DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as
being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the
inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a parking area provided between the set-up area and the processing machine" in claim 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The “set-up area” is not mentioned in claim 1 and it is unclear if the set-up area is part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8, 10, 11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kern (US 20210046533 A1) in view of McAllister (US 2008/0127474 A1) and Stauffer (US 2019/0388954 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kern discloses a processing machine for flat material parts (Figure 1: 1) comprising:
a machine frame with a frame, a lower part and an upper part (Figure 1: 4),
one lower beam (Figure 1: 21),
one upper beam (Figure 1: 23),
at least one processing tool associated with the lower beam or with the upper beam and held on the machine frame (Figure 1: lower processing tool 22 is associated with lower beam and upper processing tool 24 is associated with upper beam),
a control unit for controlling a processing sequence with the at least one processing tool (Paragraph 9),
a transfer table positioned to the side of the machine frame (Figure 1: 80),
a feed table on which the flat material part to be processed can be placed for positioning in the processing machine (Figure 14: 10), and
a side feed unit having (Figure 13: 70):
a side feed rail which is fixedly connected to the machine frame (Figure 13: side feed rail 72, upper part 3, Paragraph 69: "the side insertion rail 72 is firmly connected to the upper part 3"),
a frame component connected with the side feed rail to be movable in a feed direction which corresponds to the processing edge of the flat material part (Figure 13: 73, Paragraph 68),
two or more suction cup units mounted on the frame component offset transversely to the feed direction (Figure 13: each individual suction cup 51 is a suction cup unit, feed direction 7),
Kern does not disclose the control unit is configured:
to control each of the two or more suction cup units separately one from one another,
to control the two or more suction cup units for picking up two or more flat material parts from the transfer table (Figure 13, Paragraph 68, Kern only discloses picking up one flat material part from the transfer table),
such that, when the frame component is moved in the feed direction into the processing machine, each one of the two or more suction cup units are actuated such that they successively deposit the picked-up flat material parts on the feed table for predetermined positioning such that, viewed in the feed processing direction of the feed table, no overlapping of the deposited flat material parts occurs.
McAllister discloses a modular holding fixture capable of accommodating a range of workpiece contours, geometries, sizes, and configurations that uses guide rails with multiple modules (suction cup units) placed across the rails. Each module is capable of holding multiple types of tooling, which includes suction cups. (Figure 1: guide rails 117, modules 120, 122, tooling 130, 140, Paragraph 22: the modules are movable, Paragraph 23: different types of tooling can be used, Paragraph 33: tooling can include suction cups). Having the module capable of movement allows the modular holding fixture to accommodate workpieces exhibiting a wide range of contours, geometries, and configurations (Paragraph 4).
Stauffer discloses a flat workpiece gripping centering device comprising multiple gripping units, a conveyor belt (Figure 4: conveyor belts 400 and 500, Figures 8-10: each gripping device 300-303 are a gripping unit), and a control unit capable of picking up two or more flat material parts from the conveyor belt and depositing them so there is no overlapping (Figures 9-18: show the centering device is capable of picking up multiple flat parts of different sizes and orientations to each other). The control unit is used for the purpose of controlling the centering device so the desired orientation of the workpiece can be achieved (Paragraph 51).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date to modify the invention of Kern by including the rails and modules disclosed by McAllister onto Kern’s frame component in a direction perpendicular to the feed direction for the purpose of allowing the suction cup units to accommodate workpieces exhibiting a wide range of contours, geometries, and configurations and including the control unit disclosed by Stauffer to control the gripper units for the purpose of controlling the suction units so the desired orientation of the workpiece can be achieved.
Regarding Claim 2, Kern in view of McAllister disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses each suction cup unit comprises a single suction cup or two or more suction cups arranged in a row one behind the other in the feed direction (McAllister Figure 1: the Y-axis 164 is the feed direction and each module 120 has multiple tooling along the arranged behind the other in the feed direction, McAllister Paragraph 33: tooling can be a suction cup).
Regarding Claim 3, Kern in view of McAllister disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses each suction cup unit comprises two or more suction cups arranged in a row one behind the other in the feed direction, wherein the foremost suction cup in the feed direction is positioned higher than the other suction cups, so that a foremost section of the flat material part in the feed direction is sucked in higher (McAllister Paragraph 26: linear actuators can be part of the tooling and have set height and actuator distance, McAllister Figure 4: shows a tooling with a linear actuator 430 and suction cup head together 432).
Regarding Claim 4, Kern in view of McAllister disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses three to five suction cups are arranged in a row one behind the other in the feed direction (McAllister Paragraph 23: modules are capable of holding at least one or multiple tooling, Figure 1: show modules 120, 122 holding up to 7 toolings 130, 140).
Regarding Claim 7, Kern in view of McAllister disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses two to six suction cup units are provided parallel to one another for parallel reception of a corresponding number of flat material parts (McAllister Figure 1: multiple modules 120, 122 are parallel to one another on the holding fixture 100, McAllister Paragraph 23: holding fixture may accommodate a plural bridge module, this includes two to six bridge modules).
Regarding Claim 8, Kern in view of McAllister disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses the frame component comprises a number of crossbeams (McAllister Figure 1: modules 120, 122 are cross beams), which are each movable independently of one another transversely to the feed direction on the frame component (McAllister Paragraph 22: the modules are movable), wherein the number of crossbeams is equal to the number of suction cup units (McAllister Figure 1: each module 120, 122 is its own suction cup unit and suction cup unit is made of multiple suction cups 130, 132, 140), wherein each of the suction cup units is mounted on one of the crossbeams.
Regarding Claim 10 as best interpreted, Kern in view of McAllister disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses a parking area being provided between the set-up area and the processing machine (Kern Figure 1: the transfer table 80 is part of the set up area and the figure shows the suction cup units in a parked position, the parking area is between the set up area as the processing machine as the suction cup units are capable of holding a sheet while they are in the parked position, Kern Paragraph 42).
Regarding Claim 11, Kern in view of McAllister disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses the transfer table has a stop in the feed direction for flat material parts moving in the feed direction (Kern Figure 1: stops 12, Paragraph 69: stops are arranged in the feed direction).
Regarding Claim 14, Kern in view of McAllister disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses the number of flat material parts to be picked up corresponds at most to the number of suction cup units (McAllister Paragraph 33: each suction cup would be capable of holding a small material).
Regarding Claim 15, Kern discloses a method for feeding flat material parts to a processing machine (Figure 1: processing machine 1) wherein the processing machine comprises:
a machine frame with a frame, a lower part and an upper part (Figure 1: 4),
one lower beam (Figure 1: 21),
one upper beam (Figure 1: 23),
at least one processing tool associated with the lower beam or with the upper beam and held on the machine frame (Figure 1: lower processing tool 22 is associated with lower beam and upper processing tool 24 is associated with upper beam),
a control unit for controlling a processing sequence with the at least one processing tool (Paragraph 9),
a transfer table positioned to the side of the machine frame (Figure 1: 80),
a feed table on which the flat material part to be processed can be placed for positioning in the processing machine (Figure 14: 10), and
a side feed unit having (Figure 13: 70):
a side feed rail which is fixedly connected to the machine frame (Figure 13: side feed rail 72, upper part 3, Paragraph 69: "the side insertion rail 72 is firmly connected to the upper part 3"),
a frame component connected with the side feed rail to be movable in a feed direction which corresponds to the processing edge of the flat material part (Figure 13: 73, Paragraph 68),
two or more suction cup units mounted on the frame component offset transversely to the feed direction (Figure 13: each individual suction cup 51 is a suction cup unit, feed direction 7),
wherein the method comprises, controlled by the control unit the steps of:
Kern does not disclose the control unit is configured: to control each of the two or more suction cup units separately one from one another,
to control the two or more suction cup units for picking up two or more flat material parts from the transfer table (Kern only discloses picking up one flat material, Figure 13, Paragraph 68),
Kern also does not disclose wherein the method comprises, controlled by the control unit the steps of:
picking-up step wherein two or more flat material parts are picked up from the transfer table (Kern only discloses picking up one flat material, Figure 13: the suction cups 51 have picked up a flat material part 5),
a flat material moving step wherein the two or more flat material parts are moved in the feed direction of the flat material parts in the feed direction (Kern only discloses picking up one flat material, Figure 14: the flat material part 5 has been moved in the feed direction, Paragraph 70), and
a number of subsequent positioning steps which number is equal to the number of picked up flat material parts, wherein, during a movement of the frame component in the feed direction into the processing machine, each one of the two or more suction cup units successively deposit the picked-up flat material parts on the feed table in such a way that no overlapping of the deposited flat material parts occurs when viewed in the feed processing direction of the feed table (Kern only discloses these steps for a single flat material, Figures 15-17: the flat material part has been placed on the feed table 10).
McAllister discloses a modular holding fixture capable of accommodating a range of workpiece contours, geometries, sizes, and configurations that uses guide rails with multiple modules (suction cup units) placed across the rails. Each module is capable of holding multiple types of tooling, which includes suction cups. (Figure 1: guide rails 117, modules 120, 122, tooling 130, 140, Paragraph 22: the modules are movable, Paragraph 23: different types of tooling can be used, Paragraph 33: tooling can include suction cups). Having the module capable of movement allows the modular holding fixture to accommodate workpieces exhibiting a wide range of contours, geometries, and configurations (Paragraph 4).
Stauffer discloses a flat workpiece gripping centering device comprising multiple gripping units, a conveyor belt (Figure 4: conveyor belts 400 and 500, Figures 8-10: each gripping device 300-303 are a gripping unit), and a control unit capable of picking up two or more flat material parts from the conveyor belt and depositing them so there is no overlapping (Figures 9-18: show the centering device is capable of picking up multiple flat parts of different sizes and orientations to each other). Each workpiece has it own subsequent centering steps to position it in its respective spot (Paragraph 13). The control unit is used for the purpose of controlling the centering device so the desired orientation of the workpiece can be achieved (Paragraph 51).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date to modify the invention of Kern by including the rails and modules disclosed by McAllister onto Kern’s frame component in a direction perpendicular to the feed direction for the purpose of allowing the suction cup units to accommodate workpieces exhibiting a wide range of contours, geometries, and configurations and including the control unit disclosed by Stauffer to control the gripper units for the purpose of controlling the suction units so the desired orientation of the workpiece can be achieved.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kern (US 20210046533 A1) in view of McAllister (US 2008/0127474 A1) and Stauffer (US 2019/0388954 A1) in further view of Yamane et al. (US 2022/0288793 A1, hereafter Yamane)
Regarding Claim 5, Kern in view of McAllister disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 does not disclose at least one ultrasonic sensor is provided in each suction cup unit for a distance measurement of the side feed unit from the surface of a one or uppermost flat material part resting on the transfer table.
Yamane discloses a suction cup pick and place device (Figure 3: robotic hand 130 is a single suction cup unit) that uses ultrasonic sensors (Paragraph 193: ultrasonic sensor can be used on the robotic hand) for the purpose of detecting the distance to the target object (Paragraph 193).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date to modify the combination as applied in claim 1 by including ultra sonic sensors onto the suction cup units as disclosed by Yamane for the purpose of detecting the distance to the target object.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kern (US 20210046533 A1) in view of McAllister (US 2008/0127474 A1) and Stauffer (US 2019/0388954 A1) in further view of Patterson (US 2012/0216344 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Kern in view of McAllister disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 does not disclose the upper side of the transfer table can be moved adjustably in its height.
Patterson discloses a transfer table for moving objects from one location to another that uses support columns and telescoping sleeves (Figure 4: sleeve 24, upper table 34, lower table 36, Paragraph 28) for the purpose being able to adjusting a height of the table assembly (Paragraph 36, Paragraph 13).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination as applied in claim 1 by including the support columns and telescoping sleeves disclosed by Patterson to the transfer table for the purpose of being able to adjusting a height of the table assembly.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kern (US 20210046533 A1) in view of McAllister (US 2008/0127474 A1) and Stauffer (US 2019/0388954 A1) in further view of Toncelli (US 2024/0326290 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Kern in view of McAllister disclose the limitations of claim 8. The combination as applied in claim 8. The combination as applied in claim 8 does not disclose the crossbeams are each driven and movable by a spindle drive or a magnetic linear guide.
Toncelli discloses a suction cup slab processing machine that use spindles slidably mounted on a horizontal beam (Figure 1: spindle 20, suction cups 30, horizontal beam 18). Each spindle is provided with a drive for the purpose of allowing independent sliding of each spindle (Paragraph 91).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination as applied in claim 8 by including the spindle drives disclosed by Toncelli onto the modules of McAllister for the purpose of allowing each module to independently slide along the rail.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kern (US 20210046533 A1) in view of McAllister (US 2008/0127474 A1) and Stauffer (US 2019/0388954 A1) in further view of Zhao et al. (CN 217731656 U, hereafter Zhao).
Regarding Claim 12, Kern in view of McAllister disclose the limitations of claim 11. The combination as applied in claim 11 does not teach a wiper brush is provided on the upper edge of the stop.
Zhao discloses a conveying device that uses a flexible stopper that is a brush (Figures 2 and 3: flexible stopper 12, Paragraph 69: the flexible stopper is a brush) for the purpose of preventing materials from entering certain components (Paragraph 68).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination as applied in claim 11 by replacing Kern’s stops with the flexible brush stopper disclosed by Zhao for the purpose of preventing materials from entering certain components (since the brush is the stopper the upper edge of the stop is also a brush).
Regarding Claim 13, Kern in view of McAllister disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 does not teach the transfer table has a rear stop for flat material parts in the opposite direction to the feed processing direction.
Zhao discloses a conveying device that uses a flexible stopper that is a brush (Figures 2 and 3: flexible stopper 12, Paragraph 69: the flexible stopper is a brush). The brush is along the sides of the conveyor belt (Figures 2 and 3: flexible stopper 12, conveyor belt 21) and is used for the purpose of preventing materials from entering certain components (Paragraph 68).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination as applied in claim 1 by including the flexible brush stopper disclosed by Zhao along the side of the transfer table for the purpose of preventing materials from entering certain components.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Suzuki (US 6607336 B1) discloses a suction cup pick and place device for handling flat materials, Bytow (US 4587716 A) discloses an adjustable work piece engagement member Figure 6.
/J.K.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653