DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the status of application 16/910,668 needs to be updated. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,709,490. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the '490 patent anticipate the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the occlusion element" in line 6 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear if a new element is being claimed or if the occlusion element is the same as the expansion element recited in line 2 of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Frank Ingle (2011/0264086).
Referring to claim 1, Ingle teaches a catheter comprising: an expandable element (230) configured to transition to an expanded configuration in a blood vessel; a control member (paragraph 0092 such as 232); and a neuromodulation element (212), wherein the control member and the neuromodulation element are disposed within the expandable element (230) (Figure 12), wherein the control member is configured to transition from a low-profile delivery state to a radially expanded state to place the neuromodulation element in contact with an inner wall of the expandable element adjacent to an inner wall of the blood vessel, wherein the control member defines a helical shape, a spiral shape, or a ring shape in the radially expanded state, and wherein the neuromodulation element is configured to deliver neuromodulation energy to a nerve adjacent to or near the blood vessel to inhibit neural communication along the nerve (paragraph 0067 and 0091-0094; Figures 11-12).
Referring to claim 5, Ingle teaches a system comprising: the catheter of claim 1 (as discussed above); and an energy generator (paragraph 0067; such as 320 in Figure 23A) configured to: generate the neuromodulation energy (paragraph 0067 and 0091-0094), monitor a parameter of the catheter or tissue before and during delivery of the neuromodulation energy by the neuromodulation element, and adjust the delivery of the neuromodulation energy by the neuromodulation element in response to the monitored parameter (paragraphs 0042, 0104, 0138 and 0178).
Referring to claim 6, Ingle teaches wherein the expandable element comprises an expandable balloon (paragraphs 0092-0094; Figures 11-12).
Referring to claim 7, Ingle teaches wherein the expandable element is configured to transition to the expanded configuration in response to inflation of the expandable ballon via a fluid (paragraphs 0042, 0092-0094, 0106 and 0178; Figures 11-12 and 17A).
Referring to claim 8, Ingle teaches wherein the neuromodulation element (212) is configured to deliver neuromodulation energy to the nerve to at least partially ablate the nerve (paragraphs 0011 and 0092-0094).
Referring to claim 9, Ingle teaches wherein the neuromodulation element (212) is disposed about the control member (232) (paragraphs 0093).
Referring to claim 10, Ingle teaches wherein the expandable element is configured to occlude the blood vessel when the expandable element is in the expanded configuration in the blood vessel (shown in Figures 6B, 23A and 28; paragraphs 0042, 0080, 0155 and 0178).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frank Ingle (2011/0264086) in view of Nagy Habib (2013/0211176).
Referring to claim 2, Ingle teaches a catheter comprising: an expandable element (230) configured to transition to an expanded configuration in a blood vessel; a control member (paragraph 0092 such as 232); and a neuromodulation element (212), wherein the control member and the neuromodulation element are disposed within the expandable element (230) (Figure 12), wherein the control member is configured to transition from a low-profile delivery state to a radially expanded state to place the neuromodulation element in contact with an inner wall of the expandable element adjacent to an inner wall of the blood vessel, wherein the control member defines a helical shape, a spiral shape, or a ring shape in the radially expanded state, and wherein the neuromodulation element is configured to deliver neuromodulation energy to a nerve adjacent to or near the blood vessel to inhibit neural communication along the nerve (paragraph 0067 and 0091-0094; Figures 11-12).
Ingle teaches an energy generator (paragraph 0067; such as 320 in Figure 23A) wherein the neuromodulation element comprises a heating element, and wherein the energy generator is configured to apply an electrical current to the heating element to cause the resistive heating element to deliver heat, wherein the neuromodulation energy comprises the heat (paragraph 0067 and 0091-0094; Figures 11-12), however fails to teach resistive heating. Habibi teaches an analogous catheter with an element (16/18) that is a resistive heating element and an energy generator (energy source) configured to apply an electrical current to the resistive heating element to cause the resistive heating element to deliver heat (paragraphs 0099 and 0127). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the neuromodulation element and generator, as taught by Ingle, to deliver resistive heating, as taught by Habib, because this is a simple substitution for one known energy source for another that was well known by those of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP 2143).
Referring to claim 3, the modified Ingle teaches wherein the energy generator is configured to apply the electrical current to the resistive heating element to cause a temperature of the resistive heating element to increase to a determined temperature or a temperature within a determined range of temperatures for a period of time (paragraphs 0042, 0104, 0138 and 0178).
Referring to claim 4, the modified Ingle reference teaches wherein the energy generator is further configured to: determine a temperature of the resistive heating element, and adjust the electrical current to cause the resistive heating element to achieve a desired temperature (paragraphs 0042, 0104, 0138 and 0178).
Conclusion
/SAMANTHA M GOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794