Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 6-12 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lombardi et al. (WO97/37616) in view of Schlun (WO2009/030748).
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 11, Lombardi teaches xray markers that are shaped similarly to those claimed (see Fig. 8A). Lombardi fails to teach the exact shape claimed. However, the Court has long held that changes in shape of a prior art product, in the absence of a new and unexpected result arising from said change in shape are unpatentable over the provided prior art shape for the same product. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Further, Lombardi teaches wherein the markers may be made of tantalum (claim 17) wherein it is noted that tantalum readily oxidizes in air alone. Therefore, in the absence of a teaching in Lombardi (which does not seem to be present), it would be expected that the tantalum markers of Lombardi would also comprise a tantalum oxide layer on the surface formed through natural passivation. Further it is noted that as shown in Figs. 8A-B, the marker of Lombardi is thinner than it is wide. Lombardi fails to teach wherein the marker excludes the presence of holes or cutouts, which is pertinent because the method of attachment of Lombardi uses the holes of Lombardi to tie the markers to the implants. However, Schlun teaches that markers may be bonded to medical devices by welding. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to weld the markers of Lombardi as described by Schlun as a simple substitution of one attachment method of markers to medical devices wherein the results of the substitution would have been expected to be successful based upon the teachings of Schlun attaching similar markers to similar devices in the same way.
Regarding claims 3-4 and 12, Lombardi teaches xray markers that are shaped similarly to those claimed (see Fig. 8A). Lombardi in view of Schlun fails to teach the exact shape claimed. However, the Court has long held that changes in shape of a prior art product, in the absence of a new and unexpected result arising from said change in shape are unpatentable over the provided prior art shape for the same product. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Further, Lombardi teaches wherein the markers may be made of tantalum (claim 17) wherein it is noted that tantalum readily oxidizes in air alone. Therefore, in the absence of a teaching in Lombardi in view of Schlun (which does not seem to be present), it would be expected that the tantalum markers of Lombardi would also comprise a tantalum oxide layer on the surface formed through natural passivation. Further it is noted that as shown in Figs. 8A-B, the marker of Lombardi in view of Schlun is thinner than it is wide.
Regarding claim 6, the teachings of Lombardi in view of Schlun are as shown above. Lombardi in view of Schlun fails to teach wherein the web portion is of the thickness claimed. However, those of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that the thickness of the web would directly relate to the amount of material employed in the manufacture of the xray markers of Lombardi in view of Schlun and changing the amount metal in the web portion connecting the xray markers to be separated would be done in a way that balances both the durability of the part before it is separated and the ability to break it as well as just a general control over the amount of material employed. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the width of the web of Lombardi in view of Schlun in order to control the mechanical properties of the part to be separated and the amount of material to be used in the overall manufacture of the xray markers.
Regarding claim 8, the medical devices shown in the figures of Lombardi would be considered as those to comprise a “framework”.
Regarding claims 9, Lombardi in view of Schlun teaches xray markers that are shaped similarly to those claimed (see Fig. 8A). Lombardi in view of Schlun fails to teach the exact shape claimed. However, the Court has long held that changes in shape of a prior art product, in the absence of a new and unexpected result arising from said change in shape are unpatentable over the provided prior art shape for the same product. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Further, Lombardi teaches wherein the markers may be made of tantalum (claim 17) wherein it is noted that tantalum readily oxidizes in air alone. Therefore, in the absence of a teaching in Lombardi in view of Schlun (which does not seem to be present), it would be expected that the tantalum markers of Lombardi would also comprise a tantalum oxide layer on the surface formed through natural passivation. Further it is noted that as shown in Figs. 8A-B, the marker of Lombardi in view of Schlun is thinner than it is wide.
Regarding claim 10, Lombardi in view of Schlun teaches xray markers that are shaped similarly to those claimed (see Fig. 8A). Lombardi in view of Schlun fails to teach the exact shape claimed. However, the Court has long held that changes in shape of a prior art product, in the absence of a new and unexpected result arising from said change in shape are unpatentable over the provided prior art shape for the same product. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Further, Lombardi teaches wherein the markers may be made of tantalum (claim 17) wherein it is noted that tantalum readily oxidizes in air alone. Therefore, in the absence of a teaching in Lombardi in view of Schlun (which does not seem to be present), it would be expected that the tantalum markers of Lombardi would also comprise a tantalum oxide layer on the surface formed through natural passivation. Further it is noted that as shown in Figs. 8A-B, the marker of Lombardi is thinner than it is wide.
Response to Arguments
The applicants’ arguments are generally moot as they are drawn to newly provided claim amendments wherein the examiner has provided new art herein to address those arguments.
However, it is noted that the applicant further argues against Lombardi in general wherein the applicant argues the significance of their shape. The examiner agrees that the shape is different from that of the prior art, but the applicant does not show that the shape provides a new and unexpected result over the previously provided shape. The applicant argues that inwardly recessed breaking points avoids potentially irregular breaking surface. However, as previously described by the examiner and acknowledged by the applicants in the current arguments, Lombardi teaches rounding the edges and as such the potential for irregular edges is alleviated. The technical advantage provided by the particular shape in preventing exposure to irregular edges is not an advantage over Lombardi.
As relates to the reduction in galvanic corrosion explained, the applicant argues that the current invention because of the moving of potentially irregular surfaces away from the edge of the marker allows the marker to be placed in a manner so as to reduce galvanic corrosion. However, again, because Lombardi does away with irregular edges before use, this is not a technical advantage over Lombardi.
As relates to the preservation of radiopaque material, the added teachings of Schlun show that Lombardi may still preserve all of the radiopaque material of his invention while also being capable of being able to perform its intended function.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717