestion state feedback indicating the congestion information associated with the LBT (e.g., as stored at the destination leaf device) to the source leaf device by piggybacking on packets in the reverse direction).
Regarding claim 21. The combination discloses method of claim 1.
Kok further discloses, wherein the local path quality information indicates a bandwidth or a latency of a path from the intermediate network device to the first network device (fig. 2, [0022], and [0024] disclose advertised message 204 exchanged between leaf switches such as: LS1 114 (first network device) and spine switch switches such as: 202A-202B (intermediate nodes. Considering fig. 2, and leaf switch (LS)1 114 as the first network node, spine switches 202A-202B as intermediate node, Leaf switch 106 as the origin node and link 206A as the local link, links 206B,C as the remote link, advertisement message 204 from 114 to spine switch that comprises bandwidth information of the link 206A corresponds to path quality information of the local path and advertisement message from leaf node 106 to spine switch that comprises bandwidth information of links 206B and 206C corresponds to path quality information of remote link; Where [0022] discloses the advertisement message 204 is a BGP update message; [0024] discloses system 200 for global bandwidth-aware (corresponds to global link bandwidth information aware ) adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth (bandwidth information) between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The links in the configuration of fig. 2 such as 206A-206C corresponds to links). The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network; [0025] the system 200 includes multiple links between each leaf switch LSN 106 to each spine switch SSN 202B, even though this is not illustrated for all leaf switches and for all spine switches. The system 200 is able to recognize an event as being a failed or congested data communication link 206C in at least one of different routes between the local host 1-N 112 and the remote host 1-N 104. Such a failed or congested data communication link 206C may be one of the links (the other being data communication link 206B) between a leaf switch LSN 106 and a spine switch SSN 202B. Further, the failed or congested link may cause the change in the network bandwidth between the local host and the remote host).
Regarding claim 22. The combination discloses method of claim 1.
Kok further discloses, wherein the remote path quality information indicates a bandwidth or a latency of a path from the intermediate network device to the originating network device (fig. 2, [0022], and [0024] disclose advertised message 204 exchanged between leaf switches such as: LS1 114 (first network device) and spine switch switches such as: 202A-202B (intermediate nodes. Considering fig. 2, and leaf switch (LS)1 114 as the first network node, spine switches 202A-202B as intermediate node, Leaf switch 106 as the origin node and link 206A as the local link, links 206B,C as the remote link, advertisement message 204 from 114 to spine switch that comprises bandwidth information of the link 206A corresponds to path quality information of the local path and advertisement message from leaf node 106 to spine switch that comprises bandwidth information of links 206B and 206C corresponds to path quality information of remote link; Where [0022] discloses the advertisement message 204 is a BGP update message; [0024] discloses system 200 for global bandwidth-aware (corresponds to global link bandwidth information aware ) adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth (bandwidth information) between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The links in the configuration of fig. 2 such as 206A-206C corresponds to links). The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network; [0025] the system 200 includes multiple links between each leaf switch LSN 106 to each spine switch SSN 202B, even though this is not illustrated for all leaf switches and for all spine switches. The system 200 is able to recognize an event as being a failed or congested data communication link 206C in at least one of different routes between the local host 1-N 112 and the remote host 1-N 104. Such a failed or congested data communication link 206C may be one of the links (the other being data communication link 206B) between a leaf switch LSN 106 and a spine switch SSN 202B. Further, the failed or congested link may cause the change in the network bandwidth between the local host and the remote host).
Regarding claim 23. The combination discloses method of claim 1.
Kok further discloses, wherein the first message generated by the originating network device (fig. 2, message 204 from LS 106) further includes a border gateway protocol (BGP) path-attribute flag that indicates an optional transitive attribute ([0022] discloses advertisement message 204 is a BGP update message that comprises border gateway protocol (BGP) path-attribute flag that indicates an optional transitive attribute).
Regarding claim 24. The combination discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11.
Kok, wherein the local path quality information indicates a bandwidth or a latency of a path from the intermediate network device to the first network device (fig. 2discloses leaf switch 114 (first network device) and spine switch (intermediate node) exchange message 204 (BGP update message see [0022]) about the link 206A (local path) that comprises bandwidth information of the link (see [0024]).
Regarding claim 25. The combination discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11.
Kok discloses, wherein the remote path quality information indicates a bandwidth or a latency of a path from the intermediate network device to the originating network device (fig. 2discloses leaf switch 106 (originating network device) and spine switch (intermediate node) exchange message 204 (BGP update message see [0022]) about the link 206N and 206C (remote path) that comprises bandwidth information of the link (see [0024]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MESSERET F. GEBRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2445
/MESSERET F GEBRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445