DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to a paper filed on 11/26/2025 in which claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bullock (US 2013/0057392 A1).
As to claims 1 and 18, Bullock discloses a computer-implemented (Fig 3, 54) method, comprising:
receiving, by a first antenna (Fig 1, 24) integrated into an article of apparel (abstract), a wireless signal from a second antenna (Fig 1, 12) of a mobile device (Fig 1, 11);
in response to the receiving of the wireless signal from the second antenna of the mobile device, inducing a current in the first antenna and providing the current to a power supply (Fig 6, 230) coupled to the article of apparel, the power supply being configured to output power for operating one or more electronic components of the article of apparel (see Fig 6, parag [0140]);
in response to the providing of the current to the power supply coupled to the article of apparel, converting the current into power (see Fig 6, the power generation module will convert the RF energy transmitted by wireless sensor reader 140); and
in response to the converting of the current into power and based at least in part on the first antenna integrated into the wearable article receiving the wireless signal (see Fig 1, parags [0031-0032]) from the second antenna of the mobile device, causing at least one of a controller (Fig 6, 242) coupled to the article of apparel or one or more sensors (Fig 6, 291, 292, 294) coupled to the article of apparel to operate by transmitting the power to at least one of, the controller or the one or more sensors (see parag [0140]).
As to claims 2 and 19, Bullock discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to the transmitting of the power, obtaining, via the one or more sensors coupled to the article of apparel, sensor data and transmitting the sensor data to the controller; and in response to receiving the sensor data, formatting, via the controller, the sensor data (see parag [0156]).
As to claim 3, Bullock discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising: in response to the formatting of the sensor data, transmitting the formatted sensor data from the first antenna of the article of apparel back to the second antenna of the mobile device (see parag [0061]).
As to claims 4 and 20, Bullock discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the transmitting of the formatted sensor data from the first antenna of the article of apparel back to the second antenna of the mobile device occurs continuously until the current is no longer induced at the first antenna based on at least one of, the mobile device ceasing to cause the inducement of the current at the first antenna or the first antenna of the article of apparel being taken out of substantial alignment with the second antenna of the mobile device (see parags [0033-0034], [0061]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 9-14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bullock (US 2013/0057392 A1) in view of Kwan (US 2007/0222684 A1).
As to claim 5, Bullock does not disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the receiving, by the first antenna of the article of apparel, of the wireless signal from the second antenna of the mobile device is based at least in part on the first antenna of the article of apparel and the second antenna of the mobile device being in substantial alignment.
However, Kwan discloses the first antenna of the article of apparel and the second antenna of the mobile device being in substantial alignment (see claim 5). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first and second antennas of Bullock being substantial alignment as taught by Kwan in order to prevent cancellation of wireless signals (see parag [0012]).
As to claim 6, the combination of Bullock and Kwan discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein the first antenna of the article of apparel and the second antenna of the mobile device being in substantial alignment is based at least in part on the mobile device being secured to a holder (Bullock, see parag [0034]) coupled to the article of apparel such that the first antenna of the article of apparel and the second antenna of the mobile device are in substantial alignment (Kwan, see claim 5).
As to claims 9 and 17, the combination of Bullock and Kwan discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first antenna has a first primary axis and the second antenna has a second primary axis, and wherein the first antenna is in alignment with the second antenna when the first primary axis and the second primary axis are substantially coaxial (Kwan, see claim 5).
As to claim 10, Bullock discloses a computer-implemented (Fig 3, 54) method, comprising:
communicatively coupling an article of apparel antenna (Fig 1, 24) of an article of apparel (abstract) with a primary antenna (Fig 1, 12) of a mobile device (Fig 1, 11);
in response to the communicatively coupling, outputting, via a power supply (Fig 6, 230), power based on a current generated in the article of apparel antenna when communicatively coupled with the primary antenna, the power supply being configured to output the power for operating one or more electronic components of the article of apparel (see Fig 6, parag [0140]); and
in response to the outputting of the power and based at least in part on the communicatively coupling of the article of apparel antenna (Fig 1, 24) of the article of apparel with the primary antenna (Fig 1, 12) of the mobile device, causing a sensor (Fig 6, 291, 292) within the article of apparel to operate by outputting a sensor signal when powered by the power output by the power supply (see parag [0140]).
Bullock does not disclose the article of apparel antenna being positioned in communicative alignment with the primary antenna of the mobile device.
However, Kwan discloses the article of apparel antenna being positioned in communicative alignment with the primary antenna of the mobile device (see claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first and second antennas of Bullock being substantial alignment as taught by Kwan in order to prevent cancellation of wireless signals (see parag [0012]).
As to claim 11, the combination of Bullock and Kwan discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 10, wherein the outputting of the sensor signal includes transmitting the sensor data to the controller, and wherein the method further comprising: in response to receiving the sensor data, formatting, via the controller, the sensor data (Bullock, see parag [0156]).
As to claim 12, the combination of Bullock and Kwan discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 10, wherein the outputting of the sensor signal includes transmitting formatted sensor data from the article of apparel antenna back to the primary antenna of the mobile device (Bullock, see parag [0061]).
As to claim 13, the combination of Bullock and Kwan discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 12, wherein the transmitting of the formatted sensor data from the article of apparel antenna back to the primary antenna of the mobile device occurs continuously until the current is no longer induced at the article of apparel antenna based on at least one of, the mobile device ceasing to cause the inducement of the current at the article of apparel antenna or the article of apparel antenna being taken out of substantial alignment with the primary antenna of the mobile device (Bullock, see parags [0033-0034], [0061]).
As to claim 14, the combination of Bullock and Kwan discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 10, wherein the article of apparel antenna (Fig 1, 24) being positioned in communicative alignment with the primary antenna (Fig 1, 12) of the mobile device is based at least in part on the mobile device being secured to a holder (Bullock, see parag [0034]) coupled to the article of apparel such that the article of apparel antenna and the primary antenna of the mobile device are in substantial alignment (Kwan, see claim 5).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bullock (US 2013/0057392 A1) in view of Kaiser (US 2011/0299715 A1).
As to claim 7, Bullock does not disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the article of apparel comprises an environmental barrier configured to isolate an electrical system from an environmental condition, and wherein the electrical system includes the first antenna, the power supply, the controller, and the one or more sensors.
However, Kaiser discloses wherein the article of apparel comprises an environmental barrier configured to isolate an electrical system from an environmental condition, and wherein the electrical system includes the first antenna, the power supply, the controller, and the one or more sensors (see Fig 3, 120, parag [0024]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparel of Bullock to include waterproof barrier as taught by Kaiser in order to prevent moisture from contacting the circuit board (see parag [0024]).
As to claim 8, the combination of Bullock and Kaiser discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein the environmental barrier is a waterproof barrier (Kaiser, see Fig 3, 120, parag [0024]).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bullock (US 2013/0057392 A1) in view of Kwan (US 2007/0222684 A1) further in view of Kaiser (US 2011/0299715 A1).
As to claim 15, the combination of Bullock and Kwan does not disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 10, wherein the article of apparel comprises an environmental barrier configured to isolate an electrical system from an environmental condition, and wherein the electrical system includes the article of apparel antenna, and the power supply.
However, Kaiser discloses wherein the article of apparel comprises an environmental barrier configured to isolate an electrical system from an environmental condition, and wherein the electrical system includes the article of apparel antenna, and the power supply (see Fig 3, 120, parag [0024]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparel of Bullock to include waterproof barrier as taught by Kaiser in order to prevent moisture from contacting the circuit board (see parag [0024]).
As to claim 16, the combination of Bullock, Kwan and Kaiser discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 15, wherein the environmental barrier is a waterproof barrier (Kaiser, see Fig 3, 120, parag [0024]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As for claims 1, 10 and 18, the applicant argued that “the antenna was not integrated into an article of apparel”, the examiner totally disagreed with the applicant. Bullock disclosed that “the tag being disposed on one of a piece of jewelry or portion of clothing worn on a person” (see abstract). The applicant also argued that Bullock did not teach “providing the current to a power supply coupled to the article of apparel, the power supply being configured to output power for operating one or more electronic component of the article of apparel”. The examiner disagreed with the applicant. Bullock disclosed on Fig 6 that “power generation module 236 provides integrated circuit 222 with an operational voltage based on the RF energy transmitted by wireless sensor reader 140 and received by the corresponding RF addressable sensor 110. In another embodiment, power generation module 236 may also include a battery or other power source. Alternatively, power generation module 236 may only include a battery or other power source. When present, the power source provides the operational voltage for integrated circuit 222. In addition, the power generation module 236 may provide operational voltage for sensor elements 292a-n and/or 294a-n” (see parag [0140]). Therefore, claims 1, 10 and 18 will be rejected as previous presented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUC M PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 February 10, 2026
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849