NON-FINAL REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 7, and 8 all recite an apparatus for transmitting data for calling a terminal, wherein further the calling is to be performed by a visitor.
A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). In Katz, a claim directed to "[a] system with an interface means for providing automated voice messages…to certain of said individual callers, wherein said certain of said individual callers digitally enter data" was determined to be indefinite because the italicized claim limitation is not directed to the system, but rather to actions of the individual callers, which creates confusion as to when direct infringement occurs. Katz, 639 F.3d at 1318, 97 USPQ2d at 1749 (citing IPXL Holdings v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384, 77 USPQ2d 1140, 1145 (Fed. Cir. 2005), in which a system claim that recited "an input means" and required a user to use the input means was found to be indefinite because it was unclear "whether infringement … occurs when one creates a system that allows the user [to use the input means], or whether infringement occurs when the user actually uses the input means."); Ex parte Lyell, 17 USPQ2d 1548 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990) (claim directed to an automatic transmission workstand and the method of using it held ambiguous and properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. PGPUB 2020/0302716 A1 to Raduchel (“Raduchel”).
As to claim 9, Raduchel discloses:
A calling method, comprising:
receiving, by an information processing apparatus, from a terminal of a visitor, identification information for identifying a building and position information of the terminal of the visitor;
Raduchel discloses a calling method in an information processing apparatus 108. Raduchel at FIG 1 and at ¶¶49-51. Raduchel discloses the apparatus receives, from a terminal 102 of a visitor 202, identification information identifying a building and position information of the visitor terminal. Raduchel at ¶¶75-79, “to gain access to a website for communicating with an occupant, a visitor 204 can use their visitor device 102 to obtain an image of a matrix barcode 202 (e.g., a QR code) located on a door of the front entrance 206”, “the matrix barcode 202 specifies an SSID, encryption type, and password/passphrase of a Wi-Fi network of the facility”, “[w]hen a visitor 204 makes this request location of the visitor device 102 is sent to the centralized computer system 108 (as shown in FIG. 1).”
determining, by the information processing apparatus, whether the terminal of the visitor is positioned within a predetermined range from the building based on position information of the building related to the identification information and the position information of the terminal of the visitor; and
Further, a controller in the apparatus determines if the visitor is within a predetermined range of the building based on the position information of the building and the visitor. Id. at ¶¶125-126 “[t]he computer system receive a location of the visitor device (step 1804). The computer system may receive a location of the visitor device from visitor device itself (e.g., from a GPS unit on the visitor device). The computer system may receive a location of the visitor device based on the computer system or the visitor device determining a location of the visitor device based on the visitor device's Wi-Fi or a Bluetooth connection. The computer system determines that the visitor device is within a predetermined bounded area of the facility (step 1806). The computer system may make this determination, for example, by comparing the location of the visitor device with a geofence geofences 302, 306, and 312 as shown in FIG. 3).”
transmitting, by the information processing apparatus, to the terminal of the visitor, image data for calling a terminal of a dweller of the building, when the terminal of the visitor is positioned within the predetermined range from the building, the calling being performed by the visitor.
Lastly, the apparatus transmits to the visitor terminal image data for calling a dwelling terminal when the visitor is positioned in range. Id. at ¶¶115-119 and 129-130 “[t]he computer system obtains a directory of a units or floors for the facility and makes the directory accessible through the facility intercom app (step 1712). For example, the computer system, which may be located on the visitor's device, makes the director accessible to the visitor through the facility intercom app”, “[t]he computer system receives an input from the visitor that indicates a selection of a unit or floor from the directory (step 1716). The computer system sends a request for communication directed to the occupant of the unit or floor associated with the selected unit or floor to a centralized computer system (step 1718),” “[t]he computer system determines a means of communication (step 1812). A means of communication may include, for example, a voice call, text message, video call, etc. The computer system sends the request from the visitor device to the occupant's device in accordance with the determined means of communication (step 1814).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raduchel in view of U.S. Pat. 10,586,114 B2 to Potter et al. (“Potter”).
As to claim 1, Raduchel discloses:
An information processing apparatus, comprising:
Raduchel discloses an information processing apparatus 108. Raduchel at FIG 1 and at ¶¶49-51.
a receiver configured to receive, from a terminal of a visitor, identification information for identifying a building and position information of the terminal of the visitor;
a controller configured to determine whether the terminal of the visitor is positioned within a predetermined range from the building, based on position information of the building related to the identification information and the position information of the terminal of the visitor; and
a transmitter configured to transmit, to the terminal of the visitor, first image data for calling a terminal of a dweller of the building, the calling being performed by the visitor, when the terminal of the visitor is positioned within the predetermined range from the building.
Raduchel discloses the apparatus is configured to receive, from a terminal 102 of a visitor 202, identification information identifying a building and position information of the visitor terminal. Raduchel at ¶¶75-79, “to gain access to a website for communicating with an occupant, a visitor 204 can use their visitor device 102 to obtain an image of a matrix barcode 202 (e.g., a QR code) located on a door of the front entrance 206”, “the matrix barcode 202 specifies an SSID, encryption type, and password/passphrase of a Wi-Fi network of the facility”, “[w]hen a visitor 204 makes this request location of the visitor device 102 is sent to the centralized computer system 108 (as shown in FIG. 1).”
Further, a controller in the apparatus determines if the visitor is within a predetermined range of the building based on the position information of the building and the visitor. Id. at ¶¶125-126 “[t]he computer system receive a location of the visitor device (step 1804). The computer system may receive a location of the visitor device from visitor device itself (e.g., from a GPS unit on the visitor device). The computer system may receive a location of the visitor device based on the computer system or the visitor device determining a location of the visitor device based on the visitor device's Wi-Fi or a Bluetooth connection. The computer system determines that the visitor device is within a predetermined bounded area of the facility (step 1806). The computer system may make this determination, for example, by comparing the location of the visitor device with a geofence geofences 302, 306, and 312 as shown in FIG. 3).”
Lastly, the apparatus transmits to the visitor terminal image data for calling a dwelling terminal when the visitor is positioned in range. Id. at ¶¶115-119 and 129-130 “[t]he computer system obtains a directory of a units or floors for the facility and makes the directory accessible through the facility intercom app (step 1712). For example, the computer system, which may be located on the visitor's device, makes the director accessible to the visitor through the facility intercom app”, “[t]he computer system receives an input from the visitor that indicates a selection of a unit or floor from the directory (step 1716). The computer system sends a request for communication directed to the occupant of the unit or floor associated with the selected unit or floor to a centralized computer system (step 1718),” “[t]he computer system determines a means of communication (step 1812). A means of communication may include, for example, a voice call, text message, video call, etc. The computer system sends the request from the visitor device to the occupant's device in accordance with the determined means of communication (step 1814).”
Raduchel discloses the apparatus is a computer, similar to the information processing apparatus 10 described in the application. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the apparatus 108 of Raduchel, being a computer, performs the determination step with a processor (controller) operating on software. Raduchel does not specify a receiver and transmitter, but does state that the element receives and sends information to and from a network.
Potter discloses an analogous invention, namely an information processing apparatus at a building for detecting the presence of a visitor and providing interactions therewith. Potter at Abstract and at 6:59-7:28. Potter specifies that the information processing apparatus includes a receiver and transmitter as well as the processor. Id. at FIG 5 elements 510 and 520 and at 17:56-18:16.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to use a transmitter and receiver in Raduchel. Raduchel discloses sending and receiving data, which would necessitate the use of some form of transmitter and receiver, which is specified by Potter. Further, it would have merely been seen as an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 2,
The information processing apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein, when the controller receives calling information calling the terminal of the dweller from the terminal of the visitor, the controller establishes a data communication path between the terminal of the visitor and the terminal of the dweller.
Raduchel discloses that the calling information received from the visitor terminal is used to establish a communication path between it and the terminal of the dweller. Raduchel at ¶129-130 “[t]he computer system determines a means of communication (step 1812). A means of communication may include, for example, a voice call, text message, video call, etc. The computer system sends the request from the visitor device to the occupant's device in accordance with the determined means of communication (step 1814).”
Further as to claim 5,
The information processing apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein an identification image representing the identification information is posted on the building or a structure around the building, and
the receiver receives the identification information from the terminal of the visitor having captured the identification image.
Raduchel discloses an identification image comprising the identification information posted on the building, the visitor terminal capturing the identification image. Raduchel at ¶¶110.
Further as to claim 6,
The information processing apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the building is a multifamily housing, and the first image data includes an image used to input a dwelling number of the multifamily housing.
Raduchel discloses the building may be multi-family housing and the first image data is used to input a dwelling unit number. Raduchel at ¶¶39 and 117-119.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raduchel in view of Potter and EP3866452A1 to Di Saverio (“Di Saverio”).
As to claim 7, Raduchel discloses:
An information processing apparatus, comprising:
Raduchel discloses an information processing apparatus 108. Raduchel at FIG 1 and at ¶¶49-51.
a transmitter configured to transmit, in response to a request from a terminal of a visitor, image data […] to be displayed in the terminal of the visitor […];
a receiver configured to receive, from the terminal of the visitor, identification information for identifying the building related to the position image selected by the visitor and position information of the terminal of the visitor; and
a controller configured to determine whether the terminal of the visitor is positioned within a predetermined range from the building based on position information of the building related to the identification information and the position information of the terminal of the visitor, wherein
the transmitter transmits, to the terminal of the visitor, image data for calling a terminal of a dweller of the building, the calling to be performed by the visitor, when the terminal of the visitor is positioned within the predetermined range from the building.
Raduchel discloses the apparatus is configured to receive, from a terminal 102 of a visitor 202, identification information identifying a building and position information of the visitor terminal. Raduchel at ¶¶75-79, “to gain access to a website for communicating with an occupant, a visitor 204 can use their visitor device 102 to obtain an image of a matrix barcode 202 (e.g., a QR code) located on a door of the front entrance 206”, “the matrix barcode 202 specifies an SSID, encryption type, and password/passphrase of a Wi-Fi network of the facility”, “[w]hen a visitor 204 makes this request location of the visitor device 102 is sent to the centralized computer system 108 (as shown in FIG. 1).”
Further, a controller in the apparatus determines if the visitor is within a predetermined range of the building based on the position information of the building and the visitor. Id. at ¶¶125-126 “[t]he computer system receive a location of the visitor device (step 1804). The computer system may receive a location of the visitor device from visitor device itself (e.g., from a GPS unit on the visitor device). The computer system may receive a location of the visitor device based on the computer system or the visitor device determining a location of the visitor device based on the visitor device's Wi-Fi or a Bluetooth connection. The computer system determines that the visitor device is within a predetermined bounded area of the facility (step 1806). The computer system may make this determination, for example, by comparing the location of the visitor device with a geofence geofences 302, 306, and 312 as shown in FIG. 3).”
Lastly, the apparatus transmits to the visitor terminal image data for calling a dwelling terminal when the visitor is positioned in range. Id. at ¶¶115-119 and 129-130 “[t]he computer system obtains a directory of a units or floors for the facility and makes the directory accessible through the facility intercom app (step 1712). For example, the computer system, which may be located on the visitor's device, makes the director accessible to the visitor through the facility intercom app”, “[t]he computer system receives an input from the visitor that indicates a selection of a unit or floor from the directory (step 1716). The computer system sends a request for communication directed to the occupant of the unit or floor associated with the selected unit or floor to a centralized computer system (step 1718),” “[t]he computer system determines a means of communication (step 1812). A means of communication may include, for example, a voice call, text message, video call, etc. The computer system sends the request from the visitor device to the occupant's device in accordance with the determined means of communication (step 1814).”
Raduchel discloses the apparatus is a computer, similar to the information processing apparatus 10 described in the application. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the apparatus 108 of Raduchel, being a computer, performs the determination step with a processor (controller) operating on software. Raduchel does not specify a receiver and transmitter, but does state that the element receives and sends information to and from a network.
Further, Raduchel does not disclose transmitting map information and information for displaying, on the map image, a position image indicating a position of a building to be visited by the visitor.
As to a transmitter and receiver, Potter discloses an analogous invention, namely an information processing apparatus at a building for detecting the presence of a visitor and providing interactions therewith. Potter at Abstract and at 6:59-7:28. Potter specifies that the information processing apparatus includes a receiver and transmitter as well as the processor. Id. at FIG 5 elements 510 and 520 and at 17:56-18:16.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to use a transmitter and receiver in Raduchel. Raduchel discloses sending and receiving data, which would necessitate the use of some form of transmitter and receiver, which is specified by Potter. Further, it would have merely been seen as an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
As to map information, Di Saverio discloses an analogous invention, namely a system and method for a visitor to use a mobile device to contact a person at a dwelling in a location by way of scanning a QR code at an entrance, whereby an information processing apparatus will receive information from the visiting user device and determine entry or communication with the occupant. Di Saverio at Abstract and at ¶¶39-47. Di Saverio states that the process involves transmitting map information and information for displaying, on the map image, a position image indicating a position of a building to be visited by the visitor. Id. at ¶¶39-43 “the map of the zone is displayed on the screen of the smartphone, delimited on the basis of the geolocation system (GPS) or on the same URL address 10, with a graphical symbol set up at the entrance (on the map).”
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to transmit map information in Raduchel, as it would have merely been seen as an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
As to claim 8, Raduchel discloses:
An information processing apparatus, comprising:
Raduchel discloses an information processing apparatus 108. Raduchel at FIG 1 and at ¶¶49-51.
a transmitter configured to transmit, in response to a request from a terminal of a visitor, image data […] to be displayed in the terminal of the visitor […]; and
a receiver configured to receive identification information for identifying the building related to the position image selected by the visitor,
wherein the transmitter transmits, to the terminal of the visitor, image data for calling a terminal of a dweller of the building corresponding to the identification information, the calling being performed by the visitor.
Raduchel discloses the apparatus is configured to receive, from a terminal 102 of a visitor 202, identification information identifying a building and position information of the visitor terminal. Raduchel at ¶¶75-79, “to gain access to a website for communicating with an occupant, a visitor 204 can use their visitor device 102 to obtain an image of a matrix barcode 202 (e.g., a QR code) located on a door of the front entrance 206”, “the matrix barcode 202 specifies an SSID, encryption type, and password/passphrase of a Wi-Fi network of the facility”, “[w]hen a visitor 204 makes this request location of the visitor device 102 is sent to the centralized computer system 108 (as shown in FIG. 1).”
Lastly, the apparatus transmits to the visitor terminal image data for calling a dwelling terminal when the visitor is positioned in range. Id. at ¶¶115-119 and 129-130 “[t]he computer system obtains a directory of a units or floors for the facility and makes the directory accessible through the facility intercom app (step 1712). For example, the computer system, which may be located on the visitor's device, makes the director accessible to the visitor through the facility intercom app”, “[t]he computer system receives an input from the visitor that indicates a selection of a unit or floor from the directory (step 1716). The computer system sends a request for communication directed to the occupant of the unit or floor associated with the selected unit or floor to a centralized computer system (step 1718),” “[t]he computer system determines a means of communication (step 1812). A means of communication may include, for example, a voice call, text message, video call, etc. The computer system sends the request from the visitor device to the occupant's device in accordance with the determined means of communication (step 1814).”
Raduchel discloses the apparatus is a computer, similar to the information processing apparatus 10 described in the application. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the apparatus 108 of Raduchel, being a computer, performs the determination step with a processor (controller) operating on software. Raduchel does not specify a receiver and transmitter, but does state that the element receives and sends information to and from a network.
Further, Raduchel does not disclose transmitting map information and information for displaying, on the map image, a position image indicating a position of a building to be visited by the visitor.
As to a transmitter and receiver, Potter discloses an analogous invention, namely an information processing apparatus at a building for detecting the presence of a visitor and providing interactions therewith. Potter at Abstract and at 6:59-7:28. Potter specifies that the information processing apparatus includes a receiver and transmitter as well as the processor. Id. at FIG 5 elements 510 and 520 and at 17:56-18:16.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to use a transmitter and receiver in Raduchel. Raduchel discloses sending and receiving data, which would necessitate the use of some form of transmitter and receiver, which is specified by Potter. Further, it would have merely been seen as an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
As to map information, Di Saverio discloses an analogous invention, namely a system and method for a visitor to use a mobile device to contact a person at a dwelling in a location by way of scanning a QR code at an entrance, whereby an information processing apparatus will receive information from the visiting user device and determine entry or communication with the occupant. Di Saverio at Abstract and at ¶¶39-47. Di Saverio states that the process involves transmitting map information and information for displaying, on the map image, a position image indicating a position of a building to be visited by the visitor. Id. at ¶¶39-43 “the map of the zone is displayed on the screen of the smartphone, delimited on the basis of the geolocation system (GPS) or on the same URL address 10, with a graphical symbol set up at the entrance (on the map).”
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to transmit map information in Raduchel, as it would have merely been seen as an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raduchel in view of Di Saverio.
As to claim 10, Raduchel discloses:
A calling method, comprising:
transmitting, by an information processing apparatus, in response to a request from a terminal of a visitor, image data […] to be displayed in the terminal of the visitor […];
Raduchel discloses a calling method in an information processing apparatus 108. Raduchel at FIG 1 and at ¶¶49-51. Raduchal discloses that the apparatus transmits to a visitor terminal image data for calling a dwelling terminal when the visitor is positioned in range of a building and in response to a request from the visitor terminal. Raduchal at ¶¶115-119 and 129-130 “[t]he computer system obtains a directory of a units or floors for the facility and makes the directory accessible through the facility intercom app (step 1712). For example, the computer system, which may be located on the visitor's device, makes the director accessible to the visitor through the facility intercom app”, “[t]he computer system receives an input from the visitor that indicates a selection of a unit or floor from the directory (step 1716). The computer system sends a request for communication directed to the occupant of the unit or floor associated with the selected unit or floor to a centralized computer system (step 1718),” “[t]he computer system determines a means of communication (step 1812). A means of communication may include, for example, a voice call, text message, video call, etc. The computer system sends the request from the visitor device to the occupant's device in accordance with the determined means of communication (step 1814).”
receiving, by the information processing apparatus, from the terminal of the visitor, identification information for identifying the building related to the position image selected by the visitor and position information of the terminal of the visitor; and
Raduchel discloses the apparatus receives, from a terminal 102 of a visitor 202, identification information identifying a building and position information of the visitor terminal. Raduchel at ¶¶75-79, “to gain access to a website for communicating with an occupant, a visitor 204 can use their visitor device 102 to obtain an image of a matrix barcode 202 (e.g., a QR code) located on a door of the front entrance 206”, “the matrix barcode 202 specifies an SSID, encryption type, and password/passphrase of a Wi-Fi network of the facility”, “[w]hen a visitor 204 makes this request location of the visitor device 102 is sent to the centralized computer system 108 (as shown in FIG. 1).”
determining, by the information processing apparatus, whether the terminal of the visitor is positioned within a predetermined range from the building based on position information of the building related to the identification information and the position information of the terminal of the visitor,
Raduchel discloses that a controller in the apparatus determines if the visitor is within a predetermined range of the building based on the position information of the building and the visitor. Id. at ¶¶125-126 “[t]he computer system receive a location of the visitor device (step 1804). The computer system may receive a location of the visitor device from visitor device itself (e.g., from a GPS unit on the visitor device). The computer system may receive a location of the visitor device based on the computer system or the visitor device determining a location of the visitor device based on the visitor device's Wi-Fi or a Bluetooth connection. The computer system determines that the visitor device is within a predetermined bounded area of the facility (step 1806). The computer system may make this determination, for example, by comparing the location of the visitor device with a geofence geofences 302, 306, and 312 as shown in FIG. 3).”
wherein image data for calling a terminal of a dweller of the building is transmitted to the terminal of the visitor, when the terminal of the visitor is positioned within the predetermined range from the building, the calling being performed by the visitor.
Lastly, Raduchal discloses that the apparatus transmits to the visitor terminal image data for calling a dwelling terminal when the visitor is positioned in range. Id. at ¶¶115-119 and 125-130 “The computer system determines that the visitor device is within a predetermined bounded area of the facility (step 1806). The computer system may make this determination, for example, by comparing the location of the visitor device with a geofence geofences 302, 306, and 312 as shown in FIG. 3)”, “[t]he computer system determines a means of communication (step 1812). A means of communication may include, for example, a voice call, text message, video call, etc. The computer system sends the request from the visitor device to the occupant's device in accordance with the determined means of communication (step 1814).”
Raduchel does not disclose transmitting map information and information for displaying, on the map image, a position image indicating a position of a building to be visited by the visitor.
As to map information, Di Saverio discloses an analogous invention, namely a system and method for a visitor to use a mobile device to contact a person at a dwelling in a location by way of scanning a QR code at an entrance, whereby an information processing apparatus will receive information from the visiting user device and determine entry or communication with the occupant. Di Saverio at Abstract and at ¶¶39-47. Di Saverio states that the process involves transmitting map information and information for displaying, on the map image, a position image indicating a position of a building to be visited by the visitor. Id. at ¶¶39-43 “the map of the zone is displayed on the screen of the smartphone, delimited on the basis of the geolocation system (GPS) or on the same URL address 10, with a graphical symbol set up at the entrance (on the map).”
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to transmit map information in Raduchel, as it would have merely been seen as an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
As to claim 11, Raduchel discloses:
A calling method, comprising:
transmitting, by an information processing apparatus, in response to a request from a terminal of a visitor, image data […] to be displayed in the terminal of the visitor […];
Raduchel discloses a calling method in an information processing apparatus 108. Raduchel at FIG 1 and at ¶¶49-51.Raduchal discloses that the apparatus transmits to a visitor terminal image data for calling a dwelling terminal when the visitor is positioned in range of a building and in response to a request from the visitor terminal. Raduchal at ¶¶115-119 and 129-130 “[t]he computer system obtains a directory of a units or floors for the facility and makes the directory accessible through the facility intercom app (step 1712). For example, the computer system, which may be located on the visitor's device, makes the director accessible to the visitor through the facility intercom app”, “[t]he computer system receives an input from the visitor that indicates a selection of a unit or floor from the directory (step 1716). The computer system sends a request for communication directed to the occupant of the unit or floor associated with the selected unit or floor to a centralized computer system (step 1718),” “[t]he computer system determines a means of communication (step 1812). A means of communication may include, for example, a voice call, text message, video call, etc. The computer system sends the request from the visitor device to the occupant's device in accordance with the determined means of communication (step 1814).”
receiving, by the information processing apparatus, identification information for identifying the building related to the position image selected by the visitor; and
Raduchel discloses the apparatus receives, from a terminal 102 of a visitor 202, identification information identifying a building and position information of the visitor terminal. Raduchel at ¶¶75-79, “to gain access to a website for communicating with an occupant, a visitor 204 can use their visitor device 102 to obtain an image of a matrix barcode 202 (e.g., a QR code) located on a door of the front entrance 206”, “the matrix barcode 202 specifies an SSID, encryption type, and password/passphrase of a Wi-Fi network of the facility”, “[w]hen a visitor 204 makes this request location of the visitor device 102 is sent to the centralized computer system 108 (as shown in FIG. 1).”
transmitting, by the information processing apparatus, to the terminal of the visitor, image data for calling a terminal of a dweller of the building corresponding to the identification information, the calling being performed by the visitor.
Lastly, Raduchal discloses that the apparatus transmits to the visitor terminal image data for calling a dwelling terminal when the visitor is positioned in range. Id. at ¶¶115-119 and 125-130 “The computer system determines that the visitor device is within a predetermined bounded area of the facility (step 1806). The computer system may make this determination, for example, by comparing the location of the visitor device with a geofence geofences 302, 306, and 312 as shown in FIG. 3)”, “[t]he computer system determines a means of communication (step 1812). A means of communication may include, for example, a voice call, text message, video call, etc. The computer system sends the request from the visitor device to the occupant's device in accordance with the determined means of communication (step 1814).”
Raduchel does not disclose transmitting map information and information for displaying, on the map image, a position image indicating a position of a building to be visited by the visitor.
As to map information, Di Saverio discloses an analogous invention, namely a system and method for a visitor to use a mobile device to contact a person at a dwelling in a location by way of scanning a QR code at an entrance, whereby an information processing apparatus will receive information from the visiting user device and determine entry or communication with the occupant. Di Saverio at Abstract and at ¶¶39-47. Di Saverio states that the process involves transmitting map information and information for displaying, on the map image, a position image indicating a position of a building to be visited by the visitor. Id. at ¶¶39-43 “the map of the zone is displayed on the screen of the smartphone, delimited on the basis of the geolocation system (GPS) or on the same URL address 10, with a graphical symbol set up at the entrance (on the map).”
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to transmit map information in Raduchel, as it would have merely been seen as an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raduchel in view of Potter and further in view of Di Saverio.
As to claim 3,
The information processing apparatus according to Claim 2, wherein, after receiving the calling information, the controller transmits, to the terminal of the dweller, second image data captured by a camera provided in the terminal of the visitor, until the controller receives responding information from the terminal of the dweller.
Raduchel and Potter together disclose claim 2 above, upon which claim 3 depends. Further, Potter discloses the information processing apparatus transmitting to the terminal of the dweller image data of the visitor in the process of establishing communication. Potter at 1:45-58. However, the combination does not disclose the controller transmits, to the terminal of the dweller, second image data captured by a camera provided in the terminal of the visitor, until the controller receives responding information from the terminal of the dweller.
Di Saverio discloses an analogous invention, namely a system and method for a visitor to use a mobile device to contact a person at a dwelling in a location by way of scanning a QR code at an entrance, whereby an information processing apparatus will receive information from the visiting user device and determine entry or communication with the occupant. Di Saverio at Abstract and at ¶¶39-47. Di Saverio states that the system may provide to the dwelling terminal image data captured by the visitor device camera when setting up the call. Di Saverio at ¶74 “[i]t is possible to provide or request the sending of further information, such as an image of the caller obtained by means of the camera of the first smartphone 6.”
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to transmit image data from the visitor camera in Raduchel in view of Potter, as it would have merely been seen as an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 4,
The information processing apparatus according to Claim 3, wherein, when the controller receives the responding information from the terminal of the dweller, the controller permits telephone conversation in voice between the terminal of the visitor and the terminal of the dweller.
Raduchel discloses the controller receiving responsive information from the dweller terminal permitting voice communication with the visitor terminal. Raduchel at ¶¶129-130. See also Di Saverio at ¶¶72-73.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Andrew J. Fischer can be reached on 571-272-6779. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Signed,
/CHARLES R CRAVER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992