Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-8, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (“SadTalker: Learning Realistic 3D Motion Coefficients for Stylized Audio-Driven Single Image Talking Face Animation”, CVPR June 2023)
As for claim 1, Zhang teaches
a method for video generation in machine learning, the method comprising:
encoding an input audio into a plurality of audio features (ch 3.2 par 3 “audio feature of each frame is a 0.2 mel-spectrogram”; ch 4.1 par 1 “the input audios are .. transformed to mel-spectrograms”), and encoding a first pose state into a first pose feature; (Fig 2 p(1..n) are pose features and thus p1 is a “first pose feature”)
constructing a first latent encoding having the audio features and the first pose feature (ch 3.2 PoseVAE, Fig 4 section “Test” – Decoder D receives the Gaussian-sampled head pose parameters derived from p1..t, as well as the “conditions” that include the audio features as discussed earlier; the combined input into the Decoder which includes audio and sampled head-pose features can be called “latent encodings” and the pair corresponding to frame 1 of the frames 1..t is “first encoding”)
encoding a second pose state into a second pose features, and constructing a second latent encoding having the audio features and the second pose feature; (analogously as discussed above, coefficients corresponding to frames 2 through t can be called “second” etc)
decoding features in the first latent encoding in to first sequences, and decoding features in the second latent encoding in to second sequences (Fig 4 decoder D, producing “delta-p1..t” from the above-discussed inputs); and
rendering a video based on the first sequences, (Fig 5, ch 3.3 rendering video from above-discussed inputs)
wherein the first pose feature, the second pose feature, and each of the audio features respectively corresponds to one frame (NOTE the claim does require that all of the recited components correspond to the same frame; thus each of the features p1, p2, a1 etc each correspond to a frame as indexed by numbers 1, 2 etc); and
the first pose state is different from the second pose state (from Fig 1, we can easily see that poses in most adjacent frames are different from each other)
As for independent claims 8 and 14, please see discussion of analogous claim 1 above.
As for claims 7, 20, Zhang teaches
the first pose state is determined from a first video clip sampled from a video space, the second pose state is determined from a second video clip sampled from the video space, and the first video clip is different from the second video clip (Zhang ch 4.1 teaches “we select 1890 aligned videos and audios of 46 subjects to train..”; it inherently follows that at least for some of the subjects, there are multiple video clips, i.e. “first and second video clip”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 9-10 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aranda (“Elastic Downsampling: An Adaptive Downsampling Technique to Preserve Image Quality” Electronics 2021)
As for claims 2, 9, 15, Zhang does not explicitly teach
applying a first noise to the first pose state before encoding the first pose state
However Zhang teaches, ch 4.1 Datasets, that the videos utilized for evaluation are downsampled to 256x256 size. Aranda ch 7.1 compares various downsampling techniques such as elastic, non-elastic and fixed-rate sampling, and teaches that even the more advanced of the discussed techniques introduce artifacts, i.e. “noise”, into the images. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang and Aranda as they both pertain to the art of downsampling images. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been motivated to combine said teachings, in order to evaluate the quality of training images, when they’re being downsampled.
As for claims 3, 10, 16, Zhang does not explicitly teach
applying a second noise to the second pose state before encoding the second pose state.
However please see discussion of obviousness and motivation to combine, of analogous features in claims 2, 9 and 15, above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 11-12 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is the Examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Features in the claim are not found in prior art, in conjunction with the entire scope of the claim. Specifically,
duplicating a pose feature into a plurality of features and respectively concatenating each of the audio features and each of the duplicated features.
Claims 6, 13, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is the Examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Features in the claim are not found in prior art, in conjunction with the entire scope of the claim. Specifically,
replacing the first pose state with a third pose state corresponds to the last sequence for a next iteration in a testing phase.
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chan Park can be reached on (571)272-7409. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MARK ROZ/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2669