DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawing Fig. 1 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because of lacking descriptive legends as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-8, 13-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Tseng et al (US20220210632A1, PCT Priority Date: Dec 29, 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Tseng’632 discloses a method for wireless communication (see, Fig. 1, UE connects with Networks using Multi-SIM, par 0006), comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device (Fig. 3, UE can be equated to terminal device, par 0040), configuration information sent by a serving cell (see, Fig. 3 S310, UE receives first multi-SIM support information from a previous serving cell, par 0040-0042), wherein the configuration information comprises time information (see, first multi-SIM support information including a plurality of second multi-SIM configurations with second leave WithoutResponseTimer, par 0050, 0053); and
releasing, by a terminal device (Fig. 3, UE can be equated to terminal device, par 0053), a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection according to the time information (see, UE releases RRC connection with second cell according to expiration of second leave WithoutResponseTimer in second multi-SIM configurations, par 0053).
Regarding claim 6, Tseng’632 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, UE connects with Networks using Multi-SIM, par 0006), wherein the configuration information further comprises state information (see, UE receives instruction from serving cell to move to RRC Inactive/Idle state, par 0075), wherein the state information is configured to indicate that the terminal device enters an RRC idle state after the RRC connection is released , or the state information is configured to indicate that the terminal device enters an RRC inactive state after the RRC connection is released (see, UE instructed by serving cell to move to RRC Inactive/Idle state associated with the registered NW_A and then UE move to RRC Inactive/Idle state after receiving RRCRelease message, par 0053, 0075. Noted, RRCRelease message and thus after the RRC connection is released, par 0075).
Regarding claim 7, Tseng’632 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, UE connects with Networks using Multi-SIM, par 0006), further comprising:
entering, by the terminal device after the terminal device releases the RRC connection according to the time information (UE releases RRC connection according to Leave Timer, par 0053), an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state (see, UE move to RRC Inactive/Idle state according to RRCRelease message from serving cell after sending leave indicator informs that the UE intends to (temporarily) leave the first network by releasing RRC connection with the second cell after the Leave Timer expires, par 0053, 0075).
Regarding claim 8, Tseng’632 discloses a terminal device, comprising:
a processor (Fig. 2, processor can be equated to processor, par 0031) and a memory for storing a computer program (see, Fig. 3, computer-executable instructions stored in memory, par 0035), wherein the processor is configured to call and run the computer program to cause the terminal device to (see, processor perform various functions by executing computer-executable instructions stored in memory, par 0035):
receive configuration information sent by a serving cell (see, Fig. 3 S310, UE receives first multi-SIM support information from a previous serving cell, par 0040-0042), wherein the configuration information comprises time information (see, first multi-SIM support information including a plurality of second multi-SIM configurations with second leave WithoutResponseTimer, par 0050, 0053); and
release a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection according to the time information (see, UE releases the RRC connection with the second cell according to expiration of second leave WithoutResponseTimer in second multi-SIM configurations, par 0053).
Regarding claim 13, Claim 13 recites a terminal device performing the steps recited in claim 6 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, Claim 14 recites a terminal device performing the steps recited in claim 7 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, Tseng’632 discloses a network device (see, Fig. 1 and 3-4, BS communicates with UE which connects with Networks using Multi-SIM, par 0006), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 2, processor can be equated to processor, par 0031) and a memory for storing a computer program (see, Fig. 3, computer-executable instructions stored in memory, par 0035), wherein the processor is configured to call and run the computer program to cause the network device to (see, processor perform various functions by executing computer-executable instructions stored in memory, par 0035):
send configuration information to a terminal device (see, Fig. 3 S310, BS transmits to UE the first multi-SIM support information including a plurality of second multi-SIM configurations through previous serving cell (BS), par 0028, 0040-0042, 0050), wherein the configuration information (first multi-SIM support information including a plurality of second multi-SIM configurations can be equated to configuration information, par 0050) comprises time information (second leave WithoutResponseTimer can be equated to time information, par 0053) used for the terminal device to release a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection (see, Fig. 3, UE releases the RRC connection with the second cell according to expiration of second leave WithoutResponseTimer in second multi-SIM configurations received from first multi-SIM support information, par 0040-0042, 0050, 0053).
Regarding claim 20, Claim 20 recites a network device performing the steps recited in claim 6 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5, 9-10, 12, 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng’632 in view of Nakarmi et al (US20230058517A1, Priority Date: Aug 20, 2021).
Regarding claim 2, Tseng’632 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, UE connects with Networks using Multi-SIM, par 0006).
Tseng’632 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the time information is configured to indicate an absolute time when the RRC connection is released.
However Nakarmi’517 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 5, WCD communicates with BSs and low power nodes in cellular communications system including NG-RAN and 5GC/EPS, par 0217-0218) discloses: wherein the time information is configured to indicate an absolute time (configuration cannot be applied before a reference time instance has occurred can be equated to absolute time, par 0239) when the RRC connection is released (see, disabling RRC connection release with redirection for the wireless communication device for the period of time (adjust RRC connection release by period of time), par 0030-0031. Noted, timing information that is configured cannot be applied before a reference time instance has occurred can be equated to absolute time, par 0239).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Nakarmi’517 into that of Tseng’632. The motivation would have been to apply the configuration to WCD such that one or more connection related procedures of the wireless communication device related to connection between the WCD and at least one of the one or more network entities are adjusted (par 0009).
Regarding claim 3, Tseng’632 discloses the method of claim 2 (see, Fig. 1, UE connects with Networks using Multi-SIM, par 0006).
Tseng’632 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the absolute time is a Universal Time Coordinated (UTC) time.
However Nakarmi’517 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 5, WCD communicates with BSs and low power nodes in cellular communications system including NG-RAN and 5GC/EPS, par 0217-0218) discloses: wherein the absolute time is a Universal Time Coordinated (UTC) time (see, timing information may start UTC reference time instance after which the WCD can apply the pinning configuration, par 0239).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Nakarmi’517 into that of Tseng’632. The motivation would have been to apply the configuration to WCD such that one or more connection related procedures of the wireless communication device related to connection between the WCD and at least one of the one or more network entities are adjusted (par 0009).
Regarding claim 5, Tseng’632 discloses the method of claim 2 (see, Fig. 1, UE connects with Networks using Multi-SIM, par 0006), wherein the time information (second leave WithoutResponseTimer can be equated to time information, par 0053) is carried by a system message (see, multi-SIM support information broadcasted in SIB1 including leave WithoutResponseTimer, par 0050, 0053, 0100).
Regarding claim 9, Claim 9 recites a terminal device performing the steps recited in claim 2 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, Claim 10 recites a terminal device performing the steps recited in claim 3 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, Claim 12 recites a terminal device performing the steps recited in claim 5 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, Claim 16 recites a network device performing the steps recited in claim 2 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, Claim 17 recites a network device performing the steps recited in claim 3 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, Claim 19 recites a network device performing the steps recited in claim 5 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng’632 in view of Nakarmi’517 as applied to claims 2, 9 and 16 respectively above, and further in view of Zhou et al (US 20230284146 A1, Priority Date: Sept 02, 2023) .
Regarding claim 4, Tseng’632 modified by Nakarmi’517 discloses the method of claim 2 (see, Fig. 1, UE connects with Networks using Multi-SIM, par 0006).
The combination of Tseng’632 and Nakarmi’517 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein a time indicated by the time information corresponds to a latest service time of the serving cell, or the time indicated by the time information is earlier than the latest service time of the serving cell.
However Zhou’146 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 4, configuring parameters of a sleep mode of UE by CN through gNB, par 0078) discloses:
wherein a time indicated by the time information (predetermined time period can be equated to time indicated by the time information, par 0103) corresponds to a latest service time of the serving cell, or the time indicated by the time information is earlier than the latest service time of the serving cell (see, Fig. 4 and 11, UE enters sleep window after predetermined time period since reception of RRC release from gNB and enters the first data transmission window of gNB after the sleep window ends (and thus enters the sleep window according to predetermined time period which is earlier than data transmission window including latest data time), par 0103. Noted, gNB can be equated to serving cell, par 0163. Noted, the examiner picks option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Zhou’146 into that of Tseng’632 modified by Nakarmi’517. The motivation would have been to select the best access satellite for UEs in different regions (par 0100).
Regarding claim 11, Claim 11 recites a terminal device performing the steps recited in claim 4 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, Claim 18 recites a network device performing the steps recited in claim 4 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang (US20220418031A1) discloses: Step 401, a base station sends data inactivity timer information configured for UE to the UE, where a timing duration of a data inactivity timer is, for example, 10 s (where s is seconds). Step 402, after receiving the data inactivity timer information, the UE starts to detect receiving and sending of data. Step 403, in response to determining that the data inactivity timer expires, an RRC connection is released to enter an idle state, it is recorded that a reason for a link failure is that the data inactivity timer expires, and it is also recorded that the timing duration of the data inactivity timer is 10 s (par 0092-0094). This applies to claim 4: wherein a time indicated by the time information corresponds to a latest service time of the serving cell, or the time indicated by the time information is earlier than the latest service time of the serving cell.
Li et al (US20240179582A1, Priority Date: Mar 30, 2021) discloses: RRC release message including the target time parameter is sent to the terminal; the base station may send the RRC release message including the target time parameter to the terminal when determining that the terminal switches from the connected state to the idle state or the inactive state. The base station can accurately provide, through the RRC message to the terminal, the time information when the cell provides the service that is configured for the terminal, which has high usability (par 0089-0090); the first time parameter includes at least one of: a first duration parameter configured to indicate information on a service duration during which the cell can provide a service, or a first time point parameter configured to indicate information on a time point when the cell stops providing the service (par 0103). This applies to claim 4.
/XUAN LU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473