DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 13, the term "pint" should be "print".
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings fail to show “nozzle plate” (as recited in claim 10) in a broadest sense. Does “closure plate 111” as shown in fig.6 correspond to “nozzle plate” (as recited in claim 10)? The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “nozzle plate” (as recited in claim 10) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Due to drawing objection, the instant specification is also objected because the instant specification does not consistently reflect what being claimed i.e. “nozzle plate” (as recited in claim 10) in the instant specification.
Note that the instant specification must consistently reflect claimed limitations.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
As to claim 7, claim 7 recites limitations "the type”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. The claim languages “the type" appear for the first time, however, read as though they have already been recited. See MPEP 2173.05(e).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka – US 20120287186.
As to claim 1, Tanaka teaches a method for analyzing a print head 24 ([0044, 0049]: analyzing/detecting temperature of the print head 24), comprising the steps of:
driving a piezo element 48 within the print head 24 with a sequence of voltage profiles (fig.4C and [0065] shows a sequence of voltage profiles P2 driving piezo elements 48; thus “driving a piezo element within the print head with a sequence of voltage profiles”); and
detecting a sound level, a current flow, a resistance, an impedance, and/or a temperature of the print head during the driving ([0044, 0049]: discharge conditions can be varied according to the environment of the print head 24, such as the temperature of the print head 24; thus “detecting a sound level, a current flow, a resistance, an impedance, and/or a temperature of the print head during the driving”).
As to claim 3, Tanaka teaches the piezo element 48 is excited over a predetermined period of time ([0064-0065] and figs.4B-4C shows piezo element 48 is excited over a predetermined period of time i.e. t0-t5).
As to claim 4, Tanaka teaches the sequence of the voltage profiles comprises a predetermined sequence of the voltage profiles different from one another ([0064-0065] and figs.4B-4C: a sequence of the voltage profiles different from one another over a predetermined period of time i.e. t0-t5).
As to claim 5, Tanaka teaches a hold time (peak portion t1 to t2), rise time (rising pulse portion t0 to t1) and/or fall time (falling pulse portion t2 to t3) of the voltage profiles P2 increases or decreases in sequence ([0064-0065] and figs.4B-4C).
As to claim 6, Tanaka teach a course of the current flow or the temperature of the print head 24 is detected during the driving ([0049]).
As to claim 13, Tanaka teaches the print head 24 comprises a printing nozzle 23, and wherein the printing nozzle 23 is open or closed during the method ([0044]: rate of fluid/ink discharged is monitored based on detected temperature of print head 24; thus “the printing nozzle is open or closed during the method”).
As to claim 14, Tanaka teaches the print head 24 is covered by a closure plate 40 ([0053]: capping device 40 raises the cap 41 to seal the nozzle plate 27, with the print head 24 having been moved to the home position facing the capping device 40 during a pause in printing; hence, capping device 40 corresponds to “a closure plate”).
As to claim 15, Tanaka teaches a printing device 20, which is configured to carry out the method as claimed in claim 1 ([0021-0028]: monitoring temperature of discharge head or print head of print device 20 because discharge condition can be a condition which changes according to an environment of the discharge head i.e. temperature; [0026]: the discharge condition that a nozzle in an unstable state be put into a dot omission state changes according to the environment of the discharge head or print head; thus “a printing device, which is configured to carry out the method as claimed in claim 1”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Tanaka and further in view of Yokozawa – US 20080297552.
As to claim 7, Tanaka does not explicitly teach the detected course i.e. temperature is compared with a pre-stored course.
Yokozawa teaches temperature of the print head is detected during printing and compares the detected temperature with a predetermined threshold to control printing operations ([0008]).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka with teachings of Yokozawa to include the detected course i.e. temperature is compared with a pre-stored course, to control printing operation ([0008]).
Claim 8 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Tanaka and Yokozawa and further in view of Yamada – US 6359701 B1.
As to claim 8, modified Tanaka does not explicitly teach the type of a printing liquid inside the print head is determined or characterized based on the comparison.
Yamada teaches a concept of: print head temperature depends on ink type (col.49, lines 25-27).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Tanaka with teachings of Yamada to include the type of a printing liquid inside the print head is determined or characterized based on the comparison, to identify ink type (col.49, lines 25-27).
Claim 2 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Tanaka and further in view of DeVore – US 20100165034.
As to claim 2, while Tanaka teaches the pint head 24 comprises a printing nozzle 23, Tanaka does not explicitly teach a malfunction of the printing nozzle is detected when the detected sound level, the current flow, or the temperature is above a predetermined value.
DeVore teaches a concept of: sound is employed to determine if the printhead has a defective nozzle; if nozzle fails to have an acoustical level above the threshold, and thus is considered as being defective ([0024-0025 and 0029]).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka with teachings of DeVore to include a malfunction of the printing nozzle is detected when the detected sound level, the current flow, or the temperature is compared to any desired value i.e. above a predetermined value, to determine if the printhead has a defective nozzle ([0024]).
Claim 12 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Tanaka and further in view of Takada – Translate_JP2018051822A.
As to claim 12, Tanaka does not explicitly teach the method is performed when printing liquid in the print head is changed.
Takada teaches a concept of: inkjet printing apparatus uses pattern image data and the calculation program data for analyzing the pattern image, for example, when ink is changed to another ink different from the ink mounted on the apparatus (see page 8 and abstract).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka with teachings of Takada to include the method is performed when printing liquid in the print head is changed, because low or expired ink causes poor quality, clogs, and prevents proper diagnostic testing. Fresh ink ensures the print head does not dry out, prevents air bubbles from forming during cleaning, and allows for accurate nozzle checks.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable once claim objection, drawing objection, and specification objection are corrected and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 9, claim 9 includes the sequence of the voltage profiles comprises a predetermined sequence of the voltage profiles equal to one another, when in combination with all other elements in the claim 1 distinguish the present invention from the prior arts.
As to claim 10, claim 10 includes detachment of a nozzle plate is detected when the current flow falls below a predetermined value, when in combination with all other elements in the claim 1 distinguish the present invention from the prior arts.
As to claim 11, claim 11 includes wear of the piezo element is detected when the detected sound level or current flow falls below a predetermined value, when in combination with all other elements in the claim 1 distinguish the present invention from the prior arts.
Conclusion
/TRUONG D PHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855