DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 15-16 objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claims 15 and 16, line 1 recites “the engagement feature”, it should be --a engagement feature--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 11, 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dobler (EP 3493333 A1)(English Translated).
In Regards to Claim 1:
Dobler teaches an electrical port (3) for receiving a plug connector (2) including a boot (4), comprising:
a trim ring (17) including an internal wall at least partially defining a cavity (8), the cavity (8) configured to substantially surround the boot (4);
a receptacle (7) coupled to the trim ring (17) further defining the cavity (8); and an engagement feature (11) disposed within the cavity (8) configured to interlock with the plug connector (2), the engagement feature (11) comprising an elongate member (11) disposed within the receptacle (7), the elongate member (11) defining a distal end configured to interlock with the plug connector (2).
In Regards to Claim 2:
Dobler teaches the electrical port of claim 1, wherein:
the trim ring (17) further comprises an external surface; the boot (4) includes a top surface; and the external surface is substantially parallel with the top surface when the distal end of the elongate member (11) is interlocked with the plug connector (2).
In Regards to Claim 3:
Dobler teaches the electrical port of claim 1, wherein:
the trim ring (17) defines a first aperture; the receptacle (7) defines a second aperture; and the electrical port (3) further comprises a fastener at least partially disposed within the first aperture and the second aperture.
In Regards to Claim 4:
Dobler teaches the electrical port of claim 1, wherein the elongate member (11) comprises a protrusion formed on the internal wall of the trim ring (17).
In Regards to Claim 5:
Dobler teaches the electrical port of claim 1, wherein the elongate member (11) extends through the internal wall to interlock with the plug connector (2).
In Regards to Claim 8:
Dobler teaches the electrical port of claim 1, wherein the internal wall is sized to frictionally engage the boot (4).
In Regards to Claim 11:
Dobler teaches a plug connector (2) for a cable (16), comprising:
a boot (4); a plug (5) extending from the boot (4); and an engagement recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1) defined by an exterior surface of the boot (4), the engagement recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1) configured to interlock with an electrical port (3) of an electronic device.
In Regards to Claim 13:
Dobler teaches the plug connector of claim 11, wherein the engagement recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1) comprises a first recess defined on a first side of the boot (4) and a second recess defined on a second opposite side of the boot (4).
In Regards to Claim 14:
Dobler teaches the plug connector of claim 11, wherein the engagement recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1) comprises a channel extending around a periphery of the boot (4).
In Regards to Claim 16:
Dobler teaches the plug connector of claim 11, wherein the engagement feature (11) comprises a first engagement feature, and further comprising a second engagement feature defined by the plug (5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9, 12, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobler (EP 3493333 A1)(English Translated) in view (DE 4439852 A1)(English Translated)
In Regards to Claim 7:
All claim limitations are discussed with respect to Claim 1, Dobler does not teach wherein the engagement feature further comprises a canted coil spring.
DE 852 teaches wherein the engagement feature (1) further comprises a canted coil spring (11).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use Liao's teaching of the use of the canted coil spring as a modification in the DE 852 electric device in order to provide to create the genre specified in the introduction, the particular which is easy to use, without this at the expense of HF technical properties of the connector goes. (DE 852, Description).
In Regards to Claim 9:
All claim limitations are discussed with respect to Claim 7, Dobler does not teach wherein the canted coil spring exerts a force on the elongate member.
DE 852 teaches wherein the canted coil spring (11) exerts a force on the elongate member (1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use Liao's teaching of the use of the canted coil spring as a modification in the DE 852 electric device in order to provide to create the genre specified in the introduction, the particular which is easy to use, without this at the expense of HF technical properties of the connector goes. (DE 852, Description).
In Regards to Claim 12:
All claim limitations are discussed with respect to Claim 11, Dobler does not teach wherein the engagement recess further comprises a canted coil spring at least partially disposed within a channel defined on an exterior surface of the boot.
DE 852 teaches wherein the engagement recess further comprises a canted coil spring (11) at least partially disposed within a channel defined on an exterior surface of the boot (6).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use Liao's teaching of the use of the canted coil spring as a modification in the DE 852 electric device in order to provide to create the genre specified in the introduction, the particular which is easy to use, without this at the expense of HF technical properties of the connector goes. (DE 852, Description).
In Regards to Claim 17:
Dobler teaches a cable assembly (Fig.1) for an electronic device, comprising:
a cable (16); a plug connector (2) attached to the cable (16), the plug connector (2) including a boot (4); and a plug (5) extending from the boot (4) and electrically connected to the cable (16); and an engagement feature (11) defined in the plug (5), the engagement feature (11) comprising:
a recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1) defined by the plug (5).
Dobler does not teach a canted coil spring disposed in the recess.
DE 852 teaches a canted coil spring (11) disposed in the recess.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use Liao's teaching of the use of the canted coil spring as a modification in the DE 852 electric device in order to provide to create the genre specified in the introduction, the particular which is easy to use, without this at the expense of HF technical properties of the connector goes. (DE 852, Description).
In Regards to Claim 18:
Dobler teaches the cable assembly of claim 17, wherein:
the plug (5) comprises a first surface, and a second surface substantially parallel to the first surface; the plug (5) comprises an electrical contact (6);
Dobler does not teach the canted coil spring encircles a periphery of the plug.
DE 852 teaches the canted coil spring (11) encircles a periphery of the plug.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use Liao's teaching of the use of the canted coil spring as a modification in the DE 852 electric device in order to provide to create the genre specified in the introduction, the particular which is easy to use, without this at the expense of HF technical properties of the connector goes. (DE 852, Description).
In Regards to Claim 19:
Dobler teaches the cable assembly of claim 18, wherein:
the engagement feature (11) is a first engagement feature on a first side of the plug (5), and the plug connector (2) further comprises a second engagement feature on a second side of the plug (5) opposite the first side; and the electrical contact (6) is a first electrical contact (6) and the plug (5) further comprises a second electrical contact (6).
In Regards to Claim 20:
Dobler teaches the cable assembly of claim 18, wherein the recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1) defined by the plug (5) extends around a periphery of the plug (5).
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobler (EP 3493333 A1)(English Translated) in view Kasar et al. (US. 10,128,608 B2).
In Regards to Claim 6:
All claim limitations are discussed with respect to Claim 1, Dobler does not teach wherein the engagement feature further comprises a magnet disposed within the cavity.
Kasar teaches wherein the engagement feature further comprises a magnet disposed within the cavity (Col 17, line 39-41, a magnetic latch may be used to maintain the connectors in a mated position and to help maintain a liquid-tight seal).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use Liao's teaching of the use of the seal as a modification in the Kasar electric device in order to provide methods of magnet the connectors, accessories and the electronic device against liquid or debris ingression (Kasar, Col 1, line 33-35).
In Regards to Claim 10:
All claim limitations are discussed with respect to Claim 1, Dobler does not teach further comprising a seal positioned in the cavity.
Kasar teaches further comprising a seal (370) positioned in the cavity.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use Liao's teaching of the use of the seal as a modification in the Kasar electric device in order to provide methods of sealing the connectors, accessories and the electronic device against liquid or debris ingression (Kasar, Col 1, line 33-35).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobler (EP 3493333 A1)(English Translated) in view (DE 4439852 A1)(English Translated) and Kasar et al. (US. 10,128,608 B2).
In Regards to Claim 15:
All claim limitations are discussed with respect to Claim 11, Dobler as modified by (DE 852) does not teach wherein the engagement feature further comprises a magnet disposed within the boot.
Kasar teaches wherein the engagement feature further comprises a magnet disposed within the boot (Col 17, line 39-41, a magnetic latch may be used to maintain the connectors in a mated position and to help maintain a liquid-tight seal).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use Liao's teaching of the use of the seal as a modification in the Kasar electric device in order to provide methods of magnet the connectors, accessories and the electronic device against liquid or debris ingression (Kasar, Col 1, line 33-35).
Conclusion
/NADER J ALHAWAMDEH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831