DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-8, 12, 14-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gan et al. (US 2022/0201507 A1, hereinafter “Gan”).
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 20, Gan discloses a base station comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions, and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to;
acquire position information of a base station (see para. 0048-0049, acquire location information and sharing location information with neighbor stations);
directly or indirectly share the position information of the base station (see para. 0049, share configuration) and
state information including a transmission power amount and a radio wave
directivity of the base station with one or more adjacent base stations (see para. 0054, configuration information includes TX power, beam), and acquire
position information of the adjacent base station and state information including a
transmission power amount and a radio wave directivity of the adjacent base
station (see para. 0043-0045, 0049-0050, the base station transmits the position information and status information including transmit power and beam pattern which is the “radio wave directivity” of the present application to the adjacent or peripheral base stations via management interface by direct or indirect connection);
decide whether cell adjustment is necessary, based on position information
of the adjacent base station, acquired state information of the adjacent base
station, position information of the base station, and acquired state information of
the base station (see para. 0066, adjustment based on TX power and beam pattern according configuration information and location; para. 0054, CCO algorithm to adjust coverage area based on TX power beam and location);
calculate a transmission power amount or a radio wave directivity of the
base station when it is decided that cell adjustment is necessary; and
adjust a cell by changing to the calculated transmission power amount or
the calculated radio wave directivity (see para. 0059-0060, compute coverage area based on location TX power and beam pattern of surrounding base stations and perform adjustment).
Regarding claims 5, 12, 16 and 19, Gan discloses wherein the at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to calculate a distance length between the base station and the adjacent base station, based on acquired position information of the base station and acquired position information of the adjacent base station (see para. 0050, base station calculates the distance between the base station and peripheral base station from the position information).
Regarding claims 7, and 14, Gan discloses wherein the at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to calculate a transmission power amount or a radio wave directivity of the base station by using the same cell adjustment algorithm as that of the adjacent base station (see para. 0043-0045, 0049-0050, 0060-0061, and 0066-0067, base station performs the same operation as that of peripheral base stations in order to calculate transmit power and beam pattern).
Regarding claim 8, Gan discloses a cell adjustment system comprising:
a base station; and an adjacent base station, wherein
the base station includes
at least one memory storing instructions, and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to; acquire
position information of a base station (see para. 0048-0049, acquire location information),
directly or indirectly share the position information of the base station (see para. 0049, share configuration directly or indirectly) and
state information including a transmission power amount and a radio wave
directivity of the base station with an adjacent base station (see para. 0043-0045, 0049-0050, the base station transmits the position information and status information including transmit power and beam pattern which is the “radio wave directivity” of the present application to the adjacent or peripheral base stations via management interface by direct or indirect connection), and acquire position
information of the adjacent base station and state information including a
transmission power amount and a radio wave directivity of the adjacent base
station (see para. 0043-0045, 0049-0050, the base station acquire the position information of peripheral base station and status information including transmit power and beam pattern ), decide whether cell adjustment is necessary, based on position information of the adjacent base station, acquired state information of the adjacent base
station, position information of the base station, and acquired state information of
the base station (see para. 0066, adjustment based on TX power and beam pattern according configuration information and location; para. 0054, CCO algorithm to adjust coverage area based on TX power beam and location), calculate a transmission power amount or a radio wave directivity of the base station when it is decided that cell adjustment is necessary, and adjust a cell by changing to the calculated transmission power amount or the calculated radio wave directivity (see para. 0059-0060, compute coverage area based on location TX power and beam pattern of surrounding base stations and perform adjustment)., and
the adjacent base station (see para. 0049, surrounding base station) includes
at least one memory storing instructions, and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to;
acquire position information of the adjacent base station (see para. 0049, acquire configuration information which includes position),
directly or indirectly share the position information of the adjacent base
station and state information including a transmission power amount and a radio
wave directivity of the adjacent base station with the base station (see para. 0043-0045, 0049-0050, the base station transmits the position information and status information including transmit power and beam pattern which is the “radio wave directivity” of the present application to the adjacent or peripheral base stations via management interface by direct or indirect connection), and acquire
position information of the base station and state information including a
transmission power amount and a radio wave directivity of the base station (see para. 0043-0045, 0049-0050, the base station acquire the position information of peripheral base station and status information including transmit power and beam pattern ),
decide whether cell adjustment is necessary, based on position information
of the adjacent base station, acquired state information of the adjacent base
station, position information of the base station, and acquired state information of
the base station (see para. 0066, adjustment based on TX power and beam pattern according configuration information and location; para. 0054, CCO algorithm to adjust coverage area based on TX power beam and location),
calculate a transmission power amount or a radio wave directivity of the
adjacent base station when it is decided that cell adjustment is necessary, and
adjust a cell by changing to the calculated transmission power amount or
the calculated radio wave directivity (see para. 0059-0060, compute coverage area based on location TX power and beam pattern of surrounding base stations and perform adjustment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 9-11 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Parkvall et al. (US 2017/0331577 A1, hereinafter “Parkvall”).
Regarding claims 2, and 9, Gan discloses that the position information is coordinates of a global position system (GPS) and that the network including the base station is a 5G network (see para. 0046 and 0062). Gan fails to disclose explicitly the base station adopts time division duplex (TDD) and includes a receiver configured to receive a positioning signal from a satellite positioning system, and the at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to acquire position information of the base station based on a positioning signal received via the receiver. However, Parkvall from a similar field of endeavor discloses the base station adopts time division duplex (TDD) and includes a receiver configured to receive a positioning signal from a satellite positioning system, and the at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to acquire position information of the base station based on a positioning signal received via the receiver (see para. 1166-1167 and 1707, TDD method). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include Parkvall TDD method and acquiring the coordinates of the global position system based on the positioning signal received from GPS of Gan. The method can be implemented in a receiver. The motivation of doing this is to improve spectral efficiency.
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Gan discloses wherein the at least one
processor configured to execute the instructions to; transmit, to one or more
adjacent base stations by broadcast, state information of the base station together
with an identifier of the base station, and acquire, from the adjacent base station
by broadcast, state information of the adjacent base station together with an
identifier of the adjacent base station (see para. 0050, base station broadcasts configuration information including status information and cell ID to peripheral base stations).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Gan discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention wherein the state information sharing is performed by using a random backoff algorithm. However, Parkvall from a similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the state information sharing is performed by using a random backoff algorithm (see para. 1569, random backoff). Thus, it would have been obvious to include Parkvall random access backoff procedure into Gan access procedure. The method can be implemented in a message. The motivation of doing this is to prioritize data transmission.
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Furuichi (US 2019/0274081)..
Regarding claims 6, and 13, Gan discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention explicitly further comprising a core, a radio unit (RU), a distributed unit (DU), and a central unit (CU), wherein the base station is a mobile base station operating according to a cellular communication standard. However, Furuichi from a similar field of endeavor discloses further comprising a core, a radio unit (RU), a distributed unit (DU), and a central unit (CU), wherein the base station is a mobile base station operating according to a cellular communication standard (see para. 0075). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include Furuichi base unit components into Gan base station. The method can be implemented in a base station. The motivation of doing this is to separate processing function.
Conclusion
MOHAMMAD S. ANWAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/MOHAMMAD S ANWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463