DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the amendments filed 8/13/2026.
Claims 1-16 are pending.
All prior rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are withdrawn as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharfman, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2002/0026521 (“Sharfman”), in view of Lanahan, et al., U.S. PGPUB N0. 2010/0005397 (“Lanahan”).
With regard to Claim 1, Sharfman teaches a method of creating a presentation comprising the following steps:
receiving an electronic presentation file through a network communication, wherein the electronic presentation file comprises presentation slides with text and audiovisual elements ([0117]-[0118] describe that a host receives packaged digital assets for a presentation in a single file),
extracting the text and audiovisual elements from the presentation slides ([0119] describes that the server unpackages the assets into individual, discrete files. [0121] describes extraction of image and media files, and [0054] describes a data file containing corresponding text data);
extracting assembly data indicating how the text and audiovisual elements are arranged in the presentation ([0072] describes that a metadata file within the presentation file contains all of the information necessary for playback, and [0040] describes extracting and storing slide timing information, and [0045] describes that the file export process also includes information relating to the layout of the presentation);
creating a transcoded version of the presentation in a standardized multimedia format capable of displaying a plurality of slides of the presentation in a web browser ([0061] describes that an unpackaged presentation is made available to recipients to be streamed on a slide-by-slide basis, where [0071] describes that the slides of the presentation are sequentially displayed. [0131] describes that the presentation is streamed over the internet in a conventional manner);
storing the extracted text and audiovisual elements, the extracted assembly data, and the transcoded version on a server attached to the network, the extracted text and audiovisual elements being stored as individually retrievable data objects separate from the transcoded version ([0120]-[0124] describe that the individual asset files are unpacked and distributed to the appropriate type of media servers and/or stored in a directory. [0131] describes that when a presentation is streamed, instructions are sent to the media server(s) to coordinate presentation);
creating a presentation embed code that uniquely identifies the presentation, the extracted text and audiovisual elements, the extracted assembly data, and the transcoded version, and storing the presentation embed code on the server ([0120] describes that the server generates a unique ID and path for storing the assets at a server and to associate the discrete assets of the presentation. Once all files have been distributed, the unique identifier is linked to the particular presentation in an association table or the like); and
receiving data associated with the presentation embed code remotely through the network by the server and returning by the server in response thereto the transcoded version of the presentation associated with the presentation embed code ([0128] describes that the server accesses the database in response to a request, where [0129] describes that the user can then be granted access to the presentation. [0131] describes that if the recipient wishes to stream the presentation, instructions are sent to the media servers upon which the assets are stored to stream the presentation to the recipient).
Sharfman, in view of Lanahan teaches that the transcoded version of the presentation is configured to be viewable upon opening a remote HTML formatted email or web page. Sharfman teaches at [0129]-[0131] that a user can navigate to and select for streaming a presentation at a webpage, as also shown at Fig. 21. Lanahan teaches at [0030]-[0031] that users create and store presentations at a remote server. These presentations can then be shared with other users via a URL that can be accessed by a browser, or source HTML code for the presentation that can be embedded directly into other users’ websites.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to modify Sharfman, to enable the direct embedding and viewing described in Lanahan. One of skill in the art would have sought the modification, to improve user experience by enabling additional sharing options for enabling others to access a presentation stored on a remote server.
With regard to Claim 2, Sharfman, in view of Lanahan teaches receiving data associated with the presentation embed code remotely through the network by the server and returning by the server in response thereto a second presentation created by the server assembling the extracted text and audiovisual elements into dynamically assembled presentation slides assembled according to the presentation assembly code; wherein the second presentation created by the server is configured to be viewable remotely over the network by a standard web browser.
[0131] describes accessing the presentation assets stored at the server(s) for streaming the presentation to a user. [0071] describes that the slides can be presented to a user sequentially, with a table of contents as well as retrieved audio clips. A time-based index ensures that the audio remains synchronized if a user navigates to different portions of the presentation. [0077] describes that event data for the slides likewise includes timing data that ensures their presentation at the correct point in the presentation. [0081] describes that display of text and other media is likewise presented using timing information, and [0072] describes that a metadata file within the presentation file contains all of the information necessary for playback. Sharfman doesn’t explicitly teach streaming the presentation to a web browser; Lanahan teaches at [0030]-[0031] interfacing with the system through a web browser, and sharing presentations as embeddable HTML source code.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to modify Sharfman, to enable the direct embedding and viewing described in Lanahan. One of skill in the art would have sought the modification, to improve user experience by enabling additional sharing options for enabling others to access a presentation stored on a remote server.
With regard to Claim 7, Sharfman teaches the steps of cataloguing and indexing the extracted text and audiovisual elements, and providing remote access to the catalogues and indices through the network to facilitate remotely searching presentations. [0038] describes that text is processed to be searchable, where searching presentation text objects is described at [0071]. [0145] describes that additional searchable data can be generated from presentation assets, including closed captioning text from video, and keywords from audio clips. [0120] describes at [0120] that the files can be stored in a directory, and [0122] describes they can alternatively be indexed using the unique ID.
With regard to Claim 8, Sharfman teaches receiving by the server a request for source data of a standard multimedia element, wherein the request includes data associated with the presentation embed code; wherein the request for source data triggers the step of returning the transcoded version of the presentation. [0129]-[0131] describe that a user can select to stream a presentation interface, which causes requests for a multimedia element of the presentation to be made that leads to the streaming of the presentation to the requesting user.
With regard to Claim 9, Lanahan teaches receiving a request by the server for a hyperlink associated with the presentation; creating a hyperlink to the dynamically assembled presentation slides, wherein the hyperlink includes data associated with the presentation embed code; and transmitting the hyperlink by the server over the network in response to the request. [0045] describes that the media publishing system can publish a presentation in a number of ways, including by providing a URL link, or generating and sending a presentation email to recipients. The system can also provide the generated HTML source code to the user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Sharfman with Lanahan. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling additional sharing options for enabling others to access a presentation stored on a remote server.
With regard to Claim 10, Lanahan teaches receiving by the server an indication that a hyperlink was activated, wherein the indication of activation includes data associated with the presentation embed code; and wherein the step of returning the second presentation is triggered by receipt of the indication that a hyperlink was activated. [0031] describes that a presentation is located at a unique URL. Therefore, presentations can be accessed by a hyperlink that includes unique identification information indicating the particular presentation information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Sharfman with Lanahan. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling additional sharing options for enabling others to access a presentation stored on a remote server.
With regard to Claim 11, Lanahan teaches receiving by the server a request for source data associated with a standard HTML multimedia element, wherein the HTML multimedia element indicates a position and size of the multimedia on a web page or an HTML formatted email, and the request for source includes data associated with the presentation embed code. [0058] describes that the requested presentation layer data for multimedia elements includes a position and scale of the element, where [0031] describes that presentations can be accessed by requesting from a unique URL with which the presentation data is associated by being stored at the URL.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Sharfman with Lanahan. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling additional sharing options for enabling others to access a presentation stored on a remote server.
With regard to Claim 12, Sharfman, in view of Lanahan teaches that the request for source data triggers the step of returning the transcoded version of the presentation. Lanahan teaches requesting presentation HTML element source data, as described above. Sharfman teaches at [0131] returning the stored presentation assets for presentation at the requesting device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Sharfman with Lanahan. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling additional sharing options for enabling others to access a presentation stored on a remote server.
With regard to Claim 13, Lanahan suggests receiving by the server an indication that a hyperlink was activated and the indication of activation includes data associated with the presentation embed code; wherein the hyperlink is associated with a standard HTML multimedia element, such that clicking on the standard multimedia element activates the hyperlink; and wherein the step of returning the second presentation is triggered by receipt of an indication that the hyperlink was activated.
Lanahan at [0031] describes that a presentation is located at a unique URL, meaning presentations can be accessed by a hyperlink that includes unique identification information indicating the particular presentation information. As one of skill in the art would understand that a URL often exists in a webpage displayed as text or associated with an image, upon which a user can click in the webpage to access content at the URL, the teaching of a URL would suggest to one of skill in the art a hyperlink which is associated with a standard HTML multimedia element that can be clicked to access a presentation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Sharfman with Lanahan. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling additional sharing options for enabling others to access a presentation stored on a remote server.
Claims 3 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharfman, in view of Lanahan, and in view of Yang, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2024/0371089 (“Yang”).
With regard to Claim 3, Yang teaches providing a chatbot interface along with the dynamically assembled presentation slides over the network, wherein an input and output of the chatbot interface are accessible remotely through the network. Fig. 4E shows a presentation with a chat window, where [0063] describes that a virtual presenter answers question in the chat window regarding the presentation. [0017] describes that the presentation is accessed remotely for presentation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Yang with Lanahan and Sharfman. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling for additional presentation options for users who access presentations remotely, thereby enabling the system to perform additional functions associated with presentations.
With regard to Claim 14, Yang teaches training a large language model system (LLMS) with the extracted text; associating a chatbot interface with the LLMS, the chatbot interface providing an input configured to query the LLMS and an output configured to display feedback from the LLMS; and providing the chatbot interface along with the dynamically assembled presentation slides over the network, wherein the input and output of the chatbot interface is accessible remotely through the network.
Yang teaches at [0024] that the presentation transcript is used to generate an augmented transcript. [0030] describes a Q&A unit which is prepared using the presentation and associated files to answer questions during the presentation. [0019] describes the virtual presenter and chatbot displayed along with presentation slides, as is shown at Fig. 4E.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Yang with Lanahan and Sharfman. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling for additional presentation options for users who access presentations remotely, thereby enabling the system to perform additional functions associated with presentations.
With regard to Claim 15, Yang teaches storing a plurality of input queries and output feedbacks associated with the chatbot interface when the dynamically assembled presentation slides were viewed remotely; and providing a management interface to remotely view the stored input queries and output feedbacks over the network. Fig. 4F and [0064] describe a presenter accessing an interface with presentation controls and the chatbot window where they can review the input queries and feedbacks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Yang with Lanahan and Sharfman. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling for additional presentation options for users who access presentations remotely, thereby enabling the system to perform additional functions associated with presentations.
With regard to Claim 16, Yang suggests selecting an alternative LLMS based on viewing the stored input queries and output feedbacks associated with the existing LLMS. [0064] describes that the presenting user reviews the LLM answers to queries as part of the presentation. [0024] describes that different LLMs can be used, such as GPT-3 or GPT-4 models. As a user has alternatives available, one of skill in the art would understand a user may select a different model if a selected model performs poorly at the task of answering questions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Yang with Lanahan and Sharfman. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling for additional presentation options for users who access presentations remotely, thereby enabling the system to perform additional functions associated with presentations.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharfman, in view of Lanahan, and in view of Carden, Jr., U.S. Patent No. 7,257,767 (“Carden”).
With regard to Claim 4, Lanahan, in view of Carden teaches providing a calendar and scheduling component with the dynamically assembled presentation slides, wherein the calendar and scheduling component is accessible remotely over the network.
Lanahan teaches the display of a dynamically assembled HTML presentation, as described above. Carden teaches at Col. 15, lines 4-67 that an author can submit an HTML abstract including text, multimedia, tables, and assorted data to a remote system. Col. 18, line 62 – Col. 19, line 8 describes that another user viewing the presentation can access an assignment sub-module that allows the person to access a calendar and schedule a presentation time and location for the author.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Carden with Lanahan and Sharfman. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling for submitted presentations to also be published, used for presentations, and other such beneficial uses.
With regard to Claim 5, Carden teaches providing through the calendar and scheduling component, upon a request received through the network, a list of available dates or times associated with the presentation; and receiving a date or time selected remotely from the list through the calendar and scheduling component. Col. 18, line 62 – Col. 19, line 8 describes that the assignment sub-module that allows the person to access a calendar and schedule a presentation time and location for the author. The component show available times, which exclude things like lunch time and coffee breaks, as well as information about other presentation times and subject matter, to enable scheduling presentations of contiguous subject matter. A time can be selected and finalized for the author through the sub-component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Carden with Lanahan and Sharfman. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling for submitted presentations to also be published, used for presentations, and other such beneficial uses.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharfman, in view of Lanahan, and in view of Shin, et al., WO/2016/032267 (“Shin”). The English translation of Shin relied upon for this rejection is provided herewith.
With regard to Claim 6, Shin teaches converting the electronic presentation file to a PDF file, and wherein the step of extracting the text and audiovisual elements extracts text and audiovisual elements from the PDF file. Shin teaches at [0002]-[0004] that the technology is intended to convert files including PowerPoint files to responsive HTML, by first converting the input file to PDF. [0048]-[0050] describe that in the conversion process, the input file is converted to PDF, and then media and characters are prepared by extracting them by subsequently searching them in the PDF document. [0058] additionally describes extracting the media and character information from the PDF.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Shin with Sharfman and Lanahan. The background of Shin describes that the technology is able to handle a wide array of input document types, in order to produce a reactive webpage. Therefore, one of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve system functioning by enabling the use of a wider array of input document types to be published as webpages.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot, as the Caruso reference is no longer relied upon in the rejection. The newly cited Sharfman reference teaches or suggests the elements of the amended claims for the reasons given in the above rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEITH D BLOOMQUIST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171
9/24/2026