DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to Applicant’s submission dated 03/07/2024. Claim(s) 1–9 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a drive mechanism” in claim 1, which cannot be interpreted because the Specification does not sufficiently describe what is considered a “drive mechanism” (see § 112 rejection below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “a drive mechanism” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–3 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,834,442 to Bloemendaal in view of US 8,782,919 to Anderson.
With regard to claim 1, Bloemendaal discloses a paddle sweep assembly (30) (abstract) comprising: a top, a bottom, a front and a back (Fig. 1); a drive mechanism (100) positioned adjacent a center of a bin (12) that is connected to a drive sprocket (104) (Fig. 2; Col. 3, lines 3–8); a continuous chain (100) mounted about the drive sprocket (104) that extends from the drive sprocket (104) to at least one outer sprocket (106) (Fig. 2; Col. 3, lines 3–8); a plurality of paddles (118) attached to the chain (100) (Fig. 2; Col. 3, lines 3–8).
Bloemendaal fails to disclose the paddles are angled about their horizontal axis and are cut and rotated so as not to be perpendicular with the chain. Anderson teaches the paddles are angled about their horizontal axis and are cut and rotated so as not to be perpendicular with the chain (Col. 4, lines 44–53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the drying apparatus of Bloemendaal with the angled paddles of Anderson because such a combination would have had the added benefit of not being required to be exactly perpendicular to the chain, which may also have the benefit of reduced force on the paddle due to binding/jamming.
With regard to claim 2, Bloemendaal as previously combined with Anderson further discloses the paddles are configured to pull grain toward a sump (Bloemendaal: 48) on the bottom side of the paddle sweep assembly (Bloemendaal: 30) and away from the center of the bin (Bloemendaal: 46) on the top side of the paddle sweep assembly (Bloemendaal: 30) (Bloemendaal: Fig. 3; Col. 3, lines 1–2; Col. 4, lines 1–6).
With regard to claim 3, Bloemendaal further discloses the paddles are angled in relation to the chain (Bloemendaal: 100) on the back side of the paddle sweep assembly (Bloemendaal: 30) to cause the grain to slide off the paddles (Bloemendaal: 118) and onto a floor of the bin (Bloemendaal: 12).
With regard to claim 6, Bloemendaal fails to disclose a fill tube positioned to direct incoming grain into the paddle sweep assembly. Fill tubes are old and well-known in the art as a means for moving grain from one bin to another, or loading into a storage silo. As such, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the paddle sweep assembly of Bloemendaal with the grain tube known to the prior art because such a combination would have had the added benefit of allowing grain to be loaded into the paddle sweep assembly.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,834,442 to Bloemendaal in view of US 8,782,919 to Anderson, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US 2021/0031156 to Edelman et al.
Bloemendaal fails to disclose a circular shield. Edelman teaches a longitudinal guard (¶ 0032). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the paddle sweep assembly of Bloemendaal with the shield of Edelman because such a combination would have had the added benefit of protecting the components of the paddle assembly. Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use a circular shaped guard/shield, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the choice of shape has no significant impact on the operation of the invention. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4–5, 7, & 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see attached PTO-892. Applicant is encouraged to review the cited references prior to submitting a response to this office action.
/DAVID J LAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
June 5, 2026