DETAILED ACTION
This initial office action is based on the application filed on 03/07/2024, which claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
Status of Claim
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been examined below, of which, claims 1, 11 and 17 are presented in independent form.
Priority
No priority document has been filed in this applications.
Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed in this application.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Abstract objection
Line 2 of Abstract recites “…are disclosed herein” and “In some implementations”.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the managing processor” in claim 1; “the installer of the IFEC system is configured to update…” in claims 3-5; “the managing processor is further configured to routinely update …” in claim 6; “the managing processor is configured to…” in claims 7-9 and “the managing processor is further configured to generate …” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the system is not limited to a non-transitory embodiment. The specification does not explicitly exclude signals from the computer-readable medium, and based on the broadest reasonable interpretation encompasses non-statutory transitory forms of signal transmission, or signals per se. Accordingly, since the broadest reasonable interpretation of claims 15-20 covers signals per se, the claims are considered as covering non-statutory subject matter (In Re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1436, 1356-57 Fed. Cir. 2007; Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C. 101, 24 Aug 2009 p. 2). The Examiner respectfully recommends amending the claims to disavow signals per se by limiting to non-transitory computer-readable storage medium in order to fall within statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 9, 11, 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watson et al. (DE 102018100339 A1 – herein after Watson) in view of Sain et al. (EP 4246423 A1 – herein after Sain).
Regarding claim 1.
Watson discloses
A central administrative fleet management system for updating in-flight entertainment and communications software on an aircraft (remote content server 48 can download updates for the multimedia content and temporarily in the content storage 66 be stored or stored for subsequent transfer to the IFEC system 18 – page 10. The remote content server includes 48 an IFE surveyor or surveyor 106 , which periodically the IFEC server 32 in the entire aircraft fleet interrogates or verifies to ensure which segments 68 successful from the passenger PEDs 38 to the IFEC server 32 have been transferred – See page 16), the system comprising:
a database (a database/content store – See pages 4 and 6) configured to store an aircraft installation plan (the data files of the multimedia content can be stored in a database 30 – See page 6. One or more content loaders are each assigned to an individual scheduled for flight in an aircraft according to the flight plan – See Abstract. Content loader stores in storage of content server – See page 9. Examiner respectfully notes that the content loader…according the flight plan is as an aircraft install/loading plan), wherein the aircraft installation plan defines a planned set of software content to be stored on an in-flight entertainment and communications (IFEC) system of the aircraft (the content loader facilities may also include a data load module that transmits the multimedia content to the on-board entertainment system via a second data communication link with the on-board entertainment system. The remote content server may define and identify the one or more multimedia content partitions for transmission to a specific one of the content loader devices, based at least in part on a predefined association between the specific one of the content and the content. The data files of the multimedia content can be stored in a database 30 saved to the IFEC system 18 assigned – See page 6); and
a managing processor operably coupled to the database, wherein the managing processor is configured to (the database 30 with the IFEC server 32 and is managed by it, which may be a specially adapted general purpose computer system configured as a server to provide data in response to requests thereafter. It is understood that various software modules in the IFEC server 32 including a streaming server that retrieves the multimedia content from the database 30 retrieves, as well as a cataloging / menu application with which the user interacts to select the desired multimedia content – See page 6):
[[receive]] an identity of the aircraft (the first device identifier is associated with, or correlated with, an aircraft identifier in the crew member manifest 76 which is stored in the remote content server 48 – See page 12);
identify a portion of the aircraft installation plan (different passengers 88 from one geographical location to another – See page 13. The timing or schedule by which the transmissions are initiated may be staggered or staggered in time or by flight paths, with much of the scheduling being timed by the scheduler 84 and within a transmission schedule field 78d in the segment 68 is defined – See page 12) corresponding to the aircraft based on the [[received]] identity of the aircraft (the passenger PEDs 38 that retrieve updates for the multimedia content from a central warehouse while recovering from the aircraft 10 to be away; as soon as the passengers 88 who have such PEDs 38 own, on board and / or in physical proximity to the aircraft 10 or in direct wireless communication area to the data communication module36 of the IFEC system 18 are located, the multimedia content is transferred there – See page 13. Identify the specific flight (s) and / or aircraft with which the particular passenger 88 will travel on schedule – See page 14); and
communicate the identified portion of the aircraft installation plan to the IFEC system of the aircraft (a content loader device for transferring multimedia content from a remote content server to an entertainment system of a vehicle is disclosed. The content loader facility may contain a content store. Additionally, the content loader device may include a primary data network module that establishes a local communication link to the entertainment system while within the direct wireless communicable area. The primary data network module may also establish a primary remote data communication connection with the remote content server while it is beyond the direct wireless communicable area to the entertainment system – See page 4), wherein the IFEC system of the aircraft is configured to be updated using software content received from a portable content loader (the passenger PEDs 38 that retrieve updates for the multimedia content – See page 13. Due to the large volume of data involved, a portable content loader. A content loader device for transferring multimedia content from a remote content server to an entertainment system – See page 4. download updates for the multimedia content and temporarily in the content storage 66 for subsequent transfer to the IFEC system – See page 10) operably coupled to the IFEC system based on the identified portion of the aircraft installation plan communicated by the managing processor (Each of the crew member PEDs 40 can be loaded with a different, unique segment of multimedia content – See page 10. The multimedia content stored in the content server needs to be updated frequently. Due to the large volume of data involved, a portable content loader. A content loader device for transferring multimedia content from a remote content server to an entertainment system – See page 3. The one or more subdivisions of the multimedia content for transmission to a specific one of the content loaders based at least in part on a predefined association between the specific one of the contents Loading facilities and the aircraft defined – See page 10. With content updates distributed over the entire month or spaced, thirty-five ( 35 ) Gigabytes per day for a schedule for a one terabyte monthly update – See page 10).
Watson discloses the first device identifier is associated with, or correlated with, an aircraft identifier in the crew member manifest 76 which is stored in the remote content server 48 – See page 12
Watson does not disclose
receive an identity of the aircraft and received identify of the aircraft.
Sain discloses
receive an identity of the aircraft (different configuration of IFE deployments for different airplane models, different features of IFE systems offered by different airlines, or different types of IFE offered in different geographic areas – See page 4. Receive network/sensor data – See page 15. Network/sensor data including multiple flights number – See page 6);
identify a portion of the aircraft installation plan corresponding to the aircraft based on the received identity of the aircraft (Results of such analyses may be combined into the passenger information/plan 512 and stored at the ground server 502,possibly via communication through the internet 510. – See 7. At different times or different airplane equipment or different IFEC vendors allows the airline/IFEC vendors to update their offerings on-board (features, products, and services) on a current/subsequent flight based on the sensor data that tells passenger interaction with IFEC (timing, duration, and type of interactions with IFEC)…obtain sensor data information and determine passenger use information. The software may be configured for monitoring, quantifying, qualifying, aggregating, analyzing, and reporting aircraft passengers' use of and interaction with aircraft entertainment and connectivity systems – See page 14).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Sain’s teaching into Watson’s invention because incorporating Sain’s teaching would enhance Watson to enable to deploy a variety of IFEC installment options that include use data of IFE electronics across different airlines, different IFE vendors, and different airplane models.as suggested by Sain (page 4).
Regarding claim 2, the system of claim 1,
Watson discloses
wherein the IFEC system (IFEC system – See page 5) of the aircraft comprises: an IFEC database configured to store an initial set of software content (the multimedia content can be stored in a database 30 saved to the IFEC system 18 – See page 6); and
an installer (data load module – See page 4) operably coupled to the database of the IFEC system (various software modules in the IFEC server 32 including a streaming server that retrieves the multimedia content from the database 30 retrieves, as well as a cataloging / menu application with which the user interacts to select the desired multimedia content – See page 6), wherein the installer is configured to:
receive the identified portion of the aircraft installation plan from the managing processor (identify the specific flight (s) and / or aircraft with which the particular passenger 88 will travel on schedule – See page 14. Upon receipt of confirmation of successful transmission of the multimedia content from the IFEC loading application 75 can the content loading application 90 in response – See page 16); and
update the IFEC database using the software content received from the portable content loader based on the portion of the aircraft installation plan (variety and volume may be in terms of multimedia content, novelty is just as important to airlines as keeping their passengers busy with the on-board entertainment system, especially for the valuable or respected frequent flyer or frequent flyer Fliers. Thus, the multimedia content stored in the content server needs to be updated frequently. Due to the large volume of data involved, a portable content loader, which generally has a hard disk drive, optical drive, or solid state drive loaded with the update data, is physically carried aboard while the aircraft is in flight is located on the floor and connected to the central content server – See page 3).
Regarding claim 3, the system of claim 2,
Watson discloses
wherein the installer of the IFEC system is configured to update the IFEC database by performing at least one of (various software modules in the IFEC server 32 including a streaming server that retrieves the multimedia content from the database 30 retrieves, as well as a cataloging / menu application with which the user interacts to select the desired multimedia content – See page 6):
removing from the IFEC database, in response to a determination that the initial set of software content stored on the IFEC database includes software content not included in the planned set of software content, the software content included in the initial set of software content but not included in the planned set of software content, or
uploading to the IFEC database, in response to a determination that the initial set of software content stored on the IFEC database does not include software content included in the planned set of software content (retrieve updates for the multimedia content from a central warehouse while recovering from the aircraft 10 to be away; as soon as the passengers 88 who have such PEDs 38 own, on board and / or in physical proximity to the aircraft 10 or in direct wireless communication area to the data communication module36 of the IFEC system 18 are located – See page 13), the software content included in the planned set of software content but not included in the initial set of software content from the portable content loader (the passenger PED 18 contains content storage in the same way 66 or the content store, and when connecting to the remote or remote content server48 can download updates for the multimedia content and temporarily in the content storage 66 be stored or stored for subsequent transfer to the IFEC system 18 – See page 13).
Regarding claim 4, the system of claim 2,
Watson discloses
wherein the aircraft installation plan further defines, for each of a plurality of aircraft (the time between each flight in which the aircraft has access to a ground-based Wi-Fi access point or a cellular connection may be limited – See page 3), a planned sequence by which software content is to be uploaded to the IFEC system (distributing multimedia content to the IFEC system 18 considering. As in the flowchart 8th 3, the method begins with a step 300 of building a first communication link from the content loader 54b to a content server computer system, such as the remote content server 48 , It should be understood that this corresponds to the sequence of steps described above, beginning with the passenger 88 who is the content loading application 90as well as the streaming client 96 brings into play or calls the availability of the passenger PED 38signals to incoming multimedia content for transmission to the IFEC server 32 to receive – See page 16), and wherein the installer of the IFEC system is configured to update the IFEC database by uploading software content received from the portable content loader based on the planned sequence (one or more content loader (s) (38, 40) each associated with an individual who is traveling by plane (10) according to the schedule or booking, each containing: a data retrieval module that establishes transmission of the one or more subdivisions of the multimedia content in establishing a first data communication link to the remote content server (48); a data load module that transmits the multimedia content to the on board entertainment system (18) via a second data communication link with the onboard entertainment system (18) to the onboard entertainment system (18); wherein the remote content server (48)comprises the one or more subdivisions of the multimedia content for transmission to a specific one of the content loaders based at least in part on a predefined association between the specific one of the contents Loading facilities and the aircraft defined and marked or marked – See page 18).
Regarding claim 5, the system of claim 2,
Watson discloses
wherein the IFEC system of the aircraft further comprises [[a user interface configured to communicate with personnel onboard the aircraft]] and carrying the portable content loader (important to airlines as keeping their passengers busy with the on-board entertainment system, especially for the valuable or respected frequent flyer or frequent flyer Fliers. Thus, the multimedia content stored in the content server needs to be updated frequently. Due to the large volume of data involved, a portable content loader – See page 3), [[wherein the installer is configured to update the IFEC database in response to an input received by the user interface]].
wherein the IFEC system of the aircraft further comprises a user interface configured to communicate with personnel onboard the aircraft (types of program design that can be presented to the passenger via the onboard entertainment system are referred to hereafter generally as multimedia content. – See page 2), wherein the installer is configured to update the IFEC database in response to an input received by the user interface (a streaming server that retrieves the multimedia content from the database 30 retrieves, as well as a cataloging / menu application with which the user interacts to select the desired multimedia content.– See page 6).
Regarding claim 6, the system of claim 1,
Watson discloses
wherein the managing processor is further configured to routinely update the aircraft installation plan stored on the database (to retrieve or query updates to the multimedia content from a central store while it is outside the aircraft10 is; once the crew members 46 who have such PEDs 40 have on board, in physical proximity to the aircraft 10 or in an area with direct wireless communication to the data communication module 36 of the IFEC system 18 are, the multimedia content is transferred to it. Ie, the crew member PEDs 40 are used as content loaders or content loaders. It is understood that this transmission is transparent and in the background during flight operations (whether on the ground or during flight) using the aircraft network 34 takes place for the local area – See page 7).
Regarding claim 7, the system of claim 1,
Sain discloses
wherein the managing processor is configured to receive the identity of the aircraft from the IFEC system of the aircraft (a variety of IFEC installment options are currently deployed. These solutions may include different IFE electronics vendors, different configuration of IFE deployments for different airplane models, different features of IFE systems offered by different airlines, or different types of IFE offered in different geographic areas. Such variations in the IFE deployments often make it difficult to measure effectiveness and use data of IFE electronics across different airlines, different IFE vendors, and different airplane models – See page 4. Bluetooth receiver/transmitter that is built into an aircraft and allows a PED to engage in a communication with the IFE – See page 10).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Sain’s teaching into Watson’s invention because incorporating Sain’s teaching would enhance Watson to enable to deploy a variety of IFEC installment options that include use data of IFE electronics across different airlines, different IFE vendors, and different airplane models.as suggested by Sain (page 4).
Regarding claim 8, the system of claim 1,
Watson discloses
wherein the managing processor is configured to communicate the identified portion of the aircraft installation plan to the IFEC system of the aircraft wirelessly via at least one of Wi-Fi, cellular connection, or satellite connection (data loaders are powered directlyfrom the electrical system of the aircraft, and thus operate only when the aircraft is powered. Wi-Fi aswell as cellular communication modalities are used in such content loaders – See page 3. Certain segments 68 for the transmission via satellite communications (Ku-band, etc.) or a ground-based wireless network modality will be marked directly the connection to the aircraft 10 such as cellular / LTE and Wi-Fi – See page 15).
Regarding claim 9, the system of claim 1,
Sain discloses
wherein the managing processor is configured to:
receive a plurality of identities of a plurality of aircraft (different configuration of IFE deployments for different airplane models, different features of IFE systems offered by different airlines, or different types of IFE offered in different geographic areas – See page 4. Receive network/sensor data – See page 15. Network/sensor data including multiple flights number – See page 6);
identifying a plurality of portions of the aircraft installation plan corresponding to the plurality of aircraft based on the received identities of the plurality of aircraft (Results of such analyses may be combined into the passenger information/plan 512 and stored at the ground server 502,possibly via communication through the internet 510. – See 7. At different times or different airplane equipment or different IFEC vendors allows the airline/IFEC vendors to update their offerings on-board (features, products, and services) on a current/subsequent flight based on the sensor data that tells passenger interaction with IFEC (timing, duration, and type of interactions with IFEC)…obtain sensor data information and determine passenger use information. The software may be configured for monitoring, quantifying, qualifying, aggregating, analyzing, and reporting aircraft passengers' use of and interaction with aircraft entertainment and connectivity systems – See page 14); and
communicate the identified plurality of portions of the aircraft installation plan to corresponding ones of a plurality of IFEC systems of the plurality of aircraft (communication with airplanes in the set of airplanes, wherein the ground server includes the processor and the passenger profile management controller – See page 10. Airlines provide onboard in-flight entertainment and communications (IFEC) systems that offer a wide variety of multimedia content for passenger enjoyment. Recently released movies are a popular viewing choice, as are television shows such as news programs, situation and stand-up comedies, documentaries, and so on. Useful information about the destination such as airport disembarking procedures, immigration and custom procedures and the like are also frequently presented – See page 3).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Sain’s teaching into Watson’s invention because incorporating Sain’s teaching would enhance Watson to enable to deploy a variety of IFEC installment options that include use data of IFE electronics across different airlines, different IFE vendors, and different airplane models.as suggested by Sain (page 4).
Regarding claim 11.
Watson discloses
A method for updating in-flight entertainment and communications software on an aircraft (remote content server48 can download updates for the multimedia content and temporarily in the content storage 66 be stored or stored for subsequent transfer to the IFEC system 18 – page 13), the method comprising:
[[receive]] an identity of the aircraft (the first device identifier is associated with, or correlated with, an aircraft identifier in the crew member manifest 76 which is stored in the remote content server 48 – See page 12);
identifying a portion of an aircraft installation plan (different passengers 88 from one geographical location to another – See page 13. The timing or schedule by which the transmissions are initiated may be staggered or staggered in time or by flight paths, with much of the scheduling being timed by the scheduler 84 and within a transmission schedule field 78d in the segment 68 is defined – See page 12) corresponding to the aircraft based on the [[received]] identity of the aircraft (Content loaders are each assigned to an individual scheduled for flight in an aircraft according to the flight plan – See Abstract. Examiner respectfully notes that content loaders are each assigned to an individual scheduled for flight in an aircraft according to the flight plan is as installation/loading plan. The passenger PEDs 38 that retrieve updates for the multimedia content from a central warehouse while recovering from the aircraft 10 to be away; as soon as the passengers 88 who have such PEDs 38 own, on board and / or in physical proximity to the aircraft 10 or in direct wireless communication area to the data communication module36 of the IFEC system 18 are located, the multimedia content is transferred there – See page 13. Identify the specific flight (s) and / or aircraft with which the particular passenger 88 will travel on schedule – See page 14 ), wherein the portion of the aircraft installation plan (different passengers 88 from one geographical location to another – see page 13. The timing or schedule by which the transmissions are initiated may be staggered or staggered in time or by flight paths, with much of the scheduling being timed by the scheduler 84and within a transmission schedule field 78d in the segment 68 is defined – See page 12) defines a planned set of software content to be stored on an in-flight entertainment and communications (IFEC) system of the aircraft (Each of the crew member PEDs 40can be loaded with a different, unique segment of multimedia content – See page 10. Retrieve updates for the multimedia content from a central warehouse while recovering from the aircraft 10 to be away; as soon as the passengers 88 who have such PEDs 38 own, on board and / or in physical proximity to the aircraft 10 or in direct wireless communication area to the data communication module36 of the IFEC system 18 are located, the multimedia content is transferred there – See page 13. The content loader facilities may also include a data load module that transmits the multimedia content to the on-board entertainment system via a second data communication link with the on-board entertainment system. The remote content server may define and identify the one or more multimedia content partitions for transmission to a specific one of the content loader devices, based at least in part on a predefined association between the specific one of the content and the content. The data files of the multimedia content can be stored in a database 30 saved to the IFEC system 18 assigned – See page 6);
communicating the identified portion of the aircraft installation plan to the IFEC system of the aircraft (One or more content loaders are each assigned to an individual scheduled for flight in an aircraft according to the flight plan, and wherein each of the content loaders is a data retrieval module that performs a transmission of subdivisions of the multimedia content in establishing a first data communication link to the remote content server a content loader device for transferring multimedia content from a remote content server to an entertainment system of a vehicle is disclosed – See Abstract. The content loader facility may contain a content store. Additionally, the content loader device may include a primary data network module that establishes a local communication link to the entertainment system while within the direct wireless communicable area. The primary data network module may also establish a primary remote data communication connection with the remote content server while it is beyond the direct wireless communicable area to the entertainment system – See page 4); and
updating the IFEC system of the aircraft using software content received from a portable content loader (Due to the large volume of data involved, a portable content loader. A content loader device for transferring multimedia content from a remote content server to an entertainment system – See page 3. The segments 68 the multimedia content of the content loader 54 to the IFEC system – See page 13. the passenger PEDs 38 that retrieve updates for the multimedia content – See page 13. Due to the large volume of data involved, a portable content loader. A content loader device for transferring multimedia content from a remote content server to an entertainment system – See page 3. Download updates for the multimedia content and temporarily in the content storage 66 be stored or stored for subsequent transfer to the IFEC system – See page 13) operably coupled to the IFEC system based on the identified portion of the aircraft installation plan (the multimedia content stored in the content server needs to be updated frequently. Due to the large volume of data involved, a portable content loader. A content loader device for transferring multimedia content from a remote content server to an entertainment system – See page 3. The one or more subdivisions of the multimedia content for transmission to a specific one of the content loaders based at least in part on a predefined association between the specific one of the contents Loading facilities and the aircraft defined – See page 10).
Watson discloses the first device identifier is associated with, or correlated with, an aircraft identifier in the crew member manifest 76 which is stored in the remote content server 48 – See page 12
Watson does not disclose
receive an identity of the aircraft and received identify of the aircraft.
Sain discloses
receive an identity of the aircraft (different configuration of IFE deployments for different airplane models, different features of IFE systems offered by different airlines, or different types of IFE offered in different geographic areas – See page 4. Receive network/sensor data – See page 15. Network/sensor data including multiple flights number – See page 6);
identify a portion of the aircraft installation plan corresponding to the aircraft based on the received identity of the aircraft (Results of such analyses may be combined into the passenger information/plan 512 and stored at the ground server 502,possibly via communication through the internet 510. – See 7. At different times or different airplane equipment or different IFEC vendors allows the airline/IFEC vendors to update their offerings on-board (features, products, and services) on a current/subsequent flight based on the sensor data that tells passenger interaction with IFEC (timing, duration, and type of interactions with IFEC)…obtain sensor data information and determine passenger use information. The software may be configured for monitoring, quantifying, qualifying, aggregating, analyzing, and reporting aircraft passengers' use of and interaction with aircraft entertainment and connectivity systems – See page 14).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Sain’s teaching into Watson’s invention because incorporating Sain’s teaching would enhance Watson to enable to deploy a variety of IFEC installment options that include use data of IFE electronics across different airlines, different IFE vendors, and different airplane models.as suggested by Sain (page 4).
Regarding claim 13, the method of claim 11,
Watson discloses
wherein updating the IFEC system comprises:
determining that an initial set of software content stored on the IFEC system does not include software content included in the planned set of software content (the passenger PED 18 contains content storage in the same way 66 or the content store, and when connecting to the remote or remote content server48 can download updates for the multimedia content and temporarily in the content storage 66 be stored or stored for subsequent transfer to the IFEC system 18 – See page 13); and
uploading the software content included in the planned set of software content but not included in the initial set of software content to the IFEC system from the portable content loader (retrieve updates for the multimedia content from a central warehouse while recovering from the aircraft 10 to be away; as soon as the passengers 88 who have such PEDs 38 own, on board and / or in physical proximity to the aircraft 10 or in direct wireless communication area to the data communication module36 of the IFEC system 18 are located – See page 13).
Regarding claim 14, the method of claim 11,
Watson discloses
wherein the identified portion of the aircraft installation plan further defines a planned sequence by which software content is to be uploaded to the IFEC system (there is a Content Identifier field 78a that uniquely defines the multimedia content, and this may be a numerical sequence or sequence of alphanumeric characters. There is also a segment identifier field 78b that is the specific segment 68 subsequently identified by several segments – See page 11), and wherein updating the IFEC system comprises uploading software content received from the portable content loader based on the planned sequence (one or more content loader (s) (38, 40) each associated with an individual who is traveling by plane (10) according to the schedule or booking, each containing: a data retrieval module that establishes transmission of the one or more subdivisions of the multimedia content in establishing a first data communication link to the remote content server (48); a data load module that transmits the multimedia content to the on board entertainment system (18) via a second data communication link with the onboard entertainment system (18) to the onboard entertainment system (18); wherein the remote content server (48)comprises the one or more subdivisions of the multimedia content for transmission to a specific one of the content loaders based at least in part on a predefined association between the specific one of the contents Loading facilities and the aircraft defined and marked or marked – See page 18).
.
Regarding claim 15, the method of claim 11, further comprising:
Watson discloses
generating the aircraft installation plan based on at least one of airline licensing agreements, geographic restrictions, language preferences, anticipated in-flight connectivity, aircraft model, or flight schedule (the passenger 88 may be prompted for an account with the streaming server 98 create content so that content preferences, user preferences, and the like can be maintained or preserved at all times. In addition, the account may be used to identify the specific flight (s) and / or aircraft with which the particular passenger 88 will travel on schedule – See page 14).
Regarding claim 16, the method of claim 11, further comprising:
Sain discloses
receiving a plurality of identities of a plurality of aircraft (different configuration of IFE deployments for different airplane models, different features of IFE systems offered by different airlines, or different types of IFE offered in different geographic areas – See page 4. Receive network/sensor data – See page 15. Network/sensor data including multiple flights number – See page 6);
identifying a plurality of portions of the aircraft installation plan corresponding to the plurality of aircraft based on the received identities of the plurality of aircraft (Results of such analyses may be combined into the passenger information/plan 512 and stored at the ground server 502,possibly via communication through the internet 510. – See 7. At different times or different airplane equipment or different IFEC vendors allows the airline/IFEC vendors to update their offerings on-board (features, products, and services) on a current/subsequent flight based on the sensor data that tells passenger interaction with IFEC (timing, duration, and type of interactions with IFEC)…obtain sensor data information and determine passenger use information. The software may be configured for monitoring, quantifying, qualifying, aggregating, analyzing, and reporting aircraft passengers' use of and interaction with aircraft entertainment and connectivity systems – See page 14);
communicating the identified plurality of portions of the aircraft installation plan to corresponding ones of a plurality of IFEC systems of the plurality of aircraft (Air travel typically involves journeys over extended distances that at the very least take several hours to complete, so airlines provide onboard in-flight entertainment and communications (IFEC) systems that offer a wide variety of multimedia content for passenger enjoyment – See page 3); and
updating the plurality of IFEC systems using software content received from one or more portable content loaders operably coupled to the plurality of IFEC systems based on the plurality of identified portions of the aircraft installation plan (The content update process typically takes place on a monthly schedule, preferably during a layover between flights, such as when aircraft maintenance is conducted. For each item of multimedia content loaded on to the IFEC system in this way, however, the airlines must pay a fee. Specifically, the charges are based upon the size of the multimedia content set loaded – See page 4).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Sain’s teaching into Watson’s invention because incorporating Sain’s teaching would enhance Watson to enable to deploy a variety of IFEC installment options that include use data of IFE electronics across different airlines, different IFE vendors, and different airplane models.as suggested by Sain (page 4).
Regarding claim 17.
A computer-readable medium including processor instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
Regarding claim 17, recites the same limitations as rejected claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 18, recites the same limitations as rejected claim 12 above.
Regarding claim 19, recites the same limitations as rejected claim 13 above.
Regarding claim 20, recites the same limitations as rejected claim 14 above.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watson and Sain as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (WO 2020236672 A1 – herein after Liu).
Regarding claim 10, the system of claim 1,
Liu discloses
wherein the managing processor is further configured to generate the aircraft installation plan (new or updated content, such as new entertainment media, safety videos, seasonal images, software updates, read-only memory (ROM) updates, operating system kit updates, upgrades, and the like, can be uploaded to the server and then pushed to the passenger interfaces, as applicable, for installation. The content may be loaded before the desired timeframe for installation/use. For example, a seasonal video might be loaded before the season to which it belongs. In certain example embodiments, this content can be preloaded to the server at any time with a set install date/time, and the server can hold the content for installation once the set installation date/time has arrived. For example, when the installation date/time arrives, the server can push the updated content to the passenger interfaces for installation/use on the passenger interfaces. Additionally, or alternatively, the server can push updated content to the passenger interfaces prior to the set installation date/time, and the passenger interfaces can store the content (e.g., data, updates, etc.) until the content is ready to be installed. For example, the passenger interfaces can store the content until a flight is closed or as part of a pre-cached installation plan – See paragraph [0090]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Liu’s teaching into Watson’s and Sain’s inventions because incorporating Liu’s teaching would enhance Watson and Sain to generate/set installation package/plan as suggested by Sain (page 4).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watson and Sain as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rippe et al. (WO 2022271274 A1 – herein after Rippe).
Regarding claim 12, the method of claim 11,
Rippe discloses
wherein updating the IFEC system comprises:
determining that an initial set of software content stored on the IFEC system includes software content not included in the planned set of software content (identify a customized content manifest for an itinerary for the vehicle and/or the vehicle, wherein the customized content manifest includes a list of content …remove first content from a library of content stored on the vehicle when the first content is not included in the list of content, and load second content to the library of content when the second content is included in the list of content and not already loaded to the in-vehicle content-delivery system – See paragraph [0022]); and
removing the software content included in the initial set of software content but not included in the planned set of software content from the IFEC system (remove first content from the library of content when the first content is not included in the list of content, and load second content to the library of content when the second content is included in the list of content and not already present in the library of content – See Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Rippe’s teaching into Watson’s and Sain’s inventions because incorporating Rippe’s teaching would enhance Watson and Sain to enable remove first content from the library of content when the first content is not included in the list of content as suggested by Rippe (Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Couleaud et al. (US Patent No. 12,301,891 B1) discloses managing content provided by an in-flight entertainment (“IFE”) system operating on an airplane can include a ground-based content processor and a non-transitory computer readable medium. The non-transitory computer readable medium can be communicatively coupled to the ground-based content controller and store program code executable by the ground-based content processor to perform operations – See Abstract.
Ratmam (US Pub. No. 2024/0134633 A1) discloses a software management control unit configured to receive one or more changes to one or more portions of a first software configuration for hardware components of one or more vehicle, such as aircraft, or other assets. The software management control unit is further configured to revise the first software configuration for the hardware components of the one or more aircraft to provide a second software configuration that includes the one or more changes – See Abstract and specification for more details.
Brien et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0354807 A1) discloses providing electronic offering items to passengers on an aircraft. In one example of the technology, destination information may be obtained from an aircraft data bus that receives aircraft flight information from a plurality of aircraft information systems located on the aircraft. The destination information may be sent to a vendor application programming interface (API) to obtain at least one electronic offering item associated with the destination information to display in an inflight entertainment system – See Abstract and specification for more details.
/MONGBAO NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2192