DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/27/2024 and 3/2/2026 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 23-26, 28-31, 33, 42-44, 47, and 55-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20130271997 A1).
With regards to claim 1. Kim discloses:
A lighting system (figs 1-8) comprising:
a power supply configured to receive an AC input signal and to generate a rectified signal ([0093]);
a light driver configured to generate a drive signal based on the rectified signal (see driving chip [0093]);
a light source (400) configured to emit light based on the drive signal [0093];
and a housing (figs 4-8) configured to encapsulate the power supply, the light driver, and the light source,
the housing having a housing opening (110a ; fig 3) through which the light from the light source (400) passes through to reach the outside [0029].
With regards to claim 2. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 1, wherein the housing comprising a heatsink base (600 [0033]) configured to be attached to a heatsink mount (700 [0033]), the heatsink base being configured to channel heat away from the lighting system and to the heatsink mount [0033].
With regards to claim 3. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 1, wherein the housing comprising:
a base plate (400, 500) configured to be thermally coupled to a heatsink mount (600);
a case cover (100) defining the housing opening (110a);
and a base post (615 and portion 630) configured to couple the base plate (500) and the case cover (100) (see figs 5-6 for all element being directly/indirectly coupled).
With regards to claim 4. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 3, wherein the case cover has an inwardly tapered portion defining the housing opening (see tapered portion defining an opening), the inwardly tapered portion encapsulating the light source in a plan view (see tapered portion indirectly encapsulating light source 410/430 with lens 200 and reflector 310; fig 5).
With regards to claim 6. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 3, wherein the base post (615) extends between the base plate (500) and the case cover (100) within an interior space of the housing (see 615 in fig 6).
With regards to claim 7. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 6, wherein the base post (615) has a hollow interior configured to accommodate a fastener for coupling the lighting system to the heatsink mount (see 615 fastening for multiple elements within the lighting system; fig 5).
With regards to claim 9. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 3, wherein the base plate (400, 500) comprises a first printed circuit board PCB (410 [0086]) comprising a metal layer at a rear side of the base plate (the examiner takes the position that all substrate for LED involves at least a metal layer), and wherein the light source comprises a plurality of light emitting diodes LEDs (see 400 [0048]; see [0088] for LEDs) mounted on the base plate (500 [0086]) and corresponding in position to the housing opening (110a).
With regards to claim 10. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 9, wherein one of more components of at least one of the power supply or the light driver are mounted on a top side of the base plate (400, 500) facing the housing opening (see components 520 facing 110a; fig 3).
With regards to claim 23. Kim discloses:
A lighting system (figs 1-8) comprising:
a power supply configured to receive an AC input signal and to generate a rectified signal ([0093]);
a light driver configured to generate a drive signal based on the rectified signal ([0093]);
a light source configured to emit light based on the drive signal ([0093]);
and a housing (figs 4-8) configured to encapsulate the power supply, the light driver, and the light source,
the housing having a housing opening (110a ; fig 3) through which the light from the light source(400) passes through to reach the outside [0029], the housing being configured to be thermally coupled to a heatsink mount (600).
With regards to claim 24. Kim discloses:
A lighting system comprising:
a power supply configured to receive an AC input signal and to generate a rectified signal ([0093]);
a light driver configured to generate a drive signal to drive a light source based on the rectified signal ([0093]);
and a housing (figs 4-8) configured to encapsulate the power supply and the light driver,
the housing comprising a heatsink base (600 [0033]) configured to be attached to a heatsink mount (700 [0033]), the heatsink base being configured to channel heat away from the lighting system and to the heatsink mount ( [0033]).
With regards to claim 25. Kim discloses:
A lighting system (figs 1-8) comprising:
a power supply configured to receive an AC input signal and to generate a rectified signal ([0093]);
a light driver configured to generate a drive signal based on the rectified signal ([0093]);
a light source (400) configured to emit light based on the drive signal [0093];
and a housing (figs 4-8) configured to encapsulate the power supply, the light driver, and the light source,
the housing comprising a heatsink base (600 [0033]) and a pedestal structure (630) protruding from the heatsink base, the pedestal structure being configured to support the light source (400) and is thermally coupled to the light source (400 [0033]).
With regards to claim 26. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 25, wherein the housing has a housing opening (110a) through which the light from the light source (400) passes to reach the outside, and wherein the housing opening (110a) overlaps the pedestal structure (30) in a plan view.
With regards to claim 28. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 25, further comprising:
a thermal pad (700 [0095]) between the pedestal structure and the light source (400).
With regards to claim 29. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 25, wherein the housing comprises a base post (615 and portion 630) protruding from the heatsink base (600).
With regards to claim 30. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 29, wherein two or more of the heatsink base, the pedestal structure, and the base post are monolithically formed out of a same material (see 630 and 600).
With regards to claim 31. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 25, wherein the pedestal structure is substantially cylindrical, has a flat top surface, and is centrally positioned relative to the heatsink base (see cylindrical structure 600 and 630).
With regards to claim 33. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 25, further comprising:
a first layer vertically offset from the heatsink base by a base post, the first layer comprising a first printed circuit board (PCB) and having a first layer opening, wherein the pedestal structure passes through the first layer opening (see 630 passing through PCB 500; fig 3; [0126]), and wherein one of more components of at least one of the power supply or the light driver are mounted on at least an underside of the first layer facing the heatsink base (see components 520 [0093]).
With regards to claim 42. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 25, wherein the housing comprising:
a case cover (100) defining a housing opening (110a) through which the light from the light source (400) passes to reach the outside;
and a base post (615 and portion 630) configured to couple the heatsink base (600) and the case cover (100).
With regards to claim 43. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 42, wherein the case cover has an inner extension portion defining the opening (see 110 defining 110a), the inner extension portion encapsulating the light source in a plan view (see opening 200 encapsulating 410 in fig 5).
With regards to claim 44. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 42, wherein the base post (615) extends between the heatsink base (600) and the case cover (100) within an interior space of the housing (see 615 in fig 6), and wherein the base post has a hollow interior configured to accommodate a fastener for coupling the lighting system to a heatsink mount (see 615 fastening for multiple elements within the lighting system; fig 5).
With regards to claim 47. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 25, wherein the light source comprises a single chip on board COB light ([0081]).
With regards to claim 55. Kim discloses:
A lighting system (figs 1-8) comprising:
a light driver configured to generate a drive signal (see driving chip [0093]);
a light source (400) configured to emit light based on the drive signal [0093];
and a housing (figs 4-8) configured to encapsulate the light driver and the light source,
the housing comprising a heatsink base (600 [0033]) and a pedestal structure (630) protruding from the heatsink base (600), the pedestal structure being configured to support the light source (400) and is thermally coupled to the light source (400 [0033]).
With regards to claim 56. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 55, further comprising:
a power supply configured to receive an AC input signal and to generate a rectified signal [0093], wherein the light driver is configured to generate the drive signal based on the rectified signal [0093], and wherein the housing is configured to further encapsulate the power supply (see encapsulating means in fig 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20130271997 A1) in view of Higuchi (US 20100053950 A1).
With regards to claim 5. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 3, further comprising:
a tapered reflector (310; fig 5 [0052]) within the housing opening (110a; fig 3) and configured to reflect light of the light source incident on an interior of the case cover to the outside ([0052]);
a lens (200 [0045]) coupled to the case cover (100) and configured to focus light of the light source;
Kim does not disclose(s):
a cap configured to be fixedly coupled to the case cover and the lens.
Higuchi teaches:
a cap (3a) configured to be fixedly coupled to the case cover (see 1 in fig 2) and the lens (7).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the cap configured to be fixedly coupled to the case cover and the lens as disclosed by Higuchi in order to fix a lighting fixture to a ceiling panel as taught/suggested by Higuchi ([0025]).
With regards to claim 45. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 42, further comprising:
a reflector (300) within the housing opening (110a) and configured to reflect light of the light source incident on an interior of the case cover to the outside [0051-0052];
a lens (200) coupled to the case cover (100) and configured to focus light of the light source [0030];
Kim does not disclose(s):
a cap configured to be fixedly coupled to the case cover and the lens.
Higuchi teaches:
a cap (3a) configured to be fixedly coupled to the case cover (see 1 in fig 2) and the lens (7).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the cap configured to be fixedly coupled to the case cover and the lens as disclosed by Higuchi in order to fix a lighting fixture to a ceiling panel as taught/suggested by Higuchi ([0025]).
Claim(s) 8 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20130271997 A1) in view of Hawkins (US 20220364716 A1).
With regards to claim 8. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 3, wherein a rear side of the base plate (500) and the base post (615)
Kim does not disclose(s):
the base plate and the base post are electrically grounded.
Hawkins teaches:
the base plate and the heatsink are electrically grounded (see circuit boards grounded with heat sink in [0096]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the base plate and the heatsink are electrically grounded as disclosed by Hawkins in order to protect users against electrical shocks as taught/suggested by Hawkins ([0096]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of grounding a base plate to a heatsink of Hawkins to the know device having a base plate and a heatsink of Kim yielding the predictable result of electrically grounding all elements of heatsink of Kim such post 615 while protecting users against electrical shocks.
With regards to claim 27. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 25, wherein the heatsink base and the pedestal structure are thermally and electrically conductive (see 600 and 630)
Kim does not disclose(s):
the heatsink base and the pedestal structure are electrically grounded.
Hawkins teaches:
the heatsink base structure are electrically grounded (see circuit boards grounded with heat sink in [0096]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the heatsink base structure are electrically grounded as disclosed by Hawkins in order to protect users against electrical shocks as taught/suggested by Hawkins ([0096]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of grounding a base plate to a heatsink of Hawkins to the know device having a base plate and a heatsink of Kim yielding the predictable result of electrically grounding all elements of heatsink of Kim such post 615 while protecting users against electrical shocks.
Claim(s) 12 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20130271997 A1) in view of Novak (US 20190032859 A1).
With regards to claim 12. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 11,
Kim does not disclose(s):
wherein one of more components of at least one of the power supply or the light driver are mounted on a top side of the second layer facing away from the base plate.
Novak teaches:
wherein one of more components of at least one of the power supply or the light driver are mounted on a top side of the second layer and bottom side of the base plate (see components being in both sides of 12; fig 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the wherein one of more components of at least one of the power supply or the light driver are mounted on a top side of the second layer and bottom side of the base plate as disclosed by Novak in order to optimize space usage as taught/suggested by Novak (12; fig 1; [0050]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of one of more components of at least one of the power supply or the light driver are mounted on a top side of the second layer and bottom side of the base plate of Novak to the know device having a base plate of Novak yielding the predictable result of at least one of the sides facing away from the base plate.
With regards to claim 34. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 33,
wherein one of more components of at least one of the power supply or the light driver are mounted on a top side of the first layer facing away from the heatsink base.
Kim does not disclose(s):
wherein one of more components of at least one of the power supply or the light driver are mounted on a top side of the first layer facing away from the heatsink base.
Novak teaches:
wherein one of more components of at least one of the power supply or the light driver are mounted on a top side and bottom side of the first layer (see components being in both sides of 12; fig 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the one of more components of at least one of the power supply or the light driver are mounted on a top side and bottom side of the first layer as disclosed by Novak in order to optimize space usage as taught/suggested by Novak (12; fig 1; [0050]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of one of more components of at least one of the power supply or the light driver are mounted on a top side and bottom side of the first layer of Novak to the know device having a base plate of Novak yielding the predictable result of at least one of the sides facing away from the base plate.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20130271997 A1) in view of Bruma (EP 2624663 B1)
With regards to claim 15. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 1,
Kim does not disclose(s):
a decoupling capacitor coupled between a reference ground of the light driver and a heatsink base of the housing, wherein the decoupling capacitor has a capacitance of about 4.7 µF.
Bruma teaches
a decoupling capacitor coupled between a reference ground of the light driver and a heatsink base of the housing (see C1 coupled between electrical elements and heatsink 10 in fig 1; [0021])
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the decoupling capacitor coupled between a reference ground of the light driver and a heatsink base of the housing as disclosed by Bruma in order to provide lighting system surge protection as taught/suggested by Bruma ([008]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art implementing the decoupling capacitor having a capacitance of about 4.7 µF since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. The values such 4.7uF would be necessary to protect lighting units with electrical values requiring such protection.
Claim(s) 17,19, 20, 46, 49, and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20130271997 A1) in view of Qiu (US 20200413514 A1).
With regards to claim 17. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 1,
Kim does not disclose(s):
wherein the light source comprises three channels of de-saturated light emitting diodes LEDs.
Qiu teaches
wherein the light source comprises three channels of de-saturated light emitting diodes LEDs. (figs 4, 6a; [0037])
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the light source comprises three channels of de-saturated light emitting diodes LEDs as disclosed by Qiu in order to achieve white colors with 90+CRI as taught/suggested by Qiu ([0022]).
With regards to claim 19. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 1,
Kim does not disclose(s):
wherein the light driver is configured to receive at least one of a dimmer signal and a CCT signal and to generate the drive signal further based on at least one of the dimmer signal and the CCT signal.
Qiu teaches
wherein the light driver is configured to receive at least one of a dimmer signal and a CCT signal and to generate the drive signal further based on at least one of the dimmer signal and the CCT signal (see 0-10v input and CCT [0066]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the light driver is configured to receive at least one of a dimmer signal and a CCT signal and to generate the drive signal further based on at least one of the dimmer signal and the CCT signal as disclosed by Qiu in order to achieve white colors with 90+CRI while controlling dim-to-warm color-tuning as taught/suggested by Qiu ([0022]).
With regards to claim 20. Kim as modified discloses:
The lighting system of claim 19,
Qiu further discloses
wherein the light driver is configured to receive the dimmer signal from a dimmer via a dimming control wire, and to receive the CCT signal from a CCT controller via a CCT control wire (see 401; [0037]).
With regards to claim 46. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 25,
Kim does not disclose(s):
wherein the light source comprises three channels of de-saturated light emitting diodes LEDs.
Qiu teaches
wherein the light source comprises three channels of de-saturated light emitting diodes LEDs. (figs 4, 6a; [0037])
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the light source comprises three channels of de-saturated light emitting diodes LEDs as disclosed by Qiu in order to achieve white colors with 90+CRI as taught/suggested by Qiu ([0022]).
With regards to claim 49. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 25,
Kim does not disclose(s):
wherein the light driver is configured to receive at least one of a dimmer signal and a CCT signal and to generate the drive signal further based on at least one of the dimmer signal and the CCT signal.
Qiu teaches
wherein the light driver is configured to receive at least one of a dimmer signal and a CCT signal and to generate the drive signal further based on at least one of the dimmer signal and the CCT signal (see 0-10v input and CCT [0066]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the light driver is configured to receive at least one of a dimmer signal and a CCT signal and to generate the drive signal further based on at least one of the dimmer signal and the CCT signal as disclosed by Qiu in order to achieve white colors with 90+CRI while controlling dim-to-warm color-tuning as taught/suggested by Qiu ([0022]).
With regards to claim 50. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 49,
Qiu further discloses
wherein the light driver is configured to receive the dimmer signal from a dimmer via a dimming control wire, and to receive the CCT signal from a CCT controller via a CCT control wire (see 401; [0037]).
Claim(s) 18 and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20130271997 A1) in view of Chen (US 20140097761 A1).
With regards to claim 18. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 1,
Kim does not disclose(s):
wherein the power supply is configured to receive the input AC signal via two electrical wires directly from a wall, and wherein the AC input signal is between 90 VAC and 305 VAC.
Chen teaches
wherein the power supply is configured to receive the input AC signal via two electrical wires directly from a wall, and wherein the AC input signal is between 90 VAC and 305 VAC (Vin [0022]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the power supply is configured to receive the input AC signal via two electrical wires directly from a wall, and wherein the AC input signal is between 90 VAC and 305 VAC as disclosed by Chen in order to power a lighting system using common voltage as taught/suggested by Chen ([0022]).
With regards to claim 48. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 25,
Kim does not disclose(s):
wherein the power supply is configured to receive the input AC signal via two electrical wires directly from a wall, and wherein the AC input signal is between 90 VAC and 305 VAC.
Chen teaches
wherein the power supply is configured to receive the input AC signal via two electrical wires directly from a wall, and wherein the AC input signal is between 90 VAC and 305 VAC (Vin [0022]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the power supply is configured to receive the input AC signal via two electrical wires directly from a wall, and wherein the AC input signal is between 90 VAC and 305 VAC as disclosed by Chen in order to power a lighting system using common voltage as taught/suggested by Chen ([0022]).
Claim(s) 21 and 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20130271997 A1) in view of Wegner (US 20090080189 A1).
With regards to claim 21. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 1,
wherein the housing has a substantially cylindrical shape (100; fig 3)
Kim does not disclose(s):
wherein a light output of the light source has an intensity of 5000 lumens or less, and wherein the housing has a substantially cylindrical shape with a diameter of 65 mm or less, and a height of 30 mm or less.
Wegner teaches
wherein a light output of the light source has an intensity of 5000 lumens or less [0043],
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the light output of the light source has an intensity of 5000 lumens or less as disclosed by Wegner in order to provide illumination corresponding to household lamps equivalent to incandescent lamps as taught/suggested by Wegner ([0043]).
Kim as modified by Wegner does not disclose:
the cylindrical shape with a diameter of 65 mm or less, and a height of 30 mm or less.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to implement the cylindrical shape having a diameter of 65 mm or less, and a height of 30 mm or less, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. Such implementation would yield the predictable result of providing a lighting unit with dimension to retrofit common light bulb sizes in households.
With regards to claim 51. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 25,
wherein the housing has a substantially cylindrical shape (100; fig 3)
Kim does not disclose(s):
wherein a light output of the light source has an intensity of 5000 lumens or less, and wherein the housing has a substantially cylindrical shape with a diameter of 61 mm or less, and a height of 30 mm or less.
Wegner teaches
wherein a light output of the light source has an intensity of 5000 lumens or less [0043],
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the light output of the light source has an intensity of 5000 lumens or less as disclosed by Wegner in order to provide illumination corresponding to household lamps equivalent to incandescent lamps as taught/suggested by Wegner ([0043]).
Kim as modified by Wegner does not disclose:
the cylindrical shape with a diameter of 65 mm or less, and a height of 30 mm or less.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to implement the cylindrical shape having a diameter of 61 mm or less, and a height of 30 mm or less, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. Such implementation would yield the predictable result of providing a lighting unit with dimension to retrofit common light bulb sizes in households.
Claim(s) 22 and 52-54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20130271997 A1) in view of Qiu (US 20200413514 A1) and Erdener (US 20220252244 A1)
With regards to claim 22. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 1,
Kim does not disclose(s):
wherein the housing has an outer diameter of 65 mm, and the housing opening has an inner diameter of 32 mm, and wherein the light source comprises 3-channel desaturated light emitting diodes (LEDs) and is configured to generate a light of 2500 lm.
Wegner teaches
Qiu teaches
wherein the light source comprises three channels of de-saturated light emitting diodes LEDs. (figs 4, 6a; [0037])
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the light source comprises three channels of de-saturated light emitting diodes LEDs as disclosed by Qiu in order to achieve white colors with 90+CRI as taught/suggested by Qiu ([0022]).
Kim as modified does not disclose(s):
wherein the housing has an outer diameter of 65 mm, and the housing opening has an inner diameter of 32 mm, and wherein the light source
Erdener teaches:
wherein the light source is configured to generate a light of 2500 lm [0344].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the li light source is configured to generate a light of 2500 lm as disclosed by Erdener in order to illuminate features or elements of the outdoor environment as taught/suggested by Erdener ([0003]).
Kim as modified does not disclose:
the the housing has an outer diameter of 65 mm, and the housing opening has an inner diameter of 32 mm.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to implement the housing has an outer diameter of 65 mm, and the housing opening has an inner diameter of 32 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. Such implementation would yield the predictable result of providing a lighting unit with dimension to retrofit common light bulb sizes in households.
With regards to claim 52-54. Kim discloses:
The lighting system of claim 25,
Kim does not disclose(s):
wherein the housing has an outer diameter of 50 mm, and the housing opening has an inner diameter of 19 mm, 12mm, or 9mm and wherein the light source comprises 3-channel desaturated light emitting diodes (LEDs) and is configured to generate a light of 1200 lm or 1500lm.
Wegner teaches
Qiu teaches
wherein the light source comprises three channels of de-saturated light emitting diodes LEDs. (figs 4, 6a; [0037])
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the light source comprises three channels of de-saturated light emitting diodes LEDs as disclosed by Qiu in order to achieve white colors with 90+CRI as taught/suggested by Qiu ([0022]).
Kim as modified does not disclose(s):
wherein the housing has an outer diameter of 50 mm, and the housing opening has an inner diameter of 19 mm, 12mm, or 9mm, and wherein the light source
Erdener teaches:
wherein the light source is configured to generate a light of 1200/1500 lm [0344].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kim by implementing the li light source is configured to generate a light of 1200/1500 lm as disclosed by Erdener in order to illuminate features or elements of the outdoor environment as taught/suggested by Erdener ([0003]).
Kim as modified does not disclose:
the housing has an outer diameter of 50 mm, and the housing opening has an inner diameter of 19 mm, 12mm, or 9mm.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to implement the housing has an outer diameter of 50 mm, and the housing opening has an inner diameter of 19 mm, 12mm, or 9mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. Such implementation would yield the predictable result of providing a lighting unit with dimension to retrofit common light bulb sizes in households.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 11, 13, 14, 16, 32, and 35-41 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RENAN LUQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844