Claim Objections
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 4, “at least ten of the u-shaped clamps” should read “at least ten of the plurality of u-shaped claims” for improved antecedent basis”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamal (US20220151392A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Kamal teaches A sofa bed, comprising: opposing arm rest sections (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0069] armrest 8); a back section (Kamal: FIG. 2 [0053] headboard 1); and a pull-out section (Kamal: FIG. 2 [0058] end board 3), comprising: a honeycomb structure disposed between the opposing arm rest sections (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0069] armrest 8 are separate or connected to honeycomb structure), wherein the honeycomb structure of each pull-out section is configured to change between an extended and a non-extended position (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0064] honeycomb cell structure 1 length can vary from 6 to 1000cm).
Regarding claim 2,
Kamal teaches The sofa bed of claim 1, wherein the honeycomb structure comprises at least a first and a second section of the honeycomb structure (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0080-0082] There are two kinds of foldability for the bed; Horizontal foldability; Vertical foldability), wherein the second section of each pull-out section is configured to expand and collapse between the extended and the non-extended positions (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0083] box which is used for the folded bed can be any size can have any side length from 20 to 300cm… box dimensions are variable).
Regarding claim 5,
Kamal teaches The sofa bed of claim 1, further comprising a sofa cushion disposed on the pull-out section (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0120] front padding - two plywood pieces covered by a fabric cover), wherein the sofa cushion comprises upper and lower sections folded along a seam and configured to unfold (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0118] The final bed upholstery cover is put to complete the bed . The cover has hook - and - loop fastener underneath that is connected to hook and loop on lower beams) to form a bed cushion spanning a length of the pull-out section in the extended position (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0117] a foldable sleeping pad is laid on the expanded bed).
Regarding claim 6,
Kamal teaches The sofa bed of claim 1, wherein the honeycomb structure is disposed within an area bounded by front, back, and side panels of the pull-out section (Kamal: FIG. 22 headboard 1 end board 3 hexagonal structure 5 armrest 8).
Regarding claim 7,
Kamal teaches The sofa bed of claim 1, wherein the pull-out section comprises one or more sliders (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0067] extension rods 7 responsible for extending the honeycomb structure) configured to expand and collapse the honeycomb structure between the extended and non-extended positions (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0064] honeycomb cell structure 1 length can vary from 6 to 1000cm).
Regarding claim 8,
Kamal teaches A puff bed, comprising: front and back panels (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0053;0058] headboard 1 end board 3); side panels (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0060] 8 side board 4); and one or more honeycomb structures disposed within an area bounded by the front, back, and side panels (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0065] side boards 6 are connected to honeycomb structure), wherein at least one honeycomb structure is configured to convert the puff bed into an extended configuration from a non-extended configuration (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0064] honeycomb cell structure 1 length can vary from 6 to 1000cm).
Regarding claim 9,
Kamal teaches The puff bed of claim 8, wherein the puff bed comprises sliders (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0067] extension rods 7 responsible for extending the honeycomb structure) attached to the side panels to allow the puff bed to extend into the extended configuration (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0065] side boards 6 are connected to honeycomb structure), wherein the puff bed in the extended configuration is about twice a length of the puff bed in the non-extended configuration (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0064] honeycomb cell structure 1 length can vary from 6 to 1000cm).
Regarding claim 10,
Kamal teaches The puff bed of claim 9, further comprising: a cushion disposed above the one or more honeycomb structures (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0071] Padding is a sheet of rigid or soft material that can be laid over); and a tab (Kamal: FIG. 2 [0058-0059] end board 3) attached to the front panel to enable sliding along the sliders to convert between the extended configuration and a non-extended configuration (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0067] extension rods 7 for extending honeycomb structure), wherein the cushion comprises upper and lower sections that unfold to conform with a length of the puff bed in the extended configuration (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0073] the bed is light and extendable to any length).
Regarding claim 11,
Kamal teaches A sofa, comprising: opposing arm rest sections (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0069] armrest 8); a frame comprising a plurality of members extending between the opposing arm rest sections (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0069] armrest 8 are separate or connected to honeycomb structure); a divider disposed between the plurality of members (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0104] middle support); and a honeycomb structure disposed between the opposing arm rests (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0069] armrest 8 are separate or connected to honeycomb structure)
Regarding claim 12,
Kamal teaches The sofa of claim 11, wherein the sofa is configured such that assembly comprises expanding the honeycomb structure by pulling apart, in opposite directions, the opposing arm rest sections (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0063] flexible hexagonal structure 5 can open and fold).
Regarding claim 13,
Kamal teaches The sofa of claim 11, further comprising a connector for attaching the plurality of members together at a midpoint of the frame (Kamal: FIG. 15 [0112] sliding connectors locks beams into place).
Regarding claim 14,
Kamal teaches The sofa of claim 13, wherein the connector comprises a u-shaped guide track that seats the divider (Kamal: FIG. 14 [109] u connector to be connected by the expanded wooden beams…fixed to wooden side boards).
Regarding claim 15,
Kamal teaches The sofa of claim 14, wherein the connector further comprises a hinge and a dowel (Kamal: FIG. 16 [0112] wooden beams connected by a hinge; [0113] sliding connector stopped from sliding by a pin).
Regarding claim 17,
Kamal teaches The sofa of claim 11, further comprising base padding disposed above the honeycomb structure (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0071] padding 9 can be laid over honeycomb structure).
Regarding claim 18,
Kamal teaches The sofa of claim 11, further comprising a front panel attached to the sofa (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0059] end board 3).
Regarding claim 19,
Kamal teaches The sofa of claim 11, further comprising back padding attached to the sofa (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0054] headboard 1).
Regarding claim 20,
Kamal teaches The sofa of claim 11, wherein the plurality of members extends through respective apertures of the divider, and wherein a profile of the honeycomb structure generally conforms to a profile of the divider (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0101] layers cut into shape of desired furniture piece, such as sofa, bed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamal (US20220151392A1) in view of Bubien (US4881779A).
Regarding claim 3,
Kamal teaches The sofa bed of claim 1, wherein each pull-out section is attached to at least one back section (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0058] end board 3).
Kamal does not teach and at least one of the opposing arm rest sections by a plurality of u-shaped clamps.
Bubien teaches and at least one of the opposing arm rest sections by a plurality of u-shaped clamps (Bubien: FIG. 5 [Col. 4 33] weighted bottom surface attached with clips).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kamal in view of Bubien directed to including clips to connect various components of the transportable structure. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide structure and stability of the transportable structure (Bubien: [Col. 4 30-35]).
Regarding claim 4,
Kamal teaches The sofa bed of claim 3, are disposed at respective intersections along the opposing arm rest sections (Kamal: FIG. 13 [0109] connectors in a U shape), the back section (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0054] headboard 1), and the pull-out section (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0059] end board 3), wherein each of the opposing arm rest sections (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0069] armrest 8 are separate or connected to honeycomb structure), the back section (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0053] headboard 1), and the pull-out section are modular, and wherein an armrest sponge draped over each of the opposing arm rest sections (Kamal: FIG. 22 [0069] armrest padded and covered by fabric).
Kamal does not teach wherein at least ten of the u-shaped clamps.
Bubien teaches wherein at least ten of the u-shaped clamps (Bubien: FIG. 5 [Col. 4 33] weighted bottom surface attached with clips).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kamal in view of Bubien directed to including a plurality of clips to connect various components of the transportable structure. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide structure and stability of the transportable structure (Bubien: [Col. 4 30-35]).
Regarding claim 16,
Kamal teaches The sofa of claim 12, corresponding to separate honeycomb sections of the honeycomb structure, wherein each clip flares outwardly at an end to facilitate assembly (Kamal: FIG. 20 [0122] each armrest has metal interlocking brackets to be connected to honeycomb wooden sides).
Kamal does not teach further comprising one or more clips to clip together dividers.
Bubien teaches further comprising one or more clips to clip together dividers (Bubien: FIG. 5 [Col. 4 33] weighted bottom surface attached with clips).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kamal in view of Bubien directed to including clips to connect various components of the transportable structure. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide structure and stability of the transportable structure (Bubien: [Col. 4 30-35]).
Conclusion
/JOSEANE E. TEJADA/Examiner, Art Unit 3673
/DAVID R HARE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673
9/6/2025