DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/21/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 6-8 are now pending in the application. Claim 1 has been amended, clams 4 and 5 have been canceled and new claim 8 has been added by the Applicant.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on application KR 10-2023-0061406, filed 05/12/2023 (Korea).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
However, to overcome a prior art rejection, applicant(s) must submit a translation of the foreign priority papers in order to perfect the claimed foreign priority because said papers has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP § 213.04
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by Im et al. (hereafter Im, of record) US 20180224665 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Im teaches (see Figs. 1-12) an actuator for a reflector (i.e. a reflecting module for optical image stabilization (OIS) and camera module, see abstract, paragraphs [02, 06-26, 83-90, 93-104, 107-113, 118-127], including reflecting member 1110 in rotation holder carrier 1120 having magnets 1141a,1143a,1151 installed on it, Figs. 3-4,6), comprising:
a carrier at which a reflector is installed (rotation holder 1120 with reflecting member 1110, paragraphs [85, 93-104], Figs. 3-4);
first and second magnets installed on the carrier and placed in directions perpendicular to each other (i.e. magnets 1141a, 1143a with 1145a and pulling magnet 1151 installed perpendicular to each other on holder 1120, where it is noted that first magnets 1143a and 1145a are placed along/perpendicular to x axis, and of second magnets magnet 1141a is perpendicular/along y axis and magnet 1151 is along/perpendicular to z axis as depicted in Figs. 3-4, 6, e.g. paragraphs [93-104, 118-127]; it is noted number of first and second magnets is not recited);
a ball guide configured to support rotational movement of the carrier in a first direction (i.e. rotation plate 1130 supporting rotation of 1120 in (around) Y axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [96,110-117], Figs. 3-4,6, 10-12);
a first ball placed between the carrier and the ball guide (second ball bearing(s) 1133 placed between rotation holder 1120 and rotation plate 1130, paragraphs [96, 108-117,129-130]);
a housing configured to support rotational movement of the ball guide in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (i.e. housing 1010, supporting 1130 rotation in (around) X axis direction paragraphs [88,90, 96, 108-117]);
a coil installed at the housing and faces the second magnet (i.e. as coil 1141b installed and provided at the housing 1010 and facing directly second magnet 1141a, see Figs. 3-4, 9, 11, paragraphs [98-99, 120-126]);
a second ball placed between the ball guide and the housing (first ball bearing(s) 1131 placed between rotation plate 1130 and housing 1010, paragraphs [96, 108-117,129-130]), and
a yoke plate provided in the housing and configured to generate an attractive force with the second magnet exposed through the first space hole (pulling yoke 1153 in housing on inner wall surface of housing 1010, and generating pulling force with second magnet 1151 on rotation holder 1120 through hole in rotation plate 1130, paragraphs [95-97,110], Figs. 3-5),
wherein the second magnet is installed at the carrier to protrude outward (as second magnet 1151 is installed in 1120 to protrude outward at least from the inner surface, paragraphs [95-96,110], Figs. 3B,4,6), and
wherein the ball guide has a hole and faces the carrier in such a way that the second magnet enters an interior of the hole (i.e. as rotation plate 1130 has a hole that faces magnet 1151 that enters the hole at least to an extent as depicted in Figs. 3B, 4, 6, paragraphs [95-96,110-117], see annotated Fig. 3B of Im below),
wherein the carrier and the ball guide are placed side by side in the same direction (i.e. as rotation holder 1120 and rotation plate 1130 are place side by side in same direction, Figs. 3-5, e.g. paragraphs [95-97,108-117], Figs. 3-5), and
wherein the attractive force between the yoke plate and the second magnet brings the carrier and the ball guide with the first ball interposed therebetween, into close contact (i.e. as attractive force between second magnet 1151 and yoke 1153 brings 1120 and 1130 into close contact with ball bearings 1133 in-between, e.g. paragraphs [95-97,108-117], Figs. 3-5) and brings the ball guide and the housing with the second ball interposed therebetween, into close contact (i.e. as attractive force between second magnet 1151 and yoke 1153 brings rotation plate 1130 and housing 1010 into close contact with ball bearings 1131 in-between, e.g. paragraphs [95-97,108-117], as clearly depicted in Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 6, Im teaches (see Figs. 1-12) that the ball guide includes a rounded first rail where the first ball is placed, wherein the first rail is provided on a first surface, which is a surface facing the carrier, and is provided outside the hole (i.e. as 1130 includes seating grove 1134 rounded to an extent, where 1133 is placed, and 1134 is on first surface facing rotation holder/carrier 1120 and provided outside the hole of 1130, paragraphs [96,109-114], Figs. 3-4,6A).
Regarding claim 7, Im teaches (see Figs. 1-12) that the ball guide further includes a rounded second rail where the second ball is placed, wherein the second rail is provided on a second surface, which is a surface opposite to the first surface, and is provided outside the hole (i.e. as 1130 includes seating grove 1132 rounded to an extent, where 1131 is placed, and 1132 is on 2nd surface opposite of first surface, and provided outside the hole of 1130, paragraphs [96,109-114], Figs. 3-4,6A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (hereafter Kim, of record) US 20230185053 A1 in view of Im et al. (hereafter Im, of record) US 20180224665 A1 and further in view of Seol et al. (hereafter Seol, of record) US 20180239161 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-16) an actuator for a reflector (i.e. reflective module actuator 3000 with reflector member 3100, as part of camera module 100, e.g. see abstract, paragraphs [02, 08-38, 64-75,88-92,96-98,109-122,126-136], e.g. Figs. 2-4,7-11), comprising:
a carrier at which a reflector is installed (reflective holder 3200 with 3100 reflective member, e.g. paragraphs [70-75,109-122,126-136], Figs. 2-4,7-11);
first and second magnets installed on the carrier and placed in directions perpendicular to each other (magnet second 3231 installed on the back of the holder 3200, and first magnet 3331 installed with rotatable holder 3300 on holder 3200, and magnets 3231 and 3331 are placed in perpendicular directions to each other, e.g. paragraphs [129-133], see Figs. 8-11);
a ball guide configured to support rotational movement of the carrier in a first direction (rotatable holder 3300 supporting reflective holder 3200 rotating in/around e.g. R2 direction, paragraphs [74-75, 117-122,125-136,156-157], e.g. Figs. 2-4,7-11);
a first ball placed between the carrier and the ball guide (e.g. one of balls 3430 between 3200 and 3300, paragraphs [117-118,125], e.g. Figs. 8-9, 11);
a housing configured to support rotational movement of the ball guide in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (housing 1100 supporting rotating of 3300 in, around R1 direction perpendicular to R2, paragraphs [64, 74-75, 117-122,129-143,156], e.g. Figs. 2-4,7-11);
a coil installed at the housing and faces the second magnet (coil 3232 disposed on the housing 1100, and is facing the second magnet 3231 on reflective holder 3200, paragraphs [129-133], Figs. 8, 10-11);
a second ball placed between the ball guide and the housing (e.g. balls 3410, 3420, between 3300 and 1100, and another of balls 3430 between inner wall part with groove 3310 of 3300 and 1100, e.g. paragraphs [117-122,129-143,156,190], e.g. Figs. 2-4,7-11), and
a yoke plate (3234) provided in the housing (as second yoke 3234 in 1100 at the rear of second driving coil 3232, paragraphs [133,167], Figs. 8, 10-11) and configured to generate an attractive force with the second magnet exposed through the hole (as 3234 configured as attractive magnetic force generated by the second driving magnet 3231 in exposed in back opening space of 3300, paragraphs [133,167], depicted in Figs. 8, 10-11),
wherein the second magnet is installed at the carrier to protrude outward (as 3231 is installed at back of 3200 in extension 3210 and is protruding outward from 3200, as best depicted in Figs. 8-9, paragraphs [129-133, 164-169, 174-175]), and
wherein the ball guide has an opening (i.e. as back opening between bottom frame part of 3300 and two vertical columns where 3231 is exposed , depicted in Figs. 8-9, paragraphs [129-133,164-172]) and faces the carrier in such a way that the second magnet enters an interior of the opening (i.e. as 3300 faces 3200 such that 3231 enters the opening of 3300, as best depicted in Figs. 8-9, paragraphs [129-133, 164-172]), and
wherein the carrier and the ball guide are placed side by side in the same direction (i.e. as rotatable holder 3300 and the reflective holder 3200 are placed side by side in same direction, e.g. paragraphs [109-118, 121-129], Figs. 8-11), and
wherein the attractive force between the yoke plate and the second magnet brings the carrier and the ball guide with the first ball interposed therebetween, into close contact (as yoke 3234,3334 attracted by magnetic force generated by the second driving magnet 3231 on 3200, brings 3200 and 3300 with 3430 therebetween into contact, paragraphs [133,167], depicted in Figs. 8, 10-11) and brings the ball guide and the housing with the second ball interposed therebetween, into close contact (i.e. brings 3300 and 1100 with 3420 therebetween into contact, as depicted in Figs. 8, 10-11, paragraphs [74-75, 117-122,125-136,156-157,167]).
But Kim is silent that the first magnet 3331 is installed i.e. directly on the carrier (as 3331 with rotatable holder 3300 is installed on holder 3200 as the carrier, e.g. paragraphs [129-133], see Figs. 8-11), and that the opening (i.e. as back opening between bottom frame part of 3300 and two vertical columns where 3231 is exposed , see Figs. 8-9) is a hole, i.e. a full hole (i.e. as the above described opening is partial hole, see Figs. 8-8).
However, Im teaches in the same field of invention of a reflecting module for optical
image stabilization (OIS) and camera module including the same (see Figs. 2-6, title, abstract, paragraphs [02, 06-26, 83-90, 93-104, 107-113, 118-127], including reflecting member 1110 in rotation holder carrier 1120 having magnets 1141a,1143a,1151 installed on it, Figs. 3-4,6) and further teaches that the first magnet 3331 is installed (i.e. directly) on the carrier (i.e. as magnet 1141a of first driving part 1140 for rotating holder 1120, is installed directly on the rotation holder 1120 carrier, and together with other magnet e.g. 1143a, 1151, providing that the OIS function is implemented by the movement of only the rotation holder having a relatively low weight since it does not include lenses or other components, and thus power consumption for the OIS function is significantly reduced, see paragraphs [05, 83-90, 93-104, 107-113, 118-127]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify carrier reflective holder, rotatable holder and placement of first magnet, such that the first magnet is installed (directly) on the carrier according to teachings of Im in order to provide that the OIS function is implemented by the movement of only the rotation holder having a relatively low weight since it does not include lenses or other components, and thus significantly reducing the power consumption for the OIS function, (see Im, paragraphs [05,101-102]).
Further, Seol teaches in the same field of invention of an apparatus for driving an optical-reflector for optical image stabilization (OIS) (see Figs. 1-7, title, abstract, paragraphs [02, 11-24, 33-38, 74-86, 95-104]), and further teaches that the ball guide has a hole (i.e. as middle frame ball guide has a hole opening 139, as full hole through which magnet 121 in mounting portion 125 enters the interior of hole 139, as depicted in Figs. 5-6, paragraphs [96-100], providing that it is possible to suppress the support frame 120 not to be separated or shaken in any direction other than the X-axial direction in which the support frame 120 rotates based on the middle frame 130, and allowing that the electromagnetic force generated from the first coil 150-1 may be concentrated on the first magnet 121 more intensively, thereby allowing the support frame 120 to be driven in an X-axial direction in a lower-power environment, e.g. paragraphs [96-100]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the back opening between bottom frame part and two vertical columns of ball guide rotatable holder of Kim into a full hole opening according to teachings of Seol in order to suppress the support frame/reflective holder not to be separated or shaken in any direction other than the axial direction in which the support frame/reflective holder rotates based on the middle frame/ rotatable holder, and to allow that the electromagnetic force generated from the driving coil (i.e. 3232) to be concentrated on the driving magnet (3231) more intensively, thereby allowing the support frame/reflective holder to be driven in an axial direction in a lower-power environment (see Seol e.g. paragraphs [96-100]).
Note that as a result of the combination of Kim, Im and Seol, the combination also teaches and renders obvious that the second magnet [is] exposed through the hole (as 3234 configured as attractive magnetic force generated by the second driving magnet 3231 in back hole opening of 3300, modified into a full hole in combination with Seol).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-16) that the ball guide includes a rounded first rail where the first ball is placed (i.e. as one of rounded accommodation grooves 3310 with one 3430, paragraphs [162-163,190], Figs. 8-9), wherein the first rail is provided on a first surface, which is a surface facing the carrier, and is provided outside the hole (as one of 3310 is on first face of 3300 facing holder 3200 outside the back space of 3300 between two vertical columns, paragraphs [162-163,190], Figs. 8-9, and in combination with Seol).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-16) that the ball guide further includes a rounded second rail where the second ball is placed (i.e. as 3322, 3321 with 3420 and 3410, and/or other of rounded accommodation grooves 3310 with one 3430, paragraphs [144, 162-163,190], Figs. 8-9), wherein the second rail is provided on a second surface, which is a surface opposite to the first surface, and is provided outside the hole (as 3322, 3321 and other of 3310 is on other opposite face of 3300, and outside the back space of 3300 between two vertical columns, paragraphs [162-163,190], Figs. 8-9, in combination with Seol).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is allowed.
Reasons for Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art taken either singly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the independent claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103 would be improper.
In regard to independent claim 8, Im teaches (see Figs. 1-12) an actuator for a reflector (i.e. a reflecting module for optical image stabilization (OIS) and camera module, see abstract, paragraphs [02, 06-26, 83-90, 93-104, 107-113, 118-127], including reflecting member 1110 in rotation holder carrier 1120 having magnets 1141a,1143a,1151 installed on it, Figs. 3-4,6), comprising:
a carrier at which a reflector is installed (rotation holder 1120 with reflecting member 1110, paragraphs [85, 93-104], Figs. 3-4);
a magnet installed on the carrier (i.e. as magnets 1141a, 1143a with 1145a and pulling magnet 1151 installed perpendicular to each other on holder 1120, as depicted in Figs. 3-4, 6, e.g. paragraphs [93-104, 118-127]; it is noted magnet may include more than one magnet, consistent with instant specification where there are several magnets on the carrier);
a ball guide configured to support rotational movement of the carrier in a first direction (i.e. rotation plate 1130 supporting rotation of 1120 in (around) Y axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [96,110-117], Figs. 3-4,6, 10-12);
a housing configured to support rotational movement of the ball guide in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (i.e. housing 1010, supporting 1130 rotation in (around) X axis direction paragraphs [88,90, 96, 108-117]);
a coil installed at the housing and faces the second magnet (i.e. as coil 1141b installed and provided at the housing 1010 and facing directly magnet 1141a, see Figs. 3-4, 9, 11, paragraphs [98-99, 120-126]);
a first ball placed between the carrier and the ball guide (second ball bearing(s) 1133 placed between rotation holder 1120 and rotation plate 1130, paragraphs [96, 108-117,129-130]);
a second ball placed between the ball guide and the housing (first ball bearing(s) 1131 placed between rotation plate 1130 and housing 1010, paragraphs [96, 108-117,129-130]), and
a yoke plate provided in the housing and configured to generate an attractive force with the second magnet exposed through the first space hole (pulling yoke 1153 in housing on inner wall surface of housing 1010, and generating pulling force with magnet 1151 on rotation holder 1120 through hole in rotation plate 1130, paragraphs [95-97,110], Figs. 3-5);
wherein the ball guide has a hole and faces the carrier in such a way that the magnet enters an interior of the hole (i.e. as rotation plate 1130 has a hole that faces magnet 1151 that enters the hole at least to an extent as depicted in Figs. 3B, 4, 6, paragraphs [95-96,110-117], see annotated Fig. 3B of Im above), and
wherein the direction in which the coil faces the magnet, and the direction of a rotation axis of the carrier are all the same (i.e. direction in which 1141a faces 1141b along y axis is also the direction of rotation of 1120 around y-axis, see Figs. 3-4, 9, 11, paragraphs [98-99, 120-126]).
However, regarding claim 8, the prior art taken either singly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest such an actuator for reflector including the specific arrangement where the direction of the attractive force between the yoke plate and the magnet, the direction in which the coil faces the magnet, and the direction of a rotation axis of the carrier are all the same, and in combination with all other claimed limitations of claim 8.
Fors similar reasons the cited prior art of Kim taken either singly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest such an actuator for reflector including the specific arrangement where the direction of the attractive force between the yoke plate and the magnet, the direction in which the coil faces the magnet, and the direction of a rotation axis of the carrier are all the same, and in combination with all other claimed limitations of claim 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the Remarks dated 09/21/2026 with respect to claim 1 and its dependent claims have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 7-8 of the remarks that the cited prior art of Im does not teach the features of independent claim 1, regarding that (1) “a coil installed at the housing and faces the second magnet…, a yoke plate provided in the housing and configured to generate an attractive force with the second magnet” and “wherein the attractive force between the yoke plate and the second magnet brings the carrier and the ball guide with the first ball interposed therebetween, into close contact and brings the ball guide and housing with the second ball interposed therebetween, into close contact”, because in Im pulling magnet 1153 generates attractive force with the yoke and magnet e.g. 1141a faces coil 1141b, whereas in the instant application the second magnet M3 faces the coil C2 and also yoke plate (150) generating attractive force. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to the above issue (1), as noted in the rejection above, the cited prior art of Im teaches and renders obvious all limitations of amended claim 1, as Im teaches (see Figs. 1-12) an actuator for a reflector (i.e. a reflecting module for optical image stabilization (OIS) and camera module, see abstract, paragraphs [02, 06-26, 83-90, 93-104, 107-113, 118-127], including reflecting member 1110 in rotation holder carrier 1120 having magnets 1141a,1143a,1151 installed on it, Figs. 3-4,6), comprising:
a carrier at which a reflector is installed (rotation holder 1120 with reflecting member 1110, paragraphs [85, 93-104], Figs. 3-4);
first and second magnets installed on the carrier and placed in directions perpendicular to each other (i.e. magnets 1141a, 1143a with 1145a and pulling magnet 1151 installed perpendicular to each other on holder 1120, where it is noted that first magnets 1143a and 1145a are placed along/perpendicular to x axis, and of second magnets magnet 1141a is perpendicular/along y axis and magnet 1151 is along/perpendicular to z axis as depicted in Figs. 3-4, 6, e.g. paragraphs [93-104, 118-127]; it is noted number of first and second magnets is not recited);
a ball guide configured to support rotational movement of the carrier in a first direction (i.e. rotation plate 1130 supporting rotation of 1120 in (around) Y axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [96,110-117], Figs. 3-4,6, 10-12);
a first ball placed between the carrier and the ball guide (second ball bearing(s) 1133 placed between rotation holder 1120 and rotation plate 1130, paragraphs [96, 108-117,129-130]);
a housing configured to support rotational movement of the ball guide in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (i.e. housing 1010, supporting 1130 rotation in (around) X axis direction paragraphs [88,90, 96, 108-117]);
a coil installed at the housing and faces the second magnet (i.e. as coil 1141b installed and provided at the housing 1010 and facing directly second magnet 1141a, see Figs. 3-4, 9, 11, paragraphs [98-99, 120-126]);
a second ball placed between the ball guide and the housing (first ball bearing(s) 1131 placed between rotation plate 1130 and housing 1010, paragraphs [96, 108-117,129-130]), and
a yoke plate provided in the housing and configured to generate an attractive force with the second magnet exposed through the first space hole (pulling yoke 1153 in housing on inner wall surface of housing 1010, and generating pulling force with second magnet 1151 on rotation holder 1120 through hole in rotation plate 1130, paragraphs [95-97,110], Figs. 3-5),
wherein the second magnet is installed at the carrier to protrude outward (as second magnet 1151 is installed in 1120 to protrude outward at least from the inner surface, paragraphs [95-96,110], Figs. 3B,4,6), and
wherein the ball guide has a hole and faces the carrier in such a way that the second magnet enters an interior of the hole (i.e. as rotation plate 1130 has a hole that faces magnet 1151 that enters the hole at least to an extent as depicted in Figs. 3B, 4, 6, paragraphs [95-96,110-117], see annotated Fig. 3B of Im below),
wherein the carrier and the ball guide are placed side by side in the same direction (i.e. as rotation holder 1120 and rotation plate 1130 are place side by side in same direction, Figs. 3-5, e.g. paragraphs [95-97,108-117], Figs. 3-5), and
wherein the attractive force between the yoke plate and the second magnet brings the carrier and the ball guide with the first ball interposed therebetween, into close contact (i.e. as attractive force between second magnet 1151 and yoke 1153 brings 1120 and 1130 into close contact with ball bearings 1133 in-between, e.g. paragraphs [95-97,108-117], Figs. 3-5) and brings the ball guide and the housing with the second ball interposed therebetween, into close contact (i.e. as attractive force between second magnet 1151 and yoke 1153 brings rotation plate 1130 and housing 1010 into close contact with ball bearings 1131 in-between, e.g. paragraphs [95-97,108-117], as clearly depicted in Figs. 3-5).
Specifically, Im teaches first and second magnets installed on the carrier and placed in directions perpendicular to each other, i.e. magnets 1141a, 1143a with 1145a and pulling magnet 1151 installed perpendicular to each other on holder 1120, where it is noted that first magnets 1143a and 1145a are placed along/perpendicular to x axis, and of second magnets magnet 1141a is perpendicular/along y axis and magnet 1151 is along/perpendicular to z axis as depicted in Figs. 3-4, 6, e.g. paragraphs [93-104, 118-127]). Importantly it is noted number of first and second magnets is not recited. The claim language does not restrict how may first or second magnets are installed on the carrier. The claim does not specify that the number of individual magnets of the second magnet is only one. Therefore, Im teaches the above limitations, namely that the coil installed at the housing and faces the second magnet (i.e. as coil 1141b installed and provided at the housing 1010 and facing directly second magnet 1141a, see Figs. 3-4, 9, 11, paragraphs [98-99, 120-126]); that the yoke plate provided in the housing and configured to generate an attractive force with the second magnet exposed through the first space hole (pulling yoke 1153 in housing on inner wall surface of housing 1010, and generating pulling force with second magnet 1151 on rotation holder 1120 through hole in rotation plate 1130, paragraphs [95-97,110], Figs. 3-5), and lastly that the attractive force between the yoke plate and the second magnet brings the carrier and the ball guide with the first ball interposed therebetween, into close contact (i.e. as attractive force between second magnet 1151 and yoke 1153 brings 1120 and 1130 into close contact with ball bearings 1133 in-between, e.g. paragraphs [95-97,108-117], Figs. 3-5) and brings the ball guide and the housing with the second ball interposed therebetween, into close contact (i.e. as attractive force between second magnet 1151 and yoke 1153 brings rotation plate 1130 and housing 1010 into close contact with ball bearings 1131 in-between, e.g. paragraphs [95-97,108-117], as clearly depicted in Figs. 3-5).
Regarding this issue it is held that the singular elements recited by the claims are not required by Applicant’s claim language to be exclusive. The preamble word “comprising” is open-ended and thus does not require the exclusivity of the recited elements, but allows the reference or combination of references to contain other elements as well. Additionally, “[t]he word ‘comprising’ transitioning from the preamble to the body signals that the entire claim is presumptively open-ended.” In Gillette Co. v. Energizer Holdings Inc., 405 F.3d 1367, 74 USPQ2d 1586 (Fed. Cir. 2005). See also Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (“like the term comprising,’ the terms containing’ and mixture’ are open-ended.”), Invitrogen Corp. v. Biocrest Mfg., L.P., 327 F.3d 1364, 1368, 66 USPQ2d 1631, 1634 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (“The transition comprising’ in a method claim indicates that the claim is open-ended and allows for additional steps.”); Genentech, Inc. v. Chiron Corp., 112 F.3d 495, 501, 42 USPQ2d 1608, 1613 (Fed. Cir. 1997). (MPEP §2111.02.). Therefore, the cited prior art of Im teaches all limitations of amended claim 1 including the limitations noted under issue (1) above. Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 with respect to Kim and Seol references have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues on pages 9-10 that the cited prior art of Kim alone or in combination with cited prior art of Seol does not disclose presumably that (2) “first and second magnets installed on the carrier and placed in directions perpendicular to each other;” because magnets in Kim and Seol are provided on two objects not a single object. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to issue (2), as noted in the rejection above, the cited prior art of Kim in combination with cited prior art of Im and Seol teaches and renders obvious all limitations of amended claim 1. Specifically,
Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-16) an actuator for a reflector (i.e. reflective module actuator 3000 with reflector member 3100, as part of camera module 100, e.g. see abstract, paragraphs [02, 08-38, 64-75,88-92,96-98,109-122,126-136], e.g. Figs. 2-4,7-11), comprising:
a carrier at which a reflector is installed (reflective holder 3200 with 3100 reflective member, e.g. paragraphs [70-75,109-122,126-136], Figs. 2-4,7-11);
first and second magnets installed on the carrier and placed in directions perpendicular to each other (magnet second 3231 installed on the back of the holder 3200, and first magnet 3331 installed with rotatable holder 3300 on holder 3200, and magnets 3231 and 3331 are placed in perpendicular directions to each other, e.g. paragraphs [129-133], see Figs. 8-11);
a ball guide configured to support rotational movement of the carrier in a first direction (rotatable holder 3300 supporting reflective holder 3200 rotating in/around e.g. R2 direction, paragraphs [74-75, 117-122,125-136,156-157], e.g. Figs. 2-4,7-11);
a first ball placed between the carrier and the ball guide (e.g. one of balls 3430 between 3200 and 3300, paragraphs [117-118,125], e.g. Figs. 8-9, 11);
a housing configured to support rotational movement of the ball guide in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (housing 1100 supporting rotating of 3300 in, around R1 direction perpendicular to R2, paragraphs [64, 74-75, 117-122,129-143,156], e.g. Figs. 2-4,7-11);
a coil installed at the housing and faces the second magnet (coil 3232 disposed on the housing 1100, and is facing the second magnet 3231 on reflective holder 3200, paragraphs [129-133], Figs. 8, 10-11);
a second ball placed between the ball guide and the housing (e.g. balls 3410, 3420, between 3300 and 1100, and another of balls 3430 between inner wall part with groove 3310 of 3300 and 1100, e.g. paragraphs [117-122,129-143,156,190], e.g. Figs. 2-4,7-11), and
a yoke plate (3234) provided in the housing (as second yoke 3234 in 1100 at the rear of second driving coil 3232, paragraphs [133,167], Figs. 8, 10-11) and configured to generate an attractive force with the second magnet exposed through the hole (as 3234 configured as attractive magnetic force generated by the second driving magnet 3231 in exposed in back opening space of 3300, paragraphs [133,167], depicted in Figs. 8, 10-11),
wherein the second magnet is installed at the carrier to protrude outward (as 3231 is installed at back of 3200 in extension 3210 and is protruding outward from 3200, as best depicted in Figs. 8-9, paragraphs [129-133, 164-169, 174-175]), and
wherein the ball guide has an opening (i.e. as back opening between bottom frame part of 3300 and two vertical columns where 3231 is exposed , depicted in Figs. 8-9, paragraphs [129-133,164-172]) and faces the carrier in such a way that the second magnet enters an interior of the opening (i.e. as 3300 faces 3200 such that 3231 enters the opening of 3300, as best depicted in Figs. 8-9, paragraphs [129-133, 164-172]), and
wherein the carrier and the ball guide are placed side by side in the same direction (i.e. as rotatable holder 3300 and the reflective holder 3200 are placed side by side in same direction, e.g. paragraphs [109-118, 121-129], Figs. 8-11), and
wherein the attractive force between the yoke plate and the second magnet brings the carrier and the ball guide with the first ball interposed therebetween, into close contact (as yoke 3234,3334 attracted by magnetic force generated by the second driving magnet 3231 on 3200, brings 3200 and 3300 with 3430 therebetween into contact, paragraphs [133,167], depicted in Figs. 8, 10-11) and brings the ball guide and the housing with the second ball interposed therebetween, into close contact (i.e. brings 3300 and 1100 with 3420 therebetween into contact, as depicted in Figs. 8, 10-11, paragraphs [74-75, 117-122,125-136,156-157,167]).
But Kim is silent that the first magnet 3331 is installed i.e. directly on the carrier (as 3331 with rotatable holder 3300 is installed on holder 3200 as the carrier, e.g. paragraphs [129-133], see Figs. 8-11), and that the opening (i.e. as back opening between bottom frame part of 3300 and two vertical columns where 3231 is exposed , see Figs. 8-9) is a hole, i.e. a full hole (i.e. as the above described opening is partial hole, see Figs. 8-8).
However, Im teaches in the same field of invention of a reflecting module for optical
image stabilization (OIS) and camera module including the same (see Figs. 2-6, title, abstract, paragraphs [02, 06-26, 83-90, 93-104, 107-113, 118-127], including reflecting member 1110 in rotation holder carrier 1120 having magnets 1141a,1143a,1151 installed on it, Figs. 3-4,6) and further teaches that the first magnet 3331 is installed (i.e. directly) on the carrier (i.e. as magnet 1141a of first driving part 1140 for rotating holder 1120, is installed directly on the rotation holder 1120 carrier, and together with other magnet e.g. 1143a, 1151, providing that the OIS function is implemented by the movement of only the rotation holder having a relatively low weight since it does not include lenses or other components, and thus power consumption for the OIS function is significantly reduced, see paragraphs [05, 83-90, 93-104, 107-113, 118-127]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify carrier reflective holder, rotatable holder and placement of first magnet, such that the first magnet is installed (directly) on the carrier according to teachings of Im in order to provide that the OIS function is implemented by the movement of only the rotation holder having a relatively low weight since it does not include lenses or other components, and thus significantly reducing the power consumption for the OIS function, (see Im, paragraphs [05,101-102]).
Further, Seol teaches in the same field of invention of an apparatus for driving an optical-reflector for optical image stabilization (OIS) (see Figs. 1-7, title, abstract, paragraphs [02, 11-24, 33-38, 74-86, 95-104]), and further teaches that the ball guide has a hole (i.e. as middle frame ball guide has a hole opening 139, as full hole through which magnet 121 in mounting portion 125 enters the interior of hole 139, as depicted in Figs. 5-6, paragraphs [96-100], providing that it is possible to suppress the support frame 120 not to be separated or shaken in any direction other than the X-axial direction in which the support frame 120 rotates based on the middle frame 130, and allowing that the electromagnetic force generated from the first coil 150-1 may be concentrated on the first magnet 121 more intensively, thereby allowing the support frame 120 to be driven in an X-axial direction in a lower-power environment, e.g. paragraphs [96-100]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the back opening between bottom frame part and two vertical columns of ball guide rotatable holder of Kim into a full hole opening according to teachings of Seol in order to suppress the support frame/reflective holder not to be separated or shaken in any direction other than the axial direction in which the support frame/reflective holder rotates based on the middle frame/ rotatable holder, and to allow that the electromagnetic force generated from the driving coil (i.e. 3232) to be concentrated on the driving magnet (3231) more intensively, thereby allowing the support frame/reflective holder to be driven in an axial direction in a lower-power environment (see Seol e.g. paragraphs [96-100]).
Note that as a result of the combination of Kim, Im and Seol, the combination also teaches and renders obvious that the second magnet [is] exposed through the hole (as 3234 configured as attractive magnetic force generated by the second driving magnet 3231 in back hole opening of 3300, modified into a full hole in combination with Seol).
Notably, as presented Kim is silent that the first magnet 3331 is installed i.e. directly on the carrier (as 3331 with rotatable holder 3300 is installed on holder 3200 as the carrier, e.g. paragraphs [129-133], see Figs. 8-11). Hence Im was used, as Im teaches in the same field of invention of a reflecting module for optical image stabilization (OIS) and camera module including the same (see Figs. 2-6, title, abstract, paragraphs [02, 06-26, 83-90, 93-104, 107-113, 118-127], including reflecting member 1110 in rotation holder carrier 1120 having magnets 1141a,1143a,1151 installed on it, Figs. 3-4,6) and further teaches that the first magnet 3331 is installed (i.e. directly) on the carrier (i.e. as magnet 1141a of first driving part 1140 for rotating holder 1120, is installed directly on the rotation holder 1120 carrier, and together with other magnet e.g. 1143a, 1151, providing that the OIS function is implemented by the movement of only the rotation holder having a relatively low weight since it does not include lenses or other components, and thus power consumption for the OIS function is significantly reduced, see paragraphs [05, 83-90, 93-104, 107-113, 118-127]).
Hence, it was noted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify carrier reflective holder, rotatable holder and placement of first magnet, such that the first magnet is installed (directly) on the carrier according to teachings of Im in order to provide that the OIS function is implemented by the movement of only the rotation holder having a relatively low weight since it does not include lenses or other components, and thus significantly reducing the power consumption for the OIS function, (see Im, paragraphs [05,101-102]). Prior art of Seol was not used in rejecting the noted issue (2) above.
Therefore the cited art of Kim in combination with cited prior art of Im teaches and renders obvious the limitations raised under issue (2) above. Applicant’s arguments regarding issue (2) are not found persuasive.
Applicant’s further arguments and statements of benefits of instant application on pages 11-15 as best understood, are directed towards limitations of new claim 8. However, claim 8 is found allowable over the prior art.
No additional substantial arguments were found in the Remarks dated 09/21/2026 after page 15.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872