DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 03/08/2024.
Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims.
Claims 1-6, 8-11 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claim 10 recites “a software product, comprising non-transitory program code stored on a data carrier,” which is software per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JINGUANG Dong et al (WO 2020/093937 A1 PUBLISHED ON 14-May-2020).
For Claim 1, Dong discloses a method for operating a hearing system via a network having at least one decentralized network node (Dong teaches, on Page 13, that As shown in FIG. 3, an embodiment of the present application provides a method of controlling a hearing aid), the method comprising:
automatically starting a search for a decentralized network node of the network by the hearing system (Dong teaches, on Page 13, under S301: that when using the mobile phone 200 to connect the hearing aid 100, you can activate the respective Bluetooth device, scan to find the nearby hearing aid 100, and then initiate a Bluetooth connection. After pairing, the Bluetooth connection can be established. There can be multiple Bluetooth pairing processes, such as direct pairing, PIN code pairing, physical or virtual button pairing, and so on);
automatically connecting the hearing system to at least one decentralized network node of the network upon a successful search (Dong teaches, on Page 13, step S301: The terminal establishes a wireless communication link with the hearing aid); and automatically carrying out a data exchange between the hearing system and the at least one decentralized network node of the network (Dong teaches, on Page 14, step S303: The terminal generates a parameter configuration instruction according to the environmental data, and sends the parameter
configuration instruction to the hearing aid … the parameter configuration instruction is an instruction that can be executed by the hearing aid 100, conforms to a preset format, and is sent to the hearing aid 100 for execution by the terminal (for example, the mobile phone 200) through the wireless communication link).
Dong also teaches, on Page 12, that The WiFi device 211 is used to provide the mobile phone 200 with network access following WiFi related standard protocols. For example, the mobile phone 200 can be connected to a WiFi access point through the WiFi device 211 to connect to the network.
For Claim 3, Dong discloses a method, wherein the network comprises a data cloud and the method further comprises: storing data from the data cloud on the at least one decentralized network node, and transmitting the data to the hearing system during the data exchange (Dong teaches, on Page 14, last para: when the user sound collected by the microphone of the mobile phone 200 is small (for example, lower than a preset first sound threshold), a parameter configuration instruction for increasing the volume may be generated).
For Claim 9, Dong discloses a hearing system, comprising: a hearing aid having a search unit configured to search for a decentralized network node, having a transceiver for a signaling connection to the decentralized network node, and having a controller (Dong teaches, on Page 9, that FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of a BTE hearing aid 100, including a microphone 101, an earphone 102, a battery 103, a volume adjustment button 104, and a switch 105) for carrying out the method according to claim 1 (please refer to the rejection of Claim 1, above).
For Claim 10, please refer to the rejection of Claim 1, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JINGUANG Dong et al (WO 2020/093937 A1 PUBLISHED ON 14-May-2020) in view of Jung-Keun Park et al (US 20150201284 A1).
For Claim 2, Dong discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of terminating the connection between the hearing system and the at least one decentralized network node.
However, Park, in analogous art, discloses terminating the connection between the hearing system and the at least one decentralized network node (Park teaches, in ¶ 0013, that the method may further include terminating the connection with the first hearing aid, wherein the termination of the connection with the first hearing aid is performed before or after the establishing of the connection with the second hearing aid.).
Park teaches, in ¶ 0081, that the controller 303 may transmit a signal corresponding to an instruction for activating the first wireless unit of the hearing aid of the other side (e.g., a unit of performing a communication with the first electronic device) to the hearing aid of the other side, and may allow its first wireless unit 308 to transition to an inactive state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Dong with the connection termination taught in Park. The motivation is so that the hearing aid can minimize energy consumption.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JINGUANG Dong et al (WO 2020/093937 A1 PUBLISHED ON 14-May-2020) in view of Eli Dow et al (US 20180108370 A1).
For Claim 4, Dong discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of storing data from the data cloud on the at least one decentralized network node, and transmitting the data to the hearing system during the data exchange.
However, Dow, in analogous art, discloses storing data from the data cloud on the at least one decentralized network node, and transmitting the data to the hearing system during the data exchange (Dow teaches, in ¶ 0015, that the hearing aid 104 and/or one or more connected remote resources 102 may be configured to access one or more programs, applications, and/or software that are accessible in the cloud, e.g., stored on one or more internet based servers … data stored in the storage device or remote server may include, but is not limited to, one or more user applications and/or data, including but not limited to, historical audio data, learned responses, user-specific data, metadata related to the same, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Dong with the cloud-stored information taught in Dow. The motivation is to monitor hearing loss and/or comprehension of users.
Claims 5-6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JINGUANG Dong et al (WO 2020/093937 A1 PUBLISHED ON 14-May-2020) in view of Sriram Hariharan et al (US 20250088815 A1).
For Claim 5, Dong discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of transferring status data about a status of the hearing system from the hearing system to the at least one network node.
However, Hariharan, in analogous art, discloses that the hearing system is configured to automatically start the search for a decentralized network node with a settable repetition rate (Hariharan teaches, in ¶ 0027, that send to the companion device data regarding the in-ear status of the wireless ear bud in the primary role and the wireless ear bud in the secondary role).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Dong with the status information taught in Hariharan. The motivation is to minimize the time required to perform the role swap.
For Claim 6, Dong discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that the hearing system is configured to automatically start the search for a decentralized network node with a settable repetition rate.
However, Hariharan, in analogous art, discloses that the hearing system is configured to automatically start the search for a decentralized network node with a settable repetition rate (Hariharan teaches, in ¶ 0030, that the wireless ear buds 1005, 1010 are configured to attempt to wirelessly connect with a companion device automatically when the cover 1045 opens. Hariharan teaches, in ¶ 0058, that The swap manager on the wireless ear bud in a secondary role can try a predetermined number of times or for a predetermined duration to re-connect to the wireless ear bud in the primary role).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Dong with the role swap taught in Hariharan. The motivation is to ensure minimal or disruption in the data exchange when the battery level of the wireless ear bud in the primary role is low and needs to be charged, while the wireless ear bud in the secondary role has sufficient power.
For Claim 8, Dong discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of setting the repetition rate in dependence on a wearing state of the hearing system.
However, Hariharan, in analogous art, discloses setting the repetition rate in dependence on a wearing state of the hearing system (Hariharan teaches, in ¶ 0030, that the wireless ear buds 1005, 1010 are configured to attempt to wirelessly connect with a companion device automatically when the cover 1045 opens. Hariharan teaches, in ¶ 0058, that The swap manager on the wireless ear bud in a secondary role can try a predetermined number of times or for a predetermined duration to re-connect to the wireless ear bud in the primary role).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Dong with the role swap taught in Hariharan. The motivation is to ensure minimal or disruption in the data exchange when the battery level of the wireless ear bud in the primary role is low and needs to be charged, while the wireless ear bud in the secondary role has sufficient power.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JINGUANG Dong et al (WO 2020/093937 A1 PUBLISHED ON 14-May-2020) in view of Gabriel Aldaz et al (US 9113287 B2).
For Claim 11, Dong discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of localizing the hearing system.
However, Aldaz, in analogous art, discloses localizing the hearing system (Aldaz teaches, in Col. 6, lines 57-63, that In the wireless communication system depicted in FIG. 2, a mobile Bluetooth device 100, which may be e.g. a hearing device, such as a hearing aid, or a hearing-aid streamer, is located at a current device location 121 (which is more or less identical to the current location of a user wearing the mobile Bluetooth device 100)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Dong with the location information taught in Aldaz. The motivation is to allow the mobile Bluetooth device 100 to determine the distance--or at least an indication of the distance--to each of the other Bluetooth terminals.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 7 is considered allowable because the prior art does not teach limitations including.
“during an operation of the hearing system, determining a measure of a period of time since a last connection to a network node, and setting the repetition rate depending on the measure,” in addition to other claim limitations as recited in dependent claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: WESTERMANN et al (US 20180249259 A1) is pertinent to a system managing a customizable configuration in a hearing aid via the Internet.
/MOHAMED A KAMARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412