DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on October 29th 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on November 11th 2025 have been entered. Claims 1-3,7-9,11-12 and 17-18 are currently pending. Applicants’ amendments to claims have overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on August 20th 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11-12, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Behdad et al. (US 9640867B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Behdad et al. discloses a reconfigurable surface (Tunable phase shifter 100 can be formed as a plurality to create a reconfigurable surface; Paragraph 60 and figure 1 and 11-15 of Behdad et al.), comprising:
a substrate (Elements 101 may include a dielectric substrate 104; Paragraph 33-41 and figure 2-3 of Behdad et al.);
metallic resonating elements placed on substrate; wherein respective metallic resonating elements of respective unit cells are located at an upper portion of the reconfigurable surface to reflect an electromagnetic signal impinging on the reconfigurable surface as a reflected beam (Upper surface of the reconfigurable surface can comprise a plurality of tunable phase shifters 604 wherein each phase shift element 101 serves as a unit cell and can comprise a metallic resonating element in the form of antenna element 102 which allow the structure to reflect an incoming electromagnetic signal as a beam like beam 900; Paragraph 41-64 as well as figure 2-3 and 11-16 of Behdad et al.);
a flexible metallic ground plane beneath the respective metallic resonating elements forming respective gaps between respective areas of the flexible metallic ground plane and the respective metallic resonating elements (Conducting sheet 108 may be connected to a ground potential and designed to be flexible thus serving as a flexible metallic ground plane; Paragraph 33-40 and Figures 1-3 of Behdad et al.); and
a first group of linear actuators controllable to curve the flexible metallic ground plane to change first respective distances corresponding to the respective gaps between the respective areas of the flexible metallic ground plane and the respective resonating metallic elements; and (Conductive sheet 108 may comprise multiple actuators configured to move the conductive sheet 108 wherein said actuators can comprise a first group of actuators on a center portion of the sheet 108s that help curve the ground plane like 300 as seen in figure 3 and can also comprise a second group of actuators on the edges of plate 108 that can move the corners and thus the whole plate vertically up or down wherein either movements change first and second distances between the ground and elements which in changes the gap for a different phase profile and said conductive sheets 108; Paragraph 45-72 as well as figures 3 and 15 of Behdad et al.);
a second group of linear actuators controllable to move the flexible metallic ground plane vertically to change second respective distances corresponding to the respective gaps between the respective areas of the flexible metallic ground plane and the respective metallic elements (Conductive sheet 108 may comprise multiple actuators configured to move the conductive sheet 108 wherein said actuators can comprise a first group of actuators on a center portion of the sheet 108s that help curve the ground plane like 300 as seen in figure 3 and can also comprise a second group of actuators on the edges of plate 108 that can move the corners and thus the whole plate vertically up or down wherein either movements change first and second distances between the ground and elements which in changes the gap for a different phase profile and said conductive sheets 108; Paragraph 45-72 as well as figures 3 and 15 of Behdad et al),
wherein the first respective distances and the second respective distances determine a phase profile of the reconfigurable surface that is usable to determine a shape of the reflected beam (Distance between the ground sheet 108 and the surface determines the gradient phase profile which in turn determines the phase profile wherein this profile would determine the direction the beam needs to go and the structure can further be operated to move the ground as needed to steer the beam and wherein different beam shapes can also be employed like a pencil beam 900, a planar beam 608, and a spherical beam; Paragraph 33-60 and 97-103 as well as figure 1-3 and 11-12 of Behdad et al.).
Regarding Claim 2, Behdad et al. further discloses wherein the first group of linear actuators is electrically coupled to a controller to drive the first group of linear actuators to controllably curve the flexible metallic ground plane, and wherein the second group of linear actuators is electrically coupled to the controller to drive the second group of linear actuators to controllably move the flexible ground plane vertically (Beam steering control application 2110 is coupled to the actuators 2112 and designed to control them to move the flexible ground plane vertically to control the phase shift and may be hardware/software as needed and said controller would also control first actuators to move to distance 302 and thus curve the ground plane and move the second group of actuators to move the ground plane vertically; Paragraph 45 and 97-103 as well as figure 3 and 20 of Behdad et al.).
Regarding Claim 11, Behdad et al. further discloses wherein the respective metallic resonating elements are arranged as a two-dimensional array at the upper portion of the reconfigurable surface, and wherein the respective metallic resonating elements are configured to resonate at a frequency corresponding to a frequency of the electromagnetic signal impinging on the reconfigurable surface (Plurality of tunable phase shifters 604 comprising the resonating elements may be arranged to form a two-dimensional array and resonating elements 102 can be designed based on the radiating characteristics of the incoming waves like there frequency; Paragraph 40 and 74-77 of Behdad et al.).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding Claim 12, Behdad et al. further discloses obtaining, by a system comprising a controller, phase profile data representative of a phase profile of a reconfigurable surface; driving, by the controller based on the phase profile data, a first group of linear actuators mechanically coupled to a ground plane of the reconfigurable surface, the first group of linear actuators curve the ground plane into a curved shape, relative to metallic elements of the reconfigurable surface; and
driving, by the controller based on the phase profile data, a second group of actuators mechanically coupled to the ground plane of the reconfigurable surface, the second group of actuators move the ground plane vertically into vertical positions (Conductive sheet 108 may comprise multiple actuators configured to move the conductive sheet 108 wherein said actuators can comprise a first group of actuators on a center portion of the sheet 108s that help curve the ground plane like 300 as seen in figure 3 and can also comprise a second group of actuators on the edges of plate 108 that can move the corners and thus the whole plate vertically up or down wherein either movements change first and second distances between the ground and elements which in changes the gap for a different phase profile and said conductive sheets 108 and said actuators can be controlled by a controller 2110; Paragraph 45-72 as well as figures 3 and 15 of Behdad et al),
as a result of which the reconfigurable surface redirects incoming electromagnetic signals as a redirected beam that is beamformed and beam steered based on the phase profile data (Beam control application 2110 can control the actuators coupled to the ground plane to move the ground plane in a vertical direction so the reconfigurable surface can redirect the incoming signal into a beam like 900 and the displacement of the ground and beam direction would be based on a phase profile wherein the application 2110 can include software that would comprise the phase profile data to compute the required height and direct the actuators to move to the required positions wherein actuators may be moved to invoke a distance like 302 to curve the ground plane into a curved shape such that the beam can be beamformed or beam steered; Paragraph 45, 51-57, and 97-103 of Behdad et al.).
Regarding Claim 17, Behead discloses a system (Tunable phase shifter 100 can be formed as a plurality to create a reconfigurable surface; Paragraph 60 and figure 1 and 11-15 of Behdad et al.), comprising:
a substrate(Elements 101 may include a dielectric substrate 104; Paragraph 33-41 and figure 2-3 of Behdad et al.);
metallic resonating elements placed on the substrate; wherein respective metallic resonating elements of respective unit cells are located at an upper portion of a reconfigurable surface (Upper surface of the reconfigurable surface can comprise a plurality of tunable phase shifters 604 wherein each phase shift element 101 serves as a unit cell and can comprise a metallic resonating element in the form of antenna element 102 which allow the structure to reflect an incoming electromagnetic signal as a beam like beam 900; Paragraph 41-64 as well as figure 2-3 and 11-16 of Behdad et al.);
a flexible metallic ground plane adjacent to the respective metallic resonating elements that forms respective gaps between respective portions of the flexible metallic ground plane and the respective metallic resonating elements (Conducting sheet 108 may be connected to a ground potential and designed to be flexible thus serving as a flexible metallic ground plane wherein said ground plane can be moved vertically; Paragraph 33-40 and Figures 1-3 of Behdad et al.); and
a controller that mechanically curves the flexible metallic ground plane and mechanically moves the flexible metallic ground plane vertically to determine respective distances between the respective portions of the flexible metallic ground plane and the respective resonating metallic elements (Conductive sheet 108 may comprise multiple actuators configured to move the conductive sheet 108 and all of its components up or down and thus change the respective distances corresponding to respective gaps between the ground plane and the resonating metallic elements and Beam steering control application 2110 is coupled to the actuators 2112 and designed to control them to move the flexible ground plane vertically to control the phase shift and may be hardware/software as needed and specifically comprises a distance 302 to curve the flexible ground plate by the actuators; Paragraph 36-45 and 97-103 as well as figures 1-3 and 20 of Behdad et al.),
wherein the respective distances determine a shape and a direction of a beamformed beam reflected by the reconfigurable surface from an electromagnetic signal impinging on the reconfigurable surface (Distance between the ground sheet 108 and the surface determines the gradient phase profile which in turn determines the phase profile wherein this profile would determine the direction the beam needs to go and the structure can further be operated to move the ground as needed to steer the beam and wherein different beam shapes can also be employed like a pencil beam 900, a planar beam 608, and a spherical beam; Paragraph 33-60 and 97-103 as well as figure 1-3 and 11-12 of Behdad et al.).
Regarding Claim 18, Behdad et al further discloses comprising at least one mechanical actuator mechanically coupled to the flexible metallic ground plane and at least one mechanical motor coupled to the flexible metallic ground plane that is different from the at least one mechanical actuator, wherein the controller mechanically curves the flexible metallic ground plane by driving the at least one mechanical actuator mechanically coupled to the flexible metallic ground plane, and wherein the controller mechanically moves the flexible metallic ground plane vertically by driving the at least one mechanical motor mechanically coupled to the flexible metallic ground plane. (Conductive sheet 108 may comprise multiple actuators configured to move the conductive sheet 108 wherein said actuators can comprise a first group of actuators, that can be an actuator or motor, on a center portion of the sheet 108s that help curve the ground plane like 300 as seen in figure 3 and can also comprise a second group of actuators, which can be an actuator or motors, on the edges of plate 108 that can move the corners and thus the whole plate vertically up or down wherein either movements change first and second distances between the ground and elements which in changes the gap for a different phase profile and said conductive sheets 108 and said actuators can be controlled by a controller 2110; Paragraph 45-72 as well as figures 3 and 15 of Behdad et al.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behdad et al. (US 9640867B2) in view of Lilly et al. (US 20030043071 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Behdad et al. wherein the respective distances correspond to a first amount of curvature, wherein the phase profile is a first phase profile that determines a first shape of the reflected beam, and wherein the controller drives the first group of linear actuators to controllably curve the flexible metallic ground plane to change the first amount of curvature to determine a second phase profile of the reconfigurable surface that determines a second shape of the reflected beam (The device can be configured to comprise a distance 302 to cause a first curvature 300 of the flexible ground plane with this creating a phase variation 5 wherein these configurations can serve as a first phase profile and the actuators at edges 124-126 can be configured to move the flexible ground plane to another vertical distance 202 creating a flexible ground plane with a curvature amount of zero to obtain another phase version 4 thus creating a second phase profile and the structure can also be configured to have different beam shapes like a pencil beam 900, planar beam 608, and spherical radio wave; Paragraph 44-45 and 66 as well as figure 2-3 and 12 of Behdad et al).
Although, Bedhead et al. fails to explicitly disclose a second amount of curvature. Bedhead et al. does suggest a second amount of curvature (The reconfigurable antenna comprises using an actuator to create a first curve 300 for a phase response and it would be obvious that a different second curve could also me made for a different phase response; Paragraph 44-45 and 66 as well as figure 2-3 and 12 of Behdad et al.).
However, Lilly et al. does disclose a second amount of curvature (Antenna structure can comprise a patch antenna 22 on line 11 and a ground plane 64 with a moveable portion 14 that can be moved by an actuator structure comprising a coil 26 wherein moving portion 14 can cause the ground plane to curve and two different curves states are shown with these curves resulting in different phases; Paragraph 62-69 and 82-88 as well as figure 4-5 and 13-14 of Lilly et al.).
However, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Behdad et al. to have a second amount of curvature as taught by Lilly et al. since Behdad et al. shows the flexible ground can be bent at its edges or a center to form a concave shapes and flexible ground can comprise multiple portions wherein the overall slope of the portions can be changed (Paragraph 45 and 65-72) and they have already shown a first curve. The motivation for the second curved shape stems from the fact that the shape/curve of the flexible ground plane affects the phase generated (Paragraph 45 of Behdad et al.) and different curves would produce different phase variations (Paragraph 64-66 of Lilly et al.).
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behdad et al. (US 9640867B2) in view of Mavriodu II et al. (NPL From IEEE titled Dynamically Reconfigurable High Impedance and Frequency Selective Meta surfaces Using Piezoelectric Actuator).
Regarding Claim 7, Behdad et al. fails to explicitly disclose comprising a housing that contains the respective metallic resonating elements, the flexible metallic ground plane, the first group of linear actuators, and the second group of linear actuators.
However, Mavridou II et al. does disclose comprising a housing that contains the respective metallic resonating elements, the flexible metallic ground plane, the first group of linear actuators, and the second group of linear actuators (Reconfigurable surface comprises a metallic resonating elements on a periodic surface, a ground plane, and a group of actuators that are disposed in a housing defined by 2 portions now labeled H1 and H2 wherein said actuators can be first group comprising 2 actuators and a second group comprising 2 other actuators; Pg. 5191 and annotated figure 1 of Mavridou II et al.).
Therefore, it would been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Behdad et al. to have disclose comprising a housing that contains the respective metallic resonating elements, the flexible metallic ground plane, the first group of linear actuators, and the second group of linear actuators0 as taught by Mavridou II et al. to hold all the components together and provide structural support for the reconfigurable surface and its operations.
Regarding Claim 8, Behdad et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the housing comprises perforations at a lower portion of the housing opposite the upper portion of the reconfigurable surface.
However, Mavridou II et al. does disclose wherein the housing comprises perforations at a lower portion of the housing opposite the upper portion of the reconfigurable surface (A lower portion of the housing H1 comprises a perforations in the form of holes through which the screws are placed in as shown in figure 1 of Mavridou II et al.).
Therefore, it would been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Behdad et al. to have the housing comprises perforations at a lower portion of the housing opposite the upper portion of the reconfigurable surface as taught by Mavridou II et al. so that the first and second portions of the housing can be held together and the metallic resonating elements, flexible metallic ground, and actuators can be stored within the housing as well as enclose and protect the structures.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behdad et al. (US 9640867B2) in view of Tawk et al. (NPL From IEEE titled Wirelessly Automated Reconfigurable Antenna With Directional Selectivity).
Regarding Claim 9, Behdad et al. further discloses wherein the first group of linear actuators comprises respective linear actuators that are respectively angled relative to the flexible metallic ground plane with respect to respective driving directions of the respective linear actuators.
However, Tawk et al. does disclose wherein the first group of linear actuators comprises respective linear actuators that are respectively angled relative to the flexible metallic ground plane with respect to respective driving directions of the respective linear actuators (Monopole antennas are placed on a hexagonal ground plane wherein a moveable ground plane can be moved to be at various distance and tilts relative to the monopole antenna wherein a linear actuator in the form of a motor stepper with u-shaped arm portions being angled to and connected to the moveable ground plane such that the plane can be moved to various tilt angles and a first and second portion of these arms would be angled at different angles from the ground; Pg 806-808 and figure 8-9 of Tawk et al).
Therefore, it would been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Behdad et al. to have the first group of linear actuators comprises respective linear actuators that are respectively angled relative to the flexible metallic ground plane with respect to respective driving directions of the respective linear actuators as taught by Tawk et al. since the position of the actuators relative to the ground plane would allow one to control the movement of the ground plane.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4-6, 10, 13-16, and 19-20, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of
“wherein the flexible metallic ground plane comprises four respective corners, wherein the first group of linear actuators comprises four respective first linear actuators mechanically coupled to the four respective corners, and wherein the second group of linear actuators comprise four respective motors mechanically coupled to the four respective corners.” as recited in claim 4,
“wherein the respective driving directions of the respective linear actuators are towards a center of the reconfigurable surface, and away from the center of the reconfigurable surface.” as recited in claim 10,
“wherein the ground plane comprises four respective corners, wherein the group of linear actuators comprises four respective linear actuators mechanically coupled to the four respective corners, and wherein the driving by the controller of the group of linear actuators comprises driving the four respective corners towards a center of the reconfigurable surface to curve the ground plane into the curved shape.” as recited in claim 13,
“wherein the phase profile data is first phase profile data, wherein the redirected beam is a first redirected beam comprising a first beam shape and a first beam direction, wherein the curved shape is a first curved shape, wherein the vertical positions are first vertical positions, and wherein the method further comprises: obtaining, by the system, second phase profile data representative of a second phase profile of the reconfigurable surface; driving, by the controller based on the second phase profile data, the first group of linear actuators to curve the ground plane into a second curved shape; and driving, by the controller based on the second phase profile data, the second group of linear actuators to move the ground plane vertically into second vertical positions to change the first beam shape and the first beam direction of the first redirected beam to a second beam shape and a second beam direction of the second redirected beam.” as recited in claim 14,
“wherein the flexible metallic ground plane comprises four respective corners, wherein the system further comprises four respective mechanical actuators mechanically coupled to the four respective corners and four respective mechanical motors mechanically coupled to the four respective corners that are different from the four respective mechanical actuators, wherein the controller mechanically curves the flexible metallic ground plane by driving the four respective mechanicals actuators, and wherein the controller mechanically moves the flexible metallic ground plane vertically by driving the four respective mechanical motors.” as recited in claim 19, and
“wherein the four respective mechanicals actuators are angled relative to the four respective corners to drive the four respective corners towards one another.” as recited in claim 20.
Behdad et al., Mavridou II et al., and Lilly et al., and Tawk et al. are cited as teaching some of the elements of the claimed invention including a substrate, respective metallic resonating elements of respective unit cells, a flexible metallic ground plane, a first group of linear actuators coupled to the four corners to curve the ground plane, a second group of linear actuators, a housing, and respective distances determining a phase profile.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Claims 5-6 and 15-16 inherit the indefiniteness of claims 4 and 14.
Response to Arguments
“See Behdad et al. at column 4, lines 30-35. However, Behdad et al. does not teach or suggest the elements of claim 1 related to the second group of linear actuators controllable to move the flexible metallic ground plane vertically. Accordingly, Behdad et al. does not anticipate independent claim 1 and its associated dependent claims.
Behdad et al. discusses actuators that move a first edge 124 and a second edge 126 a second distance relative to a spatial phase shift element 101. See at least column 4, lines 30-35 of Behdad et al. However, Behdad et al. does not teach or suggest a second group of actuators that move a group plane vertically into vertical positions, as recited in independent claim 12. Therefore, Behdad et al. does not anticipate claim 12 and its associated dependent claims.
Although Behdad et al. discusses actuators that move a first edge and a second edge a second distance relative to a spatial phase shift element, Behdad et al. does not teach or suggest the features of claim 17 related to mechanically moving a flexible metallic ground plane vertically. Therefore, Behdad et al. does not anticipate independent claim 17 and its associated dependent claims.”
Applicant's arguments filed on November 4th 2025 in regards to claim 1, 12, 17 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees that Behdad et al. fails to disclose a second group of linear actuators that can be controlled by a controller to move the ground plate vertically.
Behdad et al. teaches a ground plane component 108 as seen in figure 2-3 that can be moved vertically up or down and curved by the use of actuators. Specifically said antenna structure may comprise one or more actuators wherein one actuator can be used on the center of the 108 to curve the ground plane as seen in figure 3 and other actuators can be placed on the edges of 108 to move the ground plane vertically as seen in figure 2. Furthermore multiple ground portions and antenna portions may be used together in an array structure as seen in figures 11-15 wherein each segment can comprise the center/edge actuators thus creating a first group of actuators to curve the ground plane and a second group of actuators to move the ground plane vertically up and down (Paragraph 45-72 of Behdad et al.). Finally these actuators can be controlled by a controller for the beam control steering application.
Therefore by giving claim 1, 12, and 17 the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) we can see that Behdad et al. does disclose the claim limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
WO 2024141984 A1 (ABRAMOVICH AMIR et al.) further discloses a reconfigurable antenna reflector with a curved ground plane and actuator’s that control the distance between the ground and the reflector.
US 20200303828 A1 (Urzhumov; Yaroslav A.) further discloses a metasurface with a capacitive surface serving as a ground plane which can be curved by a piston.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845