DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Listing (US 2015/0099397).
Regarding claim 1: Listing teaches a connector (Fig. 1) comprising: a base body 4” which encloses a cavity (e.g. cavity located within) between a first opening and a second opening (e.g. left and right ends of base body 4”; see Fig. 1), wherein the base body 4”is configured such that at least one cable (see Fig. 1) can be guided through the first opening, the cavity and the second opening (see Fig. 1), wherein at least two bars (at 15 and 17D; Fig. 2) are arranged on a circumference of the first opening (see Fig. 3), wherein a spring segment (at 17B; Fig. 2) is arranged at least between two bars (see Fig. 2) which are adjacent along the circumference and a total of at least two spring segments are present (see Fig. 2 for at least two spring elements arranged with two bars and in a circumferential manner), wherein an outwardly pointing protrusion 12A is arranged on each spring segment (see Fig. 2), wherein each spring segment is configured such that it deforms elastically inwards against a spring force when pressure acts on the protrusion from outside (see Fig. 3 and Para. 0034), so that the protrusion 12A can displace inwards (Para. 0034), and that it can displace the protrusion outwards by the spring force when the pressure is removed (see Fig. 2 and Para. 0032).
Regarding claim 2: Listing teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein a spring segment (at 17B; Fig. 2) is arranged between all bars which are adjacent along the circumference (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3: Listing teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein distal ends of the bars and at least two spring segments form a closed shape enclosing an imaginary continuation of the first opening (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4: Listing teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein a first cross-section of the first opening coincides with a second cross-section of a further opening which lies in one plane in which the spring segments lie (see Fig. 3 for multiple openings located within one plane).
Regarding claim 5: Listing teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein at least two protrusions 12A of two spring segments are opposite each other with respect to a center axis of the first opening (see Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 6: Listing teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the spring segments form a closed ring (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7: Listing teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein three, four or five bars are arranged equidistantly along the circumference of the first opening (see Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 8: Listing teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the protrusion 12A comprises an inclined contact surface which is configured to press the protrusion inwards with increasing force when the connector is inserted into a receptacle (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9: Listing teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first opening comprises a cross-section with a normal vector, wherein the bars extend at an angle of at most 20° (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10: Listing teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein a ratio of a first width of the spring segments in the circumferential direction to a second width of the protrusions in the circumferential direction is at least 2 (e.g. the width of the spring elements is greater than a width of a protrusion; see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11: Listing teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein a ratio of a total width of all bars in the circumferential direction to the circumference is at least 3 (e.g. the width of the spring elements is greater than a width of a protrusion; see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12: Listing teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches a connector system (Fig. 3) comprising a connector 20 according to claim 1 and a receptacle 4’ configured to receive the connector (see Figs. 1-3), wherein the receptacle comprises a recess 40 which forms a latching connection in interaction with the protrusion (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13: Listing teaches an electrical connector (Fig. 3) comprising: a base body 4” with a first opening, a second opening and a cavity (see Fig. 1); the first opening having a closed ring of spring elements (at 17B; Fig. 2) each separated by a bar (at 15 and 17D; Fig. 3), the closed ring located on a circumference of the first opening (see Fig. 3), the closed ring separated by spaces between the spring elements and the base body (see Figs. 2-3); a plurality of outwardly pointing protrusions 12A, one of the plurality of outwardly pointing protrusions arranged on each spring element (see Fig. 2), wherein each spring element is configured such that the spring element deforms elastically inwards against a spring force when pressure acts on the protrusion (see Fig. 3 and Para. 0034), so that the protrusion can displace inwardly, and the spring element can displace the protrusion outwards by the spring force when the pressure is removed (see Fig. 2 and Para. 0032).
Regarding claim 14: Listing teaches all the limitations of claim 13 and further teaches wherein the first opening, the second opening and the cavity are configured to receive at least one wire therethrough (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15: Listing teaches all the limitations of claim 13 and further teaches wherein the electrical connector is configured to be inserted into a receptacle 4’, the receptacle causing the elastic deformation of the spring elements (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16: Listing teaches all the limitations of claim 13 and further teaches wherein the first opening is circular (see Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 17: Listing teaches all the limitations of claim 13 and further teaches wherein the second opening is rectangular (see Figs. 1-3 for rectangular opening on a back end).
Regarding claim 18: Listing teaches all the limitations of claim 13 and further teaches wherein each bar and each spring element (at 11; Fig. 3) is located on an outer surface of the first opening (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19: Listing teaches all the limitations of claim 13 and further teaches further comprising a seal 7 and at least two protrusions of two spring elements lie opposite each other with respect to a central axis of the electrical connector (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 20: Listing teaches all the limitations of claim 13 and further teaches wherein each bar extends along a longitudinal axis of the electrical connector (see Figs. 1-3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for pertinent prior art, the following references being of closest relevance:
Friedrich (US 2010/0105235) teaches a connector comprising a base body, spring elements attached via bars and configured to be displaced when a pressure is applied;
Singer (US 2015/0349468) teaches a shielding element having multiple spring segments attached to each other via bars;
De Cloet (US 2007/0190868) teaches a conductor sleeve comprising spring elements connected via bars and configured to deflect;
Penner (US 5,938,475) teaches a connector having cables, base body and an elastic contact element within;
Arcykiewicz (US 6,267,612) teaches a locking ring comprising spring segments attached to each other via bars and forming an enclosed cylinder;
Weidner (US 6,129,563) teaches a contact band comprising spring segments attached to each other via bars and encircling a connector body;
/OSCAR C JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831