DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and the Request for Continuing Examination filed on 05/13/2026 have been entered. Claims 1 and 4-7 remain pending in the application. Claims 1, 4, and 6-7 have been amended by the Applicant.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on application KR 10-2023-0061406, filed 05/12/2023 (Korea).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
However, to overcome a prior art rejection, applicant(s) must submit a translation of the foreign priority papers in order to perfect the claimed foreign priority because said papers has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP § 213.04
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by Im et al. (hereafter Im), US 20180224665 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Im teaches (see Figs. 1-12) an actuator for a reflector (i.e. a reflecting module for optical image stabilization (OIS) and camera module, see abstract, paragraphs [02, 06-26, 83-90, 93-104, 107-113, 118-127], including reflecting member 1110 in rotation holder carrier 1120 having magnets 1141a,1143a,1151 installed on it, Figs. 3-4,6), comprising:
a carrier at which a reflector is installed (rotation holder 1120 with reflecting member 1110, paragraphs [85, 93-104], Figs. 3-4);
first and second magnets installed on the carrier and placed in directions perpendicular to each other (i.e. magnets 1141a, 1143a with 1145a and puling magnet 1151 installed perpendicular to each other on holder 1120, as depicted in Figs. 3-4, 6, e.g. paragraphs [93-104, 118-127]);
a ball guide configured to support rotational movement of the carrier in a first direction (i.e. rotation plate 1130 supporting rotation of 1120 in (around) Y axis direction, e.g. paragraphs [96,110-117], Figs. 3-4,6, 10-12);
a first ball placed between the carrier and the ball guide (second ball bearing(s) 1133 placed between rotation holder 1120 and rotation plate 1130, paragraphs [96, 108-117,129-130]);
a housing configured to support rotational movement of the ball guide in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (i.e. housing 1010, supporting 1130 rotation in (around) X axis direction paragraphs [88,90, 96, 108-117]); and
a second ball placed between the ball guide and the housing (first ball bearing(s) 1131 placed between rotation plate 1130 and housing 1010, paragraphs [96, 108-117,129-130]),
wherein the second magnet is installed at the carrier to protrude outward (as magnet 1151 is installed in 1120 to protrude outward at least from the inner surface, paragraphs [95-96,110], Figs. 3B,4,6), and
wherein the ball guide has a hole and faces the carrier in such a way that the second magnet enters an interior of the hole (i.e. as rotation plate 1130 has a hole that faces magnet 1151 that enters the hole at least to an extent as depicted in Figs. 3B, 4, 6, paragraphs [95-96,110-117], see annotated Fig. 3B of Im below).
Regarding claim 4, Im teaches (see Figs. 1-12) further comprising: a yoke plate provided in the housing and configured to generate an attractive force with the second magnet exposed through the first space hole (pulling yoke 1153 in housing 1010generating pulling force with 1151 through hole in 1130, paragraphs [95-97,110], Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 5, Im teaches (see Figs. 1-12) that the carrier and the ball guide are placed side by side in the same direction (i.e. as rotation holder 1120 and rotation plate 1130 are place side by side in same direction, Figs. 3-5, e.g. paragraphs [95-97,108-117], Figs. 3-5), and wherein the attractive force between the yoke plate and the second magnet brings the carrier and the ball guide with the first ball interposed therebetween, into close contact (i.e. as attractive force between 1151 and 1152 brings 1120 and 1130 into close contact with ball bearings 1133 in-between, e.g. paragraphs [95-97,108-117], Figs. 3-5) and brings the ball guide and the housing with the second ball interposed therebetween, into close contact (i.e. as attractive force between 1151 and 1152 brings 1123 and 1010 into close contact with ball bearings 1131 in-between, e.g. paragraphs [95-97,108-117], Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 6, Im teaches (see Figs. 1-12) that the ball guide includes a rounded first rail where the first ball is placed, wherein the first rail is provided on a first surface, which is a surface facing the carrier, and is provided outside the hole (i.e. as 1130 includes seating grove 1134 rounded to an extent, where 1133 is placed, and 1134 is on first surface facing rotation holder/carrier 1120 and provided outside the hole of 1130, paragraphs [96,109-114], Figs. 3-4,6A).
Regarding claim 7, Im teaches (see Figs. 1-12) that the ball guide further includes a rounded second rail where the second ball is placed, wherein the second rail is provided on a second surface, which is a surface opposite to the first surface, and is provided outside the hole (i.e. as 1130 includes seating grove 1132 rounded to an extent, where 1131 is placed, and 1132 is on 2nd surface opposite of first surface, and provided outside the hole of 1130, paragraphs [96,109-114], Figs. 3-4,6A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (hereafter Kim, of record) US 20230185053 A1 in view of Im et al. (hereafter Im) US 20180224665 A1 and further in view of Seol et al. (hereafter Seol, of record) US 20180239161 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-16) an actuator for a reflector (i.e. reflective module actuator 3000 with reflector member 3100, as part of camera module 100, e.g. see abstract, paragraphs [02, 08-38, 64-75,88-92,96-98,109-122,126-136], e.g. Figs. 2-4,7-11), comprising:
a carrier at which a reflector is installed (reflective holder 3200 with 3100 reflective member, e.g. paragraphs [70-75,109-122,126-136], Figs. 2-4,7-11);
first and second magnets installed on the carrier and placed in directions perpendicular to each other (magnet second 3231 installed on the back of the holder 3200, and first magnet 3331 installed with rotatable holder 3300 on holder 3200, and magnets 3231 and 3331 are placed in perpendicular directions to each other, e.g. paragraphs [129-133], see Figs. 8-11);
a ball guide configured to support rotational movement of the carrier in a first direction (rotatable holder 3300 supporting reflective holder 3200 rotating in/around e.g. R2 direction, paragraphs [74-75, 117-122,125-136,156-157], e.g. Figs. 2-4,7-11);
a first ball placed between the carrier and the ball guide (e.g. one of balls 3430 between 3200 and 3300, paragraphs [117-118,125], e.g. Figs. 8-9, 11);
a housing configured to support rotational movement of the ball guide in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (housing 1100 supporting rotating of 3300 in, around R1 direction perpendicular to R2, paragraphs [64, 74-75, 117-122,129-143,156], e.g. Figs. 2-4,7-11); and
a second ball placed between the ball guide and the housing (e.g. balls 3410, 3420, between 3300 and 1100, and another of balls 3430 between inner wall part with groove 3310 of 3300 and 1100, e.g. paragraphs [117-122,129-143,156,190], e.g. Figs. 2-4,7-11),
wherein the second magnet is installed at the carrier to protrude outward (as 3231 is installed at back of 3200 in extension 3210 and is protruding outward from 3200, as best depicted in Figs. 8-9, paragraphs [129-133, 164-169, 174-175]), and
wherein the ball guide has an opening (i.e. as back opening between bottom frame part of 3300 and two vertical columns where 3231 is exposed , depicted in Figs. 8-9, paragraphs [129-133,164-172]) and faces the carrier in such a way that the second magnet enters an interior of the opening (i.e. as 3300 faces 3200 such that 3231 enters the opening of 3300, as best depicted in Figs. 8-9, paragraphs [129-133, 164-172]).
But Kim is silent that the first magnet 3331 is installed i.e. directly on the carrier (as 3331 with rotatable holder 3300 is installed on holder 3200 as the carrier, e.g. paragraphs [129-133], see Figs. 8-11), and that the opening (i.e. as back opening between bottom frame part of 3300 and two vertical columns where 3231 is exposed , see Figs. 8-9) is a hole, i.e. a full hole (i.e. as the above described opening is partial hole, see Figs. 8-8).
However, Im teaches in the same field of invention of a reflecting module for optical
image stabilization (OIS) and camera module including the same (see Figs. 2-6, title, abstract, paragraphs [02, 06-26, 83-90, 93-104, 107-113, 118-127], including reflecting member 1110 in rotation holder carrier 1120 having magnets 1141a,1143a,1151 installed on it, Figs. 3-4,6) and further teaches that the first magnet 3331 is installed (i.e. directly) on the carrier (i.e. as magnet 1141a of first driving part 1140 for rotating holder 1120, is installed directly on the rotation holder 1120 carrier, and together with other magnet e.g. 1143a, 1151, providing that the OIS function is implemented by the movement of only the rotation holder having a relatively low weight since it does not include lenses or other components, and thus power consumption for the OIS function is significantly reduced, see paragraphs [05, 83-90, 93-104, 107-113, 118-127]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify carrier reflective holder, rotatable holder and placement of first magnet, such that the first magnet is installed (directly) on the carrier according to teachings of Im in order to provide that the OIS function is implemented by the movement of only the rotation holder having a relatively low weight since it does not include lenses or other components, and thus significantly reducing the power consumption for the OIS function, (see Im, paragraphs [05,101-102]).
Further, Seol teaches in the same field of invention of an apparatus for driving an optical-reflector for optical image stabilization (OIS) (see Figs. 1-7, title, abstract, paragraphs [02, 11-24, 33-38, 74-86, 95-104]), and further teaches that the ball guide has a hole (i.e. as middle frame ball guide has a hole opening 139, as full hole through which magnet 121 in mounting portion 125 enters the interior of hole 139, as depicted in Figs. 5-6, paragraphs [96-100], providing that it is possible to suppress the support frame 120 not to be separated or shaken in any direction other than the X-axial direction in which the support frame 120 rotates based on the middle frame 130, and allowing that the electromagnetic force generated from the first coil 150-1 may be concentrated on the first magnet 121 more intensively, thereby allowing the support frame 120 to be driven in an X-axial direction in a lower-power environment, e.g. paragraphs [96-100]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the back opening between bottom frame part and two vertical columns of ball guide rotatable holder of Kim into a full hole opening according to teachings of Seol in order to suppress the support frame/reflective holder not to be separated or shaken in any direction other than the axial direction in which the support frame/reflective holder rotates based on the middle frame/ rotatable holder, and to allow that the electromagnetic force generated from the driving coil (i.e. 3232) to be concentrated on the driving magnet (3231) more intensively, thereby allowing the support frame/reflective holder to be driven in an axial direction in a lower-power environment (see Seol e.g. paragraphs [96-100]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-16) further comprising: a yoke plate (3234) provided in the housing (as second yoke 3234 in 1100 at the rear of second driving coil 3232, paragraphs [133,167], Figs. 8, 10-11) and configured to generate an attractive force with the second magnet exposed through the hole (as 3234 configured as attractive magnetic force generated by the second driving magnet 3231 in back space of 3300, paragraphs [133,167], depicted in Figs. 8, 10-11, and in combination with Seol).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-16) that the attractive force between the yoke plate and the second magnet brings the carrier and the ball guide with the first ball interposed therebetween, into close contact (as yoke 3234,3334 attracted by magnetic force generated by the second driving magnet 3231 on 3200, brings 3200 and 3300 with 3430 therebetween into contact, paragraphs [133,167], depicted in Figs. 8, 10-11) and brings the ball guide and the housing with the second ball interposed therebetween, into close contact (i.e. brings 3300 and 1100 with 3420 therebetween into contact, as depicted in Figs. 8, 10-11, paragraphs [74-75, 117-122,125-136,156-157,167]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-16) that the ball guide includes a rounded first rail where the first ball is placed (i.e. as one of rounded accommodation grooves 3310 with one 3430, paragraphs [162-163,190], Figs. 8-9), wherein the first rail is provided on a first surface, which is a surface facing the carrier, and is provided outside the hole (as one of 3310 is on first face of 3300 facing holder 3200 outside the back space of 3300 between two vertical columns, paragraphs [162-163,190], Figs. 8-9, and in combination with Seol).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-16) that the ball guide further includes a rounded second rail where the second ball is placed (i.e. as 3322, 3321 with 3420 and 3410, and/or other of rounded accommodation grooves 3310 with one 3430, paragraphs [144, 162-163,190], Figs. 8-9), wherein the second rail is provided on a second surface, which is a surface opposite to the first surface, and is provided outside the hole (as 3322, 3321 and other of 3310 is on other opposite face of 3300, and outside the back space of 3300 between two vertical columns, paragraphs [162-163,190], Figs. 8-9, in combination with Seol).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the Remarks dated 03/06/2026 with respect to claims 1 and its dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Im et al. US 20180367714 A1 also disclose features of instant invention.
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872