DETAILED ACTIONThis action is in response to the application filed on 03/07/2024. Claims 1-30 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 3-4, 12-15, 17-18 and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by CHO et al. (US 2021/0377108).
As of claim 1, CHO disclose an apparatus configured for wireless communications ([FIG.1] [0003] [0018] shows and disclose the electronic device 100 be implemented a part of a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories ([FIG.1] [0019] shows and disclose the electronic device 100 includes an application circuitry 102 comprises a processors 102a be coupled with a computer-readable media 102b (memories)),
the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to a network entity, one or more reports indicating a first capability of the apparatus (para [0085] disclose the UE signal to the base station its capability with respect to the supported number of RF chains and bandwidth of each respective RF chain) to use multiple radio frequency (RF) chains at a time (para [0085] disclose the multiple RF chains transmit or receive signals scheduled in different channel frequencies that are part of the wideband carrier 306, because multiple RF chains are employed by the UE, the equivalent channels differ from each other, each RF chain corresponding to one of CC 851 and CC 853 (=see Fig. 8)), to communicate across a respective subset of the contiguous frequency resources (para [0085] disclose the multiple RF chains transmit or receive signals in different channel frequencies that are part of the wideband carrier 306, FIG.8 (b) shows Wideband CC bandwidth where multiple TB/CBGs allocation for multiple RF chains) and to use each of the multiple RF chains to communicate across a respective subset of the contiguous frequency resources (para [0085] disclose the multiple RF chains transmit or receive signals scheduled in different channel frequencies (=respective subset of the contiguous frequency resources) that are part of the wideband carrier 306, because multiple RF chains are employed by the UE, the equivalent channels differ from each other); and
communicate, with the network entity, a signal across a contiguous frequency bandwidth (para [0096] [FIG.8] shows and disclosed data scheduling for UEs with multiple RF chains, TB/CBG scheduling where the allocated data bandwidth exceeds the bandwidth supported by one of the UE's RF chains, the base station schedules multiple TB/CBGs, one each for first CC 851 and second CC 853 (=bandwidth). Each TB/CBG is less than the bandwidth of its associated RF chain, with each RF chain corresponding to one of CC 851 and 853 which corresponds to UE communicates a signal across a contiguous frequency bandwidth),
wherein each of a plurality of RF chains of the apparatus is used to communicate the signal across a respective subset of the contiguous frequency bandwidth (para [0096] [FIG. 8] shows and disclosed data scheduling for UEs with multiple RF chains, first TB/CBG 852 is scheduled to first CC 851, and second TB/CBG 854 is scheduled to second CC 853 (=subset of the contiguous frequency bandwidth).
As of claim 15, CHO disclose an apparatus configured for wireless communications ([FIG.1][0003][0018] shows and discloses the electronic device 100 be a part of a next-generation NodeB (gNB) (=an apparatus) comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories ([FIG.1][0019] shows and disclose the electronic device 100 includes an application circuitry 102 comprises a processors 102a be coupled with a computer-readable media 102b (memories),
the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a user equipment (UE), one or more reports indicating a first capability of the UE (para [0085] disclose the base station receives capability information of the UE with respect to the supported number of RF chains and bandwidth of each respective RF chain from the user equipotent) to use multiple radio frequency (RF) chains at a time (para [0085] disclose the multiple RF chains transmit or receive signals scheduled in different channel frequencies that are part of the wideband carrier 306, because multiple RF chains are employed by the UE, the equivalent channels differ from each other, each RF chain corresponding to one of CC 851 and CC 853 (=see Fig. 8)), to communicate across contiguous frequency resources (para [0085] disclose the multiple RF chains transmit or receive signals in different channel frequencies that are part of the wideband carrier 306, FIG.8 (b) shows Wideband CC bandwidth where multiple TB/CBGs allocation for multiple RF chains) and to use each of the multiple RF chains to communicate across a respective subset of the contiguous frequency resources consisting of less than all of the contiguous frequency resources (para [0085] disclose the multiple RF chains transmit or receive signals scheduled in different channel frequencies (=respective subset of the contiguous frequency resources) that are part of the wideband carrier 306 because multiple RF chains are employed by the UE, the equivalent channels differ from each other and [0096]Each TB/CBG is less than the bandwidth of its associated RF chain); and
communicate, with the UE, based on the first capability, a signal across a contiguous frequency bandwidth (para [0096] [FIG. 8] shows and disclosed data scheduling for UEs with multiple RF chains, TB/CBG scheduling where the allocated data bandwidth exceeds the bandwidth supported by one of the UE's RF chains, the base station schedules multiple TB/CBGs, one each for first CC 851 and second CC 853 (=bandwidth). Each TB/CBG is less than the bandwidth of its associated RF chain, with each RF chain corresponding to one of CC 851 and 853 which corresponds to the apparatus communicates with the UE a signal across a contiguous frequency bandwidth).
As of claim 29, CHO disclose a method for wireless communications by an apparatus comprising: sending, to a network entity, one or more reports indicating a first capability of the apparatus (para [0085] disclose the UE signal to the base station its capability with respect to the supported number of RF chains and bandwidth of each respective RF chain) to use multiple radio frequency (RF) chains at a time (para [0085] disclose the multiple RF chains transmit or receive signals scheduled in different channel frequencies that are part of the wideband carrier 306, because multiple RF chains are employed by the UE, the equivalent channels differ from each other, each RF chain corresponding to one of CC 851 and CC 853 (=see Fig. 8)) to communicate across contiguous frequency resources (para [0085] disclose the multiple RF chains transmit or receive signals in different channel frequencies that are part of the wideband carrier 306, FIG.8 (b) shows Wideband CC bandwidth where multiple TB/CBGs allocation for multiple RF chains) and to use each of the multiple RF chains to communicate across a respective subset of the contiguous frequency resources (para [0085] disclose the multiple RF chains transmit or receive signals scheduled in different channel frequencies (=respective subset of the contiguous frequency resources) that are part of the wideband carrier 306, because multiple RF chains are employed by the UE, the equivalent channels differ from each other); and
communicating, with the network entity, a signal across a contiguous frequency bandwidth (para [0096] [FIG.8] shows and disclosed data scheduling for UEs with multiple RF chains, TB/CBG scheduling where the allocated data bandwidth exceeds the bandwidth supported by one of the UE's RF chains, the base station schedules multiple TB/CBGs, one each for first CC 851 and second CC 853 (=bandwidth). Each TB/CBG is less than the bandwidth of its associated RF chain, with each RF chain corresponding to one of CC 851 and 853 which corresponds to UE communicates a signal across a contiguous frequency bandwidth),
wherein each of a plurality of RF chains of the apparatus is used to communicate the signal across a respective subset of the contiguous frequency bandwidth (para [0096] [FIG. 8] shows and disclosed data scheduling for UEs with multiple RF chains, first TB/CBG 852 is scheduled to first CC 851, and second TB/CBG 854 is scheduled to second CC 853 (=subset of the contiguous frequency bandwidth).
As of claim 30, CHO disclose a method for wireless communications by an apparatus comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), one or more reports indicating a first capability of the UE (para [0085] disclose the base station receives capability information of the UE with respect to the supported number of RF chains and bandwidth of each respective RF chain from the user equipotent) to use multiple radio frequency (RF) chains at a time (para [0085] disclose the multiple RF chains transmit or receive signals scheduled in different channel frequencies that are part of the wideband carrier 306, because multiple RF chains are employed by the UE, the equivalent channels differ from each other, each RF chain corresponding to one of CC 851 and CC 853 (=see Fig. 8)), to communicate across contiguous frequency resources (para [0085] disclose the multiple RF chains transmit or receive signals in different channel frequencies that are part of the wideband carrier 306, FIG.8 (b) shows Wideband CC bandwidth where multiple TB/CBGs allocation for multiple RF chains) and to use each of the multiple RF chains to communicate across a respective subset of the contiguous frequency resources consisting of less than all of the contiguous frequency resources (para [0085] disclose the multiple RF chains transmit or receive signals scheduled in different channel frequencies (=respective subset of the contiguous frequency resources) that are part of the wideband carrier 306 because multiple RF chains are employed by the UE, the equivalent channels differ from each other and [0096] discloses each TB/CBG is less than the bandwidth of its associated RF chain); and communicating, with the UE, based on the first capability, a signal across a contiguous frequency bandwidth (para [0096] [FIG. 8] shows and disclosed data scheduling for UEs with multiple RF chains, TB/CBG scheduling where the allocated data bandwidth exceeds the bandwidth supported by one of the UE's RF chains, the base station schedules multiple TB/CBGs, one each for first CC 851 and second CC 853 (=bandwidth). Each TB/CBG is less than the bandwidth of its associated RF chain, with each RF chain corresponding to one of CC 851 and 853 which corresponds to the apparatus communicates with the UE a signal across a contiguous frequency bandwidth).
As of claims 3 and 17, rejection of claims 1 and 15 cited above incorporated herein, in addition CHO further discloses the one or more reports further indicate a maximum bandwidth per RF chain supported by the apparatus (para [0042] [0065] [0096] discloses transmitting capability information to a base station that includes the UE's supported maximum bandwidth, maximum supported bandwidth per CC wherein each RF chain corresponding to one of CC 851 and 853, which implies reports indicate a maximum bandwidth per RF chain).
As of claims 4 and 18, rejection of claims 1 and 15 cited above incorporated herein, in addition CHO further discloses the one or more reports further indicate a maximum number of subsets of contiguous frequency resources supported by the apparatus (para [0065][0082][0083] discloses UE capabilities include each UE's supported number of component carriers (CCs) a bandwidth supported for each CC, a number of supported transport blocks (TB) or code block groups (CBG), and supported TB/CBG size).
As of claims 12 and 26, rejection of claims 1 and 15 cited above incorporated herein, in addition CHO further discloses the one or more reports further indicate a second capability of the apparatus to tune each RF chain of the plurality of RF chains to multiple subsets of the contiguous frequency bandwidth (CHO, para [0066] discloses a UE given a configuration of one or more CCs with frequencies and bandwidths different from wideband carrier need to retune to a configured CC).
As of claims 13 and 27, rejection of claims 1 and 15 cited above incorporated herein, in addition CHO further discloses the signal carries control information (CHO [0056] [0073] disclose UL control channels cover the configured channel bandwidth, the bandwidth for UL control channel).
As of claims 14 and 28, rejection of claims 1 and 15 cited above incorporated herein, in addition CHO further discloses the one or more processors are configured to: receive the signal; or transmit the signal (para [0019] [0085] disclose the multiple RF chains transmit or receive signals).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5-8, 16, and 19-22 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over CHO et al. (US 2021/0377108) in view of KUMAR et al. (US 2019/0166608).
As of claims 2 and 16, rejection of claims 1 and 15 cited above incorporated herein, in addition CHO does not explicitly discloses but KUMAR discloses the one or more reports further indicate a maximum fast Fourier transform (FFT) size per RF chain supported by the apparatus (KUMAR, para [0028] [0044] discloses a set of RF chains in a UE has been assigned to a number of CCs, the nominal FFT size be equal to 128, 256, 512, 1024 or 2048 for system bandwidth of 1.25, 2.5, 5, 10 or 20 megahertz (MHz), respectively).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of reporting the capability of the UE as taught by CHO with the teaching of supporting (FFT) size per RF chain as taught by KUMAR in order to improve link quality and reliability, bandwidth, and throughput between devices as taught by KUMAR in para [0086].
As of claims 5 and 19, rejection of claims 1 and 15 cited above incorporated herein, in addition CHO does not explicitly discloses but KUMAR teaches the one or more reports further indicate a maximum number of multi-input-multiple-output (MIMO) layers supported by the apparatus when operating according to the first capability of using multiple RF chains to communicate across contiguous frequency resources (KUMAR, para [0045] discloses MIMO configurations support up to 8 transmit antennas with multi-layer DL transmissions up to 8 streams (=MIMO layers) and up to 2 streams per UE be supported. [0095] MIMO capable UE may communicate with a BS using its RF chains).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of capability of using multiple RF chains as taught by CHO with the teaching of supporting MIMO layres operating according to the first capability of using multiple RF chains as taught by KUMAR in order to improve link quality and reliability, bandwidth, and throughput between devices as taught by KUMAR in para [0086].
As of claims 6 and 20, rejection of claims 1 and 15 cited above incorporated herein, in addition CHO does not explicitly discloses but KUMAR teaches a maximum number of multi-input-multiple-output (MIMO) layers supported by the apparatus when operating according to the first capability of using multiple RF chains to communicate across contiguous frequency resources is based on at least one of: a maximum bandwidth; a subcarrier spacing (SCS) configured for communication between the network entity and the apparatus; a number of RF chains of the apparatus configured for communication between the network entity and the apparatus; a maximum fast Fourier transform (FFT) size per RF chain supported by the apparatus; a maximum bandwidth per RF chain supported by the apparatus; or a maximum number of subsets of contiguous frequency resources supported by the apparatus (KUMAR, para [0045] discloses MIMO configurations support up to 8 transmit antennas with multi-layer DL transmissions up to 8 streams (=MIMO layers) and up to 2 streams per UE be supported. [0095] MIMO capable UE may communicate with a BS using its RF chains and para [0028] [0044] discloses a set of RF chains in a UE has been assigned to a number of CCs, the nominal FFT size be equal to 128, 256, 512, 1024 or 2048 for system bandwidth of 1.25, 2.5, 5, 10 or 20 megahertz (MHz), respectively).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CHO with the teaching of KUMAR in order to improve link quality and reliability, bandwidth, and throughput between devices as taught by KUMAR in para [0086].
As of claims 7 and 21, rejection of claims 6 and 20 cited above incorporated herein, in addition modified CHO-KUMAR disclose the maximum bandwidth comprises a bandwidth configured for communication between the network entity and the apparatus (CHO, para [0042] discloses UE in communication with the base station be required to support the maximum CC bandwidth).
As of claims 8 and 22, rejection of claims 6 and 20 cited above incorporated herein, in addition modified CHO-KUMAR disclose the maximum bandwidth comprises a nominal maximum system bandwidth of the network entity (CHO, para [0129] discloses a maximum bandwidth of the wideband carrier).
Claims 9-11 and 23-25 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over CHO et al. (US 2021/0377108) in view of Chen et al. (US 2018/0235025).
As of claims 9 and 23, rejection of claims 1 and 15 cited above incorporated herein, in addition CHO does not explicitly discloses but Chen teaches the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: receive a configuration of one or more reference signal occasions configured for communicating one or more reference signals spanning the contiguous frequency bandwidth (para [0009] [0013] discloses the assignment bandwidth for the SRS transmission being within the supported bandwidth capability of the UE, the contiguous assignment bandwidth spanning a first bandwidth of the first RF chain and a second bandwidth of the second RF chain).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CHO with the teaching of Chen in order to ensure that an assignment bandwidth of a subband for CQI/CSI feedback does not cross an RF boundary between two RF chains in Chen para [0107].
As of claims 10 and 24, rejection of claims 9 and 23 cited above incorporated herein, in addition modified CHO- Chen discloses each of the one or more reference signal occasions spans the contiguous frequency bandwidth (para [0009] [0013] discloses the assignment bandwidth for the SRS transmission being within the supported bandwidth capability of the UE, the contiguous assignment bandwidth spanning a first bandwidth of the first RF chain and a second bandwidth of the second RF chain).
As of claims 11 and 25, rejection of claims 9 and 23 cited above incorporated herein, in addition modified CHO-Chen discloses each of the one or more reference signal occasions spans a respective subset of the contiguous frequency bandwidth (para [0009] [0013] discloses the assignment bandwidth for the SRS transmission being within the supported bandwidth capability of the UE, the contiguous assignment bandwidth spanning a first bandwidth of the first RF chain and a second bandwidth of the second RF chain).
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471