DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are subject to examination and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bailey (US PGPub 2025/0031238).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Bailey teaches a device (Bailey, see figure 3B, UDM 310), comprising:
one or more processors configured to:
maintain subscription information associated with a plurality of User Equipment (“UEs”) (Bailey, see paragraph 0031, The UDM 208 introduces a User Data Convergence (UDC) that separates a User Data Repository (UDR) for storing and managing subscriber information. The stored data can include profile data for subscribers and/or other data that can be used for authentication purposes), wherein the subscription information includes priority level information associating one or more UEs with one or more respective priority levels (Bailey, see paragraph 0043, UDM 310 identifies the service priority of the UE 302);
receive, from a network function (“NF”) of a wireless network, a request for priority level information associated with a particular UE (Bailey, see paragraphs 0041 and 0044, the UE 302 registers with the telecommunication network 301 via the base station 304. For example, the UE 302 transmits a registration request message to the base station 304, which performs a registration process in which the base station 304 selects an AMF 306 to use for management of the UE 302. The device type of UE 302 is … indicated to the UDM 310 during registration, stored in the UDM 310 based on a prior use of the telecommunication network 301 by the UE 302, and/or the like);
identify a particular set of priority levels indicated by the subscription information as being associated with the particular UE (Bailey, see paragraph 0039, the telecommunication network 301 associates a priority level to the network slices … according to the priority level of a network slice to which the UE 302 belongs. The core network can include a NSSF and/or other components that manage the assignment of the UE 302 to the particular network slice of the telecommunication network 301 and the determination of policies for the UE 302 based on the network slice on which the UE 302 operates); and
output, to the NF, the identified particular set of priority levels (Bailey, see paragraph 0043, UDM 310 identifies the service priority of the UE 302 to SMF 308), wherein the NF maintains policy information associating the particular set of priority levels with one or more network parameters and implements the one or more network parameters when providing service associated with the particular UE (Bailey, see paragraphs 0046, 0049 and 0050, the SMF 308 queries for a policy for the UE 302 from the PCF 312. In its query, the SMF 308 can indicate the service priority of the UE 302 that the SMF 308 obtained (e.g., from the UDM 310). As such, the PCF 312 can determine and provide a policy that corresponds to the service priority of the UE 302. In particular, at operation 358, the PCF 312 can determine a policy that specifies a limited channel bandwidth for the UE 302 based on the service priority of the UE 302. the SMF 308 forwards the policy (or at least a portion of the policy relating to the limited channel bandwidth usage) to the base station 304 in order for the UE 302 to be configured to use the limited channel bandwidth. The SMF 308 can forward the policy to the base station 304 via the AMF 306. the base station 304 configures the UE 302 for limited channel bandwidth usage via a RRC message according to the policy forwarded to the base station 304).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Bailey teaches wherein implementing the one or more network parameters includes:
identifying a particular set of Quality of Service (“QoS”) parameters with which a particular priority level, of the particular set of priority levels, is associated (Bailey, see paragraph 0046, the SMF 308 queries for a policy for the UE 302 from the PCF 312. In its query, the SMF 308 can indicate the service priority of the UE 302 that the SMF 308 obtained (e.g., from the UDM 310). As such, the PCF 312 can determine and provide a policy that corresponds to the service priority of the UE 302. In particular, at operation 358, the PCF 312 can determine a policy that specifies a limited channel bandwidth for the UE 302 based on the service priority of the UE 302);
identifying particular traffic that is sent to or by the particular UE (Bailey, see paragraph 0050, the base station 304 configures the UE 302 for limited channel bandwidth usage via a RRC message according to the policy forwarded to the base station 304); and
implementing the particular set of QoS parameters with respect to the particular traffic sent to or by the particular UE (Bailey, see paragraph 0050, the base station 304 configures the UE 302 for limited channel bandwidth usage via a RRC message according to the policy forwarded to the base station 304).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Bailey teaches wherein the particular set of priority levels includes one or more access identities (Bailey, see paragraph 0043, UDM 310 identifies the service priority of the UE 302).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Bailey teaches wherein the subscription information includes information associating one or more UE identifiers with one or more respective access identities (Bailey, see paragraph 0043, UDM 310 identifies the service priority of the UE 302).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Bailey teaches wherein the one or more UE identifiers include a particular Subscription Permanent Identifier (“SUPI”) associated with the particular UE (Bailey, see paragraph 0038, The subscriber information stored in the UDM 310 that identifies the MVNO subscriber for the UE 302 can similarly indicate service quality information, such as data throughput/speeds/volume and other communication metrics that may be part of an MVNO SLA).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 19, Bailey teaches wherein the subscription information is maintained by at least one of: a Unified Data Management function (“UDM”), or a Unified Data Repository (“UDR”) (Bailey, see figure 3B, UDM 310).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, Bailey teaches wherein the NF includes an Access and Mobility Management Function (“AMF”) (Bailey, see figure 3B, AMF 306), wherein the one or more network parameters include a particular paging profile that is associated with a particular priority level of the particular set of priority levels (Bailey, see paragraph 0031, The stored data can include profile data for subscribers and/or other data that can be used for authentication purposes), wherein the AMF performs paging operations with respect to the particular UE based on the particular paging profile (Bailey, see paragraph 0031, The stored data can include profile data for subscribers and/or other data that can be used for authentication purposes).
Regarding claim 18, Bailey teaches wherein the subscription information includes information associating one or more UE identifiers with one or more respective access identities (Bailey, see paragraph 0031, The stored data can include profile data for subscribers and/or other data that can be used for authentication purposes), and wherein the one or more UE identifiers include a particular Subscription Permanent Identifier (“SUPI”) associated with the particular UE (Bailey, see paragraph 0038, The subscriber information stored in the UDM 310 that identifies the MVNO subscriber for the UE 302 can similarly indicate service quality information, such as data throughput/speeds/volume and other communication metrics that may be part of an MVNO SLA).
Conclusion
/CHONG G KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443