DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN (US 2021/0271071 A1) in view of Kurashige (US 2014/0253989 A1).
As of claims 1, 7, LIN teaches a light path adjustment mechanism [fig 2] [0008] a pair of first axes 154 [fig 2], wherein the carrier 110 [fig 2] [0014] is connected to a first outer frame 130 [fig 2] [0014] via the pair of first axes 154 [fig 2]; a pair of second axes 152 [fig 2], wherein the first outer frame 120 (base) [fig 2] [0014] is connected to a second outer frame 130 [fig 2] [0014] via the pair of second axes 152 [fig 2]; a first actuator 170 [fig 2] [0015], wherein a first part of the first actuator 170 [fig 2] (shown with fig 2 below) is disposed on the carrier 110 [fig 2], a second part of the first actuator 170 [fig 2] (shown with fig 2 below) is disposed on the second outer frame 130 [fig 2], and the first part and the second part of the first actuator (shown with fig 2 below) are capable of cooperating with each other to generate a force at a distance (the actuator 170 is energized to generate attractive or repulsive forces that cause the optical plate member 180 and the carrier 110 to reciprocally rotate or tilt about the second axis Q defined by the second pair of flexible members 154) [0015]; and a second actuator 160 [fig 2] [0015], wherein a first part of the second actuator 160 [fig 2] (shown with fig 2 below) is disposed on the first outer frame 120 [fig 2] [0015], a second part of the second actuator (shown with fig 2 below) is disposed on the second outer frame 130 [fig 2], and the first part and the second part of the second actuator (shown with fig 2 below) are capable of cooperating with each other to generate a force at a distance (the actuator 160 is energized to generate attractive or repulsive forces that cause the optical plate member 180 and the support 130 to reciprocally rotate or tilt about the first axis P defined by the first pair of flexible members 152) [0015].
LIN does not teach a dynamic angle adjustment device for a light valve of a projector, comprising: a carrier capable of supporting the light valve.
Kurashige teaches a projection-type image display apparatus 10 [fig 1] having a dynamic angle adjustment device 31 (reflection angle controller to switch the reflection angle of a micromirror corresponding to each pixel for each frame period) [fig 1] [0010] for a light valve 30 (DMD) [fig 1] [0040] of a projector 10 [fig 1], comprising: a carrier 30 (SLM) [fig 1] capable of supporting the light valve (a DMD as the spatial light modulator 30 has a micromirror for each pixel. The reflection angle of each micromirror is switchable) [fig 1] [0040].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a dynamic angle adjustment device for a light valve of a projector, comprising: a carrier capable of supporting the light valve as taught by Kurashige to the light path adjustment mechanism as disclosed by LIN to switch the reflection angle of a micromirror corresponding to each pixel for each frame period (Kurashige; [0010]).
As of claim 2, LIN teaches each of the first axes 154 [fig 2] and the second axes 152 [fig 2] is a flexible member [0004].
As of claim 3, LIN teaches a first actuator 170 [fig 2] and a second actuator 160 [fig 2] and a magnet seat 142 [fig 1B] and coil seat 144 [fig 1B]. However, Lin does not specifically teach the first part of the second actuator is housed in a seat, and the seat is fixed on the first outer frame, however, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first part of the second actuator is housed in a seat, and the seat is fixed on the first outer frame as a design choice (Rearrangement of Parts; MPEP 2144.04 VI C) in order to generate attractive or repulsive forces that the support to reciprocally rotate or tilt about the first axis.
As of claim 4, LIN teaches a first actuator 170 [fig 2] and a second actuator 160 [fig 2]. However, Lin does not specifically teach the first actuator and the second actuator are located on the same side of a diagonal line of the carrier, however, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first actuator and the second actuator are located on the same side of a diagonal line of the carrier as a design choice (Rearrangement of Parts; MPEP 2144.04 VI C) in order to enhance the vibration degree of the optical plate member.
As of claim 5, LIN teaches the first part of the first actuator 170 [fig 1B] is a coil 172 [fig 1B] [0015] and the second part of the first actuator is a magnet 174 [fig 1B] [0015].
As of claim 6, LIN teaches the first part of the second actuator 160 [fig 1B] is a magnet 164 [fig 1B] [0015] and the second part of the second actuator is a coil 162 [fig 1B] [0015].
As of claim 8, LIN teaches the force at a distance is a magnetic force or an electric force (the carrier 110 and the support 130 may be formed from a magnetic material, and the actuator may include an air core coil or an electromagnet. When the air core coil or the electromagnet is energized, an attractive force is generated to attract the carrier 110, which causes one end of the optical plate member 180 to move downwardly to allow the optical plate member 180 to tilt) [0019].
As of claim 9, LIN teaches the first part of the first actuator 170 [fig 1B] is a coil 172 [fig 1B], the second part of the first actuator 170 [fig 1B] is a magnet, and the magnet 174 [fig 1B] is capable of attracting the coil to tilt one end of the carrier (the carrier 110 and the support 130 may be formed from a magnetic material, and the actuator may include an air core coil or an electromagnet. When the air core coil or the electromagnet is energized, an attractive force is generated to attract the carrier 110, which causes one end of the optical plate member 180 to move downwardly to allow the optical plate member 180 to tilt) [0019].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art LIN (US 2021/0271071 A1) teaches a light path adjustment mechanism 100 which includes a carrier 110, a base 120, a support 130, a first pair of flexible members 152, and a second pair of flexible members 154. In this embodiment, the support 130 is disposed adjacent to and outside the base 120, the first pair of flexible members 152 is connected between the base 120 and the support 130 and defines a first direction (extending direction of a first axis P), the support 130 is disposed adjacent to and outside the carrier 110, the second pair of flexible members 154 is connected between the carrier 110 and the support 130 and defines a second direction (extending direction of a second axis Q), and the first direction is different to the second direction. For example, the first direction is substantially perpendicular to the second direction as shown in FIG. 1A, but the invention is not limited thereto. In this embodiment, the base 120 is connected to and fixed on a bracket 192 through fasteners 190 such as screws or pins, and the carrier 110, the base 120, the support 130, the first pair of flexible members 152 and the second pair of flexible members 154 are located at substantially the same height and formed from the same flexible sheet, but the invention is not limited thereto. Further, the light path adjustment mechanism 100 may include an optical plate member 180. The optical plate member 180 may be disposed on the carrier 110. The optical plate member 180 is not limited to a specific form or structure, so long as it may change, at least to some extent, the traveling direction of incoming light beams. For example, the optical plate member 180 may be a lens or a mirror. As shown in FIG. 1B, the light path adjustment mechanism 100 may further include an actuator 160 and an actuator 170 disposed on the back of the light path adjustment mechanism 100. In this embodiment, the actuator 160 is disposed on one side of the base 120 and may include a coil 162 and a magnet 164, and the actuator 170 is disposed on one side of the support 130 and may include a coil 172 and a magnet 174. The magnets 164 and 174 may be fixed on a magnet seat 142, the coil 162 may be disposed on a coil seat 144, and the coil 172 may be disposed on the optical plate member 180. Referring to FIG. 1A again, the actuator 160 is energized to generate attractive or repulsive forces that cause the optical plate member 180 and the support 130 to reciprocally rotate or tilt about the first axis P defined by the first pair of flexible members 152, and the actuator 170 is energized to generate attractive or repulsive forces that cause the optical plate member 180 and the carrier 110 to reciprocally rotate or tilt about the second axis Q defined by the second pair of flexible members 154. Because the first pair of flexible members 152 and the second pair of flexible members 154 may serve as rotation axes to transmit the power that tilts the optical plate member 180, each of the first pair of flexible members 152 and the second pair of flexible members 154 may be referred to as a transmission mechanical piece. As shown in FIG. 2, the first pair of flexible members 152 connected between the base 120 and the support 130 are parallel to, for example, an X-axis direction, and the second pair of flexible members 154 connected between the carrier 110 and support 130 are parallel to, for example, a Y-axis direction. The actuator 160 is energized to generate attractive or repulsive forces that act on the support 130 and cause the optical plate member 180 and the support 130 to reciprocally rotate or tilt about the first pair of flexible members 152 (X-axis direction). Similarly, the actuator 170 is energized to generate attractive or repulsive forces that act on one end of the carrier 110 and cause the optical plate member 180 and the carrier 110 to reciprocally rotate or tilt about the second pair of flexible members 154 (Y-axis direction). Therefore, the optical plate member 180 may tilt or rotate about two different axes to reach various positions within an angular range to reflect or refract incoming light beams, which may cause a change in the traveling direction and propagation path of incoming light beams. In one embodiment, an image beam that intends to impinge upon the optical plate member 180 is deflected by the optical plate member 180 that rapidly and alternately tilts among four different positions relative to the base 120 to form four different pixel images, thereby increasing the perceived image resolution at least by four times. According to the above embodiments, the light path adjustment mechanism may modify or change light paths to enhance image resolution, improve picture quality (e.g., eliminating dark regions or blurring image edges), or provide other beneficial effects. Referring to FIG. 2 again, in this embodiment, all the actuators 160 and 170 are disposed on the same side (such as the left side shown in FIG. 2) of the optical plate member 180 (or the carrier 110), the first pair of flexible members 152 are entirely disposed on only one side of the optical plate member 180 (or the carrier 110), and the second pair of flexible members 154 are respectively disposed on two opposite sides of the carrier 110, but the invention is not limited thereto. Further, in this embodiment, only one side of two opposite sides of the axis defined by the first pair of flexible members 152 is provided with an actuator (the actuator 160), and only one side of two opposite sides of the axis defined by the second pair of flexible members 154 is provided with an actuator (the actuator 170). In this embodiment, as shown in FIG. 2, a line segment connected between two opposite end points M and N of the first pair of flexible members 152 does not cross a line segment connected between two opposite end points S and T of the second pair of flexible members 154, but the invention is not limited thereto. LIN does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the first part of the second actuator is a coil and the second part of the second actuator is a magnet, the coil is housed in a coil seat, and the magnet is capable of attracting the coil to tilt one end of the first outer frame.
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
As of claim 11, the closest prior art LIN (US 2021/0271071 A1) teaches a light path adjustment mechanism 100 which includes a carrier 110, a base 120, a support 130, a first pair of flexible members 152, and a second pair of flexible members 154. In this embodiment, the support 130 is disposed adjacent to and outside the base 120, the first pair of flexible members 152 is connected between the base 120 and the support 130 and defines a first direction (extending direction of a first axis P), the support 130 is disposed adjacent to and outside the carrier 110, the second pair of flexible members 154 is connected between the carrier 110 and the support 130 and defines a second direction (extending direction of a second axis Q), and the first direction is different to the second direction. For example, the first direction is substantially perpendicular to the second direction as shown in FIG. 1A, but the invention is not limited thereto. In this embodiment, the base 120 is connected to and fixed on a bracket 192 through fasteners 190 such as screws or pins, and the carrier 110, the base 120, the support 130, the first pair of flexible members 152 and the second pair of flexible members 154 are located at substantially the same height and formed from the same flexible sheet, but the invention is not limited thereto. Further, the light path adjustment mechanism 100 may include an optical plate member 180. The optical plate member 180 may be disposed on the carrier 110. The optical plate member 180 is not limited to a specific form or structure, so long as it may change, at least to some extent, the traveling direction of incoming light beams. For example, the optical plate member 180 may be a lens or a mirror. As shown in FIG. 1B, the light path adjustment mechanism 100 may further include an actuator 160 and an actuator 170 disposed on the back of the light path adjustment mechanism 100. In this embodiment, the actuator 160 is disposed on one side of the base 120 and may include a coil 162 and a magnet 164, and the actuator 170 is disposed on one side of the support 130 and may include a coil 172 and a magnet 174. The magnets 164 and 174 may be fixed on a magnet seat 142, the coil 162 may be disposed on a coil seat 144, and the coil 172 may be disposed on the optical plate member 180. Referring to FIG. 1A again, the actuator 160 is energized to generate attractive or repulsive forces that cause the optical plate member 180 and the support 130 to reciprocally rotate or tilt about the first axis P defined by the first pair of flexible members 152, and the actuator 170 is energized to generate attractive or repulsive forces that cause the optical plate member 180 and the carrier 110 to reciprocally rotate or tilt about the second axis Q defined by the second pair of flexible members 154. Because the first pair of flexible members 152 and the second pair of flexible members 154 may serve as rotation axes to transmit the power that tilts the optical plate member 180, each of the first pair of flexible members 152 and the second pair of flexible members 154 may be referred to as a transmission mechanical piece. As shown in FIG. 2, the first pair of flexible members 152 connected between the base 120 and the support 130 are parallel to, for example, an X-axis direction, and the second pair of flexible members 154 connected between the carrier 110 and support 130 are parallel to, for example, a Y-axis direction. The actuator 160 is energized to generate attractive or repulsive forces that act on the support 130 and cause the optical plate member 180 and the support 130 to reciprocally rotate or tilt about the first pair of flexible members 152 (X-axis direction). Similarly, the actuator 170 is energized to generate attractive or repulsive forces that act on one end of the carrier 110 and cause the optical plate member 180 and the carrier 110 to reciprocally rotate or tilt about the second pair of flexible members 154 (Y-axis direction). Therefore, the optical plate member 180 may tilt or rotate about two different axes to reach various positions within an angular range to reflect or refract incoming light beams, which may cause a change in the traveling direction and propagation path of incoming light beams. In one embodiment, an image beam that intends to impinge upon the optical plate member 180 is deflected by the optical plate member 180 that rapidly and alternately tilts among four different positions relative to the base 120 to form four different pixel images, thereby increasing the perceived image resolution at least by four times. According to the above embodiments, the light path adjustment mechanism may modify or change light paths to enhance image resolution, improve picture quality (e.g., eliminating dark regions or blurring image edges), or provide other beneficial effects. Referring to FIG. 2 again, in this embodiment, all the actuators 160 and 170 are disposed on the same side (such as the left side shown in FIG. 2) of the optical plate member 180 (or the carrier 110), the first pair of flexible members 152 are entirely disposed on only one side of the optical plate member 180 (or the carrier 110), and the second pair of flexible members 154 are respectively disposed on two opposite sides of the carrier 110, but the invention is not limited thereto. Further, in this embodiment, only one side of two opposite sides of the axis defined by the first pair of flexible members 152 is provided with an actuator (the actuator 160), and only one side of two opposite sides of the axis defined by the second pair of flexible members 154 is provided with an actuator (the actuator 170). In this embodiment, as shown in FIG. 2, a line segment connected between two opposite end points M and N of the first pair of flexible members 152 does not cross a line segment connected between two opposite end points S and T of the second pair of flexible members 154, but the invention is not limited thereto. LIN does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a first elastic member and a second elastic member, wherein the carrier is connected to an outer frame via the first elastic member and the second elastic member; a first actuator, wherein a first part of the first actuator is disposed in a first position of the carrier, a second part of the first actuator is disposed on the outer frame, and the first part and the second part of the first actuator are capable of cooperating with each other to generate a force at a distance; and a second actuator, wherein a first part of the second actuator is disposed in a second position of the carrier different to the first position, a second part of the second actuator is disposed on the outer frame, and the first part and the second part of the second actuator are capable of cooperating with each other to generate a force at a distance.
Claims 12-20 are allowed as being dependent on claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Prior Art Lin et al. (US 20160370575 A1) teaches an image displacement module is adapted for an optical apparatus to switch image positions of a plurality of plane image. The image displacement module includes a carrying base and a rotating base. The carrying base is adapted to control the rotating base to vibrate back forth within an angle, such that the imaging positions of the plane image on the horizontal direction are moved by a first distance and the imaging positions of the plane image on the vertical direction are moved by a second distance at the same time. Alternatively, the carrying base is adapted to control the rotating base to rotate relative to two axes of a reference plane, such that the plane image are moved by a distance along one of a plurality of movement directions;
- Prior Art Li et al. (US 10044994 B1) teaches a projector which includes an image source for generating an image light and a transmission and reflection element. The image light includes a bright-state region image light and a dark-state region image light. The transmission and reflection element includes transmission and reflection units. Each of the transmission and reflection units is configured to reflect the image light irradiated thereon when in a reflective state, and to transmit the image light irradiated thereon when in a transmissive state. The transmission and reflection element is configured to perform one of a transmission and a reflection on the bright-state region image light so that the bright-state region image light is projected and displayed, and perform the other on the dark-state region image light so that the dark-state region image light is not projected and displayed.
/SULTAN CHOWDHURY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882