DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 10,880,007 (“Hveding”).
Claim 1
Hveding discloses an automatic calibration method for distributed fiber optic sensing (DFOS) / distributed temperature sensing (DTS): operating a distributed fiber optic sensing (DFOS) / distributed vibration sensing (DVS) system to obtain calibration temperatures at a plurality of calibration points along an optical sensor fiber (col. 9, lns 37-57, calibration curve generated); operating a DFOS / distributed temperature sensing (DTS) system to obtain temperatures at one or more points along the length of the optical sensor fiber (col. 9, lns 37-57, reference temperature measurement); calibrating the temperatures obtained from DFOS/DTS using the calibration temperatures obtained via DVS (col. 9, lns 37-57, calibration curve applied).
Claim 2
Hveding discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising: measuring, using a thermometer, the calibration temperatures at the plurality of calibration points along the optical sensor fiber; applying, by a plurality of acoustic modems, mechanical vibrations representative of the calibration temperatures to the optical sensor fiber (col. 7, lns 7-21).
Claim 3
Hveding discloses the method of claim 2 wherein each individual one of the plurality of acoustic modems is located at a respective calibration point along the length of the optical sensor fiber (col. 7, lns 7-21).
Claim 4
Hveding discloses the method of claim 3 wherein the optical sensing fiber comprises a plurality of sections of optical sensor fiber, each section of the optical sensor fiber in optical communication with at least one other section of the optical sensor fiber (col. 9, lns 37-57).
Claim 5
Hveding discloses the method of claim 4 wherein each section includes at least two calibration points along the optical sensor fiber at which a calibration temperature is measured (col. 9, lns 37-57).
Claim 6
Hveding discloses the method of claim 5 wherein one of the at least two calibration points of each individual section is located at a beginning the individual section and another one of the at least two calibration points of the individual section is located at the end of the individual section (col. 7, lns 7-21).
Claim 7
Hveding discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the operating the distributed fiber optic sensing (DFOS) / distributed vibration sensing (DVS) system to obtain calibration temperatures at the plurality of calibration points along the optical sensor fiber is performed periodically (col. 7, lns 7-21).
Claim 8
Hveding discloses the method of 1 wherein the operating the distributed fiber optic sensing (DFOS) / distributed vibration sensing (DVS) system to obtain calibration temperatures at the plurality of calibration points along the optical sensor fiber and the operating the DFOS / distributed temperature sensing (DTS) system to obtain the temperatures at one or more points along the length of the optical sensing fiber are performed concurrently (col. 9, lns 37-57, simultaneous).
Claim 9
Hveding discloses the method of claim 1 wherein calibration points are located in temperature calibration zones each zone including a plurality of individual calibration points (col. 9, lns 37-57).
Claim 10
Hveding discloses the method of claim 4 wherein one or more calibration temperatures are obtained from each one of the plurality of sections (col. 9, lns 37-57).
Conclusion
/ERICA S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853