DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi et al. (US 2024/0413948 A1) in view of Forsyth et al. (US 2022/0287629 A1).
Consider claim 1:
Asterjadhi discloses a method (see Fig. 14 and paragraph 0146, where Asterjadhi describes a process flow that supports sounding techniques for a wireless communication, the process flow includes a first communication device 1402 and a second communication device 1404, the first communication device 1402 and the second communication device 1404 may be Wireless Stations (STAs)), comprising:
transmitting, by a first station, an instruction to a second station (see Fig. 14 and paragraph 0147, where Asterjadhi describes that at step 1406, the first communication device 1402 may transmit a NDPA trigger frame to the second communication device 1404),
wherein: the second station is a beamforming station (see paragraph 0082, where Asterjadhi describes that the second communication device 1404 includes multiple antennas and supports beamforming),
the instruction instructs the second station to disable or enable sounding (see paragraph 0050, where Asterjadhi describes that the NDPA trigger frame may enable sounding), and
the sounding comprises the second station exchanging a frame sequence with the first station to collect a compressed beamforming report (CBR) from the first station (see Fig. 14 and paragraphs 0149-0150, where Asterjadhi describes that the second communication device 1404 may transmit a Null Data Packet (NDP) to the first communication device 1402 at step 1410, then by performing measurements of the NDP, the first communication device 1402 performs compressed beamforming according to sounding parameter included in the received NDPA trigger frame at step 1412, afterward, the second communication device 1404 receives a Compressed Beamforming Frame (CBF) from the first communication device 1402 at step 1416).
Asterjadhi does not specifically disclose: the Null Data Packet (NDP) is a frame.
Forsyth teaches: a Null Data Packet (NDP) frame (see paragraph 0056, where Forsyth describes a communication system in which a client wireless device sends a request to another wireless device, the request may be a Null Data Packet frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the Null Data Packet (NDP) is a frame, as taught by Forsyth to modify the method of Asterjadhi in order to have adjustable sensitivity, as discussed by Forsyth (see paragraph 0018).
Consider claim 6:
Asterjadhi discloses a method (see Fig. 14 and paragraph 0146, where Asterjadhi describes a process flow that supports sounding techniques for a wireless communication, the process flow includes a first communication device 1402 and a second communication device 1404, the first communication device 1402 and the second communication device 1404 may be Wireless Stations (STAs)), comprising:
transmitting, by a first station, an instruction to a second station (see Fig. 14 and paragraph 0147, where Asterjadhi describes that at step 1406, the first communication device 1402 may transmit a NDPA trigger frame to the second communication device 1404),
the second station being a beamforming station (see paragraph 0082, where Asterjadhi describes that the second communication device 1404 includes multiple antennas and supports beamforming),
wherein the instruction instructs the second station to disable or enable sounding (see paragraph 0050, where Asterjadhi describes that the NDPA trigger frame may enable sounding),
the sounding comprising the second station exchanging a frame sequence with the first station to collect a compressed beamforming report (CBR) from the first station (see Fig. 14 and paragraphs 0149-0150, where Asterjadhi describes that the second communication device 1404 may transmit a Null Data Packet (NDP) to the first communication device 1402 at step 1410, then by performing measurements of the NDP, the first communication device 1402 performs compressed beamforming according to sounding parameter included in the received NDPA trigger frame at step 1412, afterward, the second communication device 1404 receives a Compressed Beamforming Frame (CBF) from the first communication device 1402 at step 1416),
wherein the instruction comprises a bit, and the bit is in a management frame (see paragraph 0147, where Asterjadhi describes that the NDPA trigger frame includes a Trigger Type field which may have a length of 4 bits).
Asterjadhi does not specifically disclose: the Null Data Packet (NDP) is a frame.
Forsyth teaches: a Null Data Packet (NDP) frame (see paragraph 0056, where Forsyth describes a communication system in which a client wireless device sends a request to another wireless device, the request may be a Null Data Packet frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the Null Data Packet (NDP) is a frame, as taught by Forsyth to modify the method of Asterjadhi in order to have adjustable sensitivity, as discussed by Forsyth (see paragraph 0018).
Consider claim 17:
Asterjadhi discloses a device (see Fig. 14 and paragraph 0146, where Asterjadhi describes a wireless communication between a first communication device 1402 and a second communication device 1404, the first communication device 1402 and the second communication device 1404 may be Wireless Stations (STAs)), comprising:
a radio (see Fig. 15 and paragraph 0152, where Asterjadhi describes that the first communication device includes a radio);
one or more processors (see paragraph 0152, where Asterjadhi describes that the first communication device includes one or more processors); and
a memory storing instructions which (see paragraph 0152, where Asterjadhi describes that the first communication device includes one or more memories; see paragraph 0005, where Asterjadhi describes that a memory stores instructions), when executed by the one or more processors (see paragraph 0005, where Asterjadhi describes that the stored instructions are executed by the processors), cause performance of transmitting, by the radio, an instruction to a first station (see Fig. 14 and paragraph 0147, where Asterjadhi describes that at step 1406, the first communication device 1402 may transmit a NDPA trigger frame to the second communication device 1404),
wherein: the first station is a beamforming station (see paragraph 0082, where Asterjadhi describes that the second communication device 1404 includes multiple antennas and supports beamforming),
the instruction instructs the first station to enable or disable sounding (see paragraph 0050, where Asterjadhi describes that the NDPA trigger frame may enable sounding), and
the sounding comprises the device exchanging a frame sequence with the first station to collect a compressed beamforming report (CBR) from the first station (see Fig. 14 and paragraphs 0149-0150, where Asterjadhi describes that the first communication device 1402 exchanges NDPs with the second communication device 1404 according to the sounding parameters received from the NDPA trigger frame, the second communication device 1404 performs compressed beamforming according to sounding parameter included in the received NDPA trigger frame at step 1414).
Asterjadhi does not specifically disclose: the Null Data Packet (NDP) is a frame.
Forsyth teaches: a Null Data Packet (NDP) frame (see paragraph 0056, where Forsyth describes a communication system in which a client wireless device sends a request to another wireless device, the request may be a Null Data Packet frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the Null Data Packet (NDP) is a frame, as taught by Forsyth to modify the method of Asterjadhi in order to have adjustable sensitivity, as discussed by Forsyth (see paragraph 0018).
Consider claims 2 and 18:
Asterjadhi in view of Forsyth discloses the invention of claims 1 and 17 above. Asterjadhi does not specifically disclose: the instruction instructs the second station to disable sounding.
Forsyth teaches: an instruction instructs a second station to disable sounding (see paragraph 0073, where Forsyth describes a wireless communication system in which a user device can enable or disable channel sounding in one or more wireless communication devices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the instruction instructs the second station to disable sounding, as taught by Forsyth to modify the method of Asterjadhi in order to have adjustable sensitivity, as discussed by Forsyth (see paragraph 0018).
Consider claim 7:
Asterjadhi in view of Forsyth discloses the method of claim 6 above. Asterjadhi discloses: the bit is in an Operating Mode Indication field (see paragraphs 0015 and 0094, where Asterjadhi describes that the four-bit is in a trigger type field indicating the NDPA; see paragraph 0010, where Asterjadhi describes that the NDPA indicates a sounding mode for transmission of the NDP).
Consider claim 8:
Asterjadhi in view of Forsyth discloses the method of claim 6 above. Asterjadhi discloses: the bit is in an Operating Mode Notification Action frame (see paragraphs 0015 and 0094, where Asterjadhi describes that the four-bit is in the NDPA trigger frame; see paragraph 0010, where Asterjadhi describes that the NDPA indicates a sounding mode for transmission of the NDP).
Consider claim 9:
Asterjadhi in view of Forsyth discloses the method of claim 6 above. Asterjadhi discloses: the bit is in a new Action frame or in a new Operating Mode Indication frame (see paragraph 0147, where Asterjadhi describes that the four-bit trigger type field is in the NDPA trigger frame which is the first frame transmitted from the first communication device 1402).
Consider claim 10:
Asterjadhi in view of Forsyth discloses the method of claim 1 above. Asterjadhi discloses: the instruction comprises a bit, and the bit is in control information of a frame (see paragraph 0147, where Asterjadhi describes that the NDPA trigger frame includes a Trigger Type field which may have a length of 4 bits).
Consider claim 11:
Asterjadhi in view of Forsyth discloses the method of claim 10 above. Asterjadhi discloses: the frame is a management frame (see paragraph 0147, where Asterjadhi describes that the NDPA trigger frame includes a set of parameters to use for transmission of NDP and a User Info List field).
Consider claim 12:
Asterjadhi in view of Forsyth discloses the method of claim 10 above. Asterjadhi discloses: the frame is a data frame (see paragraph 0147, where Asterjadhi describes that the NDPA trigger frame may be included in a physical-layer protocol data unit (PPDU)).
Consider claim 13:
Asterjadhi in view of Forsyth discloses the method of claim 10 above. Asterjadhi discloses: the frame is part of an Operating Mode Indication (see paragraphs 0015 and 0094, where Asterjadhi describes that the four-bit is in a trigger type field indicating the NDPA; see paragraph 0010, where Asterjadhi describes that the NDPA indicates a sounding mode for transmission of the NDP).
Consider claim 19:
Asterjadhi in view of Forsyth discloses the invention of claim 18 above. Asterjadhi discloses: the device comprises a non-Access Point Station (see paragraph 0146, where Asterjadhi describes that the first communication device 1402 and the second communication device 1404 may be Wireless Stations (STAs)).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi et al. (US 2024/0413948 A1) in view of Forsyth et al. (US 2022/0287629 A1), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Howard et al. (US 2005/0265275 A1).
Consider claim 3:
Asterjadhi in view of Forsyth discloses the method of claim 2 above. Asterjadhi does not specifically disclose: the instruction further instructs the second station to disable beamforming.
Howard teaches: an instruction that instructs a second station to disable beamforming (see paragraph 0097, where Howard describes a wireless communication between a transmitting entity and a receiving entity, the transmitting entity may enable or disable beamforming based on a feedback signal received from the receiving entity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the instruction further instructs the second station to disable beamforming, as taught by Howard to modify the method of Asterjadhi in order to adaptively perform beamforming, as discussed by Howard (see paragraph 0097).
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi et al. (US 2024/0413948 A1) in view of Forsyth et al. (US 2022/0287629 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2018/0192431 A1).
Consider claim 5:
Asterjadhi in view of Forsyth discloses the method of claim 1 above. Asterjadhi does not specifically disclose: the instruction comprises two bits, and the two bits are configured to indicate one of three states, the three states including: a first state in which beamforming and sounding are both enabled, a second state in which beamforming is enabled and sounding is disabled, and a third state in which beamforming and sounding are both disabled.
Wang teaches: an instruction comprises two bits, and the two bits are configured to indicate one of three states, the three states including: a first state in which beamforming and sounding are both enabled, a second state in which beamforming is enabled and sounding is disabled, and a third state in which beamforming and sounding are both disabled (see Fig. 9B and paragraph 0047, where Wang describes a wireless communication system in which a trigger frame is transmitted from a transmitting device to a receiving device, the trigger frame may include two bits to provide indications to the receiving device about different cases of sending beamforming and sounding signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the instruction comprises two bits, and the two bits are configured to indicate one of three states, the three states including: a first state in which beamforming and sounding are both enabled, a second state in which beamforming is enabled and sounding is disabled, and a third state in which beamforming and sounding are both disabled, as taught by Wang to modify the method of Asterjadhi in order to represent interactions between wireless devices, as discussed by Wang (see paragraph 0047).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi et al. (US 2024/0413948 A1) in view of Forsyth et al. (US 2022/0287629 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Raghavan et al. (US 2023/0262745 A1).
Consider claim 14:
Asterjadhi in view of Forsyth discloses the method of claim 1 above. Asterjadhi does not specifically disclose: receiving, by the first station, from the second station, a capability signaling message, the capability signaling message indicating that the second station is capable of following an instruction: to disable or enable beamforming, or to disable or enable sounding.
Raghavan teaches: receiving, by a first station, from a second station, a capability signaling message, the capability signaling message indicating that the second station is capable of following an instruction: to disable or enable beamforming, or to disable or enable sounding (see Fig. 7 and paragraph 0088, where Raghavan describes a network entity 705 which receives a UE capability information 710 from a UE 120, the UE capability information 710 may indicate that the UE 120 may be capable of selectively suspending beamforming).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: receiving, by the first station, from the second station, a capability signaling message, the capability signaling message indicating that the second station is capable of following an instruction: to disable or enable beamforming, or to disable or enable sounding, as taught by Raghavan to modify the method of Asterjadhi in order for the network device to better configure the UE, as discussed by Raghavan (see paragraph 0089).
Consider claim 15:
Asterjadhi in view of Forsyth and Raghavan discloses the method of claim 14 above. Asterjadhi does not specifically disclose: the capability signaling message is a physical layer capability signaling message.
Raghavan teaches: the capability signaling message is a physical layer capability signaling message (see Fig. 7 and paragraphs 0087-0088, where Raghavan describes a network entity 705 which receives a UE capability information 710 from a UE 120, the UE 120 transmits the capability information 710 in physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the capability signaling message is a physical layer capability signaling message, as taught by Raghavan to modify the method of Asterjadhi in order for the network device to better configure the UE, as discussed by Raghavan (see paragraph 0089).
Claim 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi et al. (US 2024/0413948 A1) in view of Forsyth et al. (US 2022/0287629 A1) and Raghavan et al. (US 2023/0262745 A1), as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 9,819,901 B1).
Consider claim 16:
Asterjadhi in view of Forsyth and Raghavan discloses the method of claim 14 above. Asterjadhi does not specifically disclose: the capability signaling message is a portion of a management frame.
Zhu teaches: a capability signaling message that is a portion of a management frame (see col.6, lines 52-67, where Zhu describes capability messages which are a subset of management frames).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the capability signaling message is a portion of a management frame, as taught by Zhu to modify the method of Asterjadhi in order to meet IEEE 802.11 specifications, as discussed by Zhu (see col.6, lines 52-67).
Conclusion
/LIHONG YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631