DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of informalities.
Claim 16 recites the phrase: “determine sub-holograms for fa plurality of brightness zones”. It is believed that this phrase was intended to recite: “determine sub-holograms for a plurality of brightness zones”, which would appear to be consistent with the other independent Claims 1 and 9.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Futterer, U.S. Pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2021/0223738 A1.
Regarding Claim 9, Futterer discloses: A method comprising (the Office notes that the term “comprising” is an open-ended transitional phrase which permits additional elements or features):
determining, by control circuitry, sub-holograms for a plurality of brightness zones (electronic circuit providing fast reallocation of individual sub-holograms, which are generated by defined object points in the three-dimensional [3D] space, and wherein individual sub-holograms 3a, 3b, 3c and 3d within the section of the hologram defined by the encoding regions have an essentially constant amplitude, the value of which is determined as a function of brightness and distance of the object points; paragraphs [0096], [0097], [0158], [0221] and FIGS. 1, 4A-4E of Futterer);
combining, by the control circuitry, the sub-holograms to produce a target hologram (the hologram [i.e., computer-generated hologram CGH] is obtained by the complex-valued sum of all sub-holograms 3a, 3b, 3c, 3d . . . 3n; paragraphs [0096], [0097], [0158], [0160], [0221] and FIGS. 1, 4A-4E, 5 of Futterer); and
transmitting, by the control circuitry, the target hologram (after being constructed from the multiplicity of individual sub-holograms 3a, 3b, 3c, 3d, . . . 3n, the holograms computer-generated in this way are illuminated for reconstruction by the illumination unit 5 in conjunction with an optical system; see paragraphs [0096], [0097], [0158], [0160], [0221] and FIGS. 1, 4A-4E, 5 of Futterer, but see especially paragraph [0096] of Futterer).
Regarding Claim 14, Futterer discloses the limitations of Claim 9 and further discloses: wherein combining the sub-holograms to form the target hologram includes tiling the sub-holograms horizontally or vertically (the sub-holograms may be arranged as vertical stripes on the SLM [spatial light modulator]; paragraph [0134] of Futterer).
Regarding Claim 15, Futterer discloses the limitations of Claim 9 and further discloses: further comprising adjusting an illumination control signal responsive to the target hologram (amplitude apodization and phase apodization can be used to optimize the intensity profile which propagates behind the entrance plane of the illumination unit 5, and wherein the complex-valued distribution of the apodization of the sub-holograms may be changed in regard to the change of the content; paragraphs [0098], [0126], [0173] of Futterer).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 and 16-20 are allowable. Claims 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten to include the limitations of their respective base claims and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
With respect to Claim 1, although the prior art discloses various systems, including:
The prior art does not appear to disclose or suggest the above features further comprising the combined features of:
With respect to Claims 10 and 13, although the prior art discloses various methods, including:
The prior art does not appear to disclose or suggest the above steps further comprising:
OR
With respect to Claim 16, as best understood, although the prior art discloses various projectors, including:
The prior art does not appear to disclose or suggest the above features further comprising the combined features of:
With respect to Claims 2-8, 11, 12 and 17-20, these claims each depend from Claim 1, Claim 10, or Claim 16, and are therefore allowable for at least the reasons stated above.
Examiner Note – Consider Entirety of Reference
Although various text and figures of the cited reference have been specifically cited in this Office Action to show disclosures and teachings which correspond to specific claim language, Applicant is advised to consider the complete disclosure of the reference, including portions which have not been specifically cited by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN S DUNNING whose telephone number is 571-272-4879. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Thursday 11:00AM to 4:00PM Eastern Time Zone. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice
/RYAN S DUNNING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872