DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
The drive recorder from claim 1 (Note: see Page 6 / Lines 8-9 of the specification)
The drive recorder switch that is clamped by the holder part together with the actuation part from claim 2 (Note: the drive recorder switch (element 50) appears to be attached to the holder part (element 40) in Figure 4 via two fasteners (element 44). The holder part does not appear to be able to perform the function of clamping the drive recorder switch. Is the Applicant trying to claim that --the drive recorder switch is attached to the holder part via a plurality of fasteners--? How does the structure in Figures 3 and 4 meet the claim limitation are currently written?)
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 1, recites “A drive recorder switch arrangement” which is indefinite because claim 1 positively claims structure (handlebars, vehicle body control devices) that are not a part of the drive recorder switch structure itself. Is Applicant’s invention a vehicle including a drive recorder switch, handlebars, a camera, a vehicle body control device, an accessory control device, etc. or just to the drive record switch structure? Should claim 1 be amended to recite --A saddle-riding vehicle comprising:--?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katsuya (JP 2004-175126 A; see Applicant provided machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Katsuya discloses a drive recorder switch arrangement which is equipped in a saddle-riding vehicle (the motorcycle shown in Figures 1 and 2) with left and right handlebars (7 on either side of the motorcycle as shown in Figures 1 and 2), the arrangement comprising:
a drive recorder switch (13) of a drive recorder that records video images taken by a camera (10) mounted on the vehicle;
a vehicle body control device (the lever on the right handlebar as shown in Figure 2) arranged at one of the left and right handlebars to allow control of a vehicle body of the vehicle; and
an accessory control device (50 and the lever on the left handlebar as shown in Figure 2) arranged at the other of the left and right handlebars **[to allow control of an accessory of the vehicle]**, the drive recorder switch being arranged at the other of the handlebars (13 is attached to the left handlebar as shown in Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 4, Katsuya discloses that the accessory control device comprises an actuation switch (a button to the left of 13 in Figure 4), and
the drive recorder switch is arranged inwards of the actuation switch in a width direction (the left-to-right direction of the motorcycle) of the vehicle on the other of the handlebars (13 is closer to the center of the motorcycle than the viewed actuation switch in Figure 4 thus meeting the claim limitation).
Claims 1-4, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by RAM® X-Grip® Large Phone Mount with Brake/Clutch Reservoir Base (hereinafter referred to as RAM; see provided Non-Patent Literature; copy of the website from waybackmachine.com has a publication date of November 29, 2022 which is prior to Applicant’s effective filing date; the YouTube Non-Patent Literature is from the same RAM® X-Grip® website showing the install; while the YouTube Non-Patent Literature has a publication date after Applicant’s effective filing date, the video is viewed as showing the structure as published on November 29, 2022 given the modern day website (https://rammount.com/products/ram-b-174-a-un10u) has the same part number as the Wayback machine Non-Patent Literature document and directly links to the YouTube video; the rejection(s) below will use the YouTube video for showing the structural elements the read on the claim(s)).
Regarding claim 1, RAM discloses a drive recorder switch arrangement which is equipped in a saddle-riding vehicle (see the motorcycle at 0:01 of the video) with left (the handlebar that would be one a rider’s left side when riding the motorcycle) and right (the handlebar that would be one a rider’s right side when riding the motorcycle) handlebars, the arrangement comprising:
a drive recorder switch (the button on the phone that takes a picture; the phone in the video appears to be an Apple iPhone given the visible call button) of a drive recorder (the phone in the video; appears to be an Apple iPhone given the visible call button) that records video images taken by a camera (the camera on the phone; the device at 0:50 of the video appears to be an Apple iPhone given the visible call button) mounted on the vehicle;
a vehicle body control device (the member on the left handlebar as shown at 0:50 of the video) arranged at one of the left and right handlebars to allow control of a vehicle body of the vehicle; and
an accessory control device (the lever and switch assembly shown one the right handlebar at 0:50 of the video) arranged at the other of the left and right handlebars to allow control of an accessory of the vehicle, the drive recorder switch being arranged at the other of the handlebars.
Regarding claim 2, RAM discloses that the accessory control device comprises an actuation lever (the lever graspable by a rider’s right hand at 0:09 of the video),
the actuation lever includes a holder part (the part that the bolts that get removed are located in at 0:09 of the video) which retains the actuation lever on the other of the handlebars, and
the drive recorder switch is clamped by the holder part together with the actuation lever (see 0:09-1:00 of the video).
Regarding claim 3, RAM discloses that the drive recorder switch is fixed at two points (the two points are viewed as being the points where the bolts go through the RAM mount to hold the RAM mount onto the accessory control device) to the holder part.
Regarding claim 4, RAM discloses that the accessory control device comprises an actuation switch (the red button at 1:00 of the video), and
the drive recorder switch is arranged inwards of the actuation switch in a width direction (the left-to-right direction of the motorcycle) of the vehicle on the other of the handlebars (the phone is located is closer to the center of the motorcycle than the red button at 1:00 of the video thus meeting the claim limitation).
Claims 1 and 5, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagata (JP 2015-184870 A; see provided machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Nagata discloses a drive recorder switch arrangement which is equipped in a saddle-riding vehicle (MC) with left and right handlebars (H; the left and right side of H in Figure 1 constitute left and right handlebars in the same manner as Applicant’s left and right handlebars), the arrangement comprising:
a drive recorder switch (D) of a drive recorder (C) that records video images taken by a camera (C can be a smartphone per Page 2 / Lines 18-20 of the machine translation and smartphones have cameras; a drive recorder function is disclosed on Page 6 / Lines 32-33 of the machine translation) mounted on the vehicle;
a vehicle body control device (the right hand grip and the lever on the right handlebar as shown in Figure 1) arranged at one of the left and right handlebars to allow control of a vehicle body of the vehicle; and
an accessory control device (L on the left side of the handlebar is a clutch lever; see Page 6 / Line 12 of the machine translation) arranged at the other of the left and right handlebars to allow control of an accessory (a clutch) of the vehicle, the drive recorder switch being arranged at the other of the handlebars (D is on the same side as the clutch lever L as shown in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Nagata discloses an elastic member (4) interposed between the drive recorder switch and the other of the handlebars.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuya (JP 2004-175126 A; see Applicant provided machine translation) in view of Nagata (JP 2015-184870 A; see provided machine translation).
Regarding claim 5, Katsuya discloses all of the claim limitations, see above, but does not disclose an elastic member interposed between the drive recorder switch and the other of the handlebars.
Nagata teaches an elastic member (4) interposed between a switch (21, 22, 24, 28) and a handlebar (H).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive recorder switch arrangement of Katsuya to have an elastic member interposed between the drive recorder switch and the other of the handlebars, as taught by Nagata, for the purpose of providing a material that goes between a switch and a handlebar such that play between the handlebar and the switch is lessened thereby providing a more rigid feeling structure.
Claim 5, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAM® X-Grip® Large Phone Mount with Brake/Clutch Reservoir Base (hereinafter referred to as RAM; see provided Non-Patent Literature; copy of the website from waybackmachine.com has a publication date of November 29, 2022 which is prior to Applicant’s effective filing date; the YouTube Non-Patent Literature is from the same RAM® X-Grip® website showing the install; while the YouTube Non-Patent Literature has a publication date after Applicant’s effective filing date, the video is viewed as showing the structure as published on November 29, 2022 given the modern day website (https://rammount.com/products/ram-b-174-a-un10u) has the same part number as the Wayback machine Non-Patent Literature document and directly links to the YouTube video; the rejection(s) below will use the YouTube video for showing the structural elements the read on the claim(s)) in view of Nagata (JP 2015-184870 A; see provided machine translation).
Regarding claim 5, RAM discloses all of the claim limitations, see above, but does not disclose an elastic member interposed between the drive recorder switch and the other of the handlebars.
Nagata teaches an elastic member (4) interposed between a switch (21, 22, 24, 28) and a handlebar (H).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive recorder switch arrangement of RAM to have an elastic member interposed between the drive recorder switch and the other of the handlebars, as taught by Nagata, for the purpose of providing a material that goes between a switch and a handlebar such that play between the handlebar and the switch is lessened thereby providing a more rigid feeling structure.
**The above statements in brackets are instances of intended use and functional language. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does, see MPEP 2114. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Saeki et al. (US 11,939,021 B2) discloses a straddle vehicle with a camera attached to the front end of the straddle vehicle.
Carnevali (US 2005/0269465 A1) discloses a mounting bracket that is configured to be attached to a handlebar of a bicycle, motorcycle, all terrain vehicle, or the like via a clamping connection.
/ADAM D ROGERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617