2. It would be of great assistance to the office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
i. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
ii. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
iii. Filing date.
iv. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
v. Title of invention.
vi. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
3. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
4. Claim interpretation: When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations doesn’t have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 & 11 are rejected under 35 USC 102 as being clearly anticipated by Venkataraman et al (Pub No. US 2022/0377659).
Regarding claim 1, Venkataraman et al discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, a system information block (SIB) including slice information (Fig. 4: UE receive network slice information & Para. 36-39: system information block with network slice information); identifying at least one cell for a slice service for the UE among a plurality of neighboring cells based on the slice information (Para. 36 & 42 & 56 & 58: identifying cell for a slice service & Fig. 4); and camping on the at least one cell for the slice service (Para. 36-42: camping cell for the slice service & Para. 50).
Regarding claim 11, Venkataraman et al discloses user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE (Fig. 2-3) comprising: at least one processor; and memory (Fig. 1-3) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to: receive, from a base station, a system information block (SIB) including slice information (Fig. 4: UE receive network slice information & Para. 36-39: system information block with network slice information), identify at least one cell for a slice service for the UE among a plurality of neighboring cells based on the slice information (Para. 36 & 42 & 56 & 58: identifying cell for a slice service & Fig. 4), and camp on the at least one cell for the slice service (Para. 36-42: camping cell for the slice service & Para. 50).
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-10 & 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkataraman et al (Pub No. US 2022/0377659) and further in view of Cheng et al (Pub No. 2024/0015798).
Regarding claim 2 & 12, Venkataraman et al is silent regarding the slice information includes information on a slice list indicating the at least one cell supporting a network slices access stratum (AS) group (NSAG) identity (ID) corresponding to the slice service.
Cheng et al discloses the slice information includes information on a slice list indicating the at least one cell supporting a network slices access stratum (AS) group (NSAG) identity (ID) corresponding to the slice service (Para. 186: slices access stratum group identity & Para. 131).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use group identity in the wireless communication system for robust signal exchange between base station and mobile devices.
Regarding claim 3 & 13, Venkataraman et al discloses transmitting, to a network via the base station, a measurement report including information on the at least one cell identified based on the information on the slice list (Para. 56: Cell ID).
Regarding claim 4 & 14, Venkataraman et al discloses receiving, from the base station, a message for a handover of the UE to the at least one cell, wherein, in case that the at least one cell corresponds to a secondary cell group (SCG), the at least one cell is added to a SCG list (Para. 54 & 59: UE handover & 39-42: cell select and list).
Regarding claim 5 & 15, Note the rejection set forth above, Venkataraman et al discloses receiving, from a network via the base station, information on one or more redirection frequencies, wherein the plurality of neighboring cells belong to the one or more redirection frequencies (Para. 17-18: Allocation of multiple frequency ranges and cell with frequency ranges).
Regarding claim 6 & 16, Note the rejection set forth above, Venkataraman et al discloses receiving, from a network via the base station, information on a plurality of frequencies within a first radio access technology (RAT), wherein the plurality of neighboring cells belong to the plurality of frequencies (Para. 17-18: Allocation of multiple frequency ranges and cell with frequency ranges) & (Para. 24-25).
Regarding claim 7 & 17, Note the rejection set forth above, Venkataraman et al discloses a source cell of the UE belongs to a second RAT, wherein the at least one cell corresponding to a target cell belongs to the first RAT (Para. 17-18 & Para. 24-25 & 53).
Venkataraman et al is silent regarding a source cell does not support a network slices access stratum (AS) group (NSAG) identity (ID).
Cheng et al discloses a source cell does not support a network slices access stratum (AS) group (NSAG) identity (ID) (Para. 186: slices access stratum group identity & Para. 131).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use group identity in the wireless communication system for robust signal exchange between base station and mobile devices.
Regarding claim 8 & 18, Venkataraman is silent regarding in case that the at least one cell is a secondary cell, a SCG addition of the secondary cell is performed, and wherein the UE enters dual connectivity (DC) mode based on the SCG addition.
Cheng et al in case that the at least one cell is a secondary cell, a SCG addition of the secondary cell is performed, and wherein the UE enters dual connectivity (DC) mode based on the SCG addition (Fig. 2-3 & Para. 45 & 53: UE move from serving cell to another cell and may have multiple cell connection).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to better communicating cell in the wireless communication system for robust signal exchange between base station and mobile devices.
Regarding claim 9 & 19, Note the rejection set forth above, Venkataraman et al discloses transmitting, to a network via the base station, a service request for protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment for the slice service (Para. 33 & 26).
Regarding claim 10 & 20, Note the rejection set forth above, Venkataraman et al discloses identifying the at least one cell supporting a radio access network (RAN) slice among the plurality of neighboring cells; and camping on the at least one cell for the slice service (Para. 28 & 36: Network slice and cell selection and cell camp on).
Conclusion
/MD K TALUKDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648