DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 21 July 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Verma et al “Utilization of Brine Sludge and Fly Ash Waste as Complementary Resources, for Making Non-toxic, Geopolymeric (Cement-Free) Materials”.
The reference teaches, in the abstract, and Section 2 Materials and Methods, the use of brine sludge and fly ash to produce geopolymer paver blocks and bricks. See especially Section 2.2 – 2.4 of the reference.
The instant claims are met by the reference.
As for claim 1, as the reference teaches the use of a brine sludge to produce a molded geopolymer composition it is seen to meet the claimed limitations. That is, the resulting molded brick or paver block would have some brine embedded within the geopolymer framework absent evidence showing otherwise.
As for claim 2, the fly ash meets the silicon aluminum raw material and the sodium hydroxide and sodium metasilicate meets the activator solution (section 2.1.2 – 2.1.4).
As for claim 7, the reference teaches sodium hydroxide and sodium metasilicate (sodium silicate).
As for claim 11, the reference teaches bricks and paver blocks.
As for claim 12, the reference teaches a brick which can be considered to be a decorative item.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by China Patent Specification No. CN 113003988 A.
The reference teaches, in the abstract, and the examples, the formation of a geopolymer using sea water. The composition is injected into an artificial fish reef mould and removed to from an ecological artificial fish reef.
The instant claims are met by the reference.
As for claim 1, the reference teaches the use of a sea water to produce a molded geopolymer composition it is seen to meet the claimed limitations. That is, the resulting molded reef would have some sea water embedded within the geopolymer framework absent evidence showing otherwise.
As for claim 2, the fly ash and slag meets the silicon aluminum raw material and the and the MgO and NaOH (see embodiments) meets the activator solution.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/ANTHONY J GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
ajg August 25, 2026