DETAILED ACTION
Prior art of Record
The prior art made of record in this office action shall be referred to as follows;
U.S. 5,543,210 Kullander et al. (‘Kullander hereafter), Filed 06/24/1994
U.S. 5,952,102 Raymond A. Cutler (‘Cutler hereafter), App 08/854454,
U.S. 2010/0135737 Fukano et al. (‘Fukano hereafter), App 12/091917,
U.S. 2020/0299199 Nakayama et al. (‘Nakayma hereafter), App 16/088133,
The above references will be referred to hereafter by the names or numbers indicated above.
Claim status:
Claims 1 - 4 are currently being examined.
Claims 3 & 4 is objected to for allowable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 5,543,210 Kullander et al. (‘Kullander hereafter), and in view of U.S. 5,952,102 Raymond A. Cutler (‘Cutler hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 1, ‘Kullander discloses all the claim limitations including: A diamond coating cutting tool (‘Kullander, Col. 3, ln 53 – 60, “An explanation for the improved performance of the machining properties of a diamond coated cutting tool
according to the present invention may be the reduction of cutting forces during the machining operation considering the fact that the chromium-containing layer is considerably smoother than a pure CVD diamond coating. The chip removal may be facilitated as the chips are in contact with the smooth, chromium-containing layer.” As evidenced by ‘Francis, Para 0027, “CVD diamond includes, but is not limited to hot filament, microwave plasma, and high-voltage arc chemical vapor deposition processes.” CVD diamonds are 100% real, laboratory grown diamonds produced by depositing carbon atoms from a gas onto a substrate in a vacuum chamber) comprising:
a base material made of a silicon nitride sintered body or a sialon sintered body (‘Kullander, Col. 1, ln 36 – 58, “The substrates of interest for diamond coatings in cutting tool applications include cemented carbides and ceramics such as SiAlON and Si.sub.3 N.sub.4 and the deposition of diamond on these categories of substrates is well known in the art. However, as mentioned above, these prior art products suffer from an insufficient adhesion of the diamond coating as judged from machining tests. A suggested remedy for the poor adhesion is to apply an intermediate coating with properties that better adapt to the diamond than to the original substrate material. In JP-A-59-166671 and JP-A-59-166672, a method is described of coating cemented carbide or metal alloys with diamond and, before that, an inner intermediate coating of various carbides, nitrides, carbonitrides or oxycarbonitrides of the transition metals of the groups IV, V or VI of the Periodic Table, or of silicon, boron or aluminum. The possibility of having any of these types of coatings as the outermost layer is also mentioned. The coatings are deposited by magnetron sputtering. The tools are said to be excellent in wear resistance, however, the presence of an outermost coating (other than diamond) is not said to influence the wear resistance in the same manner as an intermediate coating does.” Teaches sialon substrate, diamond coating for cutting tools, and sputtering, Col. 5, ln 19 – 26, “The bodies used for deposition according to the present invention include cemented carbides and ceramics such as SiAION and Si3N4 . Preferably, a cemented carbide body is depleted in the surface zone with respect to Co. This can, for example, be obtained by partly carburizing an eta-phase containing body as disclosed in EP 464 012 which corresponds to U.S. Ser. No. 08/214,157 (our reference 024000- 25 807).” Ceramics are sintered); and
a diamond layer coated on a surface of the base material (‘Kullander, Abst “There is now provided a body of cemented carbide, Si3N4 or another ceramic material, coated by at least one CVD or PVD diamond or cBN layer with a chromium nitride, chromium carbide or chromium carbonitride layer. The chromium-containing layer is outside the diamond layer which in the case of more than one diamond layer is the outermost diamond layer of the coating. Improved machining properties are obtained.” Teaches diamond coated base material), wherein
‘Kullander is silent regarding: an average thermal expansion coefficient x of the base material in a temperature range of 25° C. [298.15K, 77F] to 600° C [873.15 K, 1112 F] satisfies 2.6 ×10-6 / K ≤ x ≤ 4.0 × 10−6 / K,
However ‘Cutler does teach: an average thermal expansion coefficient x of the base material in a temperature range of 25° C. [298.15K, 77F] to 600° C [873.15 K, 1112 F] satisfies 2.6 ×10-6 / K ≤ x ≤ 4.0 × 10−6 / K (‘Cutler, Abst, “A binderless coarse-grained WC substrate is coated with a chemical vapor deposition ("CVD") diamond layer in order to give a coating with improved adherence relative to WC-Co-based substrates and high compressive residual stress relative to Si3N4 -based substrates.” Col. 1, ln 41 – 53, “Silicon nitride and SiAlON ceramics have coefficients of thermal expansion ranging from 2.8 x 10^-6 / 0 C. to 3.7 x 10^-6 /0 C., having a good match with diamond at ~3.2 x 10^-6 / 0 C. Such tools have little residual stress in the coatings. The reported fracture toughness of a polycrystalline coarse grained diamond CVD coating is 5.3±11.3 MPa at room temperature (see Drory, et al., "Fracture Toughness of Chemically Vapor-Deposited Diamond," J. Am. Ceram. Soc., 74[12] 3148-50 (1991)). Typical silicon nitride and SiAlON substrates range in toughness between 4 and 6 MPa. These materials have low apparent toughness compared to tools with residual compressive stresses.”)
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Kullander, with the thermal expansion coefficients of Silicon nitride and SiAlON as taught by ‘Cutler in order to provide a good match with diamond (‘Cutler, Col. 1, ln 41 – 45).
and
‘Kullander is silent regarding: the diamond layer has a compressive residual stress of 50 MPa [7,251.89 psi] or more and 1800 MPa [261,067.9 psi] or less.
However ‘Cutler does teach: “The desired compressive stress in the outer layers of the coating is at least 100 MPa and preferably between 300 and 600 MPa. This can be measured using any common residual stress technique (x-ray, interferometry, Raman spectroscopy, etc.) but the preferred technique is a simple strain gage method, as taught by Virkar, et al. J. Am. Ceram. Soc., 71[3] C-148-C-151 (1988), where a strain gage is attached to one side of the three-layered composite and the strain is monitored as the opposite side is removed by incremental grinding.” For a WC (Tungsten Carbide) substrate. However, the diamond coating on Silicon nitride and SiAlON ceramics substrate as cited above, would have the same compressive stresses of the diamond coating, since it is a measurement of the coating and not the measurement of the coating in combination with the substrate using X-ray where only the outer layer is measured.)
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 5,543,210 Kullander et al. (‘Kullander hereafter), and in view of U.S. 5,952,102 Raymond A. Cutler (‘Cutler hereafter), and in further view of U.S. 2010/0135737 Fukano et al. (‘Fukano hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 2, ‘Kullander and ‘Cutler discloses all the claim limitations except it is silent regarding: wherein the silicon nitride sintered body or the sialon sintered body of the base material includes a first phase that contains β-silicon nitride or β-sialon, and a second phase that contains at least one selected from the group consisting of a Ti nitride, a Ti carbonitride,
a Ti carbide, 12H-sialon, 15R-sialon, 21R-sialon, and α-sialon.
However, ‘Fukano does teach: Para 0049, “The substrate 2 may be formed from cemented carbide and cermet formed by binding a hard phase and a binding phase, or ceramic sintered bodies such as silicon nitride (Si.sub.3N.sub.4), Para 0063 Fig 3, second phase 8B composed of titanium nitride.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Kullander with a second phase of titanium nitride as taught by ‘Fukano in order to provide a coating with excellent wear resistance (‘Fukano, Para 0063).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art neither anticipates nor renders obvious the combination of limitations found in claim 4 with the limitations of claim 1. Specifically, the prior art does not teach the combination of limitations wherein "silicon nitride sintered body or the sialon sintered body of the base material is a silicon nitride sintered body that contains at least one selected from a Ti nitride, a Ti carbonitride, and a Ti carbide in a total of 5% by mass or more and 20% by mass or less, or a sialon sintered body that contains at least one selected from a Ti nitride, a Ti carbonitride, and a Ti carbide in a total of 5% by mass or more and 20% by mass or less.”
The closest prior art is as cited above (‘Kullander, ‘Cutler and ‘Fukano).
‘Kullander, ‘Cutler and ‘Fukano do not teach a silicon nitride sintered body or the sialon sintered body that contains Titanium in the mass percentages above.
Neither of these references anticipates nor renders obvious the combinations of limitations mentioned above. To modify the prior art would require improper hindsight and furthermore would destroy the workability of the references cited.
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art neither anticipates nor renders obvious the combination of limitations found in claim3 with the limitations of claim 1. Specifically, the prior art does not teach the combination of limitations wherein "the sialon sintered body of the base material is a sialon sintered body that contains Al in 2% by mass or more and 35% by mass or less as converted to oxide.”
The closest prior art is as cited above ‘Kullander, ‘Cutler, ‘Fukano and ‘Nakayma.
‘Kullander, ‘Cutler, ‘Fukano and ‘Nakayma do not teach the sialon sintered body of the base material is a sialon sintered body that contains Al in 2% by mass or more and 35% by mass or less as converted to oxide.
Neither of these references anticipates nor renders obvious the combinations of limitations mentioned above. To modify the prior art would require improper hindsight and furthermore would destroy the workability of the references cited.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Pg 4, ln 18 – 25,
“Although Kullander recognizes problems relating to the adhesion and flaking of a diamond coating in a cutting tool having a diamond-coated article, the solution proposed therein lies in providing an intermediate coating between the substrate and the diamond layer, or in forming a chromium-containing layer such as CrN, CrC, or CrCN on the outside of the diamond layer. See Col. 1, Zn 36-45. Therefore, Kullander neither discloses nor suggests the technical concept of improving the adhesion of the diamond layer by controlling the relationship between the average coefficient of thermal expansion of the substrate and the compressive residual stress of the diamond layer.”
‘Kullander teaches regarding adhesion: Col. 3, ln 27 – 42, “According to the present invention, there is also provided a method of making diamond coated bodies with improved adhesion. The bodies are first coated with at least one diamond layer using any known diamond CVD or PVD deposition technique, for example methods using a hot filament, DC, RF and MW plasmas, hollow cathode or a plasma jet. In these methods, hydrocarbons and hydrogen are used in different mixture ratios and at low pressures (1-1000 mbar) for the diamond formation. In some methods, the diamond deposition may result in a layer only partly covering the body. Outside the (outermost) diamond layer, preferably on top of it, at least one layer of chromium carbide, chromium nitride or chromium carbonitride is deposited. The Cr-containing layer can be applied by any known CVD or PVD method that does not negatively affect the diamond coating, preferably, PVD technique and most preferably ion plating.”
Further, Adhesion is not a claimed limitation. Examiner suggest that including such limitations in the claims, provided there is support in the disclosure.
Applicant argues Pg 5, ln 1 – 10, “Further, Cutler merely describes general coefficients of the thermal expansion of Si3N4 and SiAlON, as well as the compressive stress of an outer coating layer, and does not teach that the diamond layer itself on the Si3N4 or SiAlON substrate of Kullander has the compressive residual stress range as recited in Claim 1 of the present application. In particular, the residual stress of a diamond layer is not an inherent fixed value of the coating alone, but instead depends on factors such as the difference in thermal expansion from the substrate, the substrate composition, film thickness, deposit conditions, cooling conditions, layer structure, and interfacial state. Accordingly, the Applicant respectfully asserts that the Office Action's finding that the compressive stress value described in Cutler can be directly applied to the structure of Kullander lacks a sufficient technical basis.”
‘Cultler teaches the diamond layer on a Si3N4 based substrates.
‘Cutler, Abst, “A binderless coarse-grained WC substrate is coated with a
chemical vapor deposition ("CVD") diamond layer in order to give a coating with improved adherence relative to WC-Co-based substrates and high compressive residual stress relative to Si3N4 -based substrates.”
Applicant argues (above) the “coating depends on factors such as the difference in thermal expansion from the substrate, the substrate composition, film thickness, deposit conditions, cooling conditions, layer structure, and interfacial state.” However, such limitations are not claimed. Examiner suggest that including such limitations in the claims, provided there is support in the disclosure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
U.S. 4,734,339 Schachner et al. (‘Schachner hereafter), Filed 03/29/1988;
Col. 2, ln 13 – 20, Discusses: “Special examples of nitrides and compounds that can be mentioned are: silicon nitride, titanium nitride, zirconium nitride, vanadium nitride, chromium nitride, niobium nitride, molybdenum nitride, tantalum nitride, tungsten nitride and hafnium nitride. Boride include: titanium borides, zirconium borides, chromium borides, cobalt borides, molybdenum borides, niobium borides, iron borides and others.”
Examiner encourages Applicant to fill out and submit form PTO-SB-439 to allow internet communications in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 (MPEP 02.03). Should the need arise to perfect applicant-proposed or examiner’s amendments, authorization for e-mail correspondence would have already been authorized and would save time.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAWRENCE AVERICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799
07/29/2026