Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lombardi et al. (WO97/37616).
Regarding claims 1, 3-4 and 7, Lombardi teaches xray markers that are shaped similarly to those claimed (see Fig. 8A). Lombardi fails to teach the exact shape claimed. However, the Court has long held that changes in shape of a prior art product, in the absence of a new and unexpected result arising from said change in shape are unpatentable over the provided prior art shape for the same product. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 6, the teachings of Lombardi are as shown above. Lombardi fails to teach wherein the web portion is of the thickness claimed. However, those of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that the thickness of the web would directly relate to the amount of material employed in the manufacture of the xray markers of Lombardi and changing the amount metal in the web portion connecting the xray markers to be separated would be done in a way that balances both the durability of the part before it is separated and the ability to break it as well as just a general control over the amount of material employed. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the width of the web of Lombardi in order to control the mechanical properties of the part to be separated and the amount of material to be used in the overall manufacture of the xray markers.
Regarding claim 8, the medical devices shown in the figures of Lombardi would be considered as those to comprise a “framework”.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lombardi et al. (WO97/37616) as applied to claims 1 and 6-8 above and further in view of Gan et al. (USPGPub 2011/0008407).
Regarding claim 2, the teachings of Lombardi are as shown above. Lombardi fails to teach wherein the marker body comprises a coating as claimed. However, Gan teaches that it is known to coat medical devices with an oxide coating comprising silver for the purpose of providing active agents to the body via the coating [0024-0029] where the coating thickness reads on that claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the coating of Gan to the medical devices of Lombardi so that they may provide the same active agents to the human body as those provided in the invention of Gan.
Response to Arguments
As relates to the applicant’s arguments, the examiner acknowledges the general differences in shape between the claimed product and the shape of the product of Lombardi. However, as previously stated, in the absence of a new and unexpected result arising from said change in shape are unpatentable over the provided prior art shape for the same product. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
As relates to new and unexpected results, the applicant argues that because of the shape of the product is as provided, the likelihood of the formation of corrosion products is eliminated. However, this is due to the manner in which the applicant chooses to break away the product prior to coating the edge of the product with an oxide as the rest of the surface is coated. As such, if formed in the manner claimed, the product of the current claims results in a product with an uncoated portion that may be subject to corrosion more so than the remainder of the implant. However, the current claims are not manufacturing claims. They are instead product claims. The product itself is not claimed to have an uncoated portion devoid of oxide and it is not a requirement of the product claims that they be manufactured by any particular process so long as they are structurally provided as claimed. As such, the product of the current claims does not have coated and uncoated portions that vary from the current invention. In fact, claim 2 requires that the prior art product be coated, seemingly entirely, which would not leave a product that would seemingly achieve benefit from the shape provided because the surface in question would already be oxidized. As such, the product of claim 2 and that of Lombard in view of Gan would be the same with the exception of the shape which would provide no new or unexpected result from the provided shape due to the presence of an oxide coating.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717