Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/22/2025 and was filed after the mailing date of the 03/07/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 9, 11-15, 18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lomayev et al. (US 2021/0105091 A1) ( “Lomayev”) in view of Chen et al. (US 2019/0289612 A1) ( “Chen”).
Regarding claim 2, A method for wireless communication by a wireless communication device, the method comprising: transmitting a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) via a wireless channel, the transmission of the PPDU comprising:
Lomayev [0117]; Reference is made to FIG. 2, which schematically illustrates an EDMG PPDU format 200, which may be implemented in accordance with some demonstrative embodiments. In one example, devices 102 (FIG. 1) and/or 140 (FIG. 1) may be configured to generate, transmit, receive and/or process one or more EDMG PPDUs having the structure and/or format of EDMG PPDU 200.
transmitting a data field of the PPDU via a first resource unit (RU) of a PPDU bandwidth that comprises a first set of subcarriers and a second set of subcarriers of the wireless channel, the data field being transmitted in accordance with dual carrier modulation (DCM) such that the first set of subcarriers carry a first copy of data of the data field and the second set of subcarriers carry a second copy of the data, the data field being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the second set of subcarriers; (Lomayev, Fig. 4, [0148]; In some demonstrative embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4, a symbol, denoted X.sub.k, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 408 (the first set of subcarriers carry a first copy of data of the data field), of an OFDM symbol 404, denoted symbol#1, in a spatial stream 402, denoted stream#1; and the symbol X.sub.k with coding, denoted X.sub.k*, e.g., with complex conjugation, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 430 (the second set of subcarriers carry a second copy of the data, the data field being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the second set of subcarriers), of the subsequent OFDM symbol 406, in spatial stream 422, e.g., as described below.
transmitting a duplicate of the data field of the PPDU via a second RU of the PPDU bandwidth that comprises a third set of subcarriers and a fourth set of subcarriers of the wireless channel, the duplicate of the data field being transmitted in accordance with DCM such that the third set of subcarriers carry a third copy of the data and the fourth set of subcarriers carry a fourth copy of the data, the duplicate of the data field being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of -1 applied to the third set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the fourth set of subcarriers;
(Lomayev, Fig. 4, [0148]; a symbol, denoted Y.sub.k, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 410 (a third set of subcarriers) , of a subsequent OFDM symbol 406, denoted symbol#2, in spatial stream 402; the symbol Y.sub.k with coding, denoted −Y.sub.k*(fourth set of subcarriers carry a fourth copy of the data, the duplicate of the data field being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of -1 applied to the third set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the fourth set of subcarriers) , e.g., with sign inversion and complex conjugation, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 428, of the OFDM symbol 404, in a spatial stream 422, denoted stream#2;
Lomayev does not teach transmitting a long training field (LTF) of the PPDU via the PPDU bandwidth including the first, the second, the third and the fourth sets of subcarriers, the LTF carrying an LTF sequence associated with demodulating the data field and the duplicate of the data field, the LTF being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first, the second, the third and the fourth sets of subcarriers.
Chen teaches transmitting a long training field (LTF) of the PPDU via the PPDU bandwidth including the first, the second, the third and the fourth sets of subcarriers, the LTF carrying an LTF sequence associated with demodulating the data field and the duplicate of the data field, the LTF being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first, the second, the third and the fourth sets of subcarriers.
Chen [0337]; In some implementations, the values for the missing tones may be determined based on: minimizing the PAPR of the LTF signal; +1 or −1 for each missing tone based on those values being the only nonzero values in existing LTF sequences (to maintain legacy compatibility); a phase rotation coefficient (such as +1, +j, −1, −j) may be applied to each missing tone to further minimize PAPR;
In view of Chen, Lomayev is modified such that LTF carrying an LTF sequence associated with demodulating the data field and the duplicate of the data field, the LTF being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1.
Lomayev and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the phase rotation of data applied in PPDU.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Lomayev in the manner described above for the LTF being transmitted with a phase rotation of +1 to minimize peak-to-average-power ratio (Chen [0013]).
Regarding claim 3, The method of claim 2, wherein the transmitting the PPDU comprises transmitting the PPDU to a single user.
Lomayev [0098]; In some demonstrative embodiments, device 102 and/or device 140 may be configured to support one or more mechanisms and/or features, for example, channel bonding, Single User (SU) MIMO.
Lomayev [0117]; Reference is made to FIG. 2, which schematically illustrates an EDMG PPDU format 200, which may be implemented in accordance with some demonstrative embodiments. In one example, devices 102 (FIG. 1) and/or 140 (FIG. 1) may be configured to generate, transmit, receive and/or process one or more EDMG PPDUs having the structure and/or format of EDMG PPDU 200.
Regarding claim 4, The method of claim 2, wherein the transmitting the data field comprises modulating a first set of data bits onto the first set of subcarriers in accordance with DCM, and wherein the transmitting the duplicate of the data field comprises duplicating the modulated first set of data bits onto the second set of subcarriers in accordance with DCM.
(Lomayev, Fig. 4, [0148]; In some demonstrative embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4, a symbol, denoted X.sub.k, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 408 (the first set of subcarriers carry a first copy of data of the data field), of an OFDM symbol 404, denoted symbol#1, in a spatial stream 402, denoted stream#1; and the symbol X.sub.k with coding, denoted X.sub.k*, e.g., with complex conjugation, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 430 (the second set of subcarriers carry a second copy of the data, the data field being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the second set of subcarriers), of the subsequent OFDM symbol 406, in spatial stream 422, e.g., as described below.
Lomayev [0129]; In some demonstrative embodiments, devices 102 and/or 140 may be configured to communicate according to a space-time transmit encoding scheme, which may utilize a frequency diversity scheme, for example, according to one or more Dual Carrier Modulation (DCM) techniques.
Regarding claim 5, Lomayev teaches The method of claim 2. Chen teaches wherein the wireless channel is an 80 MHz channel, the first set of subcarriers corresponds to a first 484-tone resource unit (RU), and the second set of subcarriers corresponds to a second 484-tone RU, or wherein the wireless channel is a 160 MHz channel, the first set of subcarriers corresponds to a first 996-tone resource unit (RU), and the second set of subcarriers corresponds to a second 996-tone RU,
or wherein the wireless channel is a 320 MHz channel, the first set of subcarriers corresponds to a first two 996-tone resource units (RUs), and the second set of subcarriers corresponds to a second two 996-tone RUs.
Chen [0124]; For example, FIGS. 8A and 8B show some example tone plans for 240 and 320 MHz channels that are made up of HE80 tone plans. Tone plans for 80 MHz channels in 2× symbol duration tone plans may use HE40 tone plans that are upclocked by 2. The 160 and 320 MHz channels in the 2× symbol duration tone plans may either use HE80 and HE160 tone plans upclocked by 2, respectively, or duplicate 2 and 4 EHT 80 MHz channel tone plans, respectively (Fig. 8B shows two sets of two 996-tone resource units (RUs))
In view of Chen, Lomayev is modified such that wireless channel is a 320 MHz channel, the first set of subcarriers corresponds to a first two 996-tone resource units (RUs), and the second set of subcarriers corresponds to a second two 996-tone RUs.
Lomayev and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the phase rotation of data applied in PPDU.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Lomayev in the manner described above for the duplicated resources transmitted with a phase rotation of +1 to minimize peak-to-average-power ratio (Chen [0013]).
Regarding claim 9, A wireless communication device, comprising: at least one memory (Lomayev, Fig. 2, Ref. 194);
and at least one processor (Lomayev, Fig. 2, Ref. 191) communicatively coupled with the at least one memory and operable to transmit a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) via a wireless channel, the transmission of the PPDU comprising:
Lomayev [0117]; Reference is made to FIG. 2, which schematically illustrates an EDMG PPDU format 200, which may be implemented in accordance with some demonstrative embodiments. In one example, devices 102 (FIG. 1) and/or 140 (FIG. 1) may be configured to generate, transmit, receive and/or process one or more EDMG PPDUs having the structure and/or format of EDMG PPDU 200.
transmitting a data field of the PPDU via a first resource unit (RU) of a PPDU bandwidth that comprises a first set of subcarriers and a second set of subcarriers of the wireless channel, the data field being transmitted in accordance with dual carrier modulation (DCM) such that the first set of subcarriers carry a first copy of data of the data field and the second set of subcarriers carry a second copy of the data, the data field being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the second set of subcarriers;
(Lomayev, Fig. 4, [0148]; In some demonstrative embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4, a symbol, denoted X.sub.k, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 408 (the first set of subcarriers carry a first copy of data of the data field), of an OFDM symbol 404, denoted symbol#1, in a spatial stream 402, denoted stream#1; and the symbol X.sub.k with coding, denoted X.sub.k*, e.g., with complex conjugation, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 430 (the second set of subcarriers carry a second copy of the data, the data field being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the second set of subcarriers), of the subsequent OFDM symbol 406, in spatial stream 422, e.g., as described below.
transmitting a duplicate of the data field of the PPDU via a second RU of the PPDU bandwidth that comprises a third set of subcarriers and a fourth set of subcarriers of the wireless channel, the duplicate of the data field being transmitted in accordance with DCM such that the third set of subcarriers carry a third copy of the data and the fourth set of subcarriers carry a fourth copy of the data, the duplicate of the data field being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of -1 applied to the third set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the fourth set of subcarriers;
(Lomayev, Fig. 4, [0148]; a symbol, denoted Y.sub.k, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 410 (a third set of subcarriers) , of a subsequent OFDM symbol 406, denoted symbol#2, in spatial stream 402; the symbol Y.sub.k with coding, denoted −Y.sub.k*(fourth set of subcarriers carry a fourth copy of the data, the duplicate of the data field being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of -1 applied to the third set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the fourth set of subcarriers) , e.g., with sign inversion and complex conjugation, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 428, of the OFDM symbol 404, in a spatial stream 422, denoted stream#2;
Lomayev does not teach transmitting a long training field (LTF) of the PPDU via the PPDU bandwidth including the first, the second, the third and the fourth sets of subcarriers, the LTF carrying an LTF sequence associated with demodulating the data field and the duplicate of the data field, the LTF being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first, the second, the third and the fourth sets of subcarriers.
Chen teaches transmitting a long training field (LTF) of the PPDU via the PPDU bandwidth including the first, the second, the third and the fourth sets of subcarriers, the LTF carrying an LTF sequence associated with demodulating the data field and the duplicate of the data field, the LTF being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first, the second, the third and the fourth sets of subcarriers.
Chen [0337]; In some implementations, the values for the missing tones may be determined based on: minimizing the PAPR of the LTF signal; +1 or −1 for each missing tone based on those values being the only nonzero values in existing LTF sequences (to maintain legacy compatibility); a phase rotation coefficient (such as +1, +j, −1, −j) may be applied to each missing tone to further minimize PAPR;
In view of Chen, Lomayev is modified such that LTF carrying an LTF sequence associated with demodulating the data field and the duplicate of the data field, the LTF being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1.
Lomayev and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the phase rotation of data applied in PPDU.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Lomayev in the manner described above for the LTF being transmitted with a phase rotation of +1 to minimize peak-to-average-power ratio (Chen [0013]).
Regarding claim 11, Lomayev teaches The device of claim 9. Chen teaches wherein the LTF comprises an extreme high throughput LTF.
Chen [0059]; Upscaling or duplication may be used to extend the sub-LTF to fill the larger bandwidth of an EHT 240 MHz or 320 MHz channel. Because the LTF is used for channel estimation, it may be desirable to add signals on some tones that do not have signals after upscaling the sub-LTF. For example, after upscaling (which also may be referred to as upclocking) the sub-LTF for a smaller bandwidth channel to form an LTF for the EHT channel, there may be some tones (referred to as missing tones) that do not have signals in the sequence.
In view of Chen, Lomayev is modified such that wherein the LTF comprises an extreme high throughput LTF.
Lomayev and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the phase rotation of data applied in PPDU.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Lomayev in the manner described above for the LTF being transmitted with a phase rotation of +1 to minimize peak-to-average-power ratio (Chen [0013]).
Regarding claim 12, The device of claim 9, wherein the transmitting the PPDU comprises transmitting the PPDU to a single user.
Lomayev [0098]; In some demonstrative embodiments, device 102 and/or device 140 may be configured to support one or more mechanisms and/or features, for example, channel bonding, Single User (SU) MIMO.
Lomayev [0117]; Reference is made to FIG. 2, which schematically illustrates an EDMG PPDU format 200, which may be implemented in accordance with some demonstrative embodiments. In one example, devices 102 (FIG. 1) and/or 140 (FIG. 1) may be configured to generate, transmit, receive and/or process one or more EDMG PPDUs having the structure and/or format of EDMG PPDU 200.
Regarding claim 13, The device of claim 9, wherein the PPDU further comprises a short training field (STF) sequence, the transmission of the PPDU further comprising transmitting the STF sequence with a phase rotation.
Chen [0130]; FIG. 10 shows an example breakdown of short training field (STF) tones in 26-tone RUs for an HE80 tone plan.
Chen [0135]; A basic concatenated STF sequence may involve the duplication of multiple HE or other 80 MHz STF sequences, without a sign flip or phase rotation in any subchannel.
In view of Chen, Lomayev is modified such that wherein the the PPDU further comprises a short training field (STF) sequence.
Lomayev and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the phase rotation of data applied in PPDU.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Lomayev in the manner described above for the LTF being transmitted with a phase rotation of +1 to minimize peak-to-average-power ratio (Chen [0013]).
Regarding claim 14, The device of claim 9, wherein the transmitting the data field comprises modulating a first set of data bits onto the first set of subcarriers in accordance with DCM, and wherein the transmitting the duplicate of the data field comprises duplicating the modulated first set of data bits onto the second set of subcarriers in accordance with DCM.
(Lomayev, Fig. 4, [0148]; In some demonstrative embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4, a symbol, denoted X.sub.k, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 408 (the first set of subcarriers carry a first copy of data of the data field), of an OFDM symbol 404, denoted symbol#1, in a spatial stream 402, denoted stream#1; and the symbol X.sub.k with coding, denoted X.sub.k*, e.g., with complex conjugation, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 430 (the second set of subcarriers carry a second copy of the data, the data field being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the second set of subcarriers), of the subsequent OFDM symbol 406, in spatial stream 422, e.g., as described below.
Lomayev [0129]; In some demonstrative embodiments, devices 102 and/or 140 may be configured to communicate according to a space-time transmit encoding scheme, which may utilize a frequency diversity scheme, for example, according to one or more Dual Carrier Modulation (DCM) techniques.
Regarding claim 15, The device of claim 9 wherein the wireless channel is an 80 MHz channel, the first set of subcarriers corresponds to a first 484-tone resource unit (RU), and the second set of subcarriers corresponds to a second 484-tone RU, or wherein the wireless channel is a 160 MHz channel, the first set of subcarriers corresponds to a first 996-tone resource unit (RU), and thesecond set of subcarriers corresponds to a second 996-tone RU,
or wherein the wireless channel is a 320 MHz channel, the first set of subcarriers corresponds to a first two 996-tone resource units (RUs), and the second set of subcarriers corresponds to a second two 996-tone RUs.
Chen [0124]; For example, FIGS. 8A and 8B show some example tone plans for 240 and 320 MHz channels that are made up of HE80 tone plans. Tone plans for 80 MHz channels in 2× symbol duration tone plans may use HE40 tone plans that are upclocked by 2. The 160 and 320 MHz channels in the 2× symbol duration tone plans may either use HE80 and HE160 tone plans upclocked by 2, respectively, or duplicate 2 and 4 EHT 80 MHz channel tone plans, respectively (Fig. 8B shows two sets of two 996-tone resource units (RUs))
In view of Chen, Lomayev is modified such that wireless channel is a 320 MHz channel, the first set of subcarriers corresponds to a first two 996-tone resource units (RUs), and the second set of subcarriers corresponds to a second two 996-tone RUs.
Lomayev and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the phase rotation of data applied in PPDU.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Lomayev in the manner described above for the duplicated resources transmitted with a phase rotation of +1 to minimize peak-to-average-power ratio (Chen [0013]).
Regarding claim 18, A method for wireless communication by a wireless communication device, the method comprising: receiving a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) via a wireless channel, the receiving of the PPDU comprising:
Lomayev [0117]; Reference is made to FIG. 2, which schematically illustrates an EDMG PPDU format 200, which may be implemented in accordance with some demonstrative embodiments. In one example, devices 102 (FIG. 1) and/or 140 (FIG. 1) may be configured to generate, transmit, receive and/or process one or more EDMG PPDUs having the structure and/or format of EDMG PPDU 200.
receiving a data field of the PPDU via a first resource unit (RU) of a PPDU bandwidth that comprises a first set of subcarriers and a second set of subcarriers of the wireless channel, the data field being received in accordance with dual carrier modulation (DCM) such that the first set of subcarriers carry a first copy of data of the data field and the second set of subcarriers carry a second copy of the data, the data field being received in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the second set of subcarriers;
(Lomayev, Fig. 4, [0148]; In some demonstrative embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4, a symbol, denoted X.sub.k, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 408 (the first set of subcarriers carry a first copy of data of the data field), of an OFDM symbol 404, denoted symbol#1, in a spatial stream 402, denoted stream#1; and the symbol X.sub.k with coding, denoted X.sub.k*, e.g., with complex conjugation, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 430 (the second set of subcarriers carry a second copy of the data, the data field being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the second set of subcarriers), of the subsequent OFDM symbol 406, in spatial stream 422, e.g., as described below.
receiving a duplicate of the data field of the PPDU via a second RU of the PPDU bandwidth that comprises a third set of subcarriers and a fourth set of subcarriers of the wireless channel, the duplicate of the data field being received in accordance with DCM such that the third set of subcarriers carry a third copy of the data and the fourth set of subcarriers carry a fourth copy of the data, the duplicate of the data field being received in accordance with a phase rotation factor of -1 applied to the third set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the fourth set of subcarriers;
(Lomayev, Fig. 4, [0148]; a symbol, denoted Y.sub.k, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 410 (a third set of subcarriers) , of a subsequent OFDM symbol 406, denoted symbol#2, in spatial stream 402; the symbol Y.sub.k with coding, denoted −Y.sub.k*(fourth set of subcarriers carry a fourth copy of the data, the duplicate of the data field being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of -1 applied to the third set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the fourth set of subcarriers) , e.g., with sign inversion and complex conjugation, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 428, of the OFDM symbol 404, in a spatial stream 422, denoted stream#2;
Lomayev does not teach receiving a long training field (LTF) of the PPDU via the PPDU bandwidth including the first, the second, the third and the fourth sets of subcarriers, the LTF carrying an LTF sequence associated with demodulating the data field and the duplicate of the data field, the LTF being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first, the second, the third and the fourth sets of subcarriers.
Chen teaches receiving a long training field (LTF) of the PPDU via the PPDU bandwidth including the first, the second, the third and the fourth sets of subcarriers, the LTF carrying an LTF sequence associated with demodulating the data field and the duplicate of the data field, the LTF being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first, the second, the third and the fourth sets of subcarriers.
Chen [0337]; In some implementations, the values for the missing tones may be determined based on: minimizing the PAPR of the LTF signal; +1 or −1 for each missing tone based on those values being the only nonzero values in existing LTF sequences (to maintain legacy compatibility); a phase rotation coefficient (such as +1, +j, −1, −j) may be applied to each missing tone to further minimize PAPR;
In view of Chen, Lomayev is modified such that LTF carrying an LTF sequence associated with demodulating the data field and the duplicate of the data field, the LTF being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1.
Lomayev and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the phase rotation of data applied in PPDU.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Lomayev in the manner described above for the LTF being transmitted with a phase rotation of +1 to minimize peak-to-average-power ratio (Chen [0013]).
Regarding claim 22, A wireless communication device, comprising: at least one memory(Lomayev, Fig. 2, Ref. 194); and at least one processor (Lomayev, Fig. 2, Ref. 191)communicatively coupled with the at least one memory and operable to receive a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) via a wireless channel, the receiving of the PPDU comprising:
Lomayev [0117]; Reference is made to FIG. 2, which schematically illustrates an EDMG PPDU format 200, which may be implemented in accordance with some demonstrative embodiments. In one example, devices 102 (FIG. 1) and/or 140 (FIG. 1) may be configured to generate, transmit, receive and/or process one or more EDMG PPDUs having the structure and/or format of EDMG PPDU 200.
receiving a data field of the PPDU via a first resource unit (RU) of a PPDU bandwidth that comprises a first set of subcarriers and a second set of subcarriers of the wireless channel, the data field being received in accordance with dual carrier modulation (DCM) such that the first set of subcarriers carry a first copy of data of the data field and the second set of subcarriers carry a second copy of the data, the data field being received in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the second set of subcarriers;
(Lomayev, Fig. 4, [0148]; In some demonstrative embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4, a symbol, denoted X.sub.k, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 408 (the first set of subcarriers carry a first copy of data of the data field), of an OFDM symbol 404, denoted symbol#1, in a spatial stream 402, denoted stream#1; and the symbol X.sub.k with coding, denoted X.sub.k*, e.g., with complex conjugation, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 430 (the second set of subcarriers carry a second copy of the data, the data field being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the second set of subcarriers), of the subsequent OFDM symbol 406, in spatial stream 422, e.g., as described below.
receiving a duplicate of the data field of the PPDU via a second RU of the PPDU bandwidth that comprises a third set of subcarriers and a fourth set of subcarriers of the wireless channel, the duplicate of the data field being received in accordance with DCM such that the third set of subcarriers carry a third copy of the data and the fourth set of subcarriers carry a fourth copy of the data, the duplicate of the data field being received in accordance with a phase rotation factor of -1 applied to the third set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the fourth set of subcarriers;
(Lomayev, Fig. 4, [0148]; a symbol, denoted Y.sub.k, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 410 (a third set of subcarriers) , of a subsequent OFDM symbol 406, denoted symbol#2, in spatial stream 402; the symbol Y.sub.k with coding, denoted −Y.sub.k*(fourth set of subcarriers carry a fourth copy of the data, the duplicate of the data field being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of -1 applied to the third set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the fourth set of subcarriers) , e.g., with sign inversion and complex conjugation, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 428, of the OFDM symbol 404, in a spatial stream 422, denoted stream#2;
Lomayev does not teach receiving a long training field (LTF) of the PPDU via the PPDU bandwidth including the first, the second, the third and the fourth sets of subcarriers, the LTF carrying an LTF sequence associated with demodulating the data field and the duplicate of the data field, the LTF being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first, the second, the third and the fourth sets of subcarriers.
Chen teaches receiving a long training field (LTF) of the PPDU via the PPDU bandwidth including the first, the second, the third and the fourth sets of subcarriers, the LTF carrying an LTF sequence associated with demodulating the data field and the duplicate of the data field, the LTF being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first, the second, the third and the fourth sets of subcarriers.
Chen [0337]; In some implementations, the values for the missing tones may be determined based on: minimizing the PAPR of the LTF signal; +1 or −1 for each missing tone based on those values being the only nonzero values in existing LTF sequences (to maintain legacy compatibility); a phase rotation coefficient (such as +1, +j, −1, −j) may be applied to each missing tone to further minimize PAPR;
In view of Chen, Lomayev is modified such that LTF carrying an LTF sequence associated with demodulating the data field and the duplicate of the data field, the LTF being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1.
Lomayev and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the phase rotation of data applied in PPDU.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Lomayev in the manner described above for the LTF being transmitted with a phase rotation of +1 to minimize peak-to-average-power ratio (Chen [0013]).
Claims 6-8, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lomayev in view of Chen in further view of Luo et al. (US 2010/0177653 A1)( “Luo”).
Regarding claim 6, Lomayev in view of Chen teaches The method of claim 2 wherein the phase rotation is applied to the first set of sub-carriers and the second set of sub carriers.
(Lomayev, Fig. 4, [0148]; In some demonstrative embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4, a symbol, denoted X.sub.k, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 408 (the first set of subcarriers carry a first copy of data of the data field), of an OFDM symbol 404, denoted symbol#1, in a spatial stream 402, denoted stream#1; and the symbol X.sub.k with coding, denoted X.sub.k*, e.g., with complex conjugation, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 430 (the second set of subcarriers carry a second copy of the data, the data field being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the second set of subcarriers), of the subsequent OFDM symbol 406, in spatial stream 422, e.g., as described below.
Lomayev does not teach applying a phase ramp to the sub-carriers.
Luo teaches Applying a phase ramp to the sub-carriers.
Luo [0026]; For CDD, a phase ramp may be applied across subcarriers, and different phase ramps may be applied for different layers. If each layer corresponds to a different transmit antenna, then applying a phase ramp across subcarriers may be equivalent to cyclically shifting the time-domain samples of each OFDM symbol for each transmit antenna by an amount selected for that transmit antenna, with different cyclic shifts being applied for different transmit antennas.
In view of Luo, Lomayev is modified such that a phase ramp is applied to the sub-carriers.
Lomayev and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the phase rotation of data applied in PPDU.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Lomayev in the manner described above for the LTF being transmitted with a phase rotation of +1 to improve performance of data transmission.
Regarding claim 7, The method of claim 6, wherein the second set of subcarriers are ordered with a sequential index of n to the second set of subcarriers.
Lomayev (Fig. 4, ref. 402)
Lomayev [0197]; In some demonstrative embodiments, mapper 129 may be configured to map the first pilot sequence to the plurality of subcarriers of the first plurality of OFDM symbols in the first spatial stream based on a first scrambler bit.
Lomayev does not teach applying the phase ramp comprises applying a phase ramp.
Luo teaches applying the phase ramp comprises applying a phase ramp.
Luo [0026]; For CDD, a phase ramp may be applied across subcarriers, and different phase ramps may be applied for different layers. If each layer corresponds to a different transmit antenna, then applying a phase ramp across subcarriers may be equivalent to cyclically shifting the time-domain samples of each OFDM symbol for each transmit antenna by an amount selected for that transmit antenna, with different cyclic shifts being applied for different transmit antennas.
In view of Luo, Lomayev is modified such that a phase ramp is applied to the sub-carriers.
Lomayev and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the phase rotation of data applied in PPDU.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Lomayev in the manner described above for the LTF being transmitted with a phase rotation of +1 to to improve performance of data transmission.
Regarding claim 8, Lomayev in view of Chen teaches The method of claim 6. Luo teaches wherein the phase ramp is associated with an equivalent circular delay in a time domain and wherein the delay is a fraction of a symbol duration of the data field.
Luo [0026]; eNB 110 may also transmit data to UE 120 using large delay cyclic delay diversity (CDD). For CDD, a phase ramp may be applied across subcarriers, and different phase ramps may be applied for different layers. If each layer corresponds to a different transmit antenna, then applying a phase ramp across subcarriers may be equivalent to cyclically shifting the time-domain samples of each OFDM symbol for each transmit antenna by an amount selected for that transmit antenna, with different cyclic shifts being applied for different transmit antennas. The magnitude of the phase ramp in the frequency domain is related to the amount of cyclic shift in the time domain.
In view of Luo, Lomayev is modified such that a phase ramp is applied to the sub-carriers.
Lomayev and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the phase rotation of data applied in PPDU.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Lomayev in the manner described above for the LTF being transmitted with a phase rotation of +1 to improve performance of data transmission.
Regarding claim 16, The device of claim 9 wherein the phase rotation is applied as part of applying the phase ramp to the first set of sub-carriers and applying the phase ramp to the second set of sub-carriers.
(Lomayev, Fig. 4, [0148]; In some demonstrative embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4, a symbol, denoted X.sub.k, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 408 (the first set of subcarriers carry a first copy of data of the data field), of an OFDM symbol 404, denoted symbol#1, in a spatial stream 402, denoted stream#1; and the symbol X.sub.k with coding, denoted X.sub.k*, e.g., with complex conjugation, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 430 (the second set of subcarriers carry a second copy of the data, the data field being transmitted in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the first set of subcarriers and in accordance with a phase rotation factor of +1 applied to the second set of subcarriers), of the subsequent OFDM symbol 406, in spatial stream 422, e.g., as described below.
Lomayev does not teach applying a phase ramp to the sub-carriers.
Luo teaches Applying a phase ramp to the sub-carriers.
Luo [0026]; For CDD, a phase ramp may be applied across subcarriers, and different phase ramps may be applied for different layers. If each layer corresponds to a different transmit antenna, then applying a phase ramp across subcarriers may be equivalent to cyclically shifting the time-domain samples of each OFDM symbol for each transmit antenna by an amount selected for that transmit antenna, with different cyclic shifts being applied for different transmit antennas.
In view of Luo, Lomayev is modified such that a phase ramp is applied to the sub-carriers.
Lomayev and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the phase rotation of data applied in PPDU.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Lomayev in the manner described above for the LTF being transmitted with a phase rotation of +1 to improve performance of data transmission.
Regarding claim 17, Lomayev in view of Chen teaches The device of claim 9. Lou teaches wherein the phase ramp is associated with an equivalent circular delay in a time domain and wherein the delay is a fraction of a symbol duration of the data field.
Luo [0026]; eNB 110 may also transmit data to UE 120 using large delay cyclic delay diversity (CDD). For CDD, a phase ramp may be applied across subcarriers, and different phase ramps may be applied for different layers. If each layer corresponds to a different transmit antenna, then applying a phase ramp across subcarriers may be equivalent to cyclically shifting the time-domain samples of each OFDM symbol for each transmit antenna by an amount selected for that transmit antenna, with different cyclic shifts being applied for different transmit antennas. The magnitude of the phase ramp in the frequency domain is related to the amount of cyclic shift in the time domain.
In view of Luo, Lomayev is modified such that a phase ramp is applied to the sub-carriers.
Lomayev and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the phase rotation of data applied in PPDU.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Lomayev in the manner described above for the LTF being transmitted with a phase rotation of +1 to improve performance of data transmission.
Regarding claim 19, The method of claim 18, wherein at least the first set of subcarriers.
(Lomayev, Fig. 4, [0148]; In some demonstrative embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4, a symbol, denoted X.sub.k, may be mapped to a subcarrier with an index k, e.g., subcarrier 408 (the first set of subcarriers carry a first copy of data of the data field), of an OFDM symbol 404, denoted symbol#1, in a spatial stream 402, denoted stream#1; )
Lomayev does not teach the phase rotation is for a phase ramp.
Luo teaches the phase rotation is for a phase ramp.
Luo [0026]; For CDD, a phase ramp may be applied across subcarriers, and different phase ramps may be applied for different layers. If each layer corresponds to a different transmit antenna, then applying a phase ramp across subcarriers may be equivalent to cyclically shifting the time-domain samples of each OFDM symbol for each transmit antenna by an amount selected for that transmit antenna, with different cyclic shifts being applied for different transmit antennas.
In view of Luo, Lomayev is modified such that a phase ramp is applied to the sub-carriers.
Lomayev and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the phase rotation of data applied in PPDU.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Lomayev in the manner described above for the LTF being transmitted with a phase rotation of +1 to improve performance of data transmission.
Regarding claim 20, Lomayev in view of Chen teaches The method of claim 19. Luo teaches wherein the phase ramp is associated with an equivalent circular delay in a time domain and wherein the delay is a fraction of a symbol duration of the data field.
Luo [0026]; eNB 110 may also transmit data to UE 120 using large delay cyclic delay diversity (CDD). For CDD, a phase ramp may be applied across subcarriers, and different phase ramps may be applied for different layers. If each layer corresponds to a different transmit antenna, then applying a phase ramp across subcarriers may be equivalent to cyclically shifting the time-domain samples of each OFDM symbol for each transmit antenna by an amount selected for that transmit antenna, with different cyclic shifts being applied for different transmit antennas. The magnitude of the phase ramp in the frequency domain is related to the amount of cyclic shift in the time domain.
In view of Luo, Lomayev is modified such that a phase ramp is applied to the sub-carriers.
Lomayev and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the phase rotation of data applied in PPDU.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Lomayev in the manner described above for the LTF being transmitted with a phase rotation of +1 to improve performance of data transmission.
Conclusion
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with telephone
number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478