DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure
Statements filed on March 07, 2024 and January 02, 2026 have all been considered and
made of record (note the attached copies of form PTO-1449).
Drawings
Four sheets of drawings were filed on March 07, 2024.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant
may become aware in the specification.
Inventorship
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Evans (US20180059331A1).
Regarding claim 1, Evans discloses a preparation method for an optical coupling system for coupling and connecting an optical chip to an optical fiber (Abstract. Para. [0007]. Figure 1), wherein the preparation method comprises the following processes: providing a substrate (60), and mounting an optical chip (20) on the substrate to form a first intermediate member (Figure 4A); fixing an optical fiber (232 in figure 3A) in a fixing structure (201 in Figure 3A ferrule body. Para. [0042]) to form an optical fiber assembly (200 in Figure 3A - Plug); providing a connection assembly (Figure 7B. 200 ,320, and 300 connected), the connection assembly including a chip-side connector (300 in figure 2B) and an optical fiber-side connector (320 in Figure 5, and the chip-side connector and the optical fiber-side connector being used for detachable connection (320-separate part as illustrated by the dashed line DL in FIG. 2B. Para [0055]); fixedly connecting one end and another end of the optical fiber-side connector (320) to the optical fiber assembly (200) and the chip-side connector(300), respectively, to form a second intermediate member (Figure 7B. 200 ,320, and 300 connected); adjusting a relative position of the second intermediate member to the first intermediate member (Para. [0088]); and when the optical chip and the optical fiber achieve optimal optical coupling, stopping adjustment of the relative position and fixing the chip- side connector to the substrate (Para. [0089]).
Regarding claim 2, Evans discloses the preparation method for the optical coupling system according to claim 1. Evans further discloses wherein, after stopping adjustment of the relative position when the optical chip (20) and the optical fiber (232) achieve the optimal optical coupling and fixing the chip-side connector (300) to the substrate (60. Para. [0060]), the preparation method further comprises: disassembling the chip-side connector from the optical fiber-side connector (Para. [0089]).
Regarding Claim 9, Evans discloses the preparation method for the optical coupling system according to claim 1. Evan further discloses, a substrate (60 in figure 1); an optical chip mounted (20 in figure 1) on the substrate (Figure 1); an optical fiber assembly (200 in figure 3A) including an optical fiber (232) and a fixing structure (201 in Figure 3A ferrule body. Para. [0042]), and the optical fiber being fixed to the fixing structure (Para. [0042]); and connection assembly (100 in figure 2A) including a chip-side connector (300) and an optical fiber-side connector (320-Tab), and one end of the optical fiber-side connector being connected to a connection end surface of the optical fiber assembly (Figure 5), and another end of the optical fiber-side connector being detachably connected to the chip-side connector (separate part as illustrated by the dashed line DL in FIG. 2B. Para [0055]), the chip-side connector being fixed to the substrate (Para. [0060]), and a fixed position of the chip-side connector on the substrate being determined according to the optical fiber-side connector that is connected to the optical fiber assembly (Para. [0089]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 5, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans (US20180059331A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Numata et al. (US10310187B2), hereafter Numata.
Regarding claim 3, Evans discloses the preparation method for the optical coupling system according to claim 1. Evans further discloses wherein the processes of providing the substrate (60 in figure 4A) and mounting the optical chip (20) on the substrate to form the first intermediate member (Figure 4A) further includes: providing a substrate (60); mounting the optical chip (20) on the substrate (Figure 1), and a lens (abstract). Evans fails to disclose mounting a first lens structure on the substrate, and the first lens structure being located on one side of the optical chip.
Numata teaches a lower lens array (108) mounted on a substrate (102) over an optoelectronic chip (104.Figure 1. Column 2 lines 56-57).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the optical coupling system of evens with substrate mounted lens taught by Numata for the purpose of improving optical coupling efficiency and relax alignment tolerances between the optical fiber and the optical chip.
Regarding claim 4, Evans discloses the preparation method for the optical coupling system according to claim 1. Evans further discloses adjusting the position of optical coupling components (e.g. plug and receptacle assemblies) with respect to the optical chip (Para. [0056]). Evans fails to disclose mounting the first lens structure on the substrate.
Numata teaches permanent fixation of the lens array to the substrate (Column 3 lines 11-20).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the optical coupling systems of Evans with the substrate mounted lens structure taught by Numata for the purpose of improving optical coupling efficiency and maintain stable optical alignment after assembly.
Regarding claim 5, Evans discloses the preparation method for the optical coupling system according to claim 1. Evans further discloses permanent fixation of aligned components to the substrate via laser bonding, wherein the processes of stopping adjustment of the relative position when the optical chip and the optical fiber achieve optimal optical coupling, and fixing the chip-side connector to the substrate includes: fixing the chip-side connector on the substrate by laser welding or eutectic soldering (Para. [0060] and [0089]). Evans fails to teach fixing the first lens structure on the substrate.
Numata teaches permanent fixation of the lens array to the substrate (Column 3 lines 11-20).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art fix the lens structure of Numata using the method of permanent fixation (laser bonding) of Evans to provide mechanical stability, thermal reliability and long-term alignment retention.
Regarding claim 10, Evans discloses the preparation method for the optical coupling system according to claim 1. Evans further discloses a lens (abstract) but fails to disclose the first lens structure is located on the substrate and is located on one side of the optical chip.
Numata teaches a first lens structure (108 in figure 1) is located on the substrate (102) and is located on one side of the optical chip (104).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art incorporate the optical assembly of Evans with the substrate mounted chip-side lens structure taught by Numata for the purpose of improving optical coupling efficiency between the optical fiber and the optical chip and provide more stable and repeatable optical alignment.
Claims 6-8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans (US20180059331A1).
Regarding claim 6, Evans discloses the preparation method for the optical coupling systems according to claim 1. Evans further discloses mounting a lens structure on one end of the optical fiber-side connector; connecting one end of the optical fiber-side connector mounted with the second lens structure to the optical fiber assembly; and connecting another end of the optical fiber-side connector to the chip-side connector (Figure 7D-7E. Para. [0069]).
To the extent claim 6 requires mounting a lens on the fiber-side connector, such an arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, in view of Evans, which expressly teaches the use of a fiber-side lens for improving coupling efficiency and alignment tolerance. The claimed configuration represents a routine and predictable design in optical coupling systems and yields no unexpected technical effect beyond those already recognized in Evans.
Regarding claim 7, Evans discloses the preparation method for the optical coupling systems according to claim 1. Evans further disclose adjusting a position of the optical fiber assembly relative to the lens structure; and fixing one end of the optical fiber-side connector mounted with the second lens structure to the optical fiber assembly (Para. [0058]). Evans fails to disclose isolating the lens as a separate component, the lens in Evans in integrated into the fiber-side connector, such that adjusting the connector inherently adjusts the lens relative to the optical and the optical chip.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that adjusting the position of the fiber-side connector as taught by Evans, necessarily adjust the position of the lens mounted on that connector relative to the optical fiber assembly and optical chip. Treating the adjustment as adjustment of the fiber relative to the lens, rather adjustment of the connector as a whole, is merely a difference in description, not a substantive structural distinction, and represents a predictable variation of Evans.
Regarding claim 8, Evans discloses the preparation method for the optical coupling systems according to claim 1. Evans further discloses, the chip-side connector includes a guide hole (340 in figure 4A); the optical fiber-side connector includes guide pin (240 in figure 3A); and the guide pin is arranged corresponding to the guide hole (Para. [0054]). Evans fails to disclose the chip-side connector includes a guide pin; the optical fiber side connector includes a guide hole.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the alignment feature arrangement of Evans to provide reciprocal guide pin and guide hold features on both chip-side connector and the optical fiber-side connector. Such a reciprocal pin-and-hole configuration is a routine mechanical design variation commonly employed in connector systems to improve mating robustness and ensure proper orientation during insertion.
Regarding claim 11, Evans discloses the preparation method for the optical coupling systems according to claim 1. Evans further discloses a lens structure, the lens structure located at one end of the optical fiber-side connector (Figure 7D-7E. Para. [0069]) with the lens structure connected to the optical fiber assembly (Figure 7D-7E. Para. [0069]).
To the extent claim 11 is construed as requiring a particular configuring in which a lens is mounted at one end of the fiber-side connector and the connector is connected to the optical fiber assembly, such configuration would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, in view of Evans.
Conclusion
/TAJANAE NICOLE GREEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874