DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and examined on the merits.
Priority
The instant claimed invention has an effective filing date of 5/7/2024 because it is a Continuation-in-Part of prior-filed application, Application No. 17/239,156. Said prior-filed application fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. For example, super absorbent polymer is not disclosed in the prior-filed application.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Re Claim 6, at the end of the claim “via during a manufacturing process” should simply be “during a manufacturing process”.
Re Claim 8, “abutting removable protective layer” should be “abutting said removable protective layer.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 13-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2020/0368081) in view of Carlozzi (US 2010/0152687).
Re Claim 1, Park discloses a method for wearing a pantiless liner (absorbent article 10) without an undergarment by a user, comprising steps of:
providing the pantiless liner having a front portion (anterior region 20) and a rear portion (posterior region 22), the pantiless liner including
a moisture-impervious layer (backsheet layer 44) being a bottom-most layer (see e.g., Fig. 1B) of the pantiless liner,
a core including
a super absorbent polymer (SAP) layer (absorbent core 52, e.g., [0078]) including cross-linked polymers ([0041]) configured to absorb moisture or liquid; and
a fabric layer (topsheet layer 40) disposed adjacent to the SAP layer (e.g., Figs. 5B & 6B) and including a non-woven material ([0060]) having a lower surface (the side that faces absorbent core 52), an upper surface (body facing surface 42) with an exposable portion, and a perimeter (end edges 30 & 32, and side edges 34),
a transfer adhesive layer ([0055] “the topsheet layer 40 and the backsheet layer 44 can be bonded together by adhesive bonding”) disposed between the moisture-impervious layer and the core and coupling a portion of the moisture-impervious layer to the core,
a body adhesive layer (body adhesive 90) disposed on the upper surface ([0109]) and adjacent the perimeter of the fabric layer of the core, the body adhesive layer having an inner boundary (interior perimeter 92) and an outer boundary (see e.g., Fig. 1A), the outer boundary being coextensive with the perimeter of the fabric layer ([0112] “at least a portion of the body adhesive 90 abuts the perimeter edge of the absorbent article 10”), and the inner boundary circumscribing the exposable portion of the upper surface of the fabric layer (Fig. 1A shows body adhesive 90 surrounding dashed line 60, which denotes the boundaries of the absorbent layer 52), the body adhesive layer abutting the upper surface of the fabric layer and configured to be pressed against and adhered to the user, and
pressing the body adhesive layer against the user (inherently done by a user to ensure that the entire adhesive region is attached to the skin to ensure that the entire article can contact the user), whereby the pantiless liner is adhered to the user.
Park does not explicitly disclose a removable protective layer disposed adjacent to and selectively covering the exposable portion of the upper surface of the fabric layer and removably adhered to the fabric layer by the body adhesive layer; removing the removable protective layer from the pantiless liner. Carlozzi discloses an absorbent article having a ring of skin-facing adhesive (44) for adhering the article directly to the skin in the vulva region of a woman, wherein the adhesive and the article is covered by a removable protective layer (see Abstract) which would necessarily be removed in order to expose the underlying adhesive for sticking to the skin of a user. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Park with Carlozzi such that the adhesive would not inadvertently stick to other things prior to use.
Park also does not explicitly disclose positioning the front portion of the pantiless liner such that the inner boundary of the body adhesive layer is positioned adjacent a clitoral hood of user or positioning the rear portion the pantiless liner such that the body adhesive layer of the pantiless liner is positioned on a portion of a perineum of the user. However, Park discusses the anatomical features of a female body and discloses that the article is designed to fit the vulva region and the surrounding pubic and perinea regions of a female user so as to receive fluids where fluid may be discharged. As such, given the knowledge of the female anatomy and the intended use of the article, one skilled in the art would reasonably want to position the article such that the central region of the article would be directly under the urinary and vaginal openings. Subsequently, the adhesive would more than likely be positioned adjacent a clitoral hood and a perineum of a user, as required by the claim.
Re Claim 2, Park and Carlozzi combine to disclose claim 1, but neither discloses wherein the pantiless liner has a length between 4.5 inches and 4.9 inches. Park discloses an article length of 140-200 mm (see [0056], equivalent to 5.5-7.9 inches). However, mere changes in dimensions require only routine skills in the art and it would be reasonable for one to create an absorbent article that fits the female anatomical features for a large percentage of women. In the lack of evidence of the criticality of the claimed length, a simple change in one dimension of the absorbent article would not patentably distinguish the current invention from that of prior art.
Re Claim 3, Park and Carlozzi combine to disclose claim 1, and Park further discloses wherein the moisture-impervious layer includes a material selected from the group consisting of polypropylene (e.g., [0101]), polyethylene, polyurethane, and polyester and is configured to militate against moisture permeating the pantiless liner.
Re Claim 4, Park and Carlozzi combine to disclose claim 1, and Park further discloses wherein the fabric layer includes a non-woven fabric (e.g., [0060]) configured to absorb discharge of the user ([0065] where hydrophilicity means it draws in, or absorbs, liquid).
Re Claim 5, Park and Carlozzi combine to disclose claim 1, and Park further discloses wherein the SAP layer includes sodium polyacrylate ([0041]).
Re Claim 6, Park and Carlozzi combine to disclose claim 1, and Park implies a step of laminating the transfer adhesive layer to the portion of the moisture-impervious layer and the core during a manufacturing process because the Park discloses the article is adhesive bonded. Neither reference explicitly discloses wherein the transfer adhesive layer includes an acrylic adhesive. However, since acrylic adhesives form a big family of adhesives and acrylic adhesives can be used in many applications where adhesives are used, one skilled in the art would reasonably come across at least one acrylic adhesive that would be suitable for permanently bonding layers of an absorbent article together.
Re Claim 7, Park and Carlozzi combine to disclose claim 1. While Park does not disclose the body adhesive comprises a silicone adhesive, Carlozzi teaches wherein the body adhesive layer comprises a silicone adhesive ([0073]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify with Carlozzi’s silicone adhesive since the selection of a material suitable for its intended use establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP 2144.07).
Re Claim 9, Park and Carlozzi combine to disclose claim 1, and Park further discloses wherein the fabric layer is embossed ([0007], [0118]) with a pattern configured to distribute the moisture or the liquid through and across the fabric layer and the SAP layer.
Re Claim 13, Park and Carlozzi combine to disclose claim 1, and Park further discloses wherein the body adhesive layer has a width between 0.3 inches and 0.5 inches ([0112] “about 5 or 10 mm to about 15 or 20 mm” where 10mm is equivalent to about 0.4 inch).
Re Claim 14, Park and Carlozzi combine to disclose claim 1, but neither explicitly discloses wherein the pantiless liner has a length between 4.2 inches and 5.2 inches, a width between 2 inches and 3 inches, and a thickness between 0.75 millimeters and 1.25 millimeters for adhering the pantiless liner to adjacent the clitoral hood of the user and the portion of the perineum of the user. Park discloses an article length of 140-200 mm (see [0056], equivalent to 5.5-7.9 inches) and an article width of 50-150 mm ([0056], equivalent to 1.97-5.91 inches) and an absorbent core thickness of 2mm ([0076]). However, mere changes in dimensions require only routine skills in the art and it would be reasonable for one to create a discreet absorbent article that fits the female anatomical features for a large percentage of women. In the lack of evidence of the criticality of the claimed dimensions, a simple change in one dimension of the absorbent article would not patentably distinguish the current invention from that of prior art.
Re Claim 15, Park and Carlozzi combine to disclose claim 1, but Park does not explicitly disclose one of the claimed shapes but discloses that it can be any shape ([0056]). Carlozzi discloses a body-adhering absorbent article for covering the vulva region of a woman, wherein the article is one of a plurality of shapes selected from the group consisting of an egg shape, an oval shape, a butterfly shape, a flower shape ([0050] “tulip shape”), lips shape, and a leaf shape. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Park with Carlozzi’s article shape as such shapes are recognized as suitable for the anatomical region and for performing the same functions of absorbing light body discharge.
Re Claim 17, Park discloses a pantiless liner for a user, the pantiless liner having a front portion and a rear portion, the pantiless liner comprising:
a moisture-impervious layer (backsheet layer 44) being a bottom-most layer (see e.g., Fig. 1B) of the pantiless liner;
a core including
a super absorbent polymer (SAP) layer (absorbent core 52, e.g., [0078]) including cross-linked polymers ([0041]) configured to absorb moisture or liquid; and
a fabric layer (topsheet layer 40) disposed adjacent to the SAP layer (e.g., Figs. 5B & 6B) and including a non-woven material ([0060]) having a lower surface (the side that faces absorbent core 52), an upper surface (body facing surface 42) with an exposable portion, and a perimeter (end edges 30 & 32, and side edges 34),
a transfer adhesive layer ([0055] “the topsheet layer 40 and the backsheet layer 44 can be bonded together by adhesive bonding”) disposed between the moisture-impervious layer and the core and coupling a portion of the moisture-impervious layer to the core,
a body adhesive layer (body adhesive 90) disposed on the upper surface ([0109]) and adjacent the perimeter of the fabric layer of the core, the body adhesive layer having an inner boundary (interior perimeter 92) and an outer boundary (see e.g., Fig. 1A), the outer boundary being coextensive with the perimeter of the fabric layer ([0112] “at least a portion of the body adhesive 90 abuts the perimeter edge of the absorbent article 10”), and the inner boundary circumscribing the exposable portion of the upper surface of the fabric layer (Fig. 1A shows body adhesive 90 surrounding dashed line 60, which denotes the boundaries of the absorbent layer 52), the body adhesive layer abutting the upper surface of the fabric layer and configured to be pressed against and adhered to the user, and
Park does not explicitly disclose a removable protective layer disposed adjacent to and selectively covering the exposable portion of the upper surface of the fabric layer and removably adhered to the fabric layer by the body adhesive layer. Carlozzi discloses an absorbent article having a ring of skin-facing adhesive (44) for adhering the article directly to the skin in the vulva region of a woman, wherein the adhesive and the article is covered by a removable protective layer (see Abstract). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Park with Carlozzi such that the adhesive would not inadvertently stick to other things prior to use.
Re Claim 18, Park and Carlozzi combine to disclose claim 17, but neither expressly discloses wherein the front portion is configured to be positioned adjacent a clitoral hood of user and the rear portion configured to be positioned on a portion of a perineum of the user. However, Park discusses the anatomical features of a female body and discloses that the article is designed to fit the vulva region and the surrounding pubic and perinea regions of a female user so as to receive fluids where fluid may be discharged. As such, given the knowledge of the female anatomy and the intended use of the article, one skilled in the art would reasonably want to position the article such that the central region of the article would be directly under the urinary and vaginal openings. Subsequently, the adhesive would more than likely be positioned adjacent a clitoral hood and a perineum of a user, as required by the claim.
Re Claim 19, Park discloses a pantiless liner for a user, the pantiless liner having a front portion and a rear portion, the pantiless liner consisting of:
a moisture-impervious layer (backsheet layer 44) being a bottom-most layer (see e.g., Fig. 1B) of the pantiless liner;
a core including
a super absorbent polymer (SAP) layer (absorbent core 52, see Fig. 1B where absorbent core 52 is a single integral layer, without distribution layer 54 or fluid intake layer 56, e.g., [0078]) including cross-linked polymers ([0041]) configured to absorb moisture or liquid; and
a fabric layer (topsheet layer 40) disposed adjacent to the SAP layer (e.g., Fig. 1B) and including a non-woven material ([0060]) having a lower surface (the side that faces absorbent core 52), an upper surface (body facing surface 42) with an exposable portion, and a perimeter (end edges 30 & 32, and side edges 34),
a transfer adhesive layer ([0055] “the topsheet layer 40 and the backsheet layer 44 can be bonded together by adhesive bonding”) disposed between the moisture-impervious layer and the core and coupling a portion of the moisture-impervious layer to the core,
a body adhesive layer (body adhesive 90) disposed on the upper surface ([0109]) and adjacent the perimeter of the fabric layer of the core, the body adhesive layer having an inner boundary (interior perimeter 92) and an outer boundary (see e.g., Fig. 1A), the outer boundary being coextensive with the perimeter of the fabric layer ([0112] “at least a portion of the body adhesive 90 abuts the perimeter edge of the absorbent article 10”), and the inner boundary circumscribing the exposable portion of the upper surface of the fabric layer (Fig. 1A shows body adhesive 90 surrounding dashed line 60, which denotes the boundaries of the absorbent layer 52), the body adhesive layer abutting the upper surface of the fabric layer and configured to be pressed against and adhered to the user, and
Park does not explicitly disclose a removable protective layer disposed adjacent to and selectively covering the exposable portion of the upper surface of the fabric layer and removably adhered to the fabric layer by the body adhesive layer. Carlozzi discloses an absorbent article having a ring of skin-facing adhesive (44) for adhering the article directly to the skin in the vulva region of a woman, wherein the adhesive and the article is covered by a removable protective layer (see Abstract). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Park with Carlozzi such that the adhesive would not inadvertently stick to other things prior to use.
Re Claim 20, Park and Carlozzi combine to disclose claim 19, but neither expressly discloses wherein the front portion is configured to be positioned adjacent a clitoral hood of user and the rear portion configured to be positioned on a portion of a perineum of the user. However, Park discusses the anatomical features of a female body and discloses that the article is designed to fit the vulva region and the surrounding pubic and perinea regions of a female user so as to receive fluids where fluid may be discharged. As such, given the knowledge of the female anatomy and the intended use of the article, one skilled in the art would reasonably want to position the article such that the central region of the article would be directly under the urinary and vaginal openings. Subsequently, the adhesive would more than likely be positioned adjacent a clitoral hood and a perineum of a user, as required by the claim.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park and Carlozzi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Deshmukh et al. (US 2016/0113908).
Re Claim 8, Park and Carlozzi combine to disclose claim 1, but neither discloses wherein the body adhesive layer is a bilayer, and the bilayer includes a first sublayer of an acrylic adhesive and a second sublayer of a silicone adhesive, the first sublayer abutting the fabric layer and the second sublayer abutting removable protective layer. Deshmukh discloses a transdermal patch having an adhesive layer for sticking to the skin, wherein the adhesive can be bilayer ([0091]), with an acrylic adhesive layer ([0091]) and a skin contact layer attached to the acrylic adhesive layer ([0091]), wherein the skin contact layer may be made of silicone adhesive ([0092]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to further modify with Deshmukh since the selection of a material (i.e., a bilayer adhesive formed of a silicone adhesive for contacting skin and an acrylic adhesive as the layer attached to a backing fabric layer) suitable for its intended use (i.e., adhering to skin) establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP 2144.07).
Claim 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park and Carlozzi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Johns (US 5,733,251).
Re Claims 10-12, Park and Carlozzi combine to disclose claim 1, but Park does not disclose wherein the protective layer has a first panel and a second panel, each of the first panel and the second panel disposed lengthwise on the pantiless liner, or wherein the first panel has a first width and the second panel has a second width, and the first width is greater than the second width, and the first panel has a terminal edge that overlaps the second panel and is configured to assist the user with removal of the protective layer from the pantiless liner, wherein the overlap is a width of 0.2 inches. Carlozzi discloses an absorbent article (12) with a removable protective layer that can be formed as a single piece or of multiple pieces ([0021]) but also does not disclose that they are disposed lengthwise on the absorbent article.
Johns discloses an adhesive dressing having an adhesive layer (18) for adhering to skin, wherein the adhesive layer is covered by first and second panels of a release layer (20) that are arranged lengthwise (see Fig. 2) to cover the entire adhesive dressing, forming an overlap of the two panels of release layer and what appears to be of unequal widths. While Johns also does not explicitly disclose that the overlap is a width of 0.2 inches, it is clear to one skilled in the art that the overlap only serves as a finger tab so a user can easily peel off the protective layer to reveal the underlying adhesive, and thus the dimension of the overlap can be achieved based on routine optimization. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Park and Carlozzi further with Johns such that this creates an easy way for a user to peel off the protective layer when needed.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park and Carlozzi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moscherosch et al. (US 2017/0216080).
Re Claim 16, Park and Carlozzi combine to disclose claim 1, but neither discloses wherein the body adhesive layer is configured to be repositioned by the user after initial application without loss of adhesive properties. Moscherosch discloses a sanitary protection article (10) to prevent menstrual fluid from escaping the body, wherein the article has adhesive on a body-facing surface (16) that allows a user to adjust the position or orientation of the article ([0146]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Park further with Moscherosch for the benefit of allowing the user to position the article such that it is comfortable and able to perform its function.
Conclusion
/SUSAN S SU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781
15 May 2026