Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amended claims filed 2/24/26 are acknowledged; claims 1-23 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mireles, Jr. et al. (US 6203020) in view of Deaton et al. (US 20030205389).
CLAIM 1: Mireles discloses a seal assembly as shown in part by Fig. 1 below:
Mireles discloses a seal subassembly (18) configured to hold pressure. A first load member (30) having a first side disposed adjacent a first side of the seal subassembly (see Fig. 1), the first load member configured to engage a recess in one of a central member (sleeve 28) radially inwardly of the seal subassembly such that the first load member independently has a limited axial movement capability in both longitudinal directions along the seal assembly while the seal assembly is in a sealed condition (see Fig. 1). A first energizer (14) adjacent a second side of the first load member, the first load member isolating the first energizer from mechanical loading in a direction opposite a direction of bias of the first energizer (Fig. 1).
Mireles fails to disclose wherein the seal is dynamic.
Deaton discloses a subsurface valve and method of sealing.
Deaton discloses using dynamic seals (52) comprising multiple seals (56, 57) energized together (see Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seal of Mireles to be a dynamic seal with a reasonable expectation of success as Deaton teaches a similar sealing arrangement can be used in dynamic seals.
CLAIM 2: A second load member (20) having a first side adjacent a second side of the seal subassembly (see Fig. 1). The second load member configured to engage the central member (28) such that the second load member independently has a limited axial movement capability in both longitudinal directions along the seal assembly. A second energizer (10) adjacent a second side of the second load member, the second load member isolating the second energizer from mechanical loading in a direction opposite a direction of bias of the second energizer (see Fig. 1).
CLAIM 3: The subassembly is mechanically energized by the first energizer in a direction of bias of the first energizer (via push from ring).
CLAIM 4: The subassembly is mechanically energized by the second energizer in a direction of bias of the second energizer (via push from the ring).
CLAIM 5: Mireles discloses the elements of claim 1 as described above.
Mireles fails to disclose wherein the seal subassembly includes chevron elements.
Applicant admits that chevrons are known seals in the art (see Specification, paragraph 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to modify the system of Mireles to include the known chevron elements with a reasonable expectation of success as the substitution of one known sealing element for another in which the chevrons would perform the known function of sealing instead of the previously disclosed seals
CLAIM 6: At least a portion of the seal subassembly is axially fixed to the central member or housing (18 to 28).
CLAIM 7: The first energizer comprises a unidirectional seal (see Fig. 1).
CLAIMS 8-10: Mireles discloses the elements of claim 1 as discussed above.
Mireles fails to disclose wherein the first energizer is a spring configuration or wherein the first energizer is a magnet arrangement, or wherein the magnet arrangement is a plurality of magnets arranged to produce a collective stroke length using a magnetic field induced stroke of each magnet.
Applicant admits that springs and magnets are known energizers in the art (see Specification, paragraph 0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to modify the system of Mireles to include the known energizers with a reasonable expectation of success as the substitution of one known energizer for another in which the springs and magnets would perform the known function of energizing instead of the previously disclosed rings.
CLAIM 11: Mireles discloses the elements of claim 1 as discussed above.
Mireles fails to disclose wherein the first load member is a multi-part ring.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the claimed invention to make the ring of Mireles multi-part with a reasonable expectation of success as making an element separable, as in a split ring, to allow for ease of installation.
CLAIM 12: A sub that is attached to the mandrel to create a gland receptive of the first load member (seal 16 acting as gland) and the first load member is a circumferentially complete ring (gauge ring).
CLAIM 13: The central member or housing includes a recess receptive to a portion of the first load member (Fig. 1).
CLAIMS 14 and 15: Mireles discloses the elements of claim 1 as discussed above.
Mireles fails to disclose wherein the central member is a rod piston or wherein the central member is an annular piston.
Examiner takes official notice that rod and annular pistons are well known in the art as pressure controlling means.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to modify the central member of Mireles to be one of claimed pistons with a reasonable expectation of success as Mireles teaches the system minimizes extrusion of the central element which would allow for efficient piston movement.
CLAIM 16: A second seal subassembly disposed on the central member or housing, wherein the first energizer energizes the seal subassembly and the second seal subassembly in opposing directions (see col. 2, lines 37-38, “The number of sealing elements can also be varied…”).
CLAIM 17: The central member or housing contains an internal passage extending into fluid communication with the first energizer (see Fig. 1).
CLAIM 18: The seal subassembly is energized by the first energizer and a retainer after installation of the subassembly into the housing (see Fig. 1 showing installed state).
CLAIM 19: Mireles discloses a downhole tool (see title) comprising a housing (packer body) and an actuator disposed in the housing, the actuator including a seal assembly as claimed in claim 1 (see above).
CLAIM 20: A sleeve disposed in operable contact with the housing and actuatable by the actuator (see Fig. 1 showing sleeve under sleeve 28).
CLAIM 21: A flow tube disposed in operable contact with the housing and actuatable by the actuator (tubing).
CLAIM 22: Mireles discloses the elements of claim 21 as discussed above.
Mireles fails to disclose further including a flapper in operable contact with the flow tube.
Examiner takes official notice that flapper valves are known in the art as a means of fluid control.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to modify the system of Mireles to include a flapper valve with a reasonable expectation of success as the flapper valve would perform the well known function of controlling fluid around the system, which is a known requirement in downhole systems.
CLAIM 23: Mireles discloses a wellbore system comprising a borehole in a subsurface formation (“downhole”); a string disposed in the borehole (“tubing”; and a downhole tool disposed within or as a part of the string and including the seal as claimed in claim 1 (see above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/15/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the dynamic seal, that argument is moot with respect to the new rejection.
With respect to the limited axial movement, it is unclear how the load member of Mireles is only limited in one longitudinal direction. Applicant states this as fact with no supporting citations or logic. The claim language is a “limited axial movement capability”, so some movement is considered. The stop ring 30 “puts a definitive limit on the amount of longitudinal compression applied to those sealing elements which abut gauge rings 10 or 14” (col. 3, lines 18-20), so it is limited on one end. On the other end, the central seal 18 limits movement as well. The load member cannot pass through either.
Conclusion
/PATRICK F LAMBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676