DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under the combination of prior arts have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US pg. no. 20250202822.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 8-11, and 14-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kok (US pg. no. 20250071063), further in view of “North-Bound Distribution of Link-State and Traffic Engineering (TE) Information Using BGP” herein after RFC7752, further in view of Beracha (US pg. no. 20250202822).
Regarding claim 1. Kok discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a first network device, a first message generated by an originating network device that includes a BGP update message information associated with an address identifier ([0019] discloses switch or routers, including leaf switches and spine switches LSN 106, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SS1 202A, SSN 202B, can exchange routing information using advertisements 204 (message) that are a specific type of configuration-based communication or messages about associated networks. This communication can include information about bandwidth associated with the networks. The leaf switches and spine switches LSN 106, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SS1 202A, SSN 202B capable of exchanging BGP…exchange routing information among routers or switches that may be in different Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102 (the address information of routers and switches corresponds to address). The routing information may include a complete route to each destination, such as, from a local host to a remote host. While BGP uses the routing information to prepare a routing table 220 and other tables associated with network reachability, it also enables switches or routers to exchange such information across the Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102. The BGP peers can, therefore, inform about routes between each other using the advertisements 204. For example, BGP peers can store routing tables 220 that may include routing information received from the advertisements 204, local routing information for local routes (such as not including a spine switch or gateway), and information that a BGP peer can advertise to other BGP peers in a separate advertisement. Further, the routing table 220 may be generated, in part, by an adaptive routing algorithm 208. The routing table 220 may be used by a routing process of the BGP peer to select a best or active route and may advertise this best or active route to other BGP peers. However, a BGP peer may be configured to advertise different routes to a same destination BGP peer or host; [0022] discloses the advertisements 204 may include a BGP update (message). The BGP update may include a header; a listing of withdrawn routes, such as using internet protocol (IP) address prefixes associated with routes subject to being withdrawn from service or not reachable; infeasible route length of such withdrawn routes; route attributes (route information), including a route origin (associated address to route information), a multiple exit discriminator (MED), the origin's route preference, aggregation information, communities information, confederations information, and route reflection; network layer reachability information (NLRI), including those IP address prefixes of reachable routes (associated address that is address information of remote routes) being advertised; and a total route attribute length directed to route attributes for a reachable route to a destination BGP peer or host); and
determining, by the first network device and based on the route identifier attribute, route information associated with the address identifier ([0020] discloses exchange routing information among routers or switches that may be in different Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102. The routing information may include a complete route to each destination, such as, from a local host to a remote host. While BGP uses the routing information to prepare a routing table 220 and other tables associated with network reachability, it also enables switches or routers to exchange such information across the Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102. The BGP peers can, therefore, inform about routes between each other using the advertisements 204. For example, BGP peers can store routing tables 220 that may include routing information received from the advertisements 204, local routing information for local routes (such as not including a spine switch or gateway), and information that a BGP peer can advertise to other BGP peers in a separate advertisement. Further, the routing table 220 may be generated, in part, by an adaptive routing algorithm 208. The routing table 220 may be used by a routing process of the BGP peer to select a best or active route (corresponds to determining routing information associated with the address) and may advertise this best or active route to other BGP peers), wherein the route information indicates local path quality information and remote path quality information associated with a path from the first network device to the originating network device ([0019] discloses switch or routers, including leaf switches and spine switches LSN 106, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SS1 202A, SSN 202B, can exchange routing information (route information) using advertisements 204 (message) that are a specific type of configuration-based communication or messages about associated networks. This communication can include information about bandwidth associated with the networks. The leaf switches and spine switches LSN 106, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SS1 202A, SSN 202B capable of exchanging BGP…exchange routing information among routers or switches that may be in different Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102 (path information). The routing information may include a complete route to each destination, such as, from a local host to a remote host. While BGP uses the routing information to prepare a routing table 220 and other tables associated with network reachability, it also enables switches or routers to exchange such information across the Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102. The BGP peers can, therefore, inform about routes between each other using the advertisements 204. For example, BGP peers can store routing tables 220 that may include routing information received from the advertisements 204, local routing information for local routes (such as not including a spine switch or gateway), and information that a BGP peer can advertise to other BGP peers in a separate advertisement. Further, the routing table 220 may be generated, in part, by an adaptive routing algorithm 208. The routing table 220 may be used by a routing process of the BGP peer to select a best or active route and may advertise this best or active route to other BGP peers. However, a BGP peer may be configured to advertise different routes to a same destination BGP peer or host; [0022] discloses the advertisements 204 may include a BGP update (message); [0023] discloses when one data communication link 206C between one spine switch SSN 202B and a leaf switch LSN 106 fails, representing a failure that is downstream from other leaf switches LS1-LSN2 114, LS2-LSN3 222 and a local host 1-N 112, these other leaf switches may receive a BGP update (path information) in an advertisement 204 with reduced weights for prefixes destined behind the leaf switch LSN 106 and for the next-hops till the spine switch SSN 202B at issue; [0024] discloses FIG. 2 illustrates a system 200 for global bandwidth-aware adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 (BGP update message) sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network. The routing protocols 214 can be used to modify 218 an adaptive routing, such as the adaptive routing algorithm 208, in the at least one switch LSN 106. The modification 218 is for selection from different routes, represented by different hops 212, for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The different hops 212 enable the use of a different route (path information), such as using a data communication link 206B from another leaf switch N2 114 to the spine switch SSN 202B).
But, Kok does not explicitly discloses BGP update message comprising route location identifier attribute.
However, in the same field of endeavor, RFC7752 discloses BGP update message comprising route location identifier attribute (RFC7752 discloses BGP extension of the standard BGP that is BGP LS that has BGP update message with additional information of the standard BGP update message to indicate route, node and link information that is exchanged among devices to exchange UpToDate link statuses to determine adaptive route to the conditions of link statuses in the network; RFC 7752, 3. Carrying Link-State Information in BGP discloses BGP update message of BGP LS comprising
-new BGP NLRI (link state NLRI) that further describes links, nodes, and prefixes (the structure is clearly indicated in non-relied upon prior art, US pat. 12149626 see fig. 5, MP_REACH_NRLI attribute part of the BGP LS`s BGP update message of fig. 5 comprising NLRI (link state NLRI) that can be node NLRI, Link NLRI or IPv4/IPV6 NLRI) comprising IGP link-state information and
-a definition of a new BGP path attribute (BGP-LS attribute) (see the additional path attribute such as: link state attribute of BGP update message of BGP LS of fig. 5 of non-relied up on prior art, US pat. 12149626 for link properties and attributes) that carries link, node, and prefix properties and attributes, such as the link and prefix metric (corresponds to path quality) or auxiliary Router-IDs of nodes. Nodes exchange all necessary information of link statuses and metrics with their BGP peers;
3.2 The Link-State NLRI discloses The MP_REACH_NLRI are BGP's containers for carrying opaque information. Each Link-State NLRI describes either a node, a link, or a prefix (See Node, link or prefix NLRI of non-relied up on prior art fig. 5 of US pat. No. 12149626). TLV of link-state NLRI is indicated in fig. 5. When type length value of the TLV are one, two, and 3 respectively corresponds to node NLRI, link NLRI and prefix NLRI respectively. Fig. 8 discloses link NLRI of the BGP LS`s BGP update message structurally comprising identifier, local node descriptor, remote node descriptor, and link descriptor that together with the BGP link state attribute filed of the path attribute of the BGP update message (see fig. 5 of non-relied upon prior art US pat. No. 12149626) corresponds to route location identifier attribute in BGP update message). 3.2.1.2 -3.2.1.4 and 3.2.2 discloses
-local node descriptors of link NLRI of fig. 8. The information in the local node descriptors are indicated by corresponding TLV and sub-TLVs. It discloses. The Local Node Descriptors TLV contains Node Descriptors for the node anchoring the local end of the link. This is a mandatory TLV in all three types of NLRIs (node, link, and prefix).
The Remote Node Descriptors TLV contains Node Descriptors for the node anchoring the remote end of the link. This is a mandatory TLV for Link NLRIs. 3.2.1.4 Node Descriptor Sub-TLVs further discloses the node descriptor sub TLVs of the above local/remote node descriptor TLVs.
-Link Descriptors (see 3.2.2), that discloses the Link descriptor field that is a set of Type/Length/Value (TLV)triplets. The format of each TLV is shown in Section 3.1. The Link Descriptor TLVs uniquely identify a link among multiple parallel links between a pair of anchor routers.
-3.3.2 discloses BGP links state attribute (similar to Link state attribute of fig. 5 of non-relied upon prior art US pat. No. 12149626) comprises Link attribute TLV. It discloses Link Attribute TLVs are TLVs that may be encoded in the BGP-link state attribute with a Link NLRI. Link Attribute TLVs that may be encoded in the BGP-LS attribute with a Link NLRI together corresponds to route location identifier attribute in BGP update message. 3.3.2 discloses the different link attribute TLVs can be maximum link bandwidth TLV, unreserved bandwidth TLV, TE default metric TLV, IGP metric TLV that corresponds to path quality information when they are exchanged among BGP peers); Introduction discloses A router maintains one or more databases for storing link-state information about nodes and links in any given area. Link attributes stored in these databases include: local/remote IP addresses, local/remote interface identifiers, link metric and TE metric, link bandwidth, reservable bandwidth, per Class-of-Service (CoS) class reservation state, preemption, and Shared Risk Link Groups (SRLGs).The router's BGP process can retrieve topology from these LSDBs and distribute it to a consumer, either directly or via a peer BGP speaker).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Kok with RFC7752. The modification would allow utilizing UpToDate link state information in making dynamic and adaptive routing decision based on the current and update link information to effective routing and load distribution using weighted ECMP instead of static ECMP. But, the combination does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the route information further indicates an association between the local path quality information and a local link identifier; and
an association between the remote path quality information, the route location identifier attribute, and the local link identifier;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Beracha discloses wherein the route information (fig. 3, table 303 and table 306) further indicates an association between the local path quality information and a local link identifier(fig. 3, [0053], [0055-0056], and [0059] discloses a route list table 303 may list all possible routes (local and remote links) for forwarding a packet. Each entry in the route list table may be associated with a different destination switch, or a switch on the same level as the switch maintaining the route list table 303 (identifier of this switch corresponds to route location identifier attribute); [0055] The route list table 303 may store information about all possible routes for routing packets traversing the switch. The route list table 303 may be used by an adaptive routing mechanism to forward packets. Each switch in a network may store a respective routing table with an entry for each destination switch which will contain all the possible routes towards that destination; [0056] A state table 306 (remote and local link quality information) may include data which may be updated in response to ARN packets received from other switches (originator nodes). Each entry in the state table 306 (local and remote link quality information) may be associated with a respective entry in the route list table 303 (comprising intermediate node ID and route location identifier attribute that corresponds to ID of the node that sends ARN packet). Like the route list table 303 in FIG. 3, the state table 306 may include one entry for each destination, where the network includes N destinations; [0059] Each destination state 318a-c of the state table 306 may indicate a bandwidth (corresponds to local or remote link quality associated with corresponding local or remote switch connected to the switch storing the information) for a respective destination of the plurality of destinations. The bandwidth may be an integer and may indicate a bandwidth in terms of percentage or bits per second ), and an association between the remote path quality information, the route location identifier attribute, and the local link identifier (fig. 3, [0053], [0055-0056], and [0059] discloses route list table 303 may list all possible routes (local and remote links) for forwarding a packet. Each entry in the route list table may be associated with a different destination switch, or a switch on the same level as the switch maintaining the route list table 303 (identifier of this switch corresponds to route location identifier attribute); [0055] The route list table 303 may store information about all possible routes for routing packets traversing the switch. The route list table 303 may be used by an adaptive routing mechanism to forward packets. Each switch in a network may store a respective routing table with an entry for each destination switch which will contain all the possible routes towards that destination; [0056] A state table 306 may include data which may be updated in response to ARN packets received from other switches. Each entry in the state table 306 (local and remote link quality information) may be associated (association) with a respective entry in the route list table 303. Like the route list table 303 in FIG. 3, the state table 306 may include one entry for each destination, where the network includes N destinations; [0059] Each destination state 318a-c of the state table 306 may indicate a bandwidth (corresponds to local or remote link quality associated with corresponding local or remote switch connected to the switch storing the information) for a respective destination of the plurality of destinations. The bandwidth may be an integer and may indicate a bandwidth in terms of percentage or bits per second; fig. 4 and [0066] To illustrate the tables 303, 306 of FIG. 3, consider the network 400 of FIG. 4. Each leaf switch 404, 405, 406 may store a route list table 303 with an entry for each of the other leaf switches 404, 405, 406 and a state table 306 with an entry for each of the other leaf switches 404, 405, 406. For example, leaf 1 404 may store a route list table 303 with N-1 entries and a state table 306 with N-1 entries. Each entry in the state table 306 of leaf 1 404 may include M destination states 318. [0067] If leaf 1 404 receives an ARN packet which indicates a destination of leaf 2 405 from spine 1 401, then leaf 1 404 may locate the entry of the route list table 303 associated with leaf 2 405, match the entry of the route list table 303 associated with leaf 2 405 with the associated entry of the state table 306 for leaf 2 405, and adjust the destination state 318 for spine 1 401 of the entry of the state table 306 for leaf 2 405).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teaching of the combination with Beracha. The modification would allow aggregating quality information of links in spine-leaf or clos topology to enable adaptive routing using routes that has quality state suitable for effective communication.
Regarding claim 3. The combination discloses method of claim 1.
Kok, discloses further comprising: updating a path number attribute of the first message; and
sending the first message to an intermediate network device (FIG. 2 illustrates a system 200 for global bandwidth-aware adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network. The routing protocols 214 can be used to modify 218 an adaptive routing, such as the adaptive routing algorithm 208, in the at least one switch LSN 106. The modification 218 is for selection from different routes, represented by different hops 212, for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The different hops 212 enable the use of a different route, such as using a data communication link 206B from another leaf switch N2 114 to the spine switch SSN 202B that corresponds to updating path number information)).
Regarding claim 5. The method of claim 1, wherein:
the local path quality information indicates a quality of a local path from the first network device to an intermediate network device via a local link that connects the first network device and the intermediate network device (fig. 2 adv. 204 between 114 and spine switch 202A (intermediate network device) advertising link information comprising the local data communication link 206A (local link)); and
the remote path quality information indicates a quality of a remote path from the intermediate network device to the originating network device via one or more other links (fig. 2 adv. 204 between 202A and 106 (originating network device see fig. 3) advertising link information (path quality) communication link 206C) (remote path) that connect the intermediate network device to the originating network device ([0020] discloses exchange routing information among routers or switches that may be in different Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102. The routing information may include a complete route to each destination, such as, from a local host to a remote host. While BGP uses the routing information to prepare a routing table 220 and other tables associated with network reachability, it also enables switches or routers to exchange such information across the Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102. The BGP peers can, therefore, inform about routes between each other using the advertisements 204. For example, BGP peers can store routing tables 220 that may include routing information received from the advertisements 204, local routing information for local routes (such as not including a spine switch or gateway), and information that a BGP peer can advertise to other BGP peers in a separate advertisement. Further, the routing table 220 may be generated, in part, by an adaptive routing algorithm 208. The routing table 220 may be used by a routing process of the BGP peer to select a best or active route (corresponds to determining routing information associated with the address) and may advertise this best or active route to other BGP peers; .
Regarding claim 6. The combination discloses method of claim 1.
Kok further discloses , wherein determining the route information comprises:
identifying, based on receiving the first message from an intermediate network device via a local link that connects the first network device and the intermediate network device, the local link (fig. 2 adv 204 between 202A and 114); and
determining, based on the local link and the BGP update message information, the local path quality information and the remote path quality information associated with a path from the first network device to the originating network device via the local link ([0024] and [0027] discloses for global bandwidth-aware adaptive routing (routing comprising local and remote link information) in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network. The routing protocols 214 can be used to modify 218 an adaptive routing, such as the adaptive routing algorithm 208, in the at least one switch LSN 106. The modification 218 is for selection from different routes, represented by different hops 212, for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The different hops 212 enable the use of a different route, such as using a data communication link 206B from another leaf switch N2 114 to the spine switch SSN 202B… 0027] In at least one embodiment, the modification 218 to the adaptive routing algorithm 208 includes additional weights 216 to a number of different hops 212 that provides different data communication links 206A-C for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The additional weights may be incorporated in any manner suitable to the disclosure herein, including to normalize or ration part of the weights 210 of the adaptive routing algorithm 208. The weight change removes at least one of the next-hops so that at least the failure or congestion data communication link 206C may be bypassed. Instead, another data communication link 206B may be used).
RFC7752 further discloses what Kok discloses that is identifying, based on receiving the first message from a second network device via a local link that connects the first network device and the second network device, the local link; and
determining, based on the local link and the route location identifier attribute, local path quality information and remote path quality information associated with a path from the first network device to the originating network device via the local link (Fig. 8 discloses link NLRI of the BGP LS`s BGP update message structurally comprising identifier, local node descriptor, remote node descriptor, and link descriptor that together with the BGP link state attribute filed of the path attribute of the BGP update message (see fig. 5 of non-relied upon prior art US pat. No. 12149626) corresponds to route location identifier attribute in BGP update message). 3.2.1.2 -3.2.1.4 and 3.2.2 discloses
-local node descriptors of link NLRI of fig. 8. The information in the local node descriptors are indicated by corresponding TLV and sub-TLVs. It discloses. The Local Node Descriptors TLV contains Node Descriptors for the node anchoring the local end of the link. This is a mandatory TLV in all three types of NLRIs (node, link, and prefix).
The Remote Node Descriptors TLV contains Node Descriptors for the node anchoring the remote end of the link. This is a mandatory TLV for Link NLRIs. 3.2.1.4 Node Descriptor Sub-TLVs further discloses the node descriptor sub TLVs of the above local/remote node descriptor TLVs.
-Link Descriptors (see 3.2.2), that discloses the Link descriptor field that is a set of Type/Length/Value (TLV)triplets. The format of each TLV is shown in Section 3.1. The Link Descriptor TLVs uniquely identify a link among multiple parallel links between a pair of anchor routers.
-3.3.2 discloses BGP links state attribute (similar to Link state attribute of fig. 5 of non-relied upon prior art US pat. No. 12149626) comprises Link attribute TLV. It discloses Link Attribute TLVs are TLVs that may be encoded in the BGP-link state attribute with a Link NLRI. Link Attribute TLVs that may be encoded in the BGP-LS attribute with a Link NLRI together corresponds to route location identifier attribute in BGP update message. 3.3.2 discloses the different link attribute TLVs can be maximum link bandwidth TLV, unreserved bandwidth TLV, TE default metric TLV, IGP metric TLV that corresponds to path quality information that are exchanged among BGP peers that comprise local and remote path quality information to determine the best path).
Regarding claim 8. The combination discloses method of claim 1.
Kok discloses, further comprising: sending, based on monitoring the local link and to an intermediate network device, a third message that includes a path quality attribute associated with the local link (fig. 3 and fig. 2 discloses a network topology where leaf switches and spine devices to exchange path quality and status information to select the best path to reach remote destinations; [0024] Therefore, in at least embodiment, FIG. 2 illustrates a system 200 for global bandwidth-aware adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth (path quality) between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network. The routing protocols 214 can be used to modify 218 an adaptive routing, such as the adaptive routing algorithm 208, in the at least one switch LSN 106. The modification 218 is for selection from different routes, represented by different hops 212, for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The different hops 212 enable the use of a different route, such as using a data communication link 206B from another leaf switch N2 114 to the spine switch SSN 202B).
Regarding claim 9. The combination discloses method of claim 1.
Kok further discloses, wherein the first network device is indirectly connected to the originating network device (fig. 3 discloses in light of the instant application disclosure in [0042], spine switch 302b (first network device) is indirectly connected to 106) , the method further comprising:
receiving, from an intermediate network device a message that includes a path quality attribute (fig. 2 and 3 fig. 114 configured to exchange information 204 (BGP update message) in leaf spine topology), associated with a path from the second network device to the originating network device ([0024] Therefore, in at least embodiment, FIG. 2 illustrates a system 200 for global bandwidth-aware adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network. The routing protocols 214 can be used to modify 218 an adaptive routing, such as the adaptive routing algorithm 208, in the at least one switch LSN 106. The modification 218 is for selection from different routes, represented by different hops 212, for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The different hops 212 enable the use of a different route, such as using a data communication link 206B from another leaf switch N2 114 to the spine switch SSN 202B; ([0019] discloses switch or routers, including leaf switches and spine switches LSN 106, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SS1 202A, SSN 202B, can exchange routing information using advertisements 204 (message) that are a specific type of configuration-based communication or messages about associated networks. This communication can include information about bandwidth associated with the networks. The leaf switches and spine switches LSN 106, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SS1 202A, SSN 202B capable of exchanging BGP…exchange routing information among routers or switches that may be in different Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102 (the address information of routers and switches corresponds to address). The routing information may include a complete route to each destination, such as, from a local host to a remote host. While BGP uses the routing information to prepare a routing table 220 and other tables associated with network reachability, it also enables switches or routers to exchange such information across the Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102. The BGP peers can, therefore, inform about routes between each other using the advertisements 204. For example, BGP peers can store routing tables 220 that may include routing information received from the advertisements 204, local routing information for local routes (such as not including a spine switch or gateway), and information that a BGP peer can advertise to other BGP peers in a separate advertisement. Further, the routing table 220 may be generated, in part, by an adaptive routing algorithm 208. The routing table 220 may be used by a routing process of the BGP peer to select a best or active route and may advertise this best or active route to other BGP peers. However, a BGP peer may be configured to advertise different routes to a same destination BGP peer or host; [0022] discloses the advertisements 204 may include a BGP update (message)). and
updating, based on receiving the second message, remote path quality information indicated by the route information that is associated with the path (FIG. 2 illustrates a system 200 for global bandwidth-aware adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network. The routing protocols 214 can be used to modify 218 an adaptive routing, such as the adaptive routing algorithm 208, in the at least one switch LSN 106. The modification 218 is for selection from different routes, represented by different hops 212, for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The different hops 212 enable the use of a different route, such as using a data communication link 206B from another leaf switch N2 114 to the spine switch SSN 202B that corresponds to updating path number information).
Regarding claim 10. The method of claim 1,
Kok further discloses, wherein the first network device is indirectly connected to the originating network device (fig. 3 discloses in light of the instant application disclosure in [0042], spine switch 302b (first network device) is indirectly connected to 106) , the method further comprising:
identifying, based on the route information, the local path quality information and the remote path quality information associated with the path from the first network device (fig. 3, any of the spine switches) to the originating network device (fig. 3 any of the leaf switches);
selecting, based on the local path quality information and the remote path quality information, a particular local link for forwarding traffic associated with the address identifier; and forwarding the traffic via the particular local link (([0019] discloses switch or routers, including leaf switches and spine switches LSN 106, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SS1 202A, SSN 202B, can exchange routing information using advertisements 204 (message) that are a specific type of configuration-based communication or messages about associated networks. This communication can include information about bandwidth associated with the networks. The leaf switches and spine switches LSN 106, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SS1 202A, SSN 202B capable of exchanging BGP…exchange routing information among routers or switches that may be in different Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102 (the address information of routers and switches corresponds to address). The routing information may include a complete route to each destination, such as, from a local host to a remote host. While BGP uses the routing information to prepare a routing table 220 and other tables associated with network reachability, it also enables switches or routers to exchange such information across the Ethernet groupings 1 110; 2 102. The BGP peers can, therefore, inform about routes between each other using the advertisements 204. For example, BGP peers can store routing tables 220 that may include routing information received from the advertisements 204, local routing information for local routes (such as not including a spine switch or gateway), and information that a BGP peer can advertise to other BGP peers in a separate advertisement. Further, the routing table 220 may be generated, in part, by an adaptive routing algorithm 208. The routing table 220 may be used by a routing process of the BGP peer to select a best or active route and may advertise this best or active route to other BGP peers. However, a BGP peer may be configured to advertise different routes to a same destination BGP peer or host; [0022] discloses the advertisements 204 may include a BGP update (message); [0024] Therefore, in at least embodiment, FIG. 2 illustrates a system 200 for global bandwidth-aware adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network. The routing protocols 214 can be used to modify 218 an adaptive routing, such as the adaptive routing algorithm 208, in the at least one switch LSN 106. The modification 218 is for selection from different routes, represented by different hops 212, for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The different hops 212 enable the use of a different route, such as using a data communication link 206B from another leaf switch N2 114 to the spine switch SSN 202B; [0045] discloses form the modification of the adaptive routing using the weighting values, there are merely exemplary and non-limiting. The routing protocols are used to modify an adaptive routing, as supported in part using the examples in FIGS. 1-3, in the at least one switch for selection from different routes for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The selection may be enabled within leaf switches or spine switches or a combination thereof based in part on determination made in at least one of such leaf switches or spine switches that may be nearest to a failed or congested link that may be downstream (reflecting a remote location) relative to a local host machine);
Regarding claim 11. In the combination Kok discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions, the set of instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first network device (fig. 3, 202A) , cause the first network device to:
All other limitations of claim 11 are similar with the limitations of claim 1, and is rejected on the analysis of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 14. The combination discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11.
All other limitations of claim 14 are similar with the limitations of claim 6, and is rejected on the analysis of claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 15. The combination discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11.
Kok further discloses wherein the one or more instructions further cause the first network device to:
receive a second message that includes the BGP update message information ((fig. 3 discloses a network topology where leaf and spine devices to exchange BGP update message 204 indicated in [0022]); and
monitor, based on receiving the second message, the local link that connects the first network device and the originating network device associated with the address identifier ([0024] Therefore, in at least embodiment, FIG. 2 illustrates a system 200 for global bandwidth-aware adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network. The routing protocols 214 can be used to modify 218 an adaptive routing, such as the adaptive routing algorithm 208, in the at least one switch LSN 106. The modification 218 is for selection from different routes, represented by different hops 212, for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The different hops 212 enable the use of a different route, such as using a data communication link 206B from another leaf switch N2 114 to the spine switch SSN 202B).
RFC7752 discloses BGP update message of BGP LS comprising route location identifier attribute ((RFC7752 discloses BGP extension of the standard BGP that is BGP LS that has BGP update message with additional information of the standard BGP update message to indicate route, node and link information that is exchanged among devices to exchange UpToDate link statuses to determine adaptive route to the conditions of link statuses in the network; RFC 775, 3. Carrying Link-State Information in BGP discloses BGP update message of BGP LS comprising
-new BGP NLRI (link state NLRI) that further describes links, nodes, and prefixes (the structure is clearly indicated in non-relied upon prior art, US pat. 12149626 see fig. 5, MP_REACH_NRLI attribute part of the BGP LS`s BGP update message of fig. 5 comprising NLRI (link state NLRI) that can be node NLRI, Link NLRI or IPv4/IPV6 NLRI) comprising IGP link-state information and
-a definition of a new BGP path attribute (BGP-LS attribute) (see the additional path attribute such as: link state attribute of BGP update message of BGP LS of fig. 5 of non-relied up on prior art, US pat. 12149626 for link properties and attributes) that carries link, node, and prefix properties and attributes, such as the link and prefix metric (corresponds to path quality) or auxiliary Router-IDs of nodes. Nodes exchange all necessary information of link statuses and metrics with their BGP peers;
3.2 The Link-State NLRI discloses The MP_REACH_NLRI are BGP's containers for carrying opaque information. Each Link-State NLRI describes either a node, a link, or a prefix (See Node, link or prefix NLRI of non-relied up on prior art fig. 5 of US pat. No. 12149626). TLV of link-state NLRI is indicated in fig. 5. When type value of the TLV are one, two, and 3 respectively ne corresponds to node NLRI, link NLRI and prefix NLRI respectively. Fig. 8 discloses link NLRI of the BGP LS`s BGP update message structurally comprising identifier, local node descriptor, remote node descriptor, and link descriptor that together with the BGP link state attribute filed of the path attribute of the BGP update message (see fig. 5 of non-relied upon prior art US pat. No. 12149626) corresponds to route location identifier attribute in BGP update message). 3.2.1.2 -3.2.1.4 and 3.2.2 discloses
-local node descriptors of link NLRI of fig. 8. The information in the local node descriptors are indicated by corresponding TLV and sub-TLVs. It discloses. The Local Node Descriptors TLV contains Node Descriptors for the node anchoring the local end of the link. This is a mandatory TLV in all three types of NLRIs (node, link, and prefix).
The Remote Node Descriptors TLV contains Node Descriptors for the node anchoring the remote end of the link. This is a mandatory TLV for Link NLRIs. 3.2.1.4 Node Descriptor Sub-TLVs further discloses the node descriptor sub TLVs of the above local/remote node descriptor TLVs.
-Link Descriptors (see 3.2.2), that discloses the Link descriptor field that is a set of Type/Length/Value (TLV)triplets. The format of each TLV is shown in Section 3.1. The Link Descriptor TLVs uniquely identify a link among multiple parallel links between a pair of anchor routers.
-3.3.2 discloses BGP links state attribute (similar to Link state attribute of fig. 5 of non-relied upon prior art US pat. No. 12149626) comprises Link attribute TLV. It discloses Link Attribute TLVs are TLVs that may be encoded in the BGP-link state attribute with a Link NLRI. Link Attribute TLVs that may be encoded in the BGP-LS attribute with a Link NLRI together corresponds to route location identifier attribute in BGP update message. 3.3.2 discloses the different link attribute TLVs can be maximum link bandwidth TLV, unreserved bandwidth TLV, TE default metric TLV, IGP metric TLV that corresponds to path quality information when they are exchanged among BGP peers).
Regarding claim 16. The combination discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15.
All other limitations of claim 16 are similar with the limitations of claim 8, and is rejected on the analysis of claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 17. The combination discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11.
All other limitations of claim 17 are similar with the limitations of claim 9, and is rejected on the analysis of claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 18. In the combination Kok discloses a first network device (fig. 3 202A), comprising: one or more memories (fig.3 202A comprising memory); and
one or more processors (fig. 3, 202A comprising processor) to:
All other limitations of claim 18 is similar with the limitations of claim 1, and is rejected on the analysis of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 19. The combination discloses first network device of claim 18.
Kok further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to:
receive a second message that includes the BGP update message information ((fig. 3 discloses a network topology where leaf and spine devices to exchange BGP update message 204 indicated in [0022]); and
monitor, based on receiving the second message, the local link that connects the first network device and the originating network device associated with the address identifier ([0024] Therefore, in at least embodiment, FIG. 2 illustrates a system 200 for global bandwidth-aware adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network. The routing protocols 214 can be used to modify 218 an adaptive routing, such as the adaptive routing algorithm 208, in the at least one switch LSN 106. The modification 218 is for selection from different routes, represented by different hops 212, for the network communication between the local host and the remote host. The different hops 212 enable the use of a different route, such as using a data communication link 206B from another leaf switch N2 114 to the spine switch SSN 202B).
RFC7752 discloses BGP update message of BGP LS comprising route location identifier attribute ((RFC7752 discloses BGP extension of the standard BGP that is BGP LS that has BGP update message with additional information of the standard BGP update message to indicate route, node and link information that is exchanged among devices to exchange UpToDate link statuses to determine adaptive route to the conditions of link statuses in the network; RFC 775, 3. Carrying Link-State Information in BGP discloses BGP update message of BGP LS comprising
-new BGP NLRI (link state NLRI) that further describes links, nodes, and prefixes (the structure is clearly indicated in non-relied upon prior art, US pat. 12149626 see fig. 5, MP_REACH_NRLI attribute part of the BGP LS`s BGP update message of fig. 5 comprising NLRI (link state NLRI) that can be node NLRI, Link NLRI or IPv4/IPV6 NLRI) comprising IGP link-state information and
-a definition of a new BGP path attribute (BGP-LS attribute) (see the additional path attribute such as: link state attribute of BGP update message of BGP LS of fig. 5 of non-relied up on prior art, US pat. 12149626 for link properties and attributes) that carries link, node, and prefix properties and attributes, such as the link and prefix metric (corresponds to path quality) or auxiliary Router-IDs of nodes. Nodes exchange all necessary information of link statuses and metrics with their BGP peers;
3.2 The Link-State NLRI discloses The MP_REACH_NLRI are BGP's containers for carrying opaque information. Each Link-State NLRI describes either a node, a link, or a prefix (See Node, link or prefix NLRI of non-relied up on prior art fig. 5 of US pat. No. 12149626). TLV of link-state NLRI is indicated in fig. 5. When type value of the TLV are one, two, and 3 respectively ne corresponds to node NLRI, link NLRI and prefix NLRI respectively. Fig. 8 discloses link NLRI of the BGP LS`s BGP update message structurally comprising identifier, local node descriptor, remote node descriptor, and link descriptor that together with the BGP link state attribute filed of the path attribute of the BGP update message (see fig. 5 of non-relied upon prior art US pat. No. 12149626) corresponds to route location identifier attribute in BGP update message). 3.2.1.2 -3.2.1.4 and 3.2.2 discloses
-local node descriptors of link NLRI of fig. 8. The information in the local node descriptors are indicated by corresponding TLV and sub-TLVs. It discloses. The Local Node Descriptors TLV contains Node Descriptors for the node anchoring the local end of the link. This is a mandatory TLV in all three types of NLRIs (node, link, and prefix).
The Remote Node Descriptors TLV contains Node Descriptors for the node anchoring the remote end of the link. This is a mandatory TLV for Link NLRIs. 3.2.1.4 Node Descriptor Sub-TLVs further discloses the node descriptor sub TLVs of the above local/remote node descriptor TLVs.
-Link Descriptors (see 3.2.2), that discloses the Link descriptor field that is a set of Type/Length/Value (TLV)triplets. The format of each TLV is shown in Section 3.1. The Link Descriptor TLVs uniquely identify a link among multiple parallel links between a pair of anchor routers.
-3.3.2 discloses BGP links state attribute (similar to Link state attribute of fig. 5 of non-relied upon prior art US pat. No. 12149626) comprises Link attribute TLV. It discloses Link Attribute TLVs are TLVs that may be encoded in the BGP-link state attribute with a Link NLRI. Link Attribute TLVs that may be encoded in the BGP-LS attribute with a Link NLRI together corresponds to route location identifier attribute in BGP update message. 3.3.2 discloses the different link attribute TLVs can be maximum link bandwidth TLV, unreserved bandwidth TLV, TE default metric TLV, IGP metric TLV that corresponds to path quality information when they are exchanged among BGP peers).
Regarding claim 20. The combination discloses first network device of claim 18.
RFC7752 further discloses, wherein the one or more processors are further to: receive a second message that includes a path quality attribute; and update, based on receiving the second message, the route information (Introduction discloses A router maintains one or more databases for storing link-state information about nodes and links in any given area. Link attributes stored in these databases include: local/remote IP addresses, local/remote interface identifiers, link metric and TE metric, link bandwidth, reservable bandwidth (path quality attributes), per Class-of-Service (CoS) class reservation state, preemption, and Shared Risk Link Groups (SRLGs).The router's BGP process can retrieve topology from these LSDBs and distribute it to a consumer (consumer receiving the information and updating local database corresponds to updating), either directly or via a peer BGP speaker).
Regarding claim 21. The combination discloses method of claim 1.
Kok further discloses, wherein the local path quality information indicates a bandwidth or a latency of a path from an intermediate network device to the first network device (fig. 2, [0022], and [0024] disclose advertised message 204 exchanged between leaf switches such as: LS1 114 (first network device) and spine switch switches such as: 202A-202B (intermediate nodes. Considering fig. 2, and leaf switch (LS)1 114 as the first network node, spine switches 202A-202B as intermediate node, Leaf switch 106 as the origin node and link 206A as the local link, links 206B,C as the remote link, advertisement message 204 from 114 to spine switch that comprises bandwidth information of the link 206A corresponds to path quality information of the local path and advertisement message from leaf node 106 to spine switch that comprises bandwidth information of links 206B and 206C corresponds to path quality information of remote link; Where [0022] discloses the advertisement message 204 is a BGP update message; [0024] discloses system 200 for global bandwidth-aware (corresponds to global link bandwidth information aware ) adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth (bandwidth information) between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The links in the configuration of fig. 2 such as 206A-206C corresponds to links). The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network; [0025] the system 200 includes multiple links between each leaf switch LSN 106 to each spine switch SSN 202B, even though this is not illustrated for all leaf switches and for all spine switches. The system 200 is able to recognize an event as being a failed or congested data communication link 206C in at least one of different routes between the local host 1-N 112 and the remote host 1-N 104. Such a failed or congested data communication link 206C may be one of the links (the other being data communication link 206B) between a leaf switch LSN 106 and a spine switch SSN 202B. Further, the failed or congested link may cause the change in the network bandwidth between the local host and the remote host).
Regarding claim 22. The combination discloses method of claim 1.
Kok further discloses, wherein the remote path quality information indicates a bandwidth or a latency of a path from an intermediate network device to the originating network device (fig. 2, [0022], and [0024] disclose advertised message 204 exchanged between leaf switches such as: LS1 114 (first network device) and spine switch switches such as: 202A-202B (intermediate nodes. Considering fig. 2, and leaf switch (LS)1 114 as the first network node, spine switches 202A-202B as intermediate node, Leaf switch 106 as the origin node and link 206A as the local link, links 206B,C as the remote link, advertisement message 204 from 114 to spine switch that comprises bandwidth information of the link 206A corresponds to path quality information of the local path and advertisement message from leaf node 106 to spine switch that comprises bandwidth information of links 206B and 206C corresponds to path quality information of remote link; Where [0022] discloses the advertisement message 204 is a BGP update message; [0024] discloses system 200 for global bandwidth-aware (corresponds to global link bandwidth information aware ) adaptive routing in a network communication using at least leaf switch LSN 106 to determine an event associated with a change in network bandwidth (bandwidth information) between a local host 1-N 112 and a remote host 1-N 104. The links in the configuration of fig. 2 such as 206A-206C corresponds to links). The change may be a failure or a congestion event to one data communication link 206C. The at least leaf switch LSN 106 can provide routing protocols 214 for the network communication. The network communication can include the advertisements 204 sent from the at least one leaf switch LSN 106 to spine switches SS1 202A, LS1 114, LSN2 114, SSN 202B, LS2-N3 222 in the network; [0025] the system 200 includes multiple links between each leaf switch LSN 106 to each spine switch SSN 202B, even though this is not illustrated for all leaf switches and for all spine switches. The system 200 is able to recognize an event as being a failed or congested data communication link 206C in at least one of different routes between the local host 1-N 112 and the remote host 1-N 104. Such a failed or congested data communication link 206C may be one of the links (the other being data communication link 206B) between a leaf switch LSN 106 and a spine switch SSN 202B. Further, the failed or congested link may cause the change in the network bandwidth between the local host and the remote host).
Regarding claim 23. The combination discloses method of claim 1.
Kok further discloses, wherein the first message generated by the originating network device (fig. 2, message 204 from LS 106) further includes a border gateway protocol (BGP) path-attribute flag that indicates an optional transitive attribute ([0022] discloses advertisement message 204 is a BGP update message that comprises border gateway protocol (BGP) path-attribute flag that indicates an optional transitive attribute).
Regarding claim 24. The combination discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11.
Kok, wherein the local path quality information indicates a bandwidth or a latency of a path from an intermediate network device to the first network device (fig. 2discloses leaf switch 114 (first network device) and spine switch (intermediate node) exchange message 204 (BGP update message see [0022]) about the link 206A (local path) that comprises bandwidth information of the link (see [0024]).
Regarding claim 25. The combination discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11.
Kok discloses, wherein the remote path quality information indicates a bandwidth or a latency of a path from an intermediate network device to the originating network device (fig. 2discloses leaf switch 106 (originating network device) and spine switch (intermediate node) exchange message 204 (BGP update message see [0022]) about the link 206N and 206C (remote path) that comprises bandwidth information of the link (see [0024]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-US-12149626-B1
-US pg. pub 20190327174 [0006, 0020, 0024, 0024, 0014, 0029, 0033]
-US pg. pub 20230088185 [0021, 0025, 0027, 0029, 0035].
/MESSERET F GEBRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445