DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated March 8, 2024, claims 1-16 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 8-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4 and claim 11, line 1, “an storage cavity” should be amended to “a storage cavity”.
In claim 8, lines 4-5, “an metal sensing coil” should be amended to “a metal sensing coil”.
Claims 9-16 are objected to due to their dependency from an objected to claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2-3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. US20150326045A1 in view Samkov et al. US20200213434A1.
Regarding claim 1. Choi discloses a charging device, comprises a body (310/320) and a first magnetic suction portion (832/934-936)
the body (FIGS. 5-7/10A illustrate examples of the peripheral of the body and FIGS. 8A/9A illustrate a top view), formed with a charging placement surface (832/922/1020), the charging placement surface (800/900/1010) is used to cooperate with a user device (810/910/1000);
the first magnetic suction portion (832/934-936), disposed on the body (800/900/1010), and located on a side of the charging placement surface (832/922/1020) facing an inside of the charging device (arranged on the interior of the charging surface), the first magnetic suction portion is used to fix the user device onto the charging placement surface (¶125/137/149 – magnetic member attached to the charger module; ¶127/139/149 – metallic plate on a wearable device provides an attractive force with the magnetic member).
Choi does not explicitly teach that the charging placement surface is used to cooperate with a detection portion of a metal detector.
Samkov discloses that the charging placement surface is used to cooperate with a detection portion of a metal detector (¶19 – “The search coil 120 of the metal detector 100 includes an internal rechargeable battery, as well as magnetic reel connectors for charging the battery” )
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to modify the wireless charger of Choi to charge a metal detector, as taught by Samkov, in order to provide greater versatility in charging mobile devices, such as a metal detector.
Regarding claim 2 and claim 9. Choi discloses that the body (FIGS. 5-7/10A illustrate examples of the peripheral of the body and FIGS. 8A/9A illustrate a top view) further forms an avoiding surface (530/700/1041), the avoiding surface connects to the charging placement surface (832/922/1020), and the avoiding surface is tilted relative to the charging placement surface (see partially reproduced and annotated FIG. 10 below).
Although Choi teaches the avoiding surface deviates from the charging placement surface, Choi does not explicitly disclose that the avoiding surface deviates from the metal detector, the avoiding surface is used to avoid the detection portion of the metal detector.
However, because the combination of Choi and Samkov teach that the charging surface and the detection portion cooperate (from claim 1), it follows that because the avoiding surface avoids the charging placement surface, it also avoids the detection portion of the metal detector of Samkov.
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to modify the wireless charger of Choi to charge a metal detector, as taught by Samkov, in order to provide greater versatility in charging mobile devices, such as a metal detector.
Regarding 3 and claim 10. Choi teaches that the charging placement surface is tilted relative to a bottom surface of the body, wherein an angle between the charging placement surface and the bottom surface of the body is 40°-50° (the angle between the base and the charging placement surface is approximately halfway between 0 and 90 degrees, thus, under the broadest reasonable interpretation and absent any showing of criticality, Choi teaches this feature – see reproduced and annotated FIG. 5 below).
Regarding claim 8. The combination of Choi and Samkov discloses a security inspection device, comprises a metal detector and a charging device according to claim 1;
Choi teaches a user device is provided with a second magnetic suction portion (830/931-933), the second magnetic suction portion is used to cooperate with the first magnetic suction portion of the charging device (FIGS. 8A-9B),
Choi does not explicitly teach that the metal detector, having a detection portion and a handle portion, an metal sensing coil and the metal sensing coil is used to detect metal.
Samkov teaches the metal detector (100), having a detection portion (120) and a handle portion (110), an metal sensing coil (420) and the metal sensing coil is used to detect metal (¶24 – “The signal from a detected object is received by the receiving (RX) coil 420.”).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to modify the wireless charger of Choi to charge a metal detector, as taught by Samkov, in order to provide greater versatility in charging mobile devices, such as a metal detector.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. US20150326045A1 in view Samkov et al. US20200213434A1 in further view of Jol et al. US20210099031A1.
Regarding claim 4 and claim 11. Choi discloses that the body (FIGS. 5-7/10A illustrate examples of the peripheral of the body and FIGS. 8A/9A illustrate a top view) forms an storage cavity (510).
Choi does not explicitly disclose that the storage cavity forms a positioning slot for fixing a sensitivity calibration tester.
Jol disclose that the body forms (4800) an storage cavity (4825) (see FIG. 48A/B; ¶293)), wherein the storage cavity forms a positioning slot for fixing a sensitivity calibration tester (¶293 – wireless charger includes an alignment component 4810; ¶387 – alignment component 7600 includes calibration contacts 7612).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the charging assembly of Choi with calibration contacts in order to support calibration of the charging coil inside the charger for accurate charging (Jol; ¶387).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5 and claim 12. Although Choi discloses that the body (FIGS. 5-7/10A illustrate examples of the peripheral of the body and FIGS. 8A/9A illustrate a top view) comprises an outer shell (outer surface of the body), an inner shell (casing around 400) and a base (bottom surface), wherein the inner shell is disposed on the base (when 400 is inserted into cavity 510) and forms the storage cavity with the base, and the outer shell is sleeved outside the inner shell (FIG. 5 – reproduced and annotated below); the outer shell forms the charging placement surface (illustrated in FIG. 5 – annotated and reproduced below), the inner shell has an installation surface corresponding to the charging placement surface, wherein the installation surface is provided with a charging portion (inner shell includes a charging surface with prongs that is level with the charging placement surface) ; the base forms the positioning slot (base along with the outer shell creates the bounds for the positioning slot);
the prior art is silent as to “a side of the charging placement surface facing the inner shell has a mounting groove, and the first magnetic suction portion is embedded in the mounting groove”.
Regarding claim 15. Although the prior art discloses the intervening claims, the prior art is silent as to “the second magnetic suction portion is located at an end of the detection portion close to the handle portion, and the metal sensing coil is located at an end of the detection portion away from the handle portion”.
Claims 6-7, 13-14 and 16 are allowable at least due to their dependency from an allowable claim.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Deng US20210116597A1 teaches a foldable and portable metal detector.
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859