DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to application No. 18/599,421, filed on 3/8/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-5, 9 and 19-20 have been rejected as follows. Claims 6-8 are objected to. Claims 10-18 are allowed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 12A-E and 13A-C are provided in greyscale. See MPEP 1.84 “Black and white drawings are normally required. India ink, or its equivalent that secures solid black lines, must be used for drawings”. Thus, greyscale is not permitted. “All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction.” Thus, greyscale is not permitted.
The drawings are objected to because the Figure 1 inset labelled “2B” should be labelled “1B”.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Reference number “20” in Figures 5, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference number “20” in Figures 5, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B is not described in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Senter (US Patent No. 8,020,917).
Regarding claim 1, Senter discloses a safety system (10, Fig. 1 & 5) for preventing ice from falling out from a rooftop (30A, Fig. 4) of a vehicle (31, 30, Fig. 4-5), the system comprising a grating structure (11, Fig. 1, disclosed as ice screen column 4, line 10) configured to be mounted on a rooftop (30/30A, Fig. 2; column 4, line 12), including a top member (top of 11, Fig. 1) having a generally planar shape (11, Fig. 1), the top member (11, Fig. 1) sized to cover about the rooftop (30A, Fig. 1), the top member being generally parallel to the rooftop (11, 30, Fig. 2), the top member having a front, left, right, and rear end (see annotated Figure 1 below), wherein the top member has a plurality of openings (column 4, lines 25-27) configured to receive snow and water therethrough; a left-side member (14/14C note that brackets 14 run the periphery of the screen 11, Fig. 1-2 & 4-5; see annotated Figure 1 below) extending from the left end of the top member (11, Fig. 2) downwardly to the rooftop (30, Fig. 2), the left-side member having a top end and a bottom end (see annotated Figure 2 below), the left-side member configured to attach (13, Fig. 2) to the top member at and along the top end (see annotated Figure 2 below) and to attach to the rooftop at and along the bottom end (see annotated Figure 2 below); a right-side member (see annotated Figure 1 below) extending from the right end of the top member (11, Fig. 2) downwardly to the rooftop (30, Fig. 2), the right-side member having a top end and a bottom end (see annotated Figure 2 below), the right-side member configured to attach (13, Fig. 2) to the top member at and along the top end (see annotated Figure 2 below) and to attach to the rooftop at and along the bottom end (see annotated Figure 2 below); a front member (see annotated Figure 1 below) extending from the front end of the top member (11, Fig. 2) downwardly to the rooftop (30, Fig. 2), the front member having a top end and a bottom end (see annotated Figure 2 below), the front member configured to attach (13, Fig. 2) to the top member at and along the top end (see annotated Figure 2 below) and to attach to the rooftop at and along the bottom end (see annotated Figure 2 below); and a rear member (see annotated Figure 1 below) extending from the rear end of the top member (11, Fig. 2) downwardly to the rooftop (30, Fig. 2), the rear member having a top end and a bottom end (see annotated Figure 2 below), the rear member configured to attach (13, Fig. 2) to the top member at and along the top end (see annotated Figure 2 below) and to attach to the rooftop at and along the bottom end (see annotated Figure 2 below); and locking elements (13, Fig. 1-2) configured to secure the grating structure (11, Fig. 2) on the rooftop (30, Fig. 2); wherein the top member, left-side member, right-side member, front member, and rear member of the grating structure (see annotated Figure 1 below) are configured to form a substantially enclosed space (column 4, lines 57-60) between the grating structure and the rooftop (column 5, lines 10-14) so as to hold in-place ice (column 2, lines 51-63) formed on the rooftop and prevent the ice from falling out from the rooftop.
Figure 1:
Figure 2:
Regarding claim 2, Senter further discloses wherein each of the left-side member and right-side member comprises a plurality of openings (weep holes 14A on 14C, Fig. 3; column 5, lines 20-22).
Regarding claim 3, Senter further discloses wherein the front member of the grating structure comprises a plurality of openings (weep holes 14A on 14C, Fig. 3; column 5, lines 20-22), the front member being oriented toward the front side of the vehicle. Brackets 14 run the periphery of the screen 11, therefore include a front member (see annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 4, Senter further discloses wherein the grating structure further comprises at least one center member (12, Fig. 1-2) extending from the bottom surface of the top member (11 at top of 12, Fig. 2) downwardly to the rooftop (30, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Senter further discloses wherein the top member of the grating structure comprises a plurality of drainage members (weep holes 14A, Fig. 3) attached (via 14, Fig. 2 & 3; column 5, lines 20-22) to the bottom surface of the top member (11, Fig. 2) configured to drain away water flowed through the plurality of openings (column 4, line 65 to column 5, line 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senter (US Patent No. 8,020,917) in view of Nelson (US 2011/0259866).
Regarding claim 9, Senter discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 1 above, and Senter discloses weep holes for draining melted ice. However, Senter does not expressly disclose the system further comprising a heating element.
Nelson teaches a safety system for removing ice on the rooftop surface of a road vehicle including a top member sheet layer (135, Fig. 1) further comprising (para. [0019], lines 5-8) a heating element (heating array of resistive heating elements 150/152, Fig. 1; para. [0024]) in the analogous field of the claimed invention of snow and ice removal systems for trailer rooftops.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ice removal system of Senter by incorporating the heating element as taught by Nelson. Doing so would improve the speed and effectiveness of melting and removal of ice from the tractor trailer rooftop.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senter (US Patent No. 8,020,917) in view of Sua-an (US 2006/0061132).
Regarding claim 19, Senter discloses a safety system (10, Fig. 1 & 5) for a rooftop for preventing ice from falling out from a rooftop (30A, Fig. 4) of a vehicle (31, 30, Fig. 4-5), the system comprising a grating structure (11, Fig. 1, disclosed as ice screen column 4, line 10) configured to be mounted on a rooftop (30/30A, Fig. 2; column 4, line 12), including a top member (top of 11, Fig. 1) having a generally planar shape (11, Fig. 1), the top member being generally parallel to the rooftop (11, 30, Fig. 2), the top member having a front, left, right, and rear end (see annotated Figure 1 above), wherein the top member has a plurality of openings (column 4, lines 25-27) configured to receive snow and water therethrough; at least one left-side member (14/14C note that brackets 14 run the periphery of the screen 11, Fig. 1-2 & 4-5; see annotated Figure 1 above) extending from the left end of the combined top member (11, Fig. 2) downwardly to the rooftop (30, Fig. 2), the at least one left-side member having a top end and a bottom end (see annotated Figure 2 above), the at least one left-side member configured to attach (13, Fig. 2) to the combined top member at and along the top end (see annotated Figure 2 above) and to attach to the rooftop at and along the bottom end (see annotated Figure 2 above); at least one right-side member (see annotated Figure 1 above) extending from the right end of the top combined top member (11, Fig. 2) downwardly to the rooftop (30, Fig. 2), the at least one right-side member having a top end and a bottom end (see annotated Figure 2 above), the at least one right-side member configured to attach (13, Fig. 2) to the combined top member at and along the top end (see annotated Figure 2 above) and to attach to the rooftop at and along the bottom end (see annotated Figure 2 above); at least one front member (see annotated Figure 1 above) extending from the front end of the combined top member (11, Fig. 2) downwardly to the rooftop (30, Fig. 2), the at least one front member having a top end and a bottom end (see annotated Figure 2 above), the at least one front member configured to attach (13, Fig. 2) to the combined top member at and along the top end (see annotated Figure 2 above) and to attach to the rooftop at and along the bottom end (see annotated Figure 2 above); and at least one rear member (see annotated Figure 1 above) extending from the rear end of the combined top member (11, Fig. 2) downwardly to the rooftop (30, Fig. 2), the at least one rear member having a top end and a bottom end (see annotated Figure 2 above), the rear member configured to attach (13, Fig. 2) to the combined top member at and along the top end (see annotated Figure 2 above) and to attach to the rooftop at and along the bottom end (see annotated Figure 2 above); and locking elements (13, Fig. 1-2) configured to secure the grating structure (11, Fig. 2) on the rooftop (30, Fig. 2); wherein the combined top member, left-side member, right-side member, front member, and rear member of the grating structure (see annotated Figure 1 above) are configured to form a substantially enclosed space (column 4, lines 57-60) between the grating structure and the rooftop (column 5, lines 10-14) so as to hold in-place ice (column 2, lines 51-63) formed on the rooftop and prevent the ice from falling out from the rooftop. However, Senter does not expressly disclose a plurality of top members, each of the plurality of top members arranged and configured to form a combined top member, the combined top member sized to cover about the rooftop, each of the plurality of top members being connectible together.
Sua-an teaches a snow shield screen with a plurality of top members (10, Fig. 2), each of the plurality of top members (10, Fig. 2) arranged and configured to form a combined top member (A-E, Fig. 2), the combined top member sized to cover about the rooftop (C, Fig. 2), each of the plurality of top members being connectible (6, 8, Fig. 2; para. [0022]-[0023]) together in the analogous field of the claimed invention of snow and ice shields for vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ice removal shield of Senter by incorporating the plurality of top panels as taught by Sua-an. Providing multiple panels would afford ease of assembly over one large single screen.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senter (US Patent No. 8,020,917) in view of Sua-an (US 2006/0061132) as applied to claim 19 above and further in view of Oren et al (US 2023/0028672).
Regarding claim 20, Senter in view of Sua-an discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 19 above. However, Senter in view of Sua-an does not expressly disclose wherein each of the plurality of top members is configured to have a tongue and groove joint such that each of the plurality of top members is connectible together.
Oren et al teaches a trailer constructed of a plurality of top members (71, Fig. 5A-E) configured to have a tongue and groove joint (para. [0063], lines 1-7) such that each of the plurality of top members is connectible together in the analogous field of the claimed invention of vehicle trailers with multiple panel members and in the same problem solving endeavor of connecting multiple vehicle panels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the panel connection of Senter in view of Sua-an by substituting the type of tongue and groove connection as taught by Oren et al since it is a well-known manner of connecting vehicle panels together. Doing so would provide a connection with a flush surface, leak prevention water barrier, and efficient assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-18 are allowed.
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter in claim 6 is the recitation of all of the limitations of claim 1 including a safety system for preventing ice from falling out from a rooftop of a vehicle comprising a grating structure configured to be mounted on a rooftop having a top member with front, left, right, and rear end members extending downwardly and attached as claimed in combination with the limitations of “two bottom members, one bottom member configured to attach to the left-side member at and along the bottom end of the left-side member, the other bottom member configured to attach to the right-side member at and along the bottom end of the right-side member, each of the two bottom members extending toward one another.” The closest prior art of Senter (US Patent No. 8,020,917) does not disclose two bottom members attached as claimed and where each of the two bottom members is extending toward one another. The prior art of Sua-an (US 2006/0061132) discloses a plurality of snow screen members but does not disclose two bottom members attached as claimed and where each of the two bottom members is extending toward one another. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record.
The primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter in claims 7 and 8 is the safety system for preventing ice from falling out from a rooftop of a vehicle comprising a grating structure configured to be mounted on a rooftop having a top member with front, left, right, and rear end members extending downwardly and attached as claimed in combination with locking elements that provide an easy on/easy off connection that can be tightened, adjusted, and allows for a less permanent connection. These features are defined by the inclusion of the limitations “the locking elements comprise straps and ratchets, the straps and ratchets configured to secure the grating structure on the rooftop, the ratchets affixed to the vehicle” and “each of the left-side member and right-side member of the grating structure comprises protuberances configured to receive locking elements, and the locking elements comprise lockdown clamps, the lockdown clamps affixed to the vehicle”. The closest prior art of Senter discloses rivets, bolts, or screw type fastening means (13, column 4, lines 16-19) as locking elements to secure the grating structure on the rooftop. To modify Senter with straps and ratchets or lockdown clamps affixed to the vehicle would destroy the base reference of Senter’s grating structure and attachment. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record.
The primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter in claim 10 is the safety system for preventing ice from falling out from a rooftop of a vehicle with the inclusion of the limitations of “a plurality of grating structures, each of the plurality of grating structures arranged and configured to form a combined grating structure such that the combined grating structure is sized to cover about a rooftop, the combined grating structure configured to be mounted on a rooftop, the plurality of grating structures being connectible together” in combination with the structure of each having a top member with front, left, right, and rear end members extending downwardly and attached as defined by the claim, and “joint elements configured such that the plurality of grating structures is releasably connectible together”. The closest prior art of Senter or Sua-an do not disclose or teach a plurality of grating structures as claimed (including each having a top member with front, left, right, and rear end members extending downwardly and attached as claimed) releasably connectible together. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. Claims 11-18 contain allowable subject matter by virtue of dependency as they depend from claims 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nelson et al (US 2014/0217079), Carroll (US 2019/0061704) and Carroll (US 2019/0263361) disclose snow and ice removal systems for a tractor trailer rooftop that utilize a heating element to help melt and loosen accumulated ice or snow. Anderson (US Patent No. 4,041,656) discloses an ice removal system for a rooftop that uses screens (40, 50) to accumulate and melt ice and snow. Giannias (US Patent No. 6,485,083 and CA-2402541-C) discloses a mesh structure (1) for the prevention of accumulation of large sheets of snow or ice on the flat top of a vehicle. Pfouts (US Patent No. 12,263,903) discloses a tongue and groove connection (19, Fig. 6; column 5, lines 41-47) for a plurality of trailer (100) panels (20). Dieterich (DE-102005001927-A1) discloses a net or metal grid with hot plates below the safety net or grid on the roof of a trailer, whereby the net holds loose ice and snow preventing it from falling while driving.
/D.L.E./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612