Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 and its dependents 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because just the term “computer readable medium” is not enough to overcome a BRI that includes signal per se. The Specification describes the claimed computer readable medium in a permissive and open manner, using language such as “ may be” and “the like”. In addition, the specification includes discussion of network communications and related implementations following the discussion of the computer readable medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
was made.
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (Made of reference in IDS: CN-104765266-A) in view of Zhang (Made of reference in IDS: CN-113805465-A) in further view of Peterson (Made of reference in IDS: US-20190121300-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches A clock display method, applied to a display driver chip for a display screen, the display driver chip being communicative with a video processor, wherein the clock display method comprises (Para 17, 23 44 and 57-59: Describes a clock display method used in an LED display control card for driving an LED display screen): retrieving a clock face image with no hands and at least one hand graphic which are locally stored (Para.17 (a), 23,40,42 47-49: teaches obtaining pre stored no-timer pointer dial data and stored hand related data used to generate the pointer graphics), overlaying the at least one hand graphic onto the clock face image with no hands according to the rotation angle of each hand graphic and obtaining a clock face image corresponding to the calibrated temporal information (Para 17 (d-e), 21-22, 41: d-e teaches integrating time pointer graphic data with no-time pointer dial data to obtain analog clock data corresponding to the current time);then transmitting the display clock face data to the display screen to show the calibrated temporal information (Para. 17 ( e), 23, 27, 44-45: describes driving the Led display according to the integrated analog clock data so that the clock corresponding to the current time is displayed).
Liu fails to teach performing a time calibration based on local temporal information and processor temporal information and obtaining calibrated temporal information; determining rotation angles of respective hand graphics that form a display clock face according to the calibrated temporal information. obtaining a background image issued by the video processor, overlaying the clock face image onto the background image to obtain display clock face data.
Zhang teaches performing a time calibration based on local temporal information and processor temporal information and obtaining calibrated temporal information ( Para 62: discloses obtaining current time information from either a clock server or a local hardware timer); Zhang further teaches determining rotation angles of respective hand graphics that form a display clock face according to the calibrated temporal information (Para: 23-26, 38-40, 70-74 87-90: Describes determining first rotation angle corresponding to the hour and a second rotation angle corresponding to the minute according to time information. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Liu with the teachings of Zhang in order to user Zhang time calibration and clock rotation determination techniques. This combination would allow Liu clock display system to generate more accurate clock positions.). Liu in view of Zhang fails to teach obtaining a background image issued by the video processor, overlaying the clock face image onto the background image to obtain display clock face data.
Peterson teaches obtaining a background image issued by the video processor (Para 24-25, 27-30 and 77: discloses watch faces that can include backgrounds /background images and teaches rendering those watch faces through processor-controlled display circuitry), overlaying the clock face image onto the background image to obtain display clock face data (Para. 24-25, 27-30 and fig 7: discloses selecting and rendering a watch face that includes visual content and background imagery to the display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify Liu in view of Zhang with the teachings of Peterson in order to use Peterson background image and watch-face rendering techniques. This combination would allow the modified system to overlay a clock face image onto a background image to generate display clock data.).
Regarding claim 2, Liu in view of Zhang and in further view of Peterson teaches The clock display method of claim 1, wherein the determining the rotation angles of the respective hand graphics that form the display clock face according to the calibrated temporal information comprises: retrieving correspondences between the rotation angles of the respective hand graphics and different time from a locally stored table of angle-temporal correspondences (Liu, Para 17 b-c, 18-19, 23, 41-42: Discloses storing in the memory the position coordinate date for the time hands and according to the current time, taking out the corresponding hour-hand, minute-hand and second-hand position data from stored data sets); and determining the rotation angles of the respective hand graphics corresponding to the calibrated temporal information according to the correspondences between the rotation angles of the respective hand graphics and different time (Zhang, Para: 23-26, 38-40, 70-74 87-90: Describes determining first rotation angle corresponding to the hour and a second rotation angle corresponding to the minute according to time information).
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches A computer device, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein a computer program is stored in the memory, and the processor, when executing the computer program, implement: retrieving a clock face image with no hands and at least one hand graphic which are locally stored ( Para.17 (a), 23,40,42 47-49: teaches obtaining pre stored no-timer pointer dial data and stored hand related data used to generate the pointer graphics), overlaying the at least one hand graphic onto the clock face image with no hands according to the rotation angle of each hand graphic and obtaining a clock face image corresponding to the calibrated temporal information (Para 17 (d-e), 21-22, 41: d-e teaches integrating time pointer graphic data with no-time pointer dial data to obtain analog clock data corresponding to the current time);then transmitting the display clock face data to the display screen to show the calibrated temporal information (Para. 17 ( e), 23, 27, 44-45: describes driving the Led display according to the integrated analog clock data so that the clock corresponding to the current time is displayed).
Liu fails to teach performing a time calibration based on local temporal information and processor temporal information and obtaining calibrated temporal information; determining rotation angles of respective hand graphics that form a display clock face according to the calibrated temporal information. obtaining a background image issued by the video processor, overlaying the clock face image onto the background image to obtain display clock face data.
Zhang teaches performing a time calibration based on local temporal information and processor temporal information and obtaining calibrated temporal information ( Para 62: discloses obtaining current time information from either a clock server or a local hardware timer); Zhang further teaches determining rotation angles of respective hand graphics that form a display clock face according to the calibrated temporal information (Para: 23-26, 38-40, 70-74 87-90: Describes determining first rotation angle corresponding to the hour and a second rotation angle corresponding to the minute according to time information. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Liu with the teachings of Zhang in order to user Zhang time calibration and clock rotation determination techniques. This combination would allow Liu clock display system to generate more accurate clock positions.). Liu in view of Zhang fails to teach obtaining a background image issued by the video processor, overlaying the clock face image onto the background image to obtain display clock face data.
Peterson teaches obtaining a background image issued by the video processor (Para 24-25, 27-30 and 77: discloses watch faces that can include backgrounds /background images and teaches rendering those watch faces through processor-controlled display circuitry), overlaying the clock face image onto the background image to obtain display clock face data (Para. 24-25, 27-30 and fig 7: discloses selecting and rendering a watch face that includes visual content and background imagery to the display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify Liu in view of Zhang with the teachings of Peterson in order to use Peterson background image and watch-face rendering techniques. This combination would allow the modified system to overlay a clock face image onto a background image to generate display clock data.).
Regarding claim 9, It falls under the same rejection as claim 2 because it is similar in scope and dependent upon same references.
Regarding claim 15, Liu teaches A computer readable storage medium, which stores a computer program thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to implement: retrieving a clock face image with no hands and at least one hand graphic which are locally stored (Para.17 (a), 23,40,42 47-49: teaches obtaining pre stored no-timer pointer dial data and stored hand related data used to generate the pointer graphics), overlaying the at least one hand graphic onto the clock face image with no hands according to the rotation angle of each hand graphic and obtaining a clock face image corresponding to the calibrated temporal information (Para 17 (d-e), 21-22, 41: d-e teaches integrating time pointer graphic data with no-time pointer dial data to obtain analog clock data corresponding to the current time);then transmitting the display clock face data to the display screen to show the calibrated temporal information (Para. 17 ( e), 23, 27, 44-45: describes driving the Led display according to the integrated analog clock data so that the clock corresponding to the current time is displayed).
Liu fails to teach performing a time calibration based on local temporal information and processor temporal information and obtaining calibrated temporal information; determining rotation angles of respective hand graphics that form a display clock face according to the calibrated temporal information. obtaining a background image issued by the video processor, overlaying the clock face image onto the background image to obtain display clock face data.
Zhang teaches performing a time calibration based on local temporal information and processor temporal information and obtaining calibrated temporal information ( Para 62: discloses obtaining current time information from either a clock server or a local hardware timer); Zhang further teaches determining rotation angles of respective hand graphics that form a display clock face according to the calibrated temporal information (Para: 23-26, 38-40, 70-74 87-90: Describes determining first rotation angle corresponding to the hour and a second rotation angle corresponding to the minute according to time information. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Liu with the teachings of Zhang in order to user Zhang time calibration and clock rotation determination techniques. This combination would allow Liu clock display system to generate more accurate clock positions.). Liu in view of Zhang fails to teach obtaining a background image issued by the video processor, overlaying the clock face image onto the background image to obtain display clock face data.
Peterson teaches obtaining a background image issued by the video processor (Para 24-25, 27-30 and 77: discloses watch faces that can include backgrounds /background images and teaches rendering those watch faces through processor-controlled display circuitry), overlaying the clock face image onto the background image to obtain display clock face data (Para. 24-25, 27-30 and fig 7: discloses selecting and rendering a watch face that includes visual content and background imagery to the display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify Liu in view of Zhang with the teachings of Peterson in order to use Peterson background image and watch-face rendering techniques. This combination would allow the modified system to overlay a clock face image onto a background image to generate display clock data.).
Regarding claim 16, It falls under the same rejection as claim 2 because it is similar in scope and dependent upon same references.
Claim(s) 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN-104765266-A) in view of Zhang (CN-113805465-A) in further view of Peterson (US-20190121300-A1) and Bae (US 20180061308 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Liu in view of Zhang and in further view of Peterson teaches The clock display method of claim 2, wherein the overlaying the at least one hand graphic onto the clock face image with no hands according to the rotation angle of each hand graphic and obtaining the clock face image corresponding to the calibrated temporal information comprise: rotating each hand graphic according to the rotation angle of the each hand graphic corresponding to the calibrated temporal information (Zhang, Para: 23-26, 38-40, 70-74 87-90: Describes determining first rotation angle corresponding to the hour and a second rotation angle corresponding to the minute according to time information) : determining a clock face layer in which the clock face image with no hands is located (Liu, Para. 17 a-d: Discloses a no time pointer dial data/ no hands clock face that is combined with hand /pointer graphic data), and obtaining the clock face image corresponding to the calibrated temporal information by overlaying each hand graphic layer onto the clock face layer (Liu, Para 17 d-e, 21-22, 49-54: discloses integrating pointer graphic data with the no time pointer dial data to obtain analog clock data corresponding to the current time).
Liu in view of Zhang and in further view of Peterson fails to teach performing anti-aliasing on each rotated hand graphic to obtain a hand graphic layer. Bae teaches performing anti-aliasing on each rotated hand graphic to obtain a hand graphic layer (Para.115: discloses to rotate hands of an analog clock the processor may process ant-aliasing work so the display driver IC can output an additional image to rotate a hand of a clock. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Liu in view of Zhang and Peterson with the teachings of Bae in order to use Bae anti-aliasing technique for rotated clock hand graphics. This combination would improve the visual quality of the hand graphics when generated for display).
Regarding claim 10, It falls under the same rejection as claim 3 because it is similar in scope and dependent upon same references.
Regarding claim 17, It falls under the same rejection as claim 3 because it is similar in scope and dependent upon same references.
Claim(s) 4-5, 11-12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN-104765266-A) in view of Zhang (CN-113805465-A) in further view of Peterson (US-20190121300-A1), Bae (US 20180061308 A1) and Nagara (US-20150009189-A1).
Regarding claim 4, Liu in view of Zhang and in further view of Peterson and Bae teaches The clock display method of claim 3, wherein the overlaying the each hand graphic layer onto the clock face layer comprises: obtaining locally stored layer configuration parameters (Liu, Para 47-49: describes locally stored no-hand data and stored hand related data for combining), and determining display of the each hand graphic layer and the clock face layer based on the layer configuration parameters (Liu para 17, d-e and para 47-49: the clock data inherently determines the display layering when combining the no hand data and stored hand data for display); overlaying the each hand graphic layer onto the clock face layer according to the display (Liu, Para 17 d-e, 21-22, 49-54: discloses integrating pointer graphic data with the no time pointer dial data to obtain analog clock data corresponding to the current time for display ).
Liu in view of Zhang and in further view of Peterson and Bae fail to teach determining display priorities of each graphic.
Nagara teaches determining display priorities of each hand graphic layer and the clock face layer based on the layer configuration parameters (para.29: discloses that the system determines that a certain item is of greater priority and then represents or duplicates that item on multiple layers accordingly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Liu in view of Zhang and in further view of Peterson and Bae with the teachings of Nagara in order to use display priority determination. This combination would allow the system to properly arrange graphics and display them correctly based on priority.).
Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of Zhang and in further view of Peterson, Bae, and Nagara teaches the clock display method of claim 4, further comprising: obtaining the clock face image with no hands, the at least one hand graphic and the layer configuration parameters which are all issued by the video processor ( Liu, Para.17 (a), 23,40,42 47-49: teaches obtaining pre stored no-timer pointer dial data and stored hand related data used to generate the pointer graphics); storing the at least one hand graphic in a first local storage area, storing the clock face image with no hands in a second local storage area (Bae, para 78-79 and fig 4.a: discloses storing main image data 410 in a first graphics ram and storing additional image data in a second graphics ram 145), and storing the layer configuration parameters in a local configuration storage area (Nagara, para 28-29 : describes a layer driver that individually drives each layer and treats items differently based on priority).
Regarding claim 11, It falls under the same rejection as claim 4 because it is similar in scope and dependent upon same references.
Regarding claim 12, It falls under the same rejection as claim 5 because it is similar in scope and dependent upon same references.
Regarding claim 18, It falls under the same rejection as claim 4 because it is similar in scope and dependent upon same references.
Regarding claim 19, It falls under the same rejection as claim 5 because it is similar in scope and dependent upon same references.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 13-14 and 20 are objected to as allowable subject matter. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art teaches such limitations “obtaining the local temporal information of the display driver chip, receiving the processor temporal information issued by the video processor, and obtaining a video synchronization signal generated by the display screen; performing the time calibration based on the local temporal information, the processor temporal information and the video synchronization signal and obtaining the calibrated temporal information.”.
Conclusion
/LATRELL ANTHONY CREARY/Examiner, Art Unit 2613
/XIAO M WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2613