DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/24/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
“925” (see page 40 paragraph [0247]);
“955b” (see page 41 paragraph [0248]);
“905” (see page 40 paragraph [0246]);
“900” (see page 40 paragraph [0246]);
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “925a” (see figure 9A).
Reference number “920a” in figure 9B seems to be improper because it seems improperly constructed; it is suggested to be changed to”920b”
Reference number “935a” in figure 9B seems to be improper because it seems improperly constructed; it is suggested to be changed to”935b”
Reference number “945a” in figure 9B seems to be improper because it seems improperly constructed; it is suggested to be changed to”945b”
Reference number “955a” in figure 9B seems to be improper because it seems improperly constructed; it is suggested to be changed to”955b”
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the recitation inline 1 “FDD” seems to be improper because this acronym has not been introduced previously; it is suggested to be changed to “frequency-division duplexing (FDD)”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The recitation “905” in page 40 paragraph [0246] seems to be improper because it is improperly constructed; it is suggested to be changed to “905a-905e”
The recitation “925” in page 40 paragraph [0247] seems to be improper because it is improperly constructed; it is suggested to be changed to “925a-925e”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-12, 15-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pehike (US 20180048345 A1) in view of Leononen (US 20070082622 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 20, Pehike discloses a duplexer configured to filter a receive signal received by an antenna to pass a receive channel of a frequency division duplex band and output a filtered receive signal, and configured to filter an amplified transmit signal for transmission via the antenna to pass a transmit channel of the frequency division duplex band (abstract figure 16 block 1803); a receive amplifier configured to amplify the filtered receive signal to generate an amplified receive signal and to provide the amplified receive signal on a first amplified output and a second amplified output (figures 9-14 LNA 725 switch 713 and 714; LNA 803 with filter with bypass circuit); and a switch configured to selectively output either the filtered receive signal or the second amplified output (figures 9-14 LNA 725 switch 713 and 714; LNA 803 with filter with bypass circuit).
Pehike doesn’t specifically disclose a first noise filter connected to the first output, having a stopband corresponding to the transmit channel, and configured to output a filtered receive signal. Leononen discloses a first noise filter connected to the first output, having a stopband corresponding to the transmit channel, and configured to output a filtered receive signal (figure 6 noise filters 620 and 630 and bypass line 650).
Pehike and Leononen are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by Pehike the noise filtering disclosed by Leononen. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been bypass lossy filtering when signal conditions and the surrounding interference environment allow (see Pehike abstract). See also KSR. In the KSR case, the Court stated that in certain circumstances what is obvious to try is also obvious, such as where "there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem, and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." Regarding hindsight, the Court found that "[r]igid preventive rules that deny fact finders recourse to common sense . . . are neither necessary under our case law nor consistent with it." The Court stated that "familiar items may have obvious uses beyond their primary purposes," analogizing an obvious invention to the fitting together of pieces to a puzzle. The Court in this regard further stated that the person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, and not "an automaton."
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Pehike and Leononen disclose claims 1 and 12, Leononen also discloses a notch filter (paragraph [0066])
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Pehike and Leononen disclose claims 1 and 12, Pehike also discloses is a bulk acoustic wave (BAW) filter, a surface acoustic wave (SAW) filter, a Temperature-compensated SAW (TC-SAW) filter, or an advanced thin-film TC-SAW filter to provide at least 30 dB of noise rejection (paragraph [0188]). Leononen also discloses a bulk acoustic wave (BAW) filter, a surface acoustic wave (SAW) filter, a Temperature-compensated SAW (TC-SAW) filter, or an advanced thin-film TC-SAW filter to provide at least 30 dB of noise rejection (paragraph [0064])
Regarding claim 7, Pehike and Leononen disclose claim 1, Pehike also discloses a dual-mode surface acoustic wave filter (paragraph [0188]). Leononen also discloses a dual-mode surface acoustic wave filter (paragraph [0064])
Regarding claim 8, Pehike and Leononen disclose claim 1, Pehike also discloses an output of the switch is coupled to an input port of a radio frequency integrated circuit (figures 9-14). Leononen also discloses an output of the switch is coupled to an input port of a radio frequency integrated circuit (figure 1-4 and 6)
Regarding claim 9, Pehike and Leononen disclose claim 8, Pehike also discloses a packaged module, and the radio frequency integrated circuit implements a transceiver (figures 9-14). Leononen also discloses a packaged module, and the radio frequency integrated circuit implements a transceiver (figure 1-4 and 6)
Regarding claim 10, Pehike and Leononen disclose claim 1, Leononen also discloses a third amplified output, the front-end system further comprises a second noise filter connected to the third amplified output and configured to output a second filtered receive signal, and the switch configured to selectively output either the filtered receive signal, the second filtered receive signal, or the second amplified output (figure 6)
Regarding claim 11, Pehike and Leononen disclose claim 10, Leononen also discloses the second noise filter has a stop band corresponding to a transmit channel of a second frequency duplex band (figure 6)
Claims 2-3 and 13-14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pehike and Leononen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pehlivanoglu (US 20180062582 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Pehike and Leononen disclose claims 1 and 12, Pehike and Leononen don’t disclose a common transistor receiving the filtered receive signal, a second transistor connected between the common transistor and the first amplified output, and a third transistor connected between the common transistor and the second amplified output. Pehlivanoglu discloses a common transistor receiving the filtered receive signal, a second transistor connected between the common transistor and the first amplified output, and a third transistor connected between the common transistor and the second amplified output (figures 7-9). Pehike, Leononen and Pehlivanoglu are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by Pehike and Leononen the LNA disclosed by Pehlivanoglu. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been a specific LNA (see Pehlivanoglu paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Pehike. Leononen and Pehlivanoglu disclose claims 2 and 13. Pehlivanoglu also discloses the second transistor is biased by a first voltage and the third transistor is biased by a second voltage (figures 7-9).
Regarding claim 17, Pehike and Leononen disclose claim 13, Pehike also discloses an output of the switch is coupled to an input port of a radio frequency integrated circuit, the radio frequency module is implemented in a packaged module, and the radio frequency integrated circuit implements a transceiver (figures 9-14). Leononen also discloses an output of the switch is coupled to an input port of a radio frequency integrated circuit, the radio frequency module is implemented in a packaged module, and the radio frequency integrated circuit implements a transceiver (figure 1-4 and 6)
Regarding claim 18, Pehike and Leononen disclose claim 13, Pehike also discloses an output of the switch is coupled to an input port of a radio frequency integrated circuit, the radio frequency module is implemented in a packaged module, and the radio frequency integrated circuit implements a transceiver (figures 3-4 PA, 16 PAs). Leononen also discloses an output of the switch is coupled to an input port of a radio frequency integrated circuit, the radio frequency module is implemented in a packaged module, and the radio frequency integrated circuit implements a transceiver (figure 1-2, 7 PAs)
Regarding claim 19, Pehike and Leononen disclose claim 13, Leononen also discloses a third amplified output, the front-end system further comprises a second noise filter connected to the third amplified output and configured to output a second filtered receive signal, and the switch configured to selectively output either the filtered receive signal, the second filtered receive signal, or the second amplified output (figure 6).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pehike and Leononen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Edwards (US 8710812 B1).
Regarding claim 4, Pehike and Leononen disclose claim 1, Pehike and Leononen don’t disclose switch is a single-throw, multi-pole switch. Edwards discloses switch is a single-throw, multi-pole switch (figure 9 column 9 lines 24-36). Pehike, Leononen and Edwards are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by Pehike and Leononen the switch disclosed by Edwards. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that the switch can be controlled by a suitable processing or control circuitry (see Edwards column 9 lines 24-36).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-12 and 15-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/599074 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 5-12 and 15-20 of the present application are anticipated by claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/599074 (reference application).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Present Application
Application No 18/599074
1. A radio frequency front-end system comprising: a duplexer configured to filter a receive signal received by an antenna to pass a receive channel of a frequency division duplex band and output a filtered receive signal, and configured to filter an amplified transmit signal for transmission via the antenna to pass a transmit channel of the frequency division duplex band; a receive amplifier configured to amplify the filtered receive signal to generate an amplified receive signal and to provide the amplified receive signal on a first amplified output and a second amplified output; a first noise filter connected to the first amplified output, having a stopband corresponding to the transmit channel, and configured to output a filtered receive signal; and a switch configured to selectively output either the filtered receive signal or the second amplified output
1. A radio frequency front-end system comprising: a duplexer including an uplink filter and a downlink filter, the downlink filter configured to filter a receive signal received by an antenna to output a filtered receive signal and having a passband corresponding to a receive channel of a frequency division duplex communication band, the uplink filter configured to filter an amplified transmit signal for transmission via the antenna and having a passband corresponding to a transmit channel of the frequency division duplex communication band; a receive amplifier configured to amplify the filtered receive signal to output an amplified receive signal; and a post-amplifier receive circuit including a first noise filter having a stopband corresponding to the transmit channel, the post-amplifier receive circuit configured to selectively output either the amplified receive signal or a filtered version of the amplified receive signal filtered by the first noise filter.
5. The radio frequency front-end system of claim 1 wherein the first noise filter is a notch filter
4. The radio frequency front-end system of claim 1 wherein the first noise filter is a notch filter or a bandstop filter.
6. The radio frequency front-end system of claim 1 wherein the first noise filter is a bulk acoustic wave (BAW) filter, a surface acoustic wave (SAW) filter, a Temperature-compensated SAW (TC-SAW) filter, or an advanced thin-film TC-SAW filter to provide at least 30 dB of noise rejection
5. The radio frequency front-end system of claim 1 wherein the first noise filter is a bulk acoustic wave (BAW) filter, a surface acoustic wave (SAW) filter, a Temperature-compensated SAW (TC-SAW) filter, or an advanced thin-film TC-SAW filter to provide at least 30 dB of noise rejection.
7. The radio frequency front-end system of claim 1 wherein the first noise filter is a dual-mode surface acoustic wave filter
6. The radio frequency front-end system of claim 1 wherein the first noise filter is a dual-mode surface acoustic wave filter.
8. The radio frequency front-end system of claim 1 wherein an output of the switch
is coupled to an input port of a radio frequency integrated circuit
7. The radio frequency front-end system of claim 1 wherein an output of the post-amplifier receive circuit
is coupled to an input port of a radio frequency integrated circuit.
9. The radio frequency front-end system of claim 8 wherein the radio frequency front-end system is implemented in a packaged module, and the radio frequency integrated circuit implements a transceiver
8. The radio frequency front-end system of claim 7 wherein the radio frequency front-end system is implemented in a packaged module, and the radio frequency integrated circuit is a transceiver.
10. The radio frequency front-end system of claim 1 wherein the receive amplifier includes a third amplified output, the front-end system further comprises a second noise filter connected to the third amplified output and configured to output a second filtered receive signal, and the switch configured to selectively output either the filtered receive signal, the second filtered receive signal, or the second amplified output
10. The radio frequency front-end system of claim 1 wherein the post-amplifier receive circuit further includes a second noise filter, the post-amplifier receive circuit configured to selectively output either the amplified receive signal, the filtered version of the amplified receive signal filtered by the first noise filter, or a second amplified receive signal filtered by the second noise filter.
11. The radio frequency front-end system of claim 10 wherein the second noise filter has a stop band corresponding to a transmit channel of a second frequency duplex band
13. The radio frequency front-end system of claim 10 wherein the second noise filter has a stop band corresponding to a transmit channel of a second frequency duplex communication band.
12. A mobile device comprising: an antenna; a radio frequency integrated circuit; and a radio frequency module including a duplexer, a receive amplifier, a first noise filter, and a switch, the duplexer configured to filter a receive signal received by an antenna to pass a receive channel of a frequency division duplex band and output a filtered receive signal, and configured to filter an amplified transmit signal for transmission via the antenna to pass a transmit channel of the frequency division duplex band, the receive amplifier configured to amplify the filtered receive signal to output an amplified receive signal and to provide the amplified receive signal on a first amplified output and a second amplified output, the first noise filter connected to the first amplified output, having a stopband corresponding to the transmit channel, and configured to output a filtered receive signal, and the switch configured to selectively output either the filtered receive signal or the second amplified output
14. A mobile device comprising: an antenna; a radio frequency integrated circuit; and a radio frequency module including a duplexer, a receive amplifier, and a post-amplifier receive circuit, the duplexer including an uplink filter and a downlink filter, the downlink filter configured to filter a receive signal received by an antenna and having a passband corresponding to a receive channel of a frequency division duplex communication band, the uplink filter configured to filter an amplified transmit signal for transmission via the antenna and having a passband corresponding to a transmit channel of the frequency division duplex communication band, the receive amplifier configured to amplify the filtered receive signal output by the downlink filter to output an amplified receive signal, and the post-amplifier receive circuit including a first noise filter having a stopband corresponding to the transmit channel, the post-amplifier receive circuit configured to selectively output to the radio frequency integrated circuit either the amplified receive signal or a filtered version of the amplified receive signal filtered by the first noise filter
15. The mobile device of claim 12 wherein the first noise filter is a notch filter.
17. The mobile device of claim 14 wherein first noise filter is a notch
filter.
16. The mobile device of claim 12 wherein the first noise filter is a bulk acoustic wave (BAW) filter, a surface acoustic wave (SAW) filter, a Temperature-compensated SAW (TC-SAW) filter, or an advanced thin-film TC-SAW filter to provide at least 30 dB of noise rejection.
5. The radio frequency front-end system of claim 1 wherein the first noise filter is a bulk acoustic wave (BAW) filter, a surface acoustic wave (SAW) filter, a Temperature-compensated SAW (TC-SAW) filter, or an advanced thin-film TC-SAW filter to provide at least 30 dB of noise rejection.
17. The mobile device of claim 13 wherein an output of the switch is coupled to an input port of a radio frequency integrated circuit,
the radio frequency module is implemented in a packaged module, and the radio frequency integrated circuit implements a transceiver
18. The mobile device of claim 14 wherein
the radio frequency module is implemented in a packaged module, and the radio frequency integrated circuit implements a transceiver.
18. The mobile device of claim 13 further comprising a transmit power amplifier configured to amplify a radio frequency transmit signal to generate the amplified transmit signal
9. The radio frequency front-end system of claim 1 further comprising a transmit power amplifier configured to amplify a radio frequency transmit signal to generate the amplified transmit signal.
19. The mobile device of claim 13 wherein the receive amplifier includes a third amplified output, radio frequency module further comprises a second noise filter connected to the third amplified output and configured to output a second filtered receive signal, and the switch configured to selectively output either the filtered receive signal, the second filtered receive signal, or the second amplified output
10. The radio frequency front-end system of claim 1 wherein the post-amplifier receive circuit further includes a second noise filter, the post-amplifier receive circuit configured to selectively
output either the amplified
receive signal, the filtered version
of the amplified receive signal filtered by the first noise filter, or a second amplified receive signal filtered by the second noise filter
20. A mobile device comprising: an antenna; a transceiver; and a front end including a duplexer, a receive amplifier, a first noise filter, and a switch, the duplexer including uplink and
downlink filters, the downlink filter configured to filter a receive signal received by an antenna and having a passband corresponding to a receive channel of a frequency division duplex communication band, the uplink filter configured to filter an amplified transmit signal for transmission via the antenna and having a passband corresponding to a transmit channel of the frequency division duplex communication band, the receive amplifier configured to amplify the filtered receive signal output by the downlink filter to generate an amplified receive signal, and to provide the amplified receive signal on a first amplified output and a second amplified output, the first noise filter connected to the first amplified output, having a stopband corresponding to the transmit channel, and configured to output a filtered receive signal, and the switch configured to selectively output either the filtered receive signal or the second amplified output
20. A mobile device comprising: an antenna; a transceiver; and a front end including a duplexer, a receive amplifier, and a post-amplifier receive circuit, the duplexer including an uplink filter and a downlink filter, the downlink filter configured to filter a receive signal received by an antenna and having a passband corresponding to a receive channel of a frequency division duplex communication band, the uplink filter configured to filter an amplified transmit signal for transmission via the antenna and having a passband corresponding to a transmit channel of the frequency division duplex communication band, the receive amplifier configured to amplify the filtered receive signal output by the downlink filter to output an amplified receive signal, and
the post-amplifier receive circuit
including a first noise filter having a stopband corresponding to the
transmit channel, the post-amplifier receive circuit configured to
selectively output to the transceiver
either the amplified receive
signal or a filtered version of the amplified receive signal filtered by the first noise filter
Claims 2-3 and 13-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/599074 (reference application) in view of Pehlivanoglu (US 20180062582 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/599074 (reference application) disclose claims 1 and 12, claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/599074 (reference application) don’t disclose a common transistor receiving the filtered receive signal, a second transistor connected between the common transistor and the first amplified output, and a third transistor connected between the common transistor and the second amplified output. Pehlivanoglu discloses a common transistor receiving the filtered receive signal, a second transistor connected between the common transistor and the first amplified output, and a third transistor connected between the common transistor and the second amplified output (figures 7-9). claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/599074 (reference application) and Pehlivanoglu are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/599074 (reference application) the LNA disclosed by Pehlivanoglu. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been a specific LNA (see Pehlivanoglu paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/599074 (reference application) and Pehlivanoglu disclose claims 2 and 13. Pehlivanoglu also discloses the second transistor is biased by a first voltage and the third transistor is biased by a second voltage (figures 7-9).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/599074 (reference application) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Edwards (US 8710812 B1).
Regarding claim 4, claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/599074 (reference application) disclose claim 1, claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/599074 (reference application) don’t disclose switch is a single-throw, multi-pole switch. Edwards discloses switch is a single-throw, multi-pole switch (figure 9 column 9 lines 24-36). claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/599074 (reference application) and Edwards are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/599074 (reference application) the switch disclosed by Edwards. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that the switch can be controlled by a suitable processing or control circuitry (see Edwards column 9 lines 24-36).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Xiong (US 20200313701 A1) discloses radio frequency circuit and mobile terminal.
Raghavan (US 20200067548 A1) discloses radio frequency communication systems with coexistence management based on digital observation data.
Pehlke (US 20210028813 A1) discloses methods and apparatus for enhanced transceiver performance using differential filtering.
Aramata (US 20180167094 A1) discloses communication module.
Oh (US 20150229463 A1) mode switching available wireless transceiver.
Leinonen (US 20060135195 A1) discloses interoperability improvement between receivers and transmitters in a mobile station.
Pehlke (US 20200412403 A1) discloses RF front-end with filter-based interface to multi-feed antenna.
Kwon (US 20130230026 A1) discloses compact transceiver architecture for achieving device to device (D2D) communication using uplink and downlink carrier frequencies .
Raghavan (US 20200067606 A1) discloses radio frequency communication systems with coexistence management.
Raghavan (US 20200067549 A1) discloses radio frequency communication systems with discrete time cancellation for coexistence management.
/JUAN A TORRES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634