DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species 2 (Figs. 12A/B) in the reply filed on 04-02-2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 4-7, 9-12, and 15-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04-02-2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8, 13-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shih et al. (U.S. Pub. 2017/0123548).
Regarding claim 1, Shih discloses (Figs. 1-10) a strain measuring system (see the Abstract and pars. [0009]-[0014]), comprising:
a piezoelectric element 102 [0039] and a resistor 104 [0039] provided on an object 110 ;
a resistance detection circuit 500 configured to detect a change in resistance of the resistor [0043];
a piezoelectric effect detection circuit 600 configured to detect a piezoelectric effect of the piezoelectric element [0044]; and
a strain calculation circuit 1000 [0057] configured to:
detect a strain changing time [0011] while the strain of the object is changing using a detection result from the piezoelectric effect detection circuit 600 (see pars. [0011] and [0044]),
calculate a change in resistance of the resistor 104 during the strain changing time (see pars. [0011] and [0043]), and
calculate a degree of strain of the object (stress over time: [0011], long term stress changes: [0043]) using a calculation result of the change in resistance (see pars. [0043]-[0044] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 3, Shih discloses (Figs. 1-10) the resistor 104, the piezoelectric element 102, and the object 110 are at least partially overlapped with each other along a predetermined direction (i.e. vertically: see Figs. 1A/B).
Regarding claim 8, Shih discloses (Figs. 1-10) the resistor 104 and the piezoelectric element 102 are disposed on different planes (as shown in Figs. 1A/B).
Regarding claim 13, Shih discloses (Figs. 1-10) a longitudinal direction of the resistor 104 and a longitudinal direction of the piezoelectric element 102 align with a longitudinal direction of the object 110 (i.e. left-right in Figs. 1A/B).
Regarding claim 14, Shih discloses (Figs. 1-10) a central axis of the resistor 104 along the longitudinal direction of the resistor 104, a central axis of the piezoelectric element 102 along the longitudinal direction of the piezoelectric element 102, and a central axis of the object 110 along the longitudinal direction of the object overlap (i.e. vertically: see Figs. 1A/B).
Regarding claim 17, Shih discloses (Figs. 1-10) the resistor 104 includes at least one of Ni and Cr (i.e. 104 can be nickel-chromium: [0039]).
Regarding claim 18, Shih discloses (Figs. 1-10) the piezoelectric element includes zinc oxide [0039].
Regarding claim 19, Shih discloses (Figs. 1-10) the resistor 104 is formed of at least one of a Ni-Cr based alloy [0039].
Regarding claim 20, Shih discloses (Figs. 1-10) the resistor 104 is disposed on the object as a thin film [0039].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN R SCHMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852