Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3-15 and 17-20 set forth in the amendment submitted 5/12/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 13-15, filed 5/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Song in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210041502 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 13-14, of the remarks, filed on 5/12/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Song in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210041502 A1, that “It is obvious to a person skilled in the art that in FIG. 4 of Song, if the plurality of discharging switches 30 are regarded as one component and the plurality of charging switches 30 are regarded as another component, the two (Remarks-Page 13) components are connected in series. However, Song nowhere mentions that two or more switching channels, each including a discharging switch 30 (allegedly corresponding to the first switch group of instant Claim 1) and a charging switch 50 (allegedly corresponding to the second switch group of instant Claim 1) connected in serials, are connected in parallel. Therefore, Song fails to disclose the above limitations as recited in each of amended Claims 1 and 15.
Furthermore, the amended independent Claim 8 has incorporated the limitations "N switching channels connected in parallel and coupled between the battery module terminal and the battery pack system terminal, where N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2, each of the switching channels comprising a plurality of semiconductor switching devices and being configured to turn on/off a circuit between the battery module terminal and the battery pack system terminal" and "each of the switching channels comprises: a first switch group coupled to the battery module terminal; and a second switch group coupled to the first switch group and the battery pack system terminal, wherein the first switch group and the second switch group are connected in series" that are analogous to the above limitations of amended Claim 1. Thus, for at least reasons analogous to those explained above with respect to amended Claim 1, Song fails to disclose the above limitations of amended Claim 8.
For at least the above reasons, the Office Action fails to establish a prima facie case of anticipation for amended independent Claims 1, 8 and 15 and the claims that depend therefrom. Therefore, the amended independent Claims 1, 8 and 15 and the claims depending therefrom are not anticipated by the cited prior art.
At least in view of the above, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 (Remarks-Page 14).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 13-14, of the remarks, filed on 5/12/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Song in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210041502 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 2/12/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive. However, applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation in claim 1, “wherein each of the switching channels comprises: a first switch group coupled to the battery module terminal; and a second switch group coupled to the first switch group and the battery pack system terminal, wherein the first switch group and the second switch group are connected in series, a coupling node between the first switch group and the second switch group serves as a channel potential node, an input potential node is formed between the first switch group and the battery module terminal, and an output potential node is formed between the second switch group and the battery pack system terminal”, similar amendment for independent claim 15 and the limitation added in claim 8, “wherein the first switch group and the second switch group are connected in series” which necessitates a new ground of rejection. Song in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210041502 A1 is reapplied to meet all the amended limitations of independent claims 1, 8 and 15, as set forth below.
Applicant’s argument, “However, Song nowhere mentions that two or more switching channels, each including a discharging switch 30 (allegedly corresponding to the first switch group of instant Claim 1) and a charging switch 50 (allegedly corresponding to the second switch group of instant Claim 1) connected in serials, are connected in parallel. Therefore, Song fails to disclose the above limitations as recited in each of amended Claims 1 and 15” is not persuasive. Claim recites, “a first switch group” and “a second switch group” and any switch group can be considered as the first switch group or second switch group. Claim does not recite that the first switch group and second switch group can only be charging switch or discharging switch. Therefore, for the broadest reasonable interpretation discharging switch group 30 can be considered as the first switch group and charging switch group 50 can be considered as the second switch group. Figure 4 (i): Modified Figure 4 of Song and Figure 4 (ii): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows two possible combinations of N switching channels and where each switching channel comprises a first switch group and a second switch group because Song discloses in paragraph [0083],“As above, in the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 are illustrated as being provided in the number of three, respectively, but the number of the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 is not specially limited”. Therefore, first three lines of the switching element can be considered as the first channel or first two lines of the switching element can be considered as the first channel and plurality of third or fourth switching element (not shown in the figure) can be considered as the second switching channel. Figure 4 (i): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows that the plurality of switching channels are connected in parallel. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument regarding independent claims 1, 8 and 15 is also not persuasive because of the same reason as stated above as applicant has same argument similar to independent claim 1.
Therefore, independent Claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Song in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210041502 A1 and dependent claims 3-7, 9-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Song in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210041502 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Figure 4 (i): Modified Figure 4 of Song
Figure 4(ii): Modified Figure 4 of Song
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Song in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210041502 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches a circuit-breaker (a switch diagnosing apparatus and method, and more particularly, to a switch diagnosing apparatus and method capable of effectively diagnosing a switch during a process of diagnosing a charging switch and a discharging switch provided to a battery pack; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-6; FIG. 4 s a diagram schematically showing a configuration of a switch diagnosing apparatus; Paragraph [0112] Line 1-2; Here, the battery pack may include at least one secondary battery, the switch diagnosing apparatus, electrical components (including a BMS, a relay, a fuse, and the like), and a case; Paragraph [0141] Line 5-8), comprising:
a battery module [10] (cell assembly 10 as the battery module) terminal (terminal of cell assembly 10) and a battery pack system terminal [+] (battery pack terminal) (a cell assembly 10 included in the battery pack to diagnose the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 connected in series with each other. For example, the cell assembly 10 may be a lithium ion battery having at least one secondary battery cell; Paragraph [0052] Line 7-11; Figure 4(a): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows a battery module [10] (cell assembly 10 as the battery module) terminal (terminal of cell assembly 10) and a battery pack system terminal (battery pack terminal); and
N switching channels [50, 30] connected in parallel (Here, the switch diagnosing apparatus according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may include a plurality of charging switches 50 connected in parallel with each other. In addition, the switch diagnosing apparatus may include a plurality of discharging switches 30 connected in parallel with each other; Paragraph [0053] Line 7-12; Figure 4(i) (ii): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows N switching channels are connected in parallel) and coupled between the battery module terminal [10] and the battery pack system terminal [+] (the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 may be connected in series such that one end of the discharging switch 30 may be directly connected to the positive electrode terminal of the cell assembly 10, and one end of the charging switch 50 may be directly connected to the positive electrode terminal of the battery pack; Paragraph [0056] Line 3-9),
where N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2 (For example, seeing the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 may include a first charging switch, a second charging switch and a third charging switch connected in parallel with each other. In addition, the plurality of discharging switches 30 may include a first discharging switch, a second discharging switch and a third discharging switch connected in parallel with each other. As above, in the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 are illustrated as being provided in the number of three, respectively, but the number of the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 is not specially limited; Paragraph [0083] Line 1-13; Figure 4(a): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2),
each of the switching channels [30, 50] comprising two or more semiconductor switching devices (Figure 4(i) (ii): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows comprising two or more semiconductor switching devices) (For example, the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be a field effect transistor (FET) element having gate, drain and source terminals; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-4; For example, the FET element may be a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET); Paragraph [0057] Line 11-13) and being configured to turn on/off a circuit [200] (current measuring unit 200 as the circuit) (The current measuring unit 200 may be provided on the charging and discharging path L to measure a current flowing through the charging and discharging path L; Paragraph [0063] Line 1-3) between the battery module terminal [10] and the battery pack system terminal [+] (Here, the FET element may be turned on or off depending on whether a channel is formed according to a voltage applied between the gate terminal and the source terminal. If the channel is formed, a current may flow from the drain terminal to the source terminal or from the source terminal to the drain terminal. That is, a current may flow in both directions through the formed channel; Paragraph [0057] Line 4-11; Figure 4(a): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows that when the switching channels are on current flows to the current measuring unit as the circuit and therefore the current measuring unit is on and when the switched are off no current can flow through the current measuring unit and therefore the current measuring unit is in off condition. As the circuit is open),
Figure 4(a): Modified Figure 4 of Song
wherein when abnormality diagnosis (an open stuck state, a closed stuck state and a drift state as the abnormality diagnosis) is performed on the N switching channels [30, 50] (For example, the processor 300 may diagnose whether the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 are normally opened with reference to Table 1 below. Table 1 may be stored in the memory device 400; Paragraph [0129] Line 1-4),
at least one of the N switching channels is set to be in a turned-on state to keep the circuit-breaker in a turned-on state (In addition, the processor 300 may be connected to the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 to transmit and receive an electric signal, respectively, so that the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 are selectively controlled to be opened or closed. Also, the processor 300 may diagnose the state of at least one of the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 as at least one of a normal state, an open stuck state, a closed stuck state and a drift state based on at least one of the measured voltage values of the first measurement point N1, the second measurement point N2 and the third measurement point N3 and the measured current value flowing through the charging and discharging path L; Paragraph [0067] Line 1-13; Hereinafter, referring to FIG. 2 and Table 1, it will be described that the processor 300 diagnoses the states of the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 after receiving an external short signal and transmitting a turn-off command to the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30; Paragraph [0132] Line 1-6; Figure 4(a): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows at least one of the N switching channels is set to be in a turned-on state to keep the circuit-breaker in a turned-on state to make the current flow in the circuit and to measure voltage and current to determine abnormality in the switches); wherein each of the switching channels (Figure 4(i) (ii): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows switching channels) comprises:
a first switch group [30] (discharging switches 30 as the first switch group) (Figure 4(i)(ii): Modified Figure 4 of Song above) (In addition, the switch diagnosing apparatus may include a plurality of discharging switches 30 connected in parallel with each other; Paragraph [0053] Line 10-12) coupled to the battery module terminal [10] (the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 may be connected in series such that one end of the discharging switch 30 may be directly connected to the positive electrode terminal of the cell assembly 10, and one end of the charging switch 50 may be directly connected to the positive electrode terminal of the battery pack; Paragraph [0056] Line 3-9; Figure 4(b): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows a first switch group [30] coupled to the battery module terminal [10]); and
a second switch group [50] (charging switch 50 as the second switch group) (Figure 4(i)(ii): Modified Figure 4 of Song above) (Here, the switch diagnosing apparatus according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may include a plurality of charging switches 50 connected in parallel with each other; Paragraph [0053] Line 7-10) coupled to the first switch group [30] and the battery pack system terminal [+] (the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 may be connected in series such that one end of the discharging switch 30 may be directly connected to the positive electrode terminal of the cell assembly 10, and one end of the charging switch 50 may be directly connected to the positive electrode terminal of the battery pack; Paragraph [0056] Line 3-9; Figure 4(b): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows a second switch group [50] coupled to the first switch group [30] and the battery pack system terminal [+]),
wherein the first switch group [30] and the second switch group [50] are connected in series (Figure 4(i): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows a second switch group [50] are connected in series),
a coupling node [N1] between the first switch group [30] and the second switch group [50] serves as a channel potential node [N1] (first measurement point N1 as the channel potential node) (The voltage measuring unit 100 may be electrically connected to a first measurement point N1 between the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-3; Figure 4(b): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows a coupling node [N1] between the first switch group [30] and the second switch group [50] serves as a channel potential node [N1] (first measurement point N1 as the channel potential node),
an input potential node [N3] (a third measurement point N3 as the input potential node) is formed between the first switch group [30] and the battery module terminal [10] (a third measurement point N3 at the other end of the discharging switch 30; Paragraph [0060] Line 5-6; Figure 4(b): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows an input potential node [N3] a third measurement point N3 as the input potential node) is formed between the first switch group [30] and the battery module terminal [10]), and
an output potential node [N2] (a second measurement point N2 as the output potential node) is formed between the second switch group [50] and the battery pack system terminal [+] (a second measurement point N2 at the other end of the charging switch 50; Paragraph [0060] Line 3-5; Figure 4(b): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows an output potential node [N2] (a second measurement point N2 as the output potential node) is formed between the second switch group [50] and the battery pack system terminal [+]).
.
Figure 4(b): Modified Figure 4 of Song
Regarding claim 3, Song teaches a circuit-breaker,
further comprising a first drive terminal and a second drive terminal (Figure 4(c): Modified Figure 4 of Song, below shows a first drive terminal and a second drive terminal),
wherein the first switch group [30] comprises a first switching transistor (FET) (first discharging switch 30) having a first control electrode (gate electrode of the first switching transistor as the first control electrode) coupled to the first drive terminal (For example, the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be a field effect transistor (FET) element having gate, drain and source terminals. Here, the FET element may be turned on or off depending on whether a channel is formed according to a voltage applied between the gate terminal and the source terminal. If the channel is formed, a current may flow from the drain terminal to the source terminal or from the source terminal to the drain terminal. That is, a current may flow in both directions through the formed channel. For example, the FET element may be a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET); Paragraph [0057] Line 1-13; Figure 4(c): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows the first switch group [30] comprises a first switching transistor (FET) having a first control electrode (gate electrode as the control electrode) coupled to the first drive terminal); and
the second switch group [30] comprises a second switching transistor [50] (first charging switch 50) having a second control electrode (gate electrode of the second switching transistor as the second control electrode) coupled to the second drive terminal (For example, the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be a field effect transistor (FET) element having gate, drain and source terminals. Here, the FET element may be turned on or off depending on whether a channel is formed according to a voltage applied between the gate terminal and the source terminal. If the channel is formed, a current may flow from the drain terminal to the source terminal or from the source terminal to the drain terminal. That is, a current may flow in both directions through the formed channel. For example, the FET element may be a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET); Paragraph [0057] Line 1-13; Figure 4(c): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows the second switch group [50] comprises a first switching transistor (FET) having a second control electrode (gate electrode as the control electrode) coupled to the second drive terminal).
Figure 4(c): Modified Figure 4 of Song
Regarding claim 4, Song teaches a circuit-breaker,
wherein the first switching transistor [30] has a first primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 30) and a first secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 30), and the second switching transistor [50] has a second primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 50) and a second secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 50) (For example, the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be a field effect transistor (FET) element having gate, drain and source terminals; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-4; Figure 4(d): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows the first switching transistor [50] has a first primary voltage electrode and a first secondary voltage electrode, and the second switching transistor has a second primary voltage electrode and a second secondary voltage electrode);
the first primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 30) is coupled to the second primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 50) (Figure 4(d): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows the first primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 30) is coupled to the second primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 50), and
a first channel potential node [N1] (a first measurement point N1 as the as the channel potential node (The voltage measuring unit 100 may be electrically connected to a first measurement point N1 between the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-3) is formed between the first primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 30) and the second primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 50) (Figure 4(d): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows a first channel potential node [N1] as the channel potential node is formed between the first primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 30) and the second primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 50));
the first secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 30) is coupled to the battery module terminal [10] (Figure 4(d): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows the first secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 30) is coupled to the battery module terminal [10]), and
a first input potential node [N3] (a third measurement point N3 as the first input potential node) as the input potential node (The voltage measuring unit 100 may be electrically connected to a first measurement point N1 between the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30, a second measurement point N2 at the other end of the charging switch 50 and a third measurement point N3 at the other end of the discharging switch 30, respectively; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-6) is formed between the first secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 30) and the battery module terminal [10] (Figure 4(d): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows a first input potential node [N3] (a third measurement point N3 as the first input potential node) as the input potential node is formed between the first secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 30) and the battery module terminal [10]); and
the second secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 50) is coupled to the battery pack system terminal [+] (Figure 4(d): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows the second secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 50) is coupled to the battery pack system terminal [+]), and
a first output potential node [N2] (a second measurement point N2 as the first output potential node) as the output potential node (The voltage measuring unit 100 may be electrically connected to a first measurement point N1 between the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30, a second measurement point N2 at the other end of the charging switch 50 and a third measurement point N3 at the other end of the discharging switch 30, respectively; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-6) is formed between the second secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 50) and the battery pack system terminal [+] ((Figure 4(d): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows a first output potential node [N2] (a second measurement point N2 as the first output potential node) as the output potential node is formed between the second secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 50) and the battery pack system terminal [+]).
Figure 4(d): Modified Figure 4 of Song
Regarding claim 5, Song teaches a circuit-breaker, further comprising
a third drive terminal and a fourth drive terminal (Figure 4(e): Modified Figure 4 of Song, below shows a third drive terminal and a fourth drive terminal),
wherein the first switch group [30] comprises a plurality of third switching transistors (the plurality of discharging switches 30 may include a second discharging switch and a third discharging switch as the third switching transistors) (For example, seeing the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 may include a first charging switch, a second charging switch and a third charging switch connected in parallel with each other. In addition, the plurality of discharging switches 30 may include a first discharging switch, a second discharging switch and a third discharging switch connected in parallel with each other. As above, in the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 are illustrated as being provided in the number of three, respectively, but the number of the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 is not specially limited; Paragraph [0083] Line 1-13) each having a third control electrode coupled to the third drive terminal (Figure 4(e): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows the first switch group [30] comprises a plurality of third switching transistors each having a third control electrode coupled to the third drive terminal); and
the second switch group [50] comprises a plurality of fourth switching transistors (The plurality of charging switches 50 may include a second charging switch and a third charging switch as the fourth switching transistors) (For example, seeing the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 may include a first charging switch, a second charging switch and a third charging switch connected in parallel with each other. In addition, the plurality of discharging switches 30 may include a first discharging switch, a second discharging switch and a third discharging switch connected in parallel with each other. As above, in the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 are illustrated as being provided in the number of three, respectively, but the number of the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 is not specially limited; Paragraph [0083] Line 1-13) each having a fourth control electrode coupled to the fourth drive terminal (Figure 4(e): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows the second switch group [50] comprises a plurality of fourth switching transistors each having a fourth control electrode coupled to the fourth drive terminal).
Figure 4(e): Modified Figure 4 of Song
Regarding claim 6, Song teaches a circuit-breaker,
wherein the third switching transistors [30](30 in second and third row of figure) have third primary voltage electrodes (source terminal of third switching transistor 30) respectively and have third secondary voltage electrodes respectively (drain terminal of third switching transistor 30), and the fourth switching transistors [50] (50 in second and third row of the figures) have fourth primary voltage electrodes (source terminal of fourth switching transistor 50) respectively and have fourth secondary voltage electrodes (drain terminal of fourth switching transistor 50) respectively (For example, the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be a field effect transistor (FET) element having gate, drain and source terminals; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-4; Figure 4(f): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows the third switching transistors have third primary voltage electrodes (source terminal of third switching transistor 30) respectively and have third secondary voltage electrodes respectively (drain terminal of third switching transistor 30), and the fourth switching transistors have fourth primary voltage electrodes (source terminal of fourth switching transistor 50) respectively and have fourth secondary voltage electrodes (drain terminal of fourth switching transistor 50) respectively);
the third primary voltage electrodes (source terminal of third switching transistor 30) are respectively coupled to the fourth primary voltage electrodes (source terminal of fourth switching transistor 50) (Figure 4(f): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows the third primary voltage electrodes (source terminal of third switching transistor 30) are respectively coupled to the fourth primary voltage electrodes (source terminal of fourth switching transistor 50)),
a plurality of connection nodes formed respectively between the third primary voltage electrodes and the fourth primary voltage electrodes constitute a plurality of second channel potential nodes [N1] and are wiredly coupled (Figure 4(f): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows a plurality of connection nodes formed respectively between the third primary voltage electrodes and the fourth primary voltage electrodes constitute a plurality of second channel potential nodes and are wiredly coupled), and
any of the second channel potential nodes [N1] serves as the channel potential node [N1] (a first measurement point N1 as the as the channel potential node) (The voltage measuring unit 100 may be electrically connected to a first measurement point N1 between the fourth charging switch 50 and the third discharging switch 30; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-3) (Figure 4(f): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows any of the second channel potential nodes serves as the channel potential node);
each of the third secondary voltage electrodes (drain terminal of third switching transistor 30) is coupled to the battery module terminal [10] (Figure 4(f): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows each of the third secondary voltage electrodes (drain terminal of third switching transistor 30) is coupled to the battery module terminal [10]), and
a second input potential node as the input potential node (Point that is the node from the third switching transistor connected to node N3 as the second input potential node) is formed between the each of the third secondary voltage electrodes (drain terminal of third switching transistor 30) and the battery module terminal [10] (Figure 4(f): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows a second input potential node as the input potential node (Point connected to node N3) is formed between the each of the third secondary voltage electrodes and the battery module terminal [10]); and
each of the fourth secondary voltage electrodes (drain terminal of fourth switching transistor 50) is coupled to the battery pack system terminal [+] (Figure 4(f): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows each of the fourth secondary voltage electrodes (drain terminal of fourth switching transistor 50) is coupled to the battery pack system terminal [+]),
and a second output potential node as the output potential node (Node from fourth switching transistor connected with output node N2 as the second output potential) is formed between the each of the fourth secondary voltage electrodes (drain terminal of fourth switching transistor 50) and the battery pack system terminal [+] (Figure 4(f): Modified Figure 4 of Song below shows a second output potential node as the output potential node is formed between the each of the fourth secondary voltage electrodes (drain terminal of fourth switching transistor 50) and the battery pack system terminal [+]).
Figure 4(f): Modified Figure 4 of Song
Regarding claim 7, Song teaches a circuit-breaker,
further comprising a sampling resistor [200] (sense resistor as the sampling resistor) coupled between the battery module terminal and the battery pack system terminal (For example, the current measuring unit 200 may be implemented using a hall sensor or a sense resistor generally used in the art; Paragraph [0065] Line 8-10; Sense resistor 200 is coupled between the battery module terminal and the battery pack system terminal).
Regarding claim 8, Song teaches a circuit-breaker abnormality diagnosis method (A switch diagnosing apparatus and method, and more particularly, to a switch diagnosing apparatus and method capable of effectively diagnosing a switch during a process of diagnosing a charging switch and a discharging switch provided to a battery pack; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-6; FIG. 5 is a flowchart for schematically illustrating a switch diagnosing method; Paragraph [0045] Line 1-2), applicable to a circuit-breaker (Here, the battery pack may include at least one secondary battery, the switch diagnosing apparatus, electrical components (including a BMS, a relay, a fuse, and the like), and a case; Paragraph [0141] Line 5-8), comprising:
a battery module [10] (cell assembly 10 as the battery module) terminal (terminal of cell assembly 10) and a battery pack system terminal [+] (battery pack terminal) (a cell assembly 10 included in the battery pack to diagnose the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 connected in series with each other. For example, the cell assembly 10 may be a lithium ion battery having at least one secondary battery cell; Paragraph [0052] Line 7-11; Figure 4(a): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows a battery module [10] (cell assembly 10 as the battery module) terminal (terminal of cell assembly 10) and a battery pack system terminal (battery pack terminal); and
N switching channels [50, 30] connected in parallel (Here, the switch diagnosing apparatus according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may include a plurality of charging switches 50 connected in parallel with each other. In addition, the switch diagnosing apparatus may include a plurality of discharging switches 30 connected in parallel with each other; Paragraph [0053] Line 7-12) and coupled between the battery module terminal [10] and the battery pack system terminal [+] (the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 may be connected in series such that one end of the discharging switch 30 may be directly connected to the positive electrode terminal of the cell assembly 10, and one end of the charging switch 50 may be directly connected to the positive electrode terminal of the battery pack; Paragraph [0056] Line 3-9),
where N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2 (For example, seeing the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 may include a first charging switch, a second charging switch and a third charging switch connected in parallel with each other. In addition, the plurality of discharging switches 30 may include a first discharging switch, a second discharging switch and a third discharging switch connected in parallel with each other. As above, in the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 are illustrated as being provided in the number of three, respectively, but the number of the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 is not specially limited; Paragraph [0083] Line 1-13; Figure 4(a): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2),
each of the switching channels [30, 50] (Figure 4(i) (ii): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows switching channels) comprising a plurality of semiconductor switching devices (For example, the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be a field effect transistor (FET) element having gate, drain and source terminals; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-4; For example, the FET element may be a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET); Paragraph [0057] Line 11-13) and being configured to turn on/off a circuit [200] (current measuring unit 200 as the circuit) (The current measuring unit 200 may be provided on the charging and discharging path L to measure a current flowing through the charging and discharging path L; Paragraph [0063] Line 1-3) between the battery module terminal [10] and the battery pack system terminal [+] (Here, the FET element may be turned on or off depending on whether a channel is formed according to a voltage applied between the gate terminal and the source terminal. If the channel is formed, a current may flow from the drain terminal to the source terminal or from the source terminal to the drain terminal. That is, a current may flow in both directions through the formed channel; Paragraph [0057] Line 4-11; Figure 4(a): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows that when the switching channels are on current flows to the current measuring unit as the circuit and therefore the current measuring unit is on and when the switched are off no current can flow through the current measuring unit and therefore the current measuring unit is in off condition. As the circuit is open),
wherein each of the switching channels [30, 50] (Figure 4(i) (ii): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows switching channels) comprises:
a first switch group [30] (discharging switches 30 as the first switch group) (In addition, the switch diagnosing apparatus may include a plurality of discharging switches 30 connected in parallel with each other; Paragraph [0053] Line 10-12) coupled to the battery module terminal [10] (the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 may be connected in series such that one end of the discharging switch 30 may be directly connected to the positive electrode terminal of the cell assembly 10, and one end of the charging switch 50 may be directly connected to the positive electrode terminal of the battery pack; Paragraph [0056] Line 3-9; Figure 4(b): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows a first switch group [30] coupled to the battery module terminal [10]); and
a second switch group [50] (charging switch 50 as the second switch group) (Here, the switch diagnosing apparatus according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may include a plurality of charging switches 50 connected in parallel with each other; Paragraph [0053] Line 7-10) coupled to the first switch group [30] and the battery pack system terminal [+] (the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 may be connected in series such that one end of the discharging switch 30 may be directly connected to the positive electrode terminal of the cell assembly 10, and one end of the charging switch 50 may be directly connected to the positive electrode terminal of the battery pack; Paragraph [0056] Line 3-9; Figure 4(b): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows a second switch group [50] coupled to the first switch group [30] and the battery pack system terminal [+]),
wherein the first switch group [30] and the second switch group [50] are connected in series (Figure 4(i): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows a second switch group [50] are connected in series),
an input potential node [N3] a third measurement point N3 as the input potential node) is formed between the first switch group [30] and the battery module terminal [10] (a third measurement point N3 at the other end of the discharging switch 30; Paragraph [0060] Line 5-6; Figure 4(b): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows an input potential node [N3] a third measurement point N3 as the input potential node) is formed between the first switch group [30] and the battery module terminal [10]), and
an output potential node [N2] (a second measurement point N2 as the output potential node) is formed between the second switch group [50] and the battery pack system terminal [+] (a second measurement point N2 at the other end of the charging switch 50; Paragraph [0060] Line 3-5; Figure 4(b): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows an output potential node [N2] (a second measurement point N2 as the output potential node) is formed between the second switch group [50] and the battery pack system terminal [+]); and
a coupling node [N1] between the first switch group [30] and the second switch group [50] serves as a channel potential node [N1] (first measurement point N1 as the channel potential node) so that N channel potential nodes [N1] respectively corresponding to the N switching channels are formed (The voltage measuring unit 100 may be electrically connected to a first measurement point N1 between the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-3; Figure 4(b): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows a coupling node [N1] between the first switch group [30] and the second switch group [50] serves as a channel potential node [N1] (first measurement point N1 as the channel potential node) so that N channel potential nodes respectively corresponding to the N switching channels are formed); and
the circuit-breaker abnormality diagnosis (an open stuck state, a closed stuck state and a drift state as the abnormality diagnosis) method (Figure 5) (As shown in FIG. 5, the switch diagnosing method according to the present disclosure includes a voltage measuring step S100, a current measuring step S110 and a switch diagnosing step S120; Paragraph [0143] Line 1-4) comprises:
setting at least one of the N switching channels [30, 50] to be in a turned-on state (Table 1 shows the states of the discharging switch 30 and the charging switch 50 according to the measured voltage values measured at the first measurement point N1, the second measurement point N2 and the third measurement point N3. Preferably, Table 1 shows the states of the discharging switch 30 and the charging switch 50 according to the measured voltage value measured when the cell assembly 10 is discharged; Paragraph [0130] Line 7-8; In addition, the processor 300 may be connected to the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 to transmit and receive an electric signal, respectively, so that the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 are selectively controlled to be opened or closed; Paragraph [0067] Line 1-5);
obtaining, at a current moment, a first voltage value at the input potential node [N3], a second voltage value at the output potential node [N2], and N third voltage values respectively at the N channel potential nodes [N1] [S100] (First, in the voltage measuring step S100, the voltages of the measurement point between the charging switch and the discharging switch, the measurement point at the other end of the charging switch and the measurement point at the other end of the discharging switch may be measured, respectively; Paragraph [0144] Line 1-6; In addition, the processor 300 may calculate an accumulated voltage drop of the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 during the preset reference time based on the measured voltage values of the first measurement point N1, the second measurement point N2 and the third measurement point N3. For example, the processor 300 may calculate the accumulated voltage drop of the discharging switch 30 based on the measured voltage values of the first measurement point N1 and the third measurement point N3 during the preset reference time. In addition, the processor 300 may calculate the accumulated voltage drop of the charging switch 50 based on the measured voltage values of the first measurement point N1 and the second measurement point N2 during the preset reference time; Paragraph [0115] Line 1-15); and
performing abnormality diagnosis on the semiconductor switching devices in the N switching channels [30, 50] based on the first voltage value [at N3], the second voltage value [at N2] and the N third voltage values [at N1] (S[110] + S[120]) (Subsequently, in the current measuring step S110, the current flowing through the charging and discharging path may be measured. Subsequently, in the switch diagnosing step (S120), the charging switch and the discharging switch may be selectively controlled to be opened or closed, the measured voltage value of each measurement point measured in the voltage measuring step may be received, the measured current value measured in the current measuring step may be received, and the state of at least one of the charging switch and the discharging switch may be diagnosed as at least one of the open stuck state, the closed stuck state, the drift state and the external short state based on at least one of the measured voltage value and the measured current value of each measurement point; Paragraph [0144] Line 6-19; Here, ΔV may be an accumulated voltage drop, t0 and t1 may be time, and v may be a voltage difference between the first measurement point N1 and the third measurement point N3 or a voltage difference between the first measurement point N1 and the second measurement point N2. That is, Equation 2 is a formula for calculating the accumulated voltage drop (ΔV) by integrating the voltage difference (v) of the first measurement point N1 and the third measurement point N3 or of the first measurement point N1 and the second measurement point N2 measured during the preset reference time (between the time t0 and the time t1); Paragraph [0116] Line 1-11; In addition, the processor 300 may calculate the composite resistance of the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 by dividing the accumulated voltage drop (ΔV) by the current integration value (ΔI). For example, the processor 300 may calculate the composite resistance (R) of the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 using Equation 3 below. For example, if the accumulated voltage drop (ΔV) is 2 mV and the current integration value (ΔI) is 1 A, the composite resistance (R) of the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 may be calculated as 2 mohm; Paragraph [0117] Line 1-11; Paragraph [0116], [0117] and [0118] describes performing steps for determining abnormality),
to obtain a switching device abnormality diagnosis result [S120] (In addition, the processor 300 may diagnose whether the state of at least one of the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 is the drift state based on the composite resistance of the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30. Here, the drift state may be a phenomenon in which the turn-on state resistance of the switch is changed. For example, the processor 300 may repeatedly calculate the composite resistance at time intervals and store the calculated composite resistance. In addition, the processor 300 may diagnose whether the state of at least one of the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 is the drift state by comparing the previously stored normal state composite resistance and the calculated composite resistance. For example, if the difference between the normal state composite resistance and the calculated composite resistance is beyond a preset range, the processor 300 may diagnose that at least one of the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 is in the drift state; Paragraph [0119] Line 1-18; Paragraph [0123] describes external short situation).
Regarding claim 9, Song teaches a circuit-breaker abnormality diagnosis method,
wherein the switching device abnormality diagnosis result comprises a diagnosis result for an abnormality (The processor may be configured to determine that an external short occurs when the external short signal is received from the diagnosis signaling unit, and diagnose whether the charging switch and the discharging switch are normally opened in response to determination of an occurrence of an external short; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-6; external short is the diagnosis result for an abnormality. External short as the abnormality) of being uncontrolled (When the external short signal is received from the diagnosis signaling unit, the processor may be configured to transmit a turn-off command to each of the charging switch and the discharging switch, and diagnose whether the charging switch and the discharging switch are normally opened based on the measured the measured voltages at both ends of the first charging switch and the first discharging switch; Paragraph [0031] Line 1-7; In the case of abnormality as the external short processor determines if the switches are opened based on the voltage); and
the performing of the abnormality diagnosis on the semiconductor switching devices in the N switching channels [30, 50] to obtain the switching device abnormality diagnosis result (In addition, the processor 300 may diagnose the states of the discharging switch 30 and the charging switch 50 by comparing the measured voltage value of the first measurement point N1 with the measured voltage value of the second measurement point N2; Paragraph [0135] Line 1-5) comprises:
setting each of the N switching channels to be in the turned-on state (In addition, the processor 300 may diagnose whether the charging switch 50 is in the closed stuck state by comparing the measured voltage value of the third measurement point N3 with the measured voltage value of the second measurement point N2. Alternatively, the processor 300 may diagnose whether the charging switch 50 is in the closed stuck state by comparing the measured voltage value of the first measurement point N1 and the measured voltage value of the second measurement point N2; Paragraph [0107] Line 8-17; switches are closed state to determine the voltage to diagnose the abnormality); and
one of ("One of" signifies a choice, selection, or a singular example from a list of options):
in response to determining that the second voltage value is not greater than 0 V,
determining as the diagnosis result for the abnormality of being uncontrolled that each of the semiconductor switching devices in the N switching channels has the abnormality of being uncontrolled;
in response to determining that the second voltage value is greater than 0 V, an ith third voltage value of the N third voltage values corresponding to an ith switching channel of the N switching channels is zero, where i is a positive integer less than N, and each of (N-1) third voltage values of the N third voltage values respectively corresponding to (N-1) switching channels of the N switching channels other than the ith switching channel is equal to the first voltage value, determining as the diagnosis result for the abnormality of being uncontrolled that a part of the semiconductor switching devices in the ith switching channel have the abnormality of being uncontrolled; and
in response to determining that the second voltage value is greater than 0 V, and each of the N third voltage values is equal to the first voltage value, determining as the diagnosis result for the abnormality of being uncontrolled that there is no definite diagnosis result yet (For example, if the potential difference of the positive electrode terminal voltage of the cell assembly 10 is A[V] and both the measured voltage value of the first measurement point N1 and the measured voltage value of the second measurement point N2 are A[V], the processor 300 may diagnose that the discharging switch 30 and the charging switch 50 are not normally opened. That is, the processor 300 may diagnose that at least one of the plurality of discharging switches 30 and at least one of the plurality of charging switches 50 are in the closed stuck state; Paragraph [0136] Line 1-10; Paragraph [0137]-[0138] describes different values of second voltage values and comparing with either first or third voltage values and abnormality is determined based on the voltage value; A[V] can be any value of voltage either equal to zero or lower or higher than zero).
Regarding claim 10, Song teaches a circuit-breaker abnormality diagnosis method,
wherein the performing of the abnormality diagnosis on the semiconductor switching devices in the N switching channels to obtain the switching device abnormality diagnosis result (The processor may be configured to determine that an external short occurs when the external short signal is received from the diagnosis signaling unit, and diagnose whether the charging switch and the discharging switch are normally opened in response to determination of an occurrence of an external short; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-6) further comprises:
in response to determining as the diagnosis result for the abnormality of being uncontrolled that there is no definite diagnosis result yet, setting the first switch group in a jth (jth value could be 1 or any value less than N) switching channel of the N switching channels to be in a turned-off state, where j is a positive integer less than N, and setting each of (N-1) switching channels of the N switching channels other than the jth switching channel to be in the turned-on state (As above, in the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 are illustrated as being provided in the number of three, respectively, but the number of the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 is not specially limited; Paragraph [0083] Line 7-13; The plurality of discharging switches 30 and the plurality of charging switches 50 may be electrically connected to the processor 300 to transmit and receive an electric signal. In addition, the plurality of discharging switches 30 and the plurality of charging switches 50 may receive a control command from the processor 300, and open and close the charging and discharging path L based on the control command received from the processor 300; Paragraph [0084] Line 1-8; The value of j, N could be any number as Song discloses any number of discharging and charging switches and there depending on the command from the processor some switches are off and some are on depending on the switch S1, S2 and S3 and therefore meets the limitation as claimed above); and
one of ("One of" signifies a choice, selection, or a singular example from a list of options):
in response to determining that each of a jth third voltage value of the N third voltage values corresponding to the jth switching channel, (N-1) third voltage values of the N third voltage values other than the jth third voltage value, and the second voltage value is equal to the first voltage value minus a preset voltage drop value, determining as the diagnosis result for the abnormality of being uncontrolled that the first switch group in each of the (N-1) switching channels other than the jth switching channel has the abnormality of being uncontrolled;
in response to determining that each of the jth third voltage value and the second voltage value is equal to the first voltage value minus the preset voltage drop value, and each of the (N-1) third voltage values other than the jth third voltage value is equal to the first voltage value, determining as the diagnosis result for the abnormality of being uncontrolled that the second switch group in each of the (N-1) switching channels other than the jth switching channel has the abnormality of being uncontrolled; and
in response to determining that the jth third voltage value is greater than the first voltage value minus the preset voltage drop value and less than the first voltage value, and each of the (N-1) third voltage values other than the jth third voltage value and the second voltage value is equal to the first voltage value, determining as the diagnosis result for the
abnormality of being uncontrolled that none of the semiconductor switching devices in the
(N-1) switching channels other than the jth switching channel has the abnormality of being
Uncontrolled (Specifically, the processor 300 may diagnose whether the state of the charging switch 50 is the open stuck state based on the both-end voltage difference of the charging switch 50. In this case, the processor 300 may calculate the normal state both-end voltage difference of the charging switch 50 using the Ohm's law based on the previously stored turn-on state resistance of the charging switch 50. For example, if the previously stored turn-on state resistance of the charging switch 50 is 1 mohm and the diagnosis power is 1 A, the processor 300 may calculate the normal state both-end voltage difference of the charging switch 50 to be 1 mV. In addition, the processor 300 may compares the measured both-end voltage difference and the normal state both-end voltage difference calculated based on the measured voltage values of the first measurement point N1 and the second measurement point N2, and diagnose that the charging switch 50 is in the open stuck state if the difference between the measured both-end voltage difference and the normal state both-end voltage difference is beyond a preset error range; Paragraph [0089] Line 1-20; In addition, the processor 300 may diagnose whether the state of the discharging switch 30 is the open stuck state based on the both-end voltage difference of the discharging switch 30. In this case, the processor 300 may calculate the normal state both-end voltage difference of the discharging switch 30 using the Ohm's law based on the previously stored turn-on state resistance of the discharging switch 30. For example, if the turn-on state resistance of the pre-stored discharging switch 30 is 1 mohm and the diagnosis power is 1 A, the processor 300 may calculate the normal state both-end voltage difference of the discharging switch 30 to be 1 mV. In addition, the processor 300 may compare the measured both-end voltage difference and the normal state both-end voltage difference calculated based on the measured voltage values of the first measurement point N1 and the third measurement point N3, and diagnoses that the discharging switch 30 is in the open stuck state if the difference between the measured both-end voltage difference and the normal state both-end voltage difference is beyond a preset error range; Paragraph [0090] Line 1-20; processor determines the voltage of any number of charging or discharging switch for example when processor is doing the diagnosis for the discharging switches the value of N is half as the jth value which is less than N (N is total number of charging and discharging switch), processor does not send any command for the charging switch and therefore the jth value is less than N. Processor either determines the discharging switch has the abnormality by comparing the preset voltage value or processor determined the charging switches has abnormality by comparing the preset voltage value with either first or second or third voltages).
Regarding claim 11, Song teaches a circuit-breaker abnormality diagnosis,
wherein the performing of the abnormality diagnosis on the semiconductor switching devices in the N switching channels to obtain the switching device abnormality diagnosis result (The processor may be configured to determine that an external short occurs when the external short signal is received from the diagnosis signaling unit, and diagnose whether the charging switch and the discharging switch are normally opened in response to determination of an occurrence of an external short; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-6) further comprises:
in response to determining as the diagnosis result for the abnormality of being uncontrolled that none of the semiconductor switching devices in the (N-1) switching channels other than the jth switching channel has the abnormality of being uncontrolled, setting the first switch group in the jth switching channel to be in the turned-on state, and setting the first switch group in each of the (N-1) switching channels other than the jth switching channel to be in the turned-off state (As above, in the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 are illustrated as being provided in the number of three, respectively, but the number of the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 is not specially limited; Paragraph [0083] Line 7-13; The plurality of discharging switches 30 and the plurality of charging switches 50 may be electrically connected to the processor 300 to transmit and receive an electric signal. In addition, the plurality of discharging switches 30 and the plurality of charging switches 50 may receive a control command from the processor 300, and open and close the charging and discharging path L based on the control command received from the processor 300; Paragraph [0084] Line 1-8; The value of j, N could be any number as Song discloses any number of discharging and charging switches and there depending on the command from the processor some switches are off and some are on depending on the switch S1, S2 and S3 and therefore meets the limitation as claimed above); and
one of ("One of" signifies a choice, selection, or a singular example from a list of options):
in response to determining that each of the jth third voltage value, the (N-1) third voltage values other than the jth third voltage value, and the second voltage value is equal to the first voltage value minus the preset voltage drop value, determining as the diagnosis result for the abnormality of being uncontrolled that the first switch group in the jth switching channel has the abnormality of being uncontrolled;
in response to determining that the jth third voltage value is equal to the first voltage value, and each of the second voltage value and the (N-1) third voltage values other than the jth third voltage value is equal to the first voltage value minus the preset voltage drop value, determining as the diagnosis result for the abnormality of being uncontrolled that the second switch group in the jth switching channel has the abnormality of being uncontrolled; and
in response to determining that each of the jth third voltage value, the (N-1) third voltage values other than the jth third voltage value, and the second voltage value is equal to the first voltage value, determining as the diagnosis result for the abnormality of being uncontrolled that none of the semiconductor switching devices in the jth switching channel has the abnormality of being uncontrolled (Specifically, the processor 300 may diagnose whether the state of the charging switch 50 is the open stuck state based on the both-end voltage difference of the charging switch 50. In this case, the processor 300 may calculate the normal state both-end voltage difference of the charging switch 50 using the Ohm's law based on the previously stored turn-on state resistance of the charging switch 50. For example, if the previously stored turn-on state resistance of the charging switch 50 is 1 mohm and the diagnosis power is 1 A, the processor 300 may calculate the normal state both-end voltage difference of the charging switch 50 to be 1 mV. In addition, the processor 300 may compares the measured both-end voltage difference and the normal state both-end voltage difference calculated based on the measured voltage values of the first measurement point N1 and the second measurement point N2, and diagnose that the charging switch 50 is in the open stuck state if the difference between the measured both-end voltage difference and the normal state both-end voltage difference is beyond a preset error range; Paragraph [0089] Line 1-20; In addition, the processor 300 may diagnose whether the state of the discharging switch 30 is the open stuck state based on the both-end voltage difference of the discharging switch 30. In this case, the processor 300 may calculate the normal state both-end voltage difference of the discharging switch 30 using the Ohm's law based on the previously stored turn-on state resistance of the discharging switch 30. For example, if the turn-on state resistance of the pre-stored discharging switch 30 is 1 mohm and the diagnosis power is 1 A, the processor 300 may calculate the normal state both-end voltage difference of the discharging switch 30 to be 1 mV. In addition, the processor 300 may compare the measured both-end voltage difference and the normal state both-end voltage difference calculated based on the measured voltage values of the first measurement point N1 and the third measurement point N3, and diagnoses that the discharging switch 30 is in the open stuck state if the difference between the measured both-end voltage difference and the normal state both-end voltage difference is beyond a preset error range; Paragraph [0090] Line 1-20; processor determines the voltage of any number of charging or discharging switch for example when processor is doing the diagnosis for the discharging switches the value of N is half as the jth value which is less than N (N is total number of charging and discharging switch), processor does not send any command for the charging switch and therefore the jth value is less than N. Processor either determines the discharging switch has the abnormality by comparing the preset voltage value or processor determined the charging switches has abnormality by comparing the preset voltage value with either first or second or third voltages).
Regarding claim 12, Song teaches a circuit-breaker abnormality diagnosis,
wherein the performing of the abnormality diagnosis on the semiconductor switching devices in the N switching channels to obtain the switching device abnormality diagnosis result (The processor may be configured to determine that an external short occurs when the external short signal is received from the diagnosis signaling unit, and diagnose whether the charging switch and the discharging switch are normally opened in response to determination of an occurrence of an external short; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-6) further comprises:
in response to determining as the diagnosis result for the abnormality of being uncontrolled that there is no definite diagnosis result yet, setting the second switch group in a kth switching channel of the N switching channels to be in a turned-off state, where k is a positive integer less than N, and setting each of (N-1) switching channels of the N switching channels other than the kth switching channel to be in the turned-on state (As above, in the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 are illustrated as being provided in the number of three, respectively, but the number of the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 is not specially limited; Paragraph [0083] Line 7-13; The plurality of discharging switches 30 and the plurality of charging switches 50 may be electrically connected to the processor 300 to transmit and receive an electric signal. In addition, the plurality of discharging switches 30 and the plurality of charging switches 50 may receive a control command from the processor 300, and open and close the charging and discharging path L based on the control command received from the processor 300; Paragraph [0084] Line 1-8; The value of k, N could be any number as Song discloses any number of discharging and charging switches and there depending on the command from the processor some switches are off and some are on depending on the switch S1, S2 and S3 and therefore meets the limitation as claimed above); and
one of ("One of" signifies a choice, selection, or a singular example from a list of options):
in response to determining that a kth third voltage value of the N third voltage values corresponding to the kth switching channel is equal to the first voltage value, and each of the second voltage value and (N-1) third voltage values of the N third voltage values other than the kth third voltage value is equal to the first voltage value minus a preset voltage drop value, determining as the diagnosis result for the abnormality of being uncontrolled that the first switch groups in each of the (N-1) switching channels other than the kth switching channel has the abnormality of being uncontrolled;
in response to determining that each of the kth third voltage value and the (N-1) third voltage values other than the kth third voltage value is equal to the first voltage value, and the second voltage value is equal to the first voltage value minus the preset voltage drop value, determining as the diagnosis result for the abnormality of being uncontrolled that the second switch group in each of the (N-1) switching channels other than the kth switching channel has the abnormality of being uncontrolled; and
in response to determining that each of the kth third voltage value, the (N-1) third voltage values other than the kth third voltage value, and the second voltage value is equal to the first voltage value, determining as the diagnosis result for the abnormality of being uncontrolled that none of the semiconductor switching devices in the (N-1) switching channels other than the kᵗʰ switching channel has the abnormality of being uncontrolled (Specifically, the processor 300 may diagnose whether the state of the charging switch 50 is the open stuck state based on the both-end voltage difference of the charging switch 50. In this case, the processor 300 may calculate the normal state both-end voltage difference of the charging switch 50 using the Ohm's law based on the previously stored turn-on state resistance of the charging switch 50. For example, if the previously stored turn-on state resistance of the charging switch 50 is 1 mohm and the diagnosis power is 1 A, the processor 300 may calculate the normal state both-end voltage difference of the charging switch 50 to be 1 mV. In addition, the processor 300 may compares the measured both-end voltage difference and the normal state both-end voltage difference calculated based on the measured voltage values of the first measurement point N1 and the second measurement point N2, and diagnose that the charging switch 50 is in the open stuck state if the difference between the measured both-end voltage difference and the normal state both-end voltage difference is beyond a preset error range; Paragraph [0089] Line 1-20; In addition, the processor 300 may diagnose whether the state of the discharging switch 30 is the open stuck state based on the both-end voltage difference of the discharging switch 30. In this case, the processor 300 may calculate the normal state both-end voltage difference of the discharging switch 30 using the Ohm's law based on the previously stored turn-on state resistance of the discharging switch 30. For example, if the turn-on state resistance of the pre-stored discharging switch 30 is 1 mohm and the diagnosis power is 1 A, the processor 300 may calculate the normal state both-end voltage difference of the discharging switch 30 to be 1 mV. In addition, the processor 300 may compare the measured both-end voltage difference and the normal state both-end voltage difference calculated based on the measured voltage values of the first measurement point N1 and the third measurement point N3, and diagnoses that the discharging switch 30 is in the open stuck state if the difference between the measured both-end voltage difference and the normal state both-end voltage difference is beyond a preset error range; Paragraph [0090] Line 1-20; processor determines the voltage of any number of charging or discharging switch for example when processor is doing the diagnosis for the discharging switches the value of N is half as the kth value which is less than N (N is total number of charging and discharging switch), processor does not send any command for the charging switch and therefore the kth value is less than N. Processor either determines the discharging switch has the abnormality by comparing the preset voltage value or processor determined the charging switches has abnormality by comparing the preset voltage value with either first or second or third voltages).
Regarding claim 13, Song teaches a circuit-breaker abnormality diagnosis,
wherein the performing of the abnormality diagnosis on the semiconductor switching devices in the N switching channels to obtain the switching device abnormality diagnosis result (The processor may be configured to determine that an external short occurs when the external short signal is received from the diagnosis signaling unit, and diagnose whether the charging switch and the discharging switch are normally opened in response to determination of an occurrence of an external short; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-6) further comprises:
in response to determining as the diagnosis result for the abnormality of being uncontrolled that none of the semiconductor switching devices in the (N-1) switching channels other than the kth switching channel has the abnormality of being uncontrolled, setting the second switch group in the kth switching channel to be in the turned-on state, and setting the second switch group in cach of the (N-1) switching channels other than the kth switching channel to be in the turned-off state (As above, in the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 are illustrated as being provided in the number of three, respectively, but the number of the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 is not specially limited; Paragraph [0083] Line 7-13; The plurality of discharging switches 30 and the plurality of charging switches 50 may be electrically connected to the processor 300 to transmit and receive an electric signal. In addition, the plurality of discharging switches 30 and the plurality of charging switches 50 may receive a control command from the processor 300, and open and close the charging and discharging path L based on the control command received from the processor 300; Paragraph [0084] Line 1-8; The value of k, N could be any number as Song discloses any number of discharging and charging switches and there depending on the command from the processor some switches are off and some are on depending on the switch S1, S2 and S3 and therefore meets the limitation as claimed above); and
one of ("One of" signifies a choice, selection, or a singular example from a list of options):
in response to determining that each of the kth third voltage value and the second voltage value is equal to the first voltage value minus the preset voltage drop value, and each of the (N-1) third voltage values other than the kth third voltage value is equal to the first voltage value, determining as the diagnosis result for the abnormality of being uncontrolled that the first switch group in the kth switching channel has the abnormality of being uncontrolled;
in response to determining that each of the kth third voltage value and the (N-1) third voltage values other than the kth third voltage value is equal to the first voltage value, and the second voltage value is equal to the first voltage value minus the preset voltage drop value, determining as the diagnosis result for the abnormality of being uncontrolled that the second switch group in the kth switching channel has the abnormality of being uncontrolled; and
in response to determining that each of the kth third voltage value, the (N-1) third voltage values other than the kth third voltage value, and the second voltage value is equal to the first voltage value, determining as the diagnosis result for the abnormality of being uncontrolled that none of the semiconductor switching devices in the kth switching channel has the abnormality of being uncontrolled (Specifically, the processor 300 may diagnose whether the state of the charging switch 50 is the open stuck state based on the both-end voltage difference of the charging switch 50. In this case, the processor 300 may calculate the normal state both-end voltage difference of the charging switch 50 using the Ohm's law based on the previously stored turn-on state resistance of the charging switch 50. For example, if the previously stored turn-on state resistance of the charging switch 50 is 1 mohm and the diagnosis power is 1 A, the processor 300 may calculate the normal state both-end voltage difference of the charging switch 50 to be 1 mV. In addition, the processor 300 may compares the measured both-end voltage difference and the normal state both-end voltage difference calculated based on the measured voltage values of the first measurement point N1 and the second measurement point N2, and diagnose that the charging switch 50 is in the open stuck state if the difference between the measured both-end voltage difference and the normal state both-end voltage difference is beyond a preset error range; Paragraph [0089] Line 1-20; In addition, the processor 300 may diagnose whether the state of the discharging switch 30 is the open stuck state based on the both-end voltage difference of the discharging switch 30. In this case, the processor 300 may calculate the normal state both-end voltage difference of the discharging switch 30 using the Ohm's law based on the previously stored turn-on state resistance of the discharging switch 30. For example, if the turn-on state resistance of the pre-stored discharging switch 30 is 1 mohm and the diagnosis power is 1 A, the processor 300 may calculate the normal state both-end voltage difference of the discharging switch 30 to be 1 mV. In addition, the processor 300 may compare the measured both-end voltage difference and the normal state both-end voltage difference calculated based on the measured voltage values of the first measurement point N1 and the third measurement point N3, and diagnoses that the discharging switch 30 is in the open stuck state if the difference between the measured both-end voltage difference and the normal state both-end voltage difference is beyond a preset error range; Paragraph [0090] Line 1-20; processor determines the voltage of any number of charging or discharging switch for example when processor is doing the diagnosis for the discharging switches the value of N is half as the kth value which is less than N (N is total number of charging and discharging switch), processor does not send any command for the charging switch and therefore the kth value is less than N. Processor either determines the discharging switch has the abnormality by comparing the preset voltage value or processor determined the charging switches has abnormality by comparing the preset voltage value with either first or second or third voltages).
Regarding claim 14, Song teaches a circuit-breaker abnormality diagnosis,
wherein the switching device abnormality diagnosis result comprises a short-circuit abnormality diagnosis result (The processor may be configured to determine that an external short occurs when the external short signal is received from the diagnosis signaling unit, and diagnose whether the charging switch and the discharging switch are normally opened in response to determination of an occurrence of an external short; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-6); and
the performing of the abnormality diagnosis on the semiconductor switching devices in the N switching channels to obtain the switching device abnormality diagnosis result comprises:
setting each of the first switch group and the second switch group in an mth switching channel of the N switching channels to be in a turned-off state, and setting each of (N-1) switching channels of the N switching channels other than the mth switching channel to be in the turned-on state (As above, in the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 are illustrated as being provided in the number of three, respectively, but the number of the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 is not specially limited; Paragraph [0083] Line 7-13; The plurality of discharging switches 30 and the plurality of charging switches 50 may be electrically connected to the processor 300 to transmit and receive an electric signal. In addition, the plurality of discharging switches 30 and the plurality of charging switches 50 may receive a control command from the processor 300, and open and close the charging and discharging path L based on the control command received from the processor 300; Paragraph [0084] Line 1-8; m could be the number of discharging switch or the number of charging switch and therefore depending on the command from the processor either discharging switches are turned on or off or charging switches are turned on or off); and
one of ("One of" signifies a choice, selection, or a singular example from a list of options):
in response to determining that an m¹h third voltage value of the N third voltage values corresponding to the mth switching channel is zero, and each of (N-1) third voltage values of the N third voltage values other than the mth third voltage value and the second voltage value is equal to the first voltage value, determining as the short-circuit abnormality diagnosis result that neither of the first switch group and the second switch group in the mth switching channel has an abnormality of being short-circuited; and
in response to determining that each of the mth third voltage value, the (N-1) third
voltage values other than the mth third voltage value, and the second voltage value is equal
to the first voltage value, determining as the short-circuit abnormality diagnosis result that
at least one of the first switch group or the second switch group in the mth switching channel has the abnormality of being short-circuited (The diagnosis signaling unit 700 may be electrically connected to the processor 300 to transmit an external short signal to the processor 300. Here, the external short signal may be a signal that simulates an external short situation such that the processor 300 recognizes the external short situation; Paragraph [0123] Line 12-6; In addition, if the external short signal is received from the diagnosis signaling unit 700, the processor 300 may diagnose whether the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 are normally opened, based on the measured voltage values of the first measurement point N1, the second measurement point N2 and the third measurement point N3. For example, in the external short situation, the processor 300 may turn off both the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30. In addition, the processor 300 may quickly diagnose whether both the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 are opened based on the external short signal; Paragraph [0124] Line 1-12; m can be the number of charging switch 50 or discharging switch 30).
Regarding claim 15, Song teaches a lithium battery system [10] (a switch diagnosing apparatus and method, and more particularly, to a switch diagnosing apparatus and method capable of effectively diagnosing a switch during a process of diagnosing a charging switch and a discharging switch provided to a battery pack; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-6; FIG. 4 s a diagram schematically showing a configuration of a switch diagnosing apparatus; Paragraph [0112] Line 1-2For example, the cell assembly 10 may be a lithium ion battery having at least one secondary battery cell; Paragraph [0052] Line 9-11),
comprising a circuit-breaker (Here, the battery pack may include at least one secondary battery, the switch diagnosing apparatus, electrical components (including a BMS, a relay, a fuse, and the like), and a case; Paragraph [0141] Line 5-8),
wherein the circuit breaker comprising:
a battery module [10] (cell assembly 10 as the battery module) terminal (terminal of cell assembly 10) and a battery pack system terminal [+] (battery pack terminal) (a cell assembly 10 included in the battery pack to diagnose the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 connected in series with each other. For example, the cell assembly 10 may be a lithium ion battery having at least one secondary battery cell; Paragraph [0052] Line 7-11; Figure 4(a): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows a battery module [10] (cell assembly 10 as the battery module) terminal (terminal of cell assembly 10) and a battery pack system terminal (battery pack terminal); and
N switching channels [50, 30] connected in parallel (Here, the switch diagnosing apparatus according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may include a plurality of charging switches 50 connected in parallel with each other. In addition, the switch diagnosing apparatus may include a plurality of discharging switches 30 connected in parallel with each other; Paragraph [0053] Line 7-12) and coupled between the battery module terminal [10] and the battery pack system terminal [+] (the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 may be connected in series such that one end of the discharging switch 30 may be directly connected to the positive electrode terminal of the cell assembly 10, and one end of the charging switch 50 may be directly connected to the positive electrode terminal of the battery pack; Paragraph [0056] Line 3-9),
where N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2 (For example, seeing the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 may include a first charging switch, a second charging switch and a third charging switch connected in parallel with each other. In addition, the plurality of discharging switches 30 may include a first discharging switch, a second discharging switch and a third discharging switch connected in parallel with each other. As above, in the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 are illustrated as being provided in the number of three, respectively, but the number of the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 is not specially limited; Paragraph [0083] Line 1-13; Figure 4(a): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2),
each of the switching channels [30, 50] comprising two or more semiconductor switching devices (Figure 4(i) (ii): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows comprising two or more semiconductor switching devices) (For example, the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be a field effect transistor (FET) element having gate, drain and source terminals; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-4; For example, the FET element may be a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET); Paragraph [0057] Line 11-13) and being configured to turn on/off a circuit [200] (current measuring unit 200 as the circuit) (The current measuring unit 200 may be provided on the charging and discharging path L to measure a current flowing through the charging and discharging path L; Paragraph [0063] Line 1-3) between the battery module terminal [10] and the battery pack system terminal [+] (Here, the FET element may be turned on or off depending on whether a channel is formed according to a voltage applied between the gate terminal and the source terminal. If the channel is formed, a current may flow from the drain terminal to the source terminal or from the source terminal to the drain terminal. That is, a current may flow in both directions through the formed channel; Paragraph [0057] Line 4-11; Figure 4(a): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows that when the switching channels are on current flows to the current measuring unit as the circuit and therefore the current measuring unit is on and when the switched are off no current can flow through the current measuring unit and therefore the current measuring unit is in off condition. As the circuit is open),
wherein when abnormality diagnosis (an open stuck state, a closed stuck state and a drift state as the abnormality diagnosis) is performed on the N switching channels [30, 50] (For example, the processor 300 may diagnose whether the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 are normally opened with reference to Table 1 below. Table 1 may be stored in the memory device 400; Paragraph [0129] Line 1-4),
at least one of the N switching channels is set to be in a turned-on state (In addition, the processor 300 may be connected to the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 to transmit and receive an electric signal, respectively, so that the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 are selectively controlled to be opened or closed. Also, the processor 300 may diagnose the state of at least one of the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 as at least one of a normal state, an open stuck state, a closed stuck state and a drift state based on at least one of the measured voltage values of the first measurement point N1, the second measurement point N2 and the third measurement point N3 and the measured current value flowing through the charging and discharging path L; Paragraph [0067] Line 1-13; Hereinafter, referring to FIG. 2 and Table 1, it will be described that the processor 300 diagnoses the states of the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 after receiving an external short signal and transmitting a turn-off command to the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30; Paragraph [0132] Line 1-6; Figure 4(a): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows at least one of the N switching channels is set to be in a turned-on state to keep the circuit-breaker in a turned-on state to make the current flow in the circuit and to measure voltage and current to determine abnormality in the switches),
wherein each of the switching channels (Figure 4(i) (ii): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows switching channels) comprises:
a first switch group [30] (discharging switches 30 as the first switch group) (Figure 4(i): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows a second switch group [50] are connected in series) (In addition, the switch diagnosing apparatus may include a plurality of discharging switches 30 connected in parallel with each other; Paragraph [0053] Line 10-12) coupled to the battery module terminal [10] (the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 may be connected in series such that one end of the discharging switch 30 may be directly connected to the positive electrode terminal of the cell assembly 10, and one end of the charging switch 50 may be directly connected to the positive electrode terminal of the battery pack; Paragraph [0056] Line 3-9; Figure 4(b): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows a first switch group [30] coupled to the battery module terminal [10]); and
a second switch group [50] (charging switch 50 as the second switch group) (Figure 4(i): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows a second switch group [50] are connected in series) (Here, the switch diagnosing apparatus according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may include a plurality of charging switches 50 connected in parallel with each other; Paragraph [0053] Line 7-10) coupled to the first switch group [30] and the battery pack system terminal [+] (the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 may be connected in series such that one end of the discharging switch 30 may be directly connected to the positive electrode terminal of the cell assembly 10, and one end of the charging switch 50 may be directly connected to the positive electrode terminal of the battery pack; Paragraph [0056] Line 3-9; Figure 4(b): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows a second switch group [50] coupled to the first switch group [30] and the battery pack system terminal [+]),
wherein the first switch group [30] and the second switch group [50] are connected in series (Figure 4(i): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows a second switch group [50] are connected in series),
a coupling node [N1] between the first switch group [30] and the second switch group [50] serves as a channel potential node [N1] (first measurement point N1 as the channel potential node) (The voltage measuring unit 100 may be electrically connected to a first measurement point N1 between the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-3; Figure 4(b): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows a coupling node [N1] between the first switch group [30] and the second switch group [50] serves as a channel potential node [N1] (first measurement point N1 as the channel potential node),
an input potential node [N3] a third measurement point N3 as the input potential node) is formed between the first switch group [30] and the battery module terminal [10] (a third measurement point N3 at the other end of the discharging switch 30; Paragraph [0060] Line 5-6; Figure 4(b): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows an input potential node [N3] a third measurement point N3 as the input potential node) is formed between the first switch group [30] and the battery module terminal [10]), and
an output potential node [N2] (a second measurement point N2 as the output potential node) is formed between the second switch group [50] and the battery pack system terminal [+] (a second measurement point N2 at the other end of the charging switch 50; Paragraph [0060] Line 3-5; Figure 4(b): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows an output potential node [N2] (a second measurement point N2 as the output potential node) is formed between the second switch group [50] and the battery pack system terminal [+]).
Regarding claim 17, Song teaches a lithium battery system [10],
wherein the circuit breaker further comprising a first drive terminal and a second drive terminal (Figure 4(c): Modified Figure 4 of Song, above shows a first drive terminal and a second drive terminal),
the first switch group [30] comprises a first switching transistor (FET) (first discharging switch 30) having a first control electrode (gate electrode of the first switching transistor as the first control electrode) coupled to the first drive terminal (For example, the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be a field effect transistor (FET) element having gate, drain and source terminals. Here, the FET element may be turned on or off depending on whether a channel is formed according to a voltage applied between the gate terminal and the source terminal. If the channel is formed, a current may flow from the drain terminal to the source terminal or from the source terminal to the drain terminal. That is, a current may flow in both directions through the formed channel. For example, the FET element may be a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET); Paragraph [0057] Line 1-13; Figure 4(c): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows the first switch group [30] comprises a first switching transistor (FET) having a first control electrode (gate electrode as the control electrode) coupled to the first drive terminal); and
the second switch group [30] comprises a second switching transistor [50] (first charging switch 50) having a second control electrode (gate electrode of the second switching transistor as the second control electrode) coupled to the second drive terminal (For example, the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be a field effect transistor (FET) element having gate, drain and source terminals. Here, the FET element may be turned on or off depending on whether a channel is formed according to a voltage applied between the gate terminal and the source terminal. If the channel is formed, a current may flow from the drain terminal to the source terminal or from the source terminal to the drain terminal. That is, a current may flow in both directions through the formed channel. For example, the FET element may be a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET); Paragraph [0057] Line 1-13; Figure 4(c): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows the second switch group [50] comprises a first switching transistor (FET) having a second control electrode (gate electrode as the control electrode) coupled to the second drive terminal).
Regarding claim 18, Song teaches a lithium battery system [10],
wherein the first switching transistor [30] has a first primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 30) and a first secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 30), and the second switching transistor [50] has a second primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 50) and a second secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 50) (For example, the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be a field effect transistor (FET) element having gate, drain and source terminals; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-4; Figure 4(d): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows the first switching transistor [50] has a first primary voltage electrode and a first secondary voltage electrode, and the second switching transistor has a second primary voltage electrode and a second secondary voltage electrode);
the first primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 30) is coupled to the second primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 50) (Figure 4(d): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows the first primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 30) is coupled to the second primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 50), and
a first channel potential node [N1] (a first measurement point N1 as the as the channel potential node (The voltage measuring unit 100 may be electrically connected to a first measurement point N1 between the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-3) is formed between the first primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 30) and the second primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 50) (Figure 4(d): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows a first channel potential node [N1] as the channel potential node is formed between the first primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 30) and the second primary voltage electrode (source terminal of switching transistor 50));
the first secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 30) is coupled to the battery module terminal [10] (Figure 4(d): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows the first secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 30) is coupled to the battery module terminal [10]), and
a first input potential node [N3] (a third measurement point N3 as the first input potential node) as the input potential node (The voltage measuring unit 100 may be electrically connected to a first measurement point N1 between the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30, a second measurement point N2 at the other end of the charging switch 50 and a third measurement point N3 at the other end of the discharging switch 30, respectively; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-6) is formed between the first secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 30) and the battery module terminal [10] (Figure 4(d): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows a first input potential node [N3] (a third measurement point N3 as the first input potential node) as the input potential node is formed between the first secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 30) and the battery module terminal [10]); and
the second secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 50) is coupled to the battery pack system terminal [+] (Figure 4(d): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows the second secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 50) is coupled to the battery pack system terminal [+]), and
a first output potential node [N2] (a second measurement point N2 as the first output potential node) as the output potential node (The voltage measuring unit 100 may be electrically connected to a first measurement point N1 between the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30, a second measurement point N2 at the other end of the charging switch 50 and a third measurement point N3 at the other end of the discharging switch 30, respectively; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-6) is formed between the second secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 50) and the battery pack system terminal [+] ((Figure 4(d): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows a first output potential node [N2] (a second measurement point N2 as the first output potential node) as the output potential node is formed between the second secondary voltage electrode (drain terminal of switching transistor 50) and the battery pack system terminal [+]).
Regarding claim 19, Song teaches a lithium battery system [10], wherein the circuit-breaker, further comprising
a third drive terminal and a fourth drive terminal (Figure 4(e): Modified Figure 4 of Song, above shows a third drive terminal and a fourth drive terminal),
the first switch group [30] comprises a plurality of third switching transistors (the plurality of discharging switches 30 may include a second discharging switch and a third discharging switch as the third switching transistors) (For example, seeing the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 may include a first charging switch, a second charging switch and a third charging switch connected in parallel with each other. In addition, the plurality of discharging switches 30 may include a first discharging switch, a second discharging switch and a third discharging switch connected in parallel with each other. As above, in the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 are illustrated as being provided in the number of three, respectively, but the number of the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 is not specially limited; Paragraph [0083] Line 1-13) each having a third control electrode coupled to the third drive terminal (Figure 4(e): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows the first switch group [30] comprises a plurality of third switching transistors each having a third control electrode coupled to the third drive terminal); and
the second switch group [50] comprises a plurality of fourth switching transistors (The plurality of charging switches 50 may include a second charging switch and a third charging switch as the fourth switching transistors) (For example, seeing the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 may include a first charging switch, a second charging switch and a third charging switch connected in parallel with each other. In addition, the plurality of discharging switches 30 may include a first discharging switch, a second discharging switch and a third discharging switch connected in parallel with each other. As above, in the embodiment of FIG. 2, the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 are illustrated as being provided in the number of three, respectively, but the number of the plurality of charging switches 50 and the plurality of discharging switches 30 is not specially limited; Paragraph [0083] Line 1-13) each having a fourth control electrode coupled to the fourth drive terminal (Figure 4(e): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows the second switch group [50] comprises a plurality of fourth switching transistors each having a fourth control electrode coupled to the fourth drive terminal).
Regarding claim 20, Song teaches a lithium battery system [10],
wherein the third switching transistors [30](30 in second and third row of figure) have third primary voltage electrodes (source terminal of third switching transistor 30) respectively and have third secondary voltage electrodes respectively (drain terminal of third switching transistor 30), and the fourth switching transistors [50] (50 in second and third row of the figures) have fourth primary voltage electrodes (source terminal of fourth switching transistor 50) respectively and have fourth secondary voltage electrodes (drain terminal of fourth switching transistor 50) respectively (For example, the charging switch 50 and the discharging switch 30 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be a field effect transistor (FET) element having gate, drain and source terminals; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-4; Figure 4(f): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows the third switching transistors have third primary voltage electrodes (source terminal of third switching transistor 30) respectively and have third secondary voltage electrodes respectively (drain terminal of third switching transistor 30), and the fourth switching transistors have fourth primary voltage electrodes (source terminal of fourth switching transistor 50) respectively and have fourth secondary voltage electrodes (drain terminal of fourth switching transistor 50) respectively);
the third primary voltage electrodes (source terminal of third switching transistor 30) are respectively coupled to the fourth primary voltage electrodes (source terminal of fourth switching transistor 50) (Figure 4(f): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows the third primary voltage electrodes (source terminal of third switching transistor 30) are respectively coupled to the fourth primary voltage electrodes (source terminal of fourth switching transistor 50)),
a plurality of connection nodes formed respectively between the third primary voltage electrodes and the fourth primary voltage electrodes constitute a plurality of second channel potential nodes [N1] and are wiredly coupled (Figure 4(f): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows a plurality of connection nodes formed respectively between the third primary voltage electrodes and the fourth primary voltage electrodes constitute a plurality of second channel potential nodes and are wiredly coupled), and
any of the second channel potential nodes [N1] serves as the channel potential node [N1] (a first measurement point N1 as the as the channel potential node) (The voltage measuring unit 100 may be electrically connected to a first measurement point N1 between the fourth charging switch 50 and the third discharging switch 30; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-3; Figure 4(f): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows any of the second channel potential nodes serves as the channel potential node);
each of the third secondary voltage electrodes (drain terminal of third switching transistor 30) is coupled to the battery module terminal [10] (Figure 4(f): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows each of the third secondary voltage electrodes (drain terminal of third switching transistor 30) is coupled to the battery module terminal [10]), and
a second input potential node as the input potential node (Point that is the node from the third switching transistor connected to node N3 as the second input potential node) is formed between the each of the third secondary voltage electrodes (drain terminal of third switching transistor 30) and the battery module terminal [10] (Figure 4(f): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows a second input potential node as the input potential node (Point connected to node N3) is formed between the each of the third secondary voltage electrodes and the battery module terminal [10]); and
each of the fourth secondary voltage electrodes (drain terminal of fourth switching transistor 50) is coupled to the battery pack system terminal [+] (Figure 4(f): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows each of the fourth secondary voltage electrodes (drain terminal of fourth switching transistor 50) is coupled to the battery pack system terminal [+]),
and a second output potential node as the output potential node (Node from fourth switching transistor connected with output node N2 as the second output potential) is formed between the each of the fourth secondary voltage electrodes (drain terminal of fourth switching transistor 50) and the battery pack system terminal [+] (Figure 4(f): Modified Figure 4 of Song above shows a second output potential node as the output potential node is formed between the each of the fourth secondary voltage electrodes (drain terminal of fourth switching transistor 50) and the battery pack system terminal [+]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
NAKATSUKA et al. (US 20190123397 A1) discloses, “BATTERY ASSEMBLY CONTROLLER WHICH MONITORS VOLTAGES OF SECONDARY BATTERIES AND SEMICONDUCTOR INTEGRATED CIRCUIT USED FOR THE BATTERY ASSEMBLY CONTROLLER-[0002] The present disclosure relates to battery assembly controllers controlling terminal voltages of a plurality of series-connected secondary batteries to be equal. [0021] FIG. 1 is a circuit diagram of a battery assembly controller according to a first embodiment. In FIG. 1, one of secondary batteries (BT) 914 has a secondary battery voltage Ve as electromotive force. The secondary battery (BT) 914 includes a positive electrode connected or coupled to a cell balancing resistor (Rc) 915, and a negative electrode connected or coupled to a cell balancing resistor (Rc) 919. A cell balancing switch (SW1) 971 is turned on to discharge stored energy, thereby reducing the voltage Ve of the secondary battery (BT) 914. At this time, a potential difference between the cell balancing resistors (Rc) 915 and 919 is referred to as a cell balancing voltage Vc. A current flowing from the cell balancing resistor (Rc) 915 through the cell balancing switch (SW1) 971 to the cell balancing resistor (Rc) 919 is referred to as a cell balancing current (Ic) 921. [0022] Furthermore, the positive electrode of the secondary battery (BT) 914 is directly connected to a voltage detection resistor (Rs) 916. The negative electrode of the secondary battery (BT) 914 is directly connected to a voltage detection resistor (Rs) 918. A voltage detection capacitor (Cs) 917 is connected or coupled to between the other terminals of the voltage detection resistors (Rs) 916 and 918 to form a low-pass filter. A detected voltage Vr, which has been stabilized by this low-pass filter, is measured by an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) 912 via a multiplexer (MUX) 911, and analyzed by a signal processing control circuit 913. As a result, the voltage Ve of the secondary battery (BT) 914 is measured. Note that a DC current flowing from the voltage detection resistor (Rs) 916 through the voltage detection capacitor (Cs) 917 to the voltage detection resistor (Rs) 918 is zero-However NAKATSUKA does not disclose wherein each of the switching channels comprises: a first switch group coupled to the battery module terminal; and a second switch group coupled to the first switch group and the battery pack system terminal; wherein the first switch group and the second switch group are connected in series, a coupling node between the first switch group and the second switch group serves as a channel potential node, an input potential node is formed between the first switch group and the battery module terminal, and an output potential node is formed between the second switch group and the battery pack system terminal.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858