Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2, 4, 5, 8-10, 12, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sahin et al. WO 2020/172549 (Sahin).
Regarding claim 1, Sahin teaches a communication apparatus (102 in Fig.1B) or a network apparatus (106 in Fig.1A) comprising: a low power wakeup receiver (LP-WUR, transceiver, transmitter or receiver, 120 in Fig.1B and note [0003] wake-up signal for power saving or low power receiver); and a processor (118 in Fig.1B), configured to perform operations comprising: receiving a modulated signal from a network apparatus via the LP-WUR (via 104 receiving from 106 in Fig.1A, and note [0122] modulated signal), wherein the modulated signal has a harmonized design that accommodates overlaid waveforms of one or more modulation schemes (note [0004] OOK signals include a set of OFDM symbols), the overlaid waveforms comprise an on-off keying (OOK) based waveform and an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) based waveform (note [0004] OOK signals include a set of OFDM symbols), the OFDM based waveform is overlaid on the OOK based waveform (see Fig.15 and note [0157]), first information is carried by the OOK based waveform (ON/OFF bits/bit pattern, note [0157]), and second information is carried by the OFDM based waveform (WTRU or the group of WTRUs may detect a sequence(s) associated with the OFDM signal (e.g., as shown in FIGs. 6 and/or 10). The detected sequence(s) may include a second level of information, note [0157]); and deriving information bits from demodulating the modulated signal (note [0045], [t]he transceiver 120 may be configured to modulate the signals that are to be transmitted by the transmit/receive element 122 and to demodulate the signals that are received by the transmit/receive element 122).
Regarding claim 2, Sahin further teaches wherein same information bits are carried by each of the overlaid waveforms of different modulation schemes (both first and second level of information may include same group ID(s), note [0157].
Regarding claim 4, Sahin further teaches wherein the OOK based modulation waveform includes one of OOK-1 waveform and OOK-4 waveform (see OOK waveform in Fig.15 wherein OOK-1 and OOK-4 waveforms are interpreted to be the first and fourth ON/OFF shown in the figure).
Regarding claim 5, Sahin further teaches wherein the OFDM based waveform is not decodable at the communication apparatus (the receiver would not wake up and go back to sleep unless the OOK is properly (note [0122] A receiver may demodulate an OFDM waveform(s) to receive additional information related to a WUS, a GOS, and/or any other power saving related information, e.g., after the receiver achieves a SYNC with OOK sequences; note [0132] an OOK signal may be generated by generating an OFDM symbol and (e.g., then) masking the OFDM symbol; [0157] based on the proper demodulation of OOK, it allows WTRUs to wake up from a sleep state and may indicate another WTRU and/or another group of WTRUs to maintain the sleep state; thus unless proper OOK demodulation is performed, OFDM waveforms cannot be demodulated), and deriving the information bits from demodulating the modulated signal comprises: applying OOK based demodulation to the modulated signal (note [0122], [0157]).
Regarding claim 8, Sahin further teaches wherein the modulated signal is one of a low power wakeup signal (LP-WUS) and a LP-WUR synchronization signal (LP-SS) (LP-WUR, transceiver or receiver, 120 in Fig.1B and note [0003] wake-up signal for power saving or low power receiver; also note OOK sequence used for SYNC, note [0114]).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 8.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 8.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 2.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAM K AHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2633