Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 9, 12-13, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamada (US 2021/0163245 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Yamada teaches a system comprising:
a media holder configured to hold a media within a printer, the media holder comprising [[0027] a core material holder 111 that holds the core material 1A, and supplies the sheet 1 to the inside of the apparatus by rotating the core material holder 111]:
at first media sensor [[abstract] ultrasonic apparatus includes a first ultrasonic sensor that transmits an ultrasonic wave to an object and receives the ultrasonic wave reflected by the object, a second ultrasonic sensor that transmits an ultrasonic wave to the object and receives the ultrasonic wave reflected by the object; [0007] printing apparatus according to a third aspect includes a detection apparatus], the first media sensor being configured to determine information related to an angle [[0064] signal A2 is a received signal when the first angle θ formed between the normal line of the first protective surface 251A and the Z direction is 10°. A signal A3 is a received signal when the first angle θ formed between the normal line of the first protective surface 251A and the Z direction is 20°] of at least one arm that rotates in a predefined path when the media holder receives the media [[0027] sheet 1 wound around a core material 1A to the inside of the apparatus. The supplier 110 includes, for example, a core material holder 111 that holds the core material 1A, and supplies the sheet 1 to the inside of the apparatus by rotating the core material holder 111; [0028] transporter 120 constitutes a transport mechanism and transports the sheet 1 supplied from the supplier 110 along a transport path 10; [0055] ultrasonic waves reflected by the sheet 1 need to be received by the first ultrasonic sensor 210 and the second ultrasonic sensor 220 again]; and
a second media sensor [[0040] first ultrasonic sensor 210 and the second ultrasonic sensor 220 are sensors that transmit ultrasonic waves toward the sheet 1 and receive ultrasonic waves reflected by the sheet 1] positioned at a base of the printer and beneath the media when the media holder receives the media [[0063] reflection of ultrasonic waves on the first holder 261 and the second holder 262 and the reflection on the bottom surface portion 330 can be suppressed], wherein the second media sensor is configured to determine a distance between the media and the second media sensor [[0049] first control circuit 241 calculates a first distance, which is the distance between the first ultrasonic sensor 210 and the sheet 1, based on the time from the transmission timing of ultrasonic waves to the reception timing of ultrasonic waves in the first ultrasonic sensor 210]; and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the first media sensor and the second media sensor, [[0076] controller 160 includes an arithmetic portion 161 configured by a CPU (Central Processing Unit) and the like, and a storage portion 162 configured by a recording circuit such as a memory. The controller 160 is coupled to the supplier 110, the transporter 120, the heater 130, the printer 141, the movement mechanism 150, and the ultrasonic apparatus 200, and controls the overall operation of the printing apparatus 100], the at least one processor configured to:
receive the determined information related to the angle or the distance between the media and the second media sensor, from the first media sensor and the second media sensor [[0003] change in the inclination angle of the sheet caused by the wrinkles of the sheet is detected by using a phase shift; [0005] outputs an error signal when the difference between a first distance between the first ultrasonic sensor and the object calculated based on ultrasonic wave transmission and reception processing using the first ultrasonic sensor and a second distance between the second ultrasonic sensor];
compare the determined information with a predefined threshold value range associated with the angle of the at least one arm or the distance between the media and the second media sensor [[0051] first distance calculated by the first control circuit 241 and the second distance calculated by the second control circuit is within a predetermined threshold value. Then, the determination circuit 243 outputs an error signal to the controller 160 when the difference between the first distance and the second distance exceeds the threshold value. That is, when the difference between the first distance and the second distance is large, there is a possibility that an abnormality such as wrinkles has occurred in the sheet 1]; and
determine improper loading of the media within the printer based at least on the comparison [[0003] known a detection apparatus that detects an abnormality such as wrinkles in a sheet by using ultrasonic waves (see, for example, JP-A-2002-211797). The detection apparatus described in JP-A-2002-211797 transmits ultrasonic waves to a sheet from an ultrasonic transmission apparatus, and receives the ultrasonic waves that passed through the sheet by an ultrasonic reception apparatus].
(claim 12 appears to be a method form of claim 1 which is a system claim and is therefore rejected for failing to remedy the same issues)
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Yamada teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first media sensor comprises at least one of an angular sensor [[0003] change in the inclination angle of the sheet caused by the wrinkles of the sheet is detected by using a phase shift], and wherein the second media sensor comprises a proximity sensor [[0130] part of the ultrasonic waves reflected by the first protective surface and the second protective surface is reflected toward the second side surface portion opposite to the first side surface portion where the circuit board is disposed in close proximity. With such a configuration, it is possible to suppress the disadvantage that part of the ultrasonic waves reflected by the first protective surface and the second protective surface is multiply reflected in the shield and returns to the ultrasonic sensor].
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Yamada teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the proximity sensor emits one or more rays and receives reflected one or more rays from the media to determine the distance between the proximity sensor and the media, and wherein the one or more rays corresponds to at least one of one or more infrared waves (IR) or ultrasonic sound waves (UV) [[classifications] G01B17/00 Measuring arrangements [characterized] by the use of infrasonic, sonic or ultrasonic vibrations; [abstract] ultrasonic wave transmission and reception processing; [0005] a ultrasonic wave to an object and receives the ultrasonic wave reflected by the object, a second ultrasonic sensor that transmits an ultrasonic wave to the object and receives the ultrasonic wave reflected by the object; [prior art claim 1] first distance between the first ultrasonic sensor and the object calculated based on ultrasonic wave transmission and reception processing using the first ultrasonic sensor and a second distance between the second ultrasonic sensor and the object calculated based on ultrasonic wave transmission and reception processing].
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Yamada teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the determined distance between the media and the proximity sensor below or above the predefined threshold value range corresponds to the improper loading of the media within the printer [[0003] change in the inclination angle of the sheet caused by the wrinkles of the sheet is detected by using a phase shift; [0051] when the difference between the first distance and the second distance is large, there is a possibility that an abnormality such as wrinkles has occurred in the sheet 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5-8, 10-11, 14, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US 2021/0163245 A1) and Koike (JPH06179564A; ids).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Yamada does not explicitly teach and yet Koike teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the angular sensor has the at least one arm, and is configured to determine the angle of the at least one arm [[0024] such rotation of the feeler causes the switch pieces 125 and 126 extending from the upper end of the feeler at different inclination angles to swing. accordingly, various combinations of on and off states of the paper top detection sensor 125S and paper bottom detection sensor 126S are obtained, and the state of the loaded paper surface relative to the carriage 111 can be determined from these states.].
It would have been obvious to combine the paper detection sensor as taught by Yamada, with the rotation feeler switch paper detection sensors as taught by Koike so that the state of the paper being loaded can be detected [[0024]].
Regarding claim 5, Yamada does not explicitly teach and yet Koike the system of claim 3, wherein the at least one arm of the angular sensor is positioned on the media holder and is configured to be abutting a periphery of the media [[0024] such rotation of the feeler causes the switch pieces 125 and 126 extending from the upper end of the feeler at different inclination angles to swing.], and the proximity sensor is positioned at the base of the printer and underneath to the media when the media holder receives the media [[0025] when the carriage 111 is in the middle position in the vertical direction, the lower end of the filler is in contact with the paper surface, and the movement of the carriage 111 is controlled so that the paper surface above detection sensor 125S and the paper surface below detection sensor 126S are positioned within the range of inclination surrounded by switch pieces 125 and 126 (see Figures 10 and 11).].
It would have been obvious to combine the paper detection sensor as taught by Yamada, with the rotation feeler switch paper detection sensors as taught by Koike so that the state of the paper being full can be detected [[0024]].
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Yamada does not explicitly teach and yet Koike teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the predefined path of the at least one arm defines a first end and a second end, and wherein the at least one arm positioned at the first end of the predefined path indicates an empty media condition and the at least one arm positioned at the second end of the predefined path indicates a full media condition [[0104] the maximum discharge capacity is the number of discharged sheets when the upper limit detection sensor 116 is turned on and the paper surface detection sensor 125S detects that the tray is full of paper. In this way, the image forming operation is stopped when the discharge tray is full.].
It would have been obvious to combine the paper detection sensor as taught by Yamada, with the rotation feeler switch paper detection sensors as taught by Koike so that the state of the paper being full can be detected [[0024]].
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Yamada does not explicitly teach and yet Koike teaches the system of claim 6, wherein the media pushes the at least one arm towards the second end of the predefined path that corresponds to the proper loading of the media within the printer.
It would have been obvious to combine the paper detection sensor as taught by Yamada, with the rotation feeler switch paper detection sensors as taught by Koike so that the state of the paper being full can be detected [[0024]].
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Yamada does not explicitly teach and yet Koike teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the determined angle of the at least one arm below or above the predefined threshold value range corresponds to the improper loading of the media within the printer [[0104] detects that the tray is full of paper].
It would have been obvious to combine the paper detection sensor as taught by Yamada, with the rotation feeler switch paper detection sensors as taught by Koike so that the state of the paper being full can be detected [[0024]].
Regarding claim 10, Yamada does not explicitly teach and yet Koike teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to generate one or more notifications upon determining the improper loading of the media within the printer [[0014] sheet presence/absence detection means no longer detects the presence of a sheet, a warning means is provided to notify that a carriage movement operation will be performed when a predetermined operation is performed a certain time after the sheet presence detection means no longer detects the presence of a sheet, so that the distance between the top surface of the stacked sheets and the carriage becomes a predetermined distance (claim 8).; [0028] control performed by the CPU].
It would have been obvious to combine the paper detection sensor as taught by Yamada, with the rotation feeler switch paper detection sensors as taught by Koike so that the state of the paper being present/absent can be notified to a user [[0014]].
Regarding claim 11, Yamada does not explicitly teach and yet Koike teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the one or more notifications are displayed to a user over a display device communicatively coupled to the at least one processor [[0034] warning urging the user to remove the sheet is displayed on the LCD display].
It would have been obvious to combine the paper detection sensor as taught by Yamada, with the rotation feeler switch paper detection sensors as taught by Koike so that the state of the paper being present/absent can be notified to a user [[0014]].
Regarding claim 20, Yamada does not explicitly teach and yet Koike teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising: generating, via the at least one processor, one or more notifications upon determining the improper loading of the media within the printer, and displaying, via at least one display device communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, the one or more notifications to a user [[0014; 0028; 0034]].
It would have been obvious to combine the paper detection sensor as taught by Yamada, with the rotation feeler switch paper detection sensors as taught by Koike so that the state of the paper being present/absent can be notified to a user [[0014]].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The . In summary, it appears that nearly any two sensors which detect a piece of installed media (e.g., a paper sheet) could be said to read on these limitations at present.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN D ARMSTRONG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645