DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to an application filed with the US on 03/07/2024 and having an Effective Filing Date of 03/07/2023, in which claims 1-18 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the processed oil”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “to remove water from impurities for use in an oil purification process”. It is not clear if the water or the impurities are “for use in an oil purification process.” Correction is required. Either will be used for claim interpretation.
Claims 12-18 are rejected for depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musleh B. Al-Otaibi, Ali Elkamel, Vahid Nassehi, Sabah A. Abdul-Wahab; A Computational Intelligence Based Approach for the Analysis and Optimization of a Crude Oil Desalting and Dehydration Process. Energy Fuels 16 November 2005; 19 (6): 2526–2534. (hereinafter “Al-Otaibi”) in view of US 20090314688 A1 (hereinafter “Gordon”), US 4,180,457 (hereinafter “Popp”), and CA 2772095 A1 (hereinafter “Kayukawa”)
Regarding Claim 1 Al-Otaibi discloses a system (Figure 1 and 2) for removing impurities from oil comprising:
a pure water tank (wash water tank);
an impure oil tank (wet tank) containing impure oil having included impurities;
a pump that receives the impure oil from the impure oil tank and a pump that receives the pure water from the pure water tank, and
the impure oil and the treated pure water are mixed (between (5 )and (6)) to form a treated impure oil/pure water combination;
a settling tank (desalter) that receives the treated impure oil/pure water combination from the pumps, wherein water and oil within the treated impure oil/pure water combination separate;
a water purification system (water treatment plant) that purifies water separated from the impure oil/pure water combination; and
a pump provided to move the purified water for reuse in oil purification (to wet tank); Figs. 1-2, Abstract, 2. Desalting/Dehydration Plant Operation, 4.2. Experimental Setup and Procedures.
Al-Otaibi does not disclose (1) the pure water tank receives chemicals to produce treated pure water, (2) a high-pressure centrifugal pump that receives and mixes both the impure oil and the pure water, wherein upon receipt, pressure in the high-pressure centrifugal pump is increased from 50 to 600 PSI and the impure oil and the treated pure water are mixed to form a treated impure oil/pure water combination; and the settling tank receives the treated impure oil/pure water combination through an expansion port that introduces a pressure drop, wherein the included impurities break away from oil globules in the pressure drop and the oil globules reduce in size; or (3) a pump provided to move the purified water to the pure water tank to reuse in oil purification.
However, regarding (1) “the pure water tank receives chemicals to produce treated pure water”, this involves an intended use of the claimed system, where the manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art (See MPEP 2114(II)) and further the water, oil and chemicals are material worked upon and thus does not limit the apparatus claim (see MPEP 2115).
With regard to (2) a high pressure pump and an expansion port, Gordon discloses a similar process of removing impurities from oil by combing a source of oil with water, mixing the oil and water, using a pump to pressurize the mixture to 50-5000 psi, and then passing the oil/water mixture through a flow-through hydrodynamic cavitation device (i.e. an expansion port that introduces a pressure drop) before separation of the oil and water, where the cavitation creates bubble and “[t]he pulsation and/or implosion of these bubbles mixes the oil and water, greatly increasing the surface contact area of these unmixable liquids; (Abstract, [0029]-[0030], [0034], [0062], Figs. 1 and 4-6).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Al-Otaibi by including a pump after the water and oil mix, to pressurize the oil/water mixture to 50-5000 psi before sending the mixture through a flow-through hydrodynamic cavitation device as disclosed by Gordon in order to increase the surface contact area of the oil and water in the mixture, to help extract impurities.
Thus this combination will include a pump that receives and (inherently) mixes both the impure oil and the pure water (i.e. which originate from the pure water tank and the impure oil tank), wherein upon receipt, pressure in the pump is increased from 50 to 600 PSI and the impure oil and the treated pure water are (inherently) mixed to form a treated impure oil/pure water combination; and the settling tank thus receives the treated impure oil/pure water combination through the flow-through hydrodynamic cavitation (i.e. an expansion port) that introduces a pressure drop, wherein (inherently) the included impurities will break away from oil globules in the pressure drop and the oil globules will reduce in size; as claimed. See MPEP 2112 with regard to inherency.
With regard to a centrifugal pump, Popp discloses a similar method of removing impurities from oil by mixing with water and then separating the oil and water (i.e. desalting), where a centrifugal pump is used to pump water into a mixer which mixes it with crude oil; Abstract, Fig. 1, C4/L3-40, C5/L3-35.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon by using for the pump(s) a centrifugal pump as disclosed by Popp because this involves the simple substitution of a known pump used in oil purification/desalting for another to obtain the predictable result of forming a functional oil purification system.
With regard to (3) a pump provided to move the purified water to the pure water tank to reuse in oil purification, Al-Otaibi discloses the water is recycled after separation from the oil and water treatment for use to mix with the oil again, but does not disclose sending the water back to the pure water tank where it originated, supra. Further Kayukawa discloses a similar method of removing impurities from oil using water, wherein after oil water separation, the water is recycled to a recycled water tank, which is used to provide the water to be mixed with the oil and includes a pump provided to move the separated/purified water to the recycled water tank to reuse in oil purification; Fig. 6.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon by including a pump to move the purified water to the pure water tank where it originated as Kayukawa in order to reuse it in the oil purification so that it can be stored and used as needed, and because the pure water tank is already available for this use.
Regarding Claim 2 Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp and Kayukawa discloses the system of claim 1, and regarding “the pure water tank receives chemicals through direct addition”, this involves an intended use of the claimed system, where the manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art (See MPEP 2114(II)) and further the water, oil and chemicals are material worked upon and thus does not limit the apparatus claim (see MPEP 2115).
Regarding Claim 3 Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp and Kayukawa discloses the system of claim 1, and regarding “wherein the pure water tank receives chemicals through the chemicals passing through a ball valve to a pump” this involves an intended use of the claimed system, where the manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art (See MPEP 2114(II)) and further the water, oil and chemicals are material worked upon and thus does not limit the apparatus claim (see MPEP 2115). It is thus not clear if the ball valve and pump are positively claimed. If this limitation is seen to positively claim a pump and ball valve that may deliver chemicals to the pure water tank, then it is noted that in the combined invention the purified water is recycled back to the pure water tank, this necessarily or obviously would require a pump to deliver the water, and with regard toa ball valve, it would have been obvious to use vales, including the old and well known ball valve, in order to control flow of recycled water to the pure water tank, as opposed to the disposal, i.e. vales are disclosed which control where the treated water goes. Notably, the pump and valves which supply the treated water may also supply chemicals, through injection or by the chemicals remaining in the purified water. Thus it is obvious to include a ball vale and pump which would be physically capable of supplying chemicals to the pure water tank. Thus this claim is obvious in view of the cited prior art, in light of the weight given intended use limitations.
Regarding Claim 4 Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp and Kayukawa discloses the system of claim 1, and regarding “wherein the chemicals include a surfactant to lessen surface tension of oil globules and the included impurities”, this involves an intended use of the claimed system, where the manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art (See MPEP 2114(II)) and further the water, oil and chemicals are material worked upon and thus does not limit the apparatus claim (see MPEP 2115).
Regarding Claim 5 Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp and Kayukawa discloses the system of claim 4, and regarding “wherein the chemicals also include a flocculant that causes solids and the included impurities to settle out of the impure oil by gravity or centrifugal force”, this involves an intended use of the claimed system, where the manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art (See MPEP 2114(II)) and further the water, oil and chemicals are material worked upon and thus does not limit the apparatus claim (see MPEP 2115).
Regarding Claim 10 Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp and Kayukawa discloses the system of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the system is permanently mounted at a well, multiple wells, and/or at an oil storage facility. However, as the system of Al-Otaibi is made for processing crude oil, it would have been obvious to include the system installed permanently where the oil originates, i.e. at a well.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp and Kayukawa further in view of US 2013/0161238 A1 hereinafter “Salazar”).
Regarding Claim 6 Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp and Kayukawa discloses the system of claim 1, but does not disclose a process tank baffle within the settling tank.
However Salazar discloses it is known to include a baffle in desalters (i.e. settling tanks) to prevent water from exiting with the separated oil; Fig. 2, [0042].
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp and Kayukawa by including a baffle in the desalter(s) (i.e. settling tank(s)) as disclosed by Salazr to prevent water from exiting with the separated oil.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp and Kayukawa further in view of US 11,306,260 B1 hereinafter “Cox”).
Regarding Claim 7 Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp and Kayukawa discloses the system of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the water purification system purifies water through reverse osmosis deionization (RODI) which removes impurities from the water to produce purified water that is capable of being reused in an oil purification process.
However Cox discloses a similar method of removing impurities from oil by mixing it with water and then separating the oil and water, wherein a water purification system is sued to produce the source water, the water purification system purifies water through reverse osmosis deionization (RODI) which removes impurities from the water to produce purified water that is capable of being used in an oil purification process; Abstract, Fig. 1, C7/L7-C10/L40.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp and Kayukawa by using for the water purification system one which purifies water through reverse osmosis deionization (RODI) which removes impurities from the water to produce purified water that is capable of being used in an oil purification process as disclosed by Cox because this provides deionized water with a very low amount of dissolved ions and salts which is suitable for use in use for purifying oil.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp and Kayukawa further in view of CN 111315460 A hereinafter “Koleshwar”).
Regarding Claim 8 Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp and Kayukawa discloses the system of claim 1, but is silent to the type of treatment in the water treatment plant and thus does not disclose wherein the water purification system purifies water through steam distillation.
However Koleshwar discloses that in addition to reverse osmosis other process may be used to desalinate desalter effluent after it has been deoiled, including steam distillation (pg. 8 of translation, next to last para.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp and Kayukawa by using for the water purification system one which purifies water through steam distillation as disclosed by Koleshwar because this is a known means for desalinating desalter effluent water and thus involves the simple substitution of know desalter effluent water purification process to obtain the predictable result of forming a successful system for removing impurities from oil.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp and Kayukawa further in view of US 2016/0097247 A1 hereinafter “Marco”).
Regarding Claim 9 Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp and Kayukawa discloses the system of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the system is portable.
However, Marco discloses it is known to provide similar oilfield filtration systems on a mobile platform, so that it is easily portable to be brought to the location where filtration is needed to avoid transporting fluids to a non-portable filtration system; Abstract, [0005], [0032], [0036].
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp and Kayukawa by forming it to be portable as disclosed by Marco so that it is easily portable to be brought to the location where filtration is needed to avoid transporting fluids to a non-portable filtration system.
Claims 11, 15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp, Heart, US 4,415,434 A hereinafter “Hargreaves”) and Kayukawa.
Regarding Claim 11 Al-Otaibi discloses a method for removing impurities from oil comprising:
mixing impure oil having included impurities with pure water, the mixing resulting in a treated impure oil/pure water combination;
pumping the treated impure oil/pure water combination under pressure into a settling tank, wherein water and oil separate,
purifying water separated from the treated impure oil/pure water combination; and
repeating the mixing, pumping, and purifying steps until a threshold level of impurities in the processed oil is attained ((treated) [crude] continues to pass through a BS&W analyzer (stream no.12). If the treated crude is within the specification, a signal is sent to the diverting valve to open the dry tank, otherwise the flow is directed back to the wet tank); Figs. 1-2, Abstract, 2. Desalting/Dehydration Plant Operation, 4.2. Experimental Setup and Procedures.
It is not specifically disclosed that separation is “until impurity equilibrium is attained between the oil and the water”, however the goal is to remove impurities in the separation, so it would have been obvious to perform separation until impurity equilibrium is attained between the oil and the water to optimize the amount of impurities removed.
Al-Otaibi does not disclose (1) using a centrifugal pump for the mixing and pumping the treated impure oil/pure water combination under pressure through an expansion port having a pressure drop into the settling tank, (2) the pure water includes at least one surfactant that reduces affinity for smaller oil globules to rejoin into larger oil globules and reduces surface tension of the included impurities so they do not stick to the oil globules or to each other, or (3) transferring the purified water to a tank containing the pure water
However, regarding (1) an expansion port, Gordon discloses a similar process of removing impurities from oil by combing a source of oil with water, mixing the oil and water, using a pump to pressurize the mixture to 50-5000 psi, and then passing the oil/water mixture through a flow-through hydrodynamic cavitation device (i.e. an expansion port that introduces a pressure drop) before separation of the oil and water, where the cavitation creates bubble and “[t]he pulsation and/or implosion of these bubbles mixes the oil and water, greatly increasing the surface contact area of these unmixable liquids; (Abstract, [0029]-[0030], [0034], [0062], Figs. 1 and 4-6).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Al-Otaibi by using a pump to pressurize the oil/water mixture to 50-5000 psi then sending the mixture through a flow-through hydrodynamic cavitation device before going into the separator as disclosed by Gordon in order to increase the surface contact area of the oil and water in the mixture, to help extract impurities.
Thus this combination will include using a pump for pumping the treated impure oil/pure water combination under pressure through an expansion port having a pressure drop into the settling tank, wherein the oil and water will inherently mix during the pump, as claimed. See MPEP 2112 with regard to inherency.
With regard to a centrifugal pump, Popp discloses a similar method of removing impurities from oil by mixing with water and then separating the oil and water (i.e. desalting), where a centrifugal pump is used to pump water into a mixer which mixes it with crude oil; Abstract, Fig. 1, C4/L3-40, C5/L3-35.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon by using for the pump(s) a centrifugal pump as disclosed by Popp because this involves the simple substitution of a known pump used in oil purification/desalting for another to obtain the predictable result of forming a functional oil purification system.
With regard to (2) a surfactant, Al-Otaibi discloses use of a demulsifier which may be added to the oil or the oil/water mixture (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2), which are surfactants, and Gordon discloses a surfactant may be added to adjust viscosity ([0096]). Neither specifically discloses the demulsifier or surfactant is added to the pure water and “reduces affinity for smaller oil globules to rejoin into larger oil globules and reduces surface tension of the included impurities so they do not stick to the oil globules or to each other”.
However, with regard to adding the surfactant to the water, Hart discloses a similar method of removing impurities from oil by mixing with water and then separating the oil and water (i.e. desalting), where a demulsifier is added to the wash water which is mixed with the oil; Abstract, Claims 1-2.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Al-Otaibi by adding a surfactant to the pure water as disclosed by Hart as this is known alternative to mixing the surfactant with the oil or the oil/water mixture.
With regard to the type of surfactant, Hargreaves discloses a similar method of removing impurities from oil by mixing with water and then separating the oil and water (i.e. desalting), where an emulsifier (a surfactant) is added to the oil to help with dedusting, by keeping the droplets small, to lower the surface tension and enhance dedusting; C5/L35-46, C9/L12-20). Where the emulsifier is thus seen to be a surfactant that “reduces affinity for smaller oil globules to rejoin into larger oil globules and reduces surface tension of the included impurities so they do not stick to the oil globules or to each other” as claimed.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Al-Otaibi by using an emulsifier surfactant as disclosed by Hargreaves to lower the surface tension and enhance dedusting by keeping the droplets small.
With regard to (3) transferring the purified water to a tank containing the pure water, Al-Otaibi discloses the water is recycled after separation from the oil and water treatment for use to mix with the oil again, but does not disclose sending the water back to the pure water tank where it originated, supra. Further Kayukawa discloses a similar method of removing impurities from oil using water, wherein after oil water separation, the water is recycled to a recycled water tank, which is used to provide the water to be mixed with the oil and includes a pump provided to move the separated/purified water to the recycled water tank to reuse in oil purification; Fig. 6.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon by including a pump to move the purified water to the pure water tank where it originated as Kayukawa in order to reuse it in the oil purification so that it can be stored and used as needed, and because the pure water tank is already available for this use.
Regarding Claim 15 Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp Hart, Hargreaves and Kayukawa discloses the method of claim 11 further comprising: testing the separated oil to determine level of impurities remaining prior to another pass in an oil purification process (“(treated) [crude] continues to pass through a BS&W analyzer (stream no.12). If the treated crude is within the specification, a signal is sent to the diverting valve to open the dry tank, otherwise the flow is directed back to the wet tank”, Al-Otaibi 2. Desalting/Dehydration Plant Operation).
Regarding Claims 17-18 Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp Hart, Hargreaves and Kayukawa discloses the method of claim 11 but does not disclose isolating additives in the water separated from the treated impure oil/pure water combination to be reclaimed and reused, or (claim 18) evaporating impure water in the water separated from the treated impure oil/pure water combination to remove water from impurities for use in an oil purification process.
However Hargreaves discloses a similar method of removing impurities from oil by mixing with water and then separating the oil and water (i.e. including desalting), wherein the dusty stream from the desalter (i.e. the water with extracted impurities) is filtered and then heated in a dryer to remove residual oil and water from the stream before then combusting the dried stream and using it as heat carrier material in the retort and dryer (i.e. isolating additives in the water separated from the treated impure oil/pure water combination to be reclaimed and reused in the oil purification process); Abstract, Fig. 1, C5/L35-C6/L7.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp Hart, Hargreaves and Kayukawa by isolating additives in the water separated from the treated impure oil/pure water combination, by heating/evaporation of the water, so the impurities are reclaimed and reused in the oil purification process as disclosed by Hargreaves in order to minimize waste and provide use for waste products.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp, Hart, Hargreaves and Kayukawa further in view of US 2010/0089787 A1 hereinafter “Chakka”).
Regarding Claim 12 Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp Hart, Hargreaves and Kayukawa discloses the method of claim 11, but does not disclose wherein the pure water also includes a flocculant.
However Chakka discloses a similar method of removing impurities from oil by mixing with water and then separating the oil and water (i.e. including desalting), wherein it is disclosed that various chemicals can be injected into the desalter including emulsifiers, demulsifies and flocculants; [0033], [0049], [0069]-[0070].
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp Hart, Hargreaves and Kayukawa by additionally including injecting a flocculant as disclosed by Chakka because this a known additive for desalting processes. Where it would have been obvious to inject the flocculant at the same location as the surfactant in the combined invention, i.e. in the pure water tank as discussed supra.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp Hart, Hargreaves and Kayukawa further in view of Cox.
Regarding Claim 13 Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp Hart, Hargreaves and Kayukawa discloses the method of claim 11, but does not disclose wherein the purifying step purifies water through reverse osmosis deionization (RODI) which removes impurities from the water to produce purified water that is capable of being reused in an oil purification process.
However Cox discloses a similar method of removing impurities from oil by mixing it with water and then separating the oil and water, wherein a water purification system is sued to produce the source water, the water purification system purifies water through reverse osmosis deionization (RODI) which removes impurities from the water to produce purified water that is capable of being used in an oil purification process; Abstract, Fig. 1, C7/L7-C10/L40.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp Hart, Hargreaves and Kayukawa by using for the water purification system on which purifies water through reverse osmosis deionization (RODI) which removes impurities from the water to produce purified water that is capable of being used in an oil purification process as disclosed by Cox because this provides deionized water with a very low amount of dissolved ions and salts which is suitable for use in use for purifying oil.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp, Hart, Hargreaves and Kayukawa further in view of Koleshwar.
Regarding Claim 14 Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp Hart, Hargreaves and Kayukawa discloses the method of claim 11, but is silent to the type of treatment in the water treatment plant and thus does not disclose wherein the purifying step purifies water through steam distillation.
However Koleshwar discloses that in addition to reverse osmosis other process may be used to desalinate desalter effluent after it has been deoiled, including steam distillation (pg. 8 of translation, next to last para.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp and Kayukawa by using for the water purification system one which purifies water through steam distillation as disclosed by Koleshwar because this is a known means for desalinating desalter effluent water and thus involves the simple substitution of know desalter effluent water purification process to obtain the predictable result of forming a successful system for removing impurities from oil.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp, Hart, Hargreaves and Kayukawa further in view of US 2021/0246051 A1 (hereinafter “Alghunaimi”).
Regarding Claim 16 Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp Hart, Hargreaves and Kayukawa discloses the method of claim 11 but does not disclose prior to the mixing step, removing unwanted water in the impure oil having included impurities.
However Alghunaimi discloses a similar method of removing impurities from oil by mixing with water and then separating the oil and water (i.e. desalting), wherein prior to desalting, and prior to mixing the water with the oil for the desalter, the oil is dehydrated; Fig. 1, [0025]-[0028].
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Al-Otaibi in view of Gordon, Popp Hart, Hargreaves and Kayukawa by prior to the mixing step, removing unwanted water in the impure oil having included impurities as disclosed by Alghunaimi because this a known means of treating oil before it is desalted for removing impurities from oil.
Conclusion
/ERIC J MCCULLOUGH/ Examiner, Art Unit 1773
/BENJAMIN L LEBRON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1773