DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24, 26-38 and 40-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 60005056 A (JP ‘056).
JP’056 discloses a gypsum composition for use in making a board. See the abstract and the second paragraph of the detailed description in the translation. JP ‘056 exemplifies the following additives in Table 2:
Additive
Corresponding chemical formula
n
m
n+m
Amount wt%
sodium monofluorophosphate, (MFP(Na))
Na2PO3F
3
1
4
0.1
calcium monofluorophosphate (MFP(Ca))
CaPO3F
3
1
4
1.0
potassium monofluorophosphate (MFP(K))
K2PO3F
3
1
4
1.0
sodium difluorophosphate, (MFP(Na))
NaPO2F2
2
2
4
1.0
calcium difluorophosphate, (MFP(Ca))
Ca1/2PO2F2
2
2
4
1.0
These additives anticipate the formula P(O)n(X)m recited in claims 24 and 26, and one or more of the additives anticipate the species of phosphates recited in claims 27-33.
The nail pull resistances recited in claims 24 and 42 are presumed to be inherent to the board of JP’056 because the board has a composition that is identical to the presently claimed composition.
As to claim 34 and 35, JP’056 exemplifies a composition containing 0.1 wt% sodium monofluorophosphate (MFP(Na)). See table 2.
As to claims 36 and 37, JP’056 teaches a gypsum composition containing 100 weight units of gypsum to 52 units of water. See table 1. This results in a water/stucco weight ratio of 52/100 = 0.52.
As to claim 38, JP’056 discloses adding PVA (i.e., polyvinyl acetate) to the slurry in table 1, and PVA is a dispersant.
The set times recited in claims 40 and 41 are presumed to be inherent to the board of JP’056 because the board has a composition that is identical to the presently claimed composition.
The compressive strength recited in claims 43 is presumed to be inherent to the board of JP’056 because the board has a composition that is identical to the presently claimed composition.
Claims 24, 26-28, 32, 34, 36-38 and 40-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sang et al. (US 2017/0362124 A1)(Sang).
Sang discloses a gypsum wallboard made from a slurry containing 8 grams of a sodium trimetaphosphate solution. See the title and example 3, Table 4. The sodium trimetaphosphate solution contains 2 wt% sodium trimetaphosphate, and corresponds to 2% x 8 grams = 0.16 grams of sodium trimetaphosphate being added to the slurry . See paragraph [0180]. The slurry contains 400 grams stucco. See table 4. Therefore, the slurry contains 0.16 g/400 g = 0.0004, or 0.04 wt% sodium trimetaphosphate based upon the weight of the stucco. This amount falls within the range recited in claims 24 and 34.
Sodium trimetaphosphate has a formula of Na3P3O9, and can be simplified to NaPO3. NaPO3 is a salt of PO3-1 and falls within the formula P(O)n(X)m where n is 3 and m is zero. Therefore, this disclosure anticipates the phosphate formula recited in instant claims 24 and 26.
The board of Sang has a nail pull resistance of at least 70 lbf according to ASTM C473-10 (paragraph [0124]) whereas the instant claims recite the test is performed using ASTM C1396. The board of Sang has a nail pull resistance of greater than 70 lbf according to a different method, and a composition that is identical to the presently claimed composition. For these reasons, Sang is presumed to inherently possess a nail pull resistance of at least 70 lbf according to ASTM C1396. See MPEP 2112.
Claim 27 is met by Sang because sodium trimetaphosphate falls within the genus of compositions represented by the formula, P(O)n(X)m, when m = 0 and X = fluoro.
As to claim 28, sodium trimetaphosphate is represented by the formula, NaPO3, where n=3.
As to claim 32, sodium trimetaphosphate is a phosphorous compound comprising sodium, an alkali metal.
As to claims 36 and 37, example 3 of Sang is formed using a water to stucco ratio of 1. See paragraph [0180].
As to claims 38, example 3 of Sang contains a dispersant. See table 4.
As to claims 40 and 41, example 3, compositions 1G and 1K, have setting times of 3.3 and 3.4 minutes, respectively. See Table 5. These setting times fall within the ranges recited in claims 39 and 40. It is noted that 3.3 and 3.4 minutes become 3 minutes when considering a single significant figure as employed in claim 41. Sang does not disclose the setting time was measured using ASTM C266 with a Gillmore needle. However, the disclosed setting times of example 3, compositions 1G and 1K of Sang, fall within the claimed setting time ranges and the compositions of example 3, compositions 1G and 1K of Sang, are identical to the presently claimed composition. For these reasons, Sang is presumed to inherently possess the claimed setting time using ASTM C266 with a Gillmore needle.
As to claim 42, the board of Sang has a nail pull resistance of at least 77 lbf according to ASTM C473-10 (paragraph [0124]) whereas the instant claims recite the test is performed using ASTM C1396. However, the board of Sang has nail pull resistance of at least 77 lbf when measured with a different method, and employs a composition that is identical to the presently claimed composition. For these reasons, Sang is presumed to inherently possess a nail pull resistance of at least 77 lbf according to ASTM C1396. See MPEP 2112.
As to claim 43, the boards of Sang have compressive strengths in excess of 300 psi. See Table 6. Sang does not disclose employing ASTM 1396. However, the board of Sang has the a compressive strength of greater than 300 psi when measured using a different method, and a composition that is identical to the presently claimed composition. For these reasons, Sang is presumed to inherently possess the compressive strength of at least 300 psi when measured using ASTM C1396. See MPEP 2112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang et al. (US 2017/0362124 A1)(Sang) as applied to claim 24 above.
Example 3 anticipates claim 24 for the reasons recited above.
As to claim 35, example 3 employs 0.04 wt% sodium trimetaphosphate (as described above), whereas claim 35 recites an amount of 0.1 to 0.4 wt%.
However, Sang teaches a general range for phosphate additives of from 0.01 to 0.5 % in terms of the weight of the stucco. See paragraph [0102]. This range overlaps the claim 35 range, and overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have employed sodium trimetaphosphate in an amount between 0.01 to 0.5 wt%, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
As to claim 39, Sang discloses employing a dispersant in example 3 but does not identify the specific dispersant.
Sang teaches the dispersant may be a sulfonated dispersant or a polycarboxylic ether in paragraph [0096].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed any of the dispersants taught by Sang including sulfonates or polycarboxylic ethers. It has been held to have been obvious to have employed a known material based upon its suitability for its intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07.
Double Patenting
Claims 24-35, 38-39 and 42-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,952,315 (‘315). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-21 of the ‘315 patent completely encompass all of the limitations of instant claims 24-43. The claims of the ‘315 patent do not teach the amount of phosphate/phosphite additions in terms of wt% based upon the weight of the stucco as recited in claims 24, 34 and 35. Claim 15 of the ‘315 patent teaches adding the phosphate/phosphite in an amount of 0.001 lbs/MSF to 10 lbs/MSF. This range is believed to overlap the presently claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by the reference, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 24-43 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-17 and 19-24 of copending Application No. 17/896,232, (‘232 application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-2, 4-17 and 19-24 of the ‘232 patent completely encompass all of the limitations of instant claims 24-43. Claim 11 of the ‘232 application teach the amount of phosphate/phosphite additions is 0.01 to 5 wt%. This range overlaps the presently claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by the reference, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2002/0128352 A1 teaches adding sodium hypophosphite to a gypsum composition but does not teach an amount. US 2009/0104144 A1 teaches the addition of tetramethylammonium hexafluorophosphate (among other additives) to a gypsum composition.
/David Sample/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784