DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/15/2026 has been entered. Claims 1- 10 remain pending in the application. Claims 1-6 and 8-9 have been amended by the Applicant. Previous claims 1-10 rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments to claims 1-6, 8-9.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on application JP2023-063038 (Japan).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
However, to overcome a prior art rejection, applicant(s) must submit a translation of the foreign priority papers in order to perfect the claimed foreign priority because said papers has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP § 213.04
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Objections/Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-10 are objected and interpreted to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 and it’s dependent claim recite the limitations regarding “on a surface of the frame as a wiring pattern; and a second wiring, different from the first wiring, formed on a surface of the frame as a wiring pattern”. However, the application specifies that the wiring are formed using MID technique as molded interconnect device, that can be in the frame of the head mounted display (HMD) (e.g. paragraph [05], cited by the Applicant, and throughout the specification), as well as on upper and/or lower frame of HUD on inner surface (paragraphs [51-52]). However this description is somewhat ambiguous, as it is unclear as to what extent the wiring is on actual surface, or coved with other surface or material, or embedded in the surface, or embedded in inner surface enclosed by other elements or parts of the HUD. For the purposes of examination the above limitations will be treated broadly, such that the wirings can be on the surface, also embedded in the surface or embedded, molded on surface or inner surface and/or covered with other element. Appropriate corrections are suggested if different meanings are sought. Claim 2-10 depend on claim 1 and are therefore interpreted in the same manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patton et al. (hereafter Patton, of record) US 20240192506 A1 in view of in view of Blum et al. (hereafter Blum) US 20120127423 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Patton teaches (see Figs. 1-10) a head mounted display having a frame connecting left and right temporal regions (i.e. head mounted display device 10 with molded polymer structures and having frame e.g. 26 with left and right temporal regions of 26 incl. e.g. 26-2,26-1, 58, 60, abstract, paragraphs [02,04-06, 19-29,31-34, 36-43, 45-53], Figs. 1-9), the head mounted display (10) comprising:
a control board ( i.e. control circuitry 12 in e.g. 76, 84 on left/right temporal regions of 26, e.g. paragraphs [27-29,31-34, 36-43, 49-53], see Figs. 2-5,10);
a first wiring on a surface of the frame as a wiring pattern (i.e. as signal/power wires e.g. 78, 82, of cables polymer molded on a surface of frame 26 e.g. connecting control circuitry 12 in 76, 84 with other circuit board in other e.g. 76, 84 on different left/right temporal regions of 26, e.g. paragraphs [27-29,31-34, 36-43, 49-53], see Figs. 2-5,10); and
a second wiring different from the first wiring, formed on a surface of the frame as a wiring pattern (i.e. as other of signal wires in 78, 82 cables polymer molded on a surface of frame 26 connecting control circuitry 12 in 76, 84 with e.g. camera sensors 16 in binocular imaging arrangement, e.g. paragraphs [24-27, 35-43, 49-53], see Figs. 2-5,10).
wherein one end of the first wiring and one end of the second wiring are electrically connected to the control board, respectively, (as one of signal/power wires e.g. 78, 82, is connecting control circuitry 12 in 76, 84 with other circuit board in other e.g. 76, 84 on different left/right temporal regions of 26, and as other of signal wires in 78, 82 is connecting control circuitry 12 in 76, 84 with e.g. camera sensors 16 e.g. in binocular imaging arrangement, paragraphs [24-29, 31-34,35-43, 49-53], see Figs. 2-5,10)
wherein another end of the first wiring and another end of the second wiring have different connection destinations from each other (i.e. as noted above, one of 78, 82, is connected with other circuit board in other e.g. 76, 84 on different left/right temporal regions of 26, while other of 78, 82 is connected with e.g. camera sensors 16, paragraphs [24-29, 31-34,35-43, 49-53], see Figs. 2-5,10), and positions separated from each other with a light guide optical system interposed therebetween (i.e. as separated positions e.g. 50, 56, 58 of support 26,26-2,72,86 with lenses 54 holding waveguides 38 interposed in-between, paragraphs [04,17,24, 28,30-36]).
But Patton is silent that the first wiring and the second wiring are disposed at positions separated from each other with a light guide optical system interposed therebetween (i.e. as different wires 78,82 are molded on surface of frame 26, as support 26-2,72 with lenses 54 holding waveguides 38, paragraphs [04,17,24, 28,30-36]).
However, Blum teaches in the same field of invention of a electronic spectacle frame (see Figs. 1,3,16,21-22,28, title, abstract, paragraphs [04-13,96-102,111-118,191-198,213-214,321-328,361], with electronic spectacle frame including electronic modules and components disposed on the frame, temples connected with conductive pathways), and further teaches the first wiring and the second wiring are disposed at positions separated from each other with a light optical lens system interposed therebetween (i.e. as electronic pathways e.g. top 2201 and bottom 2202 conductors are disposed at designated locations/positions on top and bottom parts of the frame 2003 and separated by optical lens system i.e. active lenses, while providing separate power and reference signals for electrical connectivity with electronic modules 2207,2208, lenses and electronic components e.g. camera, sensors, paragraphs [111-118,191-198,213-214,321-328,361], e.g. Figs. 21-22).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and arrange the first and second wirings to be arranged on different (e.g. top and bottom sides) positions of the frame support with optical lenses with waveguides interposed in-between according to teachings of Blum having electronic pathways with top and bottom conductors disposed at designated locations/positions on top and bottom parts of the frame and separated by optical lens system in order to provide separate power and reference signals for electrical connectivity of electronic modules lens parts and electronic components, e.g. paragraphs [111-118,213-214,321-328,361]).
Regarding claim 2, Patton teaches (see Figs. 1-10) that the first wiring is electrically connected to a circuit board (as one of signal/power wires e.g. 78, 82, is connecting control circuitry 12 in 76, 84 with other circuit board in other e.g. 76, 84 on different left/right temporal regions of 26, paragraphs [24-29, 31-34,35-43, 49-53], see Figs. 2-5,10).
Regarding claim 3, Patton teaches (see Figs. 1-10) that the second wiring is electrically connected to a camera or a camera drive board (other of 78, 82 is connected with e.g. camera sensors 16, paragraphs [24-29, 31-34,35-43, 49-53], see Figs. 2-5,10).
Regarding claim 4, Patton teaches (see Figs. 1-10) that the first wiring and the second wiring are disposed on opposite sides of the light guide optical system (i.e. as different wires one of and the other of 78,82 are molded on different surfaces, e.g. top and bottom surfaces of frame 26, as support 26-2,72 with waveguides 38 in lenses 54, see paragraphs [04,17,24, 28,30-36], Figs. 2-5, and in combination with Blum, e.g. paragraphs [213-214] Figs. 21-22).
Regarding claim 5, Patton teaches (see Figs. 1-10) that the frame has an upper frame and a lower frame support frame 26, 26-2 with top frame 50 and lower frame portions 56, e.g. paragraphs [27-29,31-34, 36-43, 49-53], see Figs. 2-5), the first wiring is formed on a surface of one of the upper frame and the lower frame, and the second wiring is formed on a surface of the other of the upper frame and the lower frame (i.e. as one of 78,82 is formed on top or bottom surfaces 50 or 56 of frame 26, as support 26-2,72, and other of 78,82 is formed on other of top or bottom surfaces 50 or 56 of frame 26,26-2,72, e.g. paragraphs [27-29,31-34, 36-43, 49-53], see Figs. 2-5, and in combination with Blum see above, e.g. paragraphs [213-214] Figs. 21-22).
Regarding claim 6, Patton teaches (see Figs. 1-10) that the first wiring is formed on a surface of the upper frame, and the second wiring is formed on a surface of the lower frame (i.e. as one of 78,82 is formed on top surface 50 of frame 26,26-2,72, and other of 78,82 is formed on bottom surface 56 of frame 26,26-2,72, e.g. paragraphs [27-29,31-34, 36-43, 49-53], see Figs. 2-5, and in combination with Blum see above, e.g. paragraphs [213-214] Figs. 21-22).
Regarding claim 7, Patton teaches (see Figs. 1-10) that the frame has a display unit for the right eye and a display unit for the left eye (i.e. as 10 with 26 has displays 14 (with e.g. 36, 38) for left and right eye at eye box 30, paragraphs [17, 23-24,27-30]), and cameras are respectively disposed in portions of the display unit for the right eye and the display unit for the left eye (i.e. i/o devices 22 incl. imaging sensors 16 as cameras, three-dimensional image sensors e.g. as two or more cameras in a binocular imaging arrangement in 10, 26,14, see paragraphs [17,24-25], Figs. 1-2), but Patton does not specify that cameras are disposed in lower portions of the display unit. However, this is seen as an obvious arrangement of cameras in a binocular imaging arrangement in the HMD device frame with displays. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange camera sensors in binocular imaging arrangement to be in lower positions of the display unit frame in order to provide gathering of three-dimensional images using such two (or more) cameras in a binocular imaging arrangement while not blocking or interfering with left/right display devices displaying virtual content to the user (see e.g. paragraphs [17,24-25, 35-43], Figs. 1-2), since it has been held that a mere reversal of the working parts of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955), and In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167 (MPEP §2144.04, sec. VI).
Regarding claim 8, Patton teaches (see Figs. 1-10) that a shield electrode pattern formed on a surface of a part of a casing that comes into contact with a user is provided when the user weas the head mounted display (i.e. as wires e.g. 78, 82, in cables polymer molded for connecting control circuitries are coaxial cables bundles in regions of 26 (88, 90) and casings 60 that come in contact when used, e.g. paragraphs [27-29,31-34, 36-43, 50-53], see Figs. 2-6,9-10).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patton et al. (hereafter Patton, of record) US 20240192506 A1 in view of in view of Blum et al. (hereafter Blum) US 20120127423 A1 and in view of Ng et al. (hereafter Ng, of record) US 20130265117 A1.
Regarding claim 9, Patton teaches (see Figs. 1-10) a ground electrode of the control board (i.e. as control circuitry 12 is connected with battery supply and needs electrode/lead to connect to battery negative/ground terminal, paragraphs [20-27, 36-37]) but is silent that it is electrically connected to the shield electrode pattern formed (i.e. i.e. to coaxial part cables of 78, 82, that are polymer molded, e.g. paragraphs [27-29,31-34, 36-43, 50-53], see Figs. 2-6,9-10). However, Ng teaches in same field of invention of rf and high speed data cable in augmented reality head mounted display device (see Figs. 1-5, abstract, paragraphs [02-06, 25-34,50-60,63-65]) and further teaches that ground electrode is electrically connected to the shield electrode pattern (i.e. as cable 6 includes lines 412,414 of controller 406/400 include drain wire and EMI absorbing jacket connected to system ground, and providing for absorbing and reduction of noise, cross-talk and other electromagnetic interference (EMI), see paragraphs [03, 60-65]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the control circuit ground lead and coaxial part of polymer molded cables of Patton to be connected according to teachings of Ng, in order to provide for absorbing and reduction of noise and cross-talk, and other electromagnetic interference (EMI), see paragraphs [03, 60-65]).
Regarding claim 10, Patton teaches (see Figs. 1-10) the first wiring is configured to be surrounded by the shield electrode pattern (i.e. as wires e.g. 78, 82, in cables polymer molded, connecting control 12 with other circuitries are coaxial cables bundles around signal(s) carrying lines in 78, 82in regions of 26 (88, 90) and casings 60 that come in contact when used, e.g. paragraphs [27-29,31-34, 36-43, 50-53], see Figs. 2-6,9-10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the Remarks dated 06/15/2026 with respect to claim 1 and its dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the previous claims 1-10 rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, these rejections have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments to claims 1-6, 8-9.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872