DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 3, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 are pending.
Note: The instant claim set contains two claims labeled as 3. Claims must be numbered consecutively, see MPEP 608.01(j). As such the 2nd claim 3 is interpreted as claim 11, i.e.,
“11. The compound of claim 2 wherein at least one of Y and Z are Cl.”
Thus, claims 1-11 are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
The instant Application is a CIP. The instant claims are afforded an effective filing date of 03/03/2024 due to the addition of Rx in the compound of claim 1, and the -C(O)OH group in the Rx position in the compounds of claims 8 and 10.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
-In claim 1, in the definitions of “m” and “n,” the term “inclusive” should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by STN File Registry 2002677-97-4 (published 09/30/2016, PTO-892).
meets the limitations of the compound of claim 1 when:
Z and Y are Cl
Rx is H
n is 1
m is 1
RF is CF3.
"A generic claim cannot be allowed to an applicant if the prior art discloses a species falling within the claimed genus." The species in that case will anticipate the genus. See MPEP 2131.02.
Registry number 2002677-97-4 is available as prior art as of 09/30/2016, the date it was indexed into the CAPlus database. Since this date represents the date that the compound entered the CAPlus database on STN, this represents the date that each compound was made accessible to the public.
Per MPEP 2128, an electronic publication, including an online database or Internet publication (e.g., discussion group, forum, digital video, or social media post), is considered to be a "printed publication" within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) and (b) provided the publication was accessible to persons concerned with the art to which the document relates. See In re Wyer, 655 F.2d 221, 227, 210 USPQ 790, 795 (CCPA 1981). . . Electronic publications on the internet or on an online database are considered to be publicly available as of the date the item was publicly posted.”
As such, the instantly claimed compound is anticipated.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma et al. (Determinants of Cyanuric Acid and Melamine Assembly in Water, published 2011, PTO-892).
Ma teaches:
(pg. 8844, Figure 4, “B,” wherein R4 is defined on pg. 8845, Table 1), which meets the limitations of the compound of claim 1 when:
Z and Y are -NH2
Rx is -C(O)OH
n is 1
m is 2
RF is the group circled in red.
"A generic claim cannot be allowed to an applicant if the prior art discloses a species falling within the claimed genus." The species in that case will anticipate the genus. See MPEP 2131.02.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,192,883 (PTO-892).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘883 claims:
Claims 1-4 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,006,309 (IDS of 07/12/2024).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘309 claims:
. Since Rs is a material that, prior to functionalization, includes a pendant amino, amido, imino, or hydroxyl group, Rs includes OH (hydroxyl) and NH2 (amino) groups.
Free of the Prior Art & Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 11 are free of the prior art.
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 10. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claims 8 and 10 are allowed.
The closest prior art is STN Fil Registry 2002677-97-4, which teaches
, and Ma which teaches (Determinants of Cyanuric Acid and Melamine Assembly in Water, published 2011, PTO-892):
, as detailed in the above prior art rejections.
The reference does not teach RF as a hydantoin group, which is a distinct feature of the compounds of instant, dependent claims 2-7, 9, and 11, and independent claims 8 and 10.
Therefore, the prior art neither anticipates nor reasonably makes obvious the claimed compound.
Substantial Duplicates
Applicant is advised that should claim 7 be found allowable, claims 9 and 10 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being substantial duplicates thereof.
When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Conclusion
Claims 1-4 and 11 are rejected.
Claims 5-7 and 9 are objected to.
Claims 8 and 10 are allowed.
/LAUREN WELLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1622