DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 01/02/2026, which has
been entered and made of record. Claim 1, 3, 8, 11, 13, 19-20 are amended. Claims 21-24 are added. Claims 6, 9, 10, 18 are canceled. Claims 1-5, 7-8, 11-17, 19-24 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments regarding claim rejections under 102 are considered, but are moot in view of new rejections. However, Examiner would like to answer the following arguments:
Applicant argues:
Examiner disagrees: The associated designs are mapped to 358 or 360 (two examples of the associated design elements) as shown in FIG. 3B. The associated design are design elements that has associated relationship. The rest of arguments from Applicant based on this assumption are not valid.
Applicant argues:
Examiner disagrees: 358 or 360 from FIG. 3B are two examples of the associated design. In the example of FIG. 7A and 7B, when element 346 is edited, its associated element 354 is automatically edited. This operation teaches bulk edit.
Applicant argues:
Examiner disagrees: [0073] of Salian teaches insert a new design element, and the insertion is propagated to associated design elements. (“At operation 414, the design elements are modified or inserted based on the received user inputs, and the modifications and insertions are propagated to associated design elements in the isolation session.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 11-17, 19-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Salian et al. (US 2019/0333258 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Salian teaches:
A computer implemented method including:
receiving data identifying an original asset ([0063], “At operation 404, a design element selection user input is received to select a first design element that is on a first artboard of the multiple artboards. For example, a user may use a mouse to click or double-click on the first design element or touch the first design element on a touchscreen. Other examples of a design element selection user input include a click-and-drag with a mouse to identify a region of a workspace that includes a design element and a touch-and-drag on a touchscreen to identify the region.”) and data identifying a replacement asset; ([0072], “At operation 412, one or more user inputs are received to modify and/or insert design elements within the isolation session. Various types of user inputs may be received to modify a design element that is included in the isolation session. These user inputs may identified one more design elements based, for example, on a selection state of the design elements or proximity of the modification input to a design element. For example, a user input to change a color may be received via a right-click with a mouse or a long touch with a touchscreen on a design element. Examples of the user input may indicate to reposition, resize, rotate, or otherwise modify an identified design element. Other examples of user inputs may indicate to modify the color, width, height, or textual content of an identified design element. The user input may also insert a new design element onto an artboard that is included in the isolation session. In some implementations, the user interface prevents modifications to design elements that are excluded from the isolation session. At operation 414, the design elements are modified or inserted based on the received user inputs, and the modifications and insertions are propagated to associated design elements in the isolation session.”)
wherein the replacement asset and the original asset are different assets; ([0072], “At operation 412, one or more user inputs are received to modify and/or insert design elements within the isolation session. Various types of user inputs may be received to modify a design element that is included in the isolation session. These user inputs may identified one more design elements based, for example, on a selection state of the design elements or proximity of the modification input to a design element. For example, a user input to change a color may be received via a right-click with a mouse or a long touch with a touchscreen on a design element. Examples of the user input may indicate to reposition, resize, rotate, or otherwise modify an identified design element. Other examples of user inputs may indicate to modify the color, width, height, or textual content of an identified design element. The user input may also insert a new design element onto an artboard that is included in the isolation session. In some implementations, the user interface prevents modifications to design elements that are excluded from the isolation session. At operation 414, the design elements are modified or inserted based on the received user inputs, and the modifications and insertions are propagated to associated design elements in the isolation session.” The modified or inserted elements are different from the original assets.)
identifying, by one or more computer processing units, a set of associated designs, wherein the set of associated designs includes a plurality of associated designs, each associated design including at least one instance of the original asset; ([0065], “At operation 408, one or more other artboards that include design elements associated with the first design element are identified. For example, the one or more other artboards may be identified using a design element association data structure based on the other artboards each including at least one design element associated with first design element. These first artboard and the other identified artboards may then be included in the isolation session.” FIG. 5A and 5B)
the plurality of associated designs includes a first associated design and a second associated design;(FIG. 3B, 358 gives an example of the first associated design and the 360 gives an example of the second associated design. [0060], “a first design element association record 358 is generated in the design element association data structure 322 to associate the first design element 346 and the third design element 354. Similarly, a second design element association record 360 is generated in the design element association data structure 322 to associate the second design element 348 and the fourth design element 356.”)and
performing a bulk edit process, wherein the bulk edit process includes: editing the first associated design by replacing each instance of the original asset in the first associated design with an instance of the replacement asset; ([0073], “At operation 414, the design elements are modified or inserted based on the received user inputs, and the modifications and insertions are propagated to associated design elements in the isolation session. For example, the modification may be applied to an identified design element and the design elements associated with the identified design element simultaneously. The associated design elements may be identified using a design element association data structure.”[0072]. When this operation is applied to the first associated design, e.g. 358.)
editing the second associated design by replacing each instance of the original asset in the second associated design with an instance of the replacement asset. ([0073], “At operation 414, the design elements are modified or inserted based on the received user inputs, and the modifications and insertions are propagated to associated design elements in the isolation session. For example, the modification may be applied to an identified design element and the design elements associated with the identified design element simultaneously. The associated design elements may be identified using a design element association data structure.”[0072].When this operation is applied to the second associated design, e.g. 360.)
In a different embodiment, Salian teaches:
the first associated design includes a first design page; and the second associated design includes a second design page and a third design page;([0106], “Although the examples herein relate to graphic design applications, other implementations are possible too. For example, implementations may include other types of content generation and/or media development applications, such as word processing applications, spreadsheet applications, and video editing applications. Such applications may, for example, populate an association data structure based on a copy-and-paste of content elements. The applications may then allow a user to select content elements and enter a command to activate an isolation mode to edit only the selected content elements and any associated content elements. For example, with a word processor application, the user interface may display any pages that include the selected and associated content elements (e.g., formatted sections of text).” For example, the associated elements could be in the first page, while the second associated elements could be in the second and third page.)
The above reference teachings are from different embodiments of Salian. However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the difference embodiments to allow users to bulk edit associated design elements in different applications, e.g. any documents pages, to improve pages editing efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Salian teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the original asset is an image-type asset. ([0049], “The user interface 118 may include a workspace 132. The workspace 132 can for example display a design project. The design project may include, for example, design elements arranged on artboards. The user interface 118 may include other elements and components, such as tools used for graphic design, image editing, and image manipulation for use as part of the application 108, which are not described here but which also form a part of the application 108. For instance, the user interface 118 may include tools for adding, manipulating, and removing text, shapes, and images to the workspace.” [0027], “As used herein, a design element is a graphical component of a design. Examples of design elements include shapes, images, text fields, and user interface elements such as buttons, drop-down lists, text entry fields, etc.”)
Regarding claim 3, Salian teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein determining the set of associated designs includes querying asset usage data, the asset usage data including one or more records that associate the original asset with each of the plurality of associated designs. ([0080] “At operation 608, other design elements associated with the first design element are identified. For example, the other design elements may be identified using a design element association data structure. The application 108 may query the design element association data structure 122 for association records that include an identifier associated with the first design element. The application 108 may determine that any other identifiers in the association records for the first design element identify other design elements that are associated with the first design element.”)
Regarding claim 7, Salian teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 1, further including receiving data identifying a set of selected designs, the set of selected designs including one or more of the associated designs, ([0069], “FIG. 5A shows an example of the workspace 332 in which the first design element 346 and second design element 348 have been selected.” [0070], “Additionally, the first design element 346, second design element 348, third design element 354, and fourth design element 356 are also included in the isolation session. In this example, the first design element 346 and second design element 348 are included in the isolation session because they were selected when the isolation session was initiated. The third design element 354 and fourth design element 356 are included in the isolation session based on their being associated with the first design element 346 and second design element 348, respectively.”) and wherein performing the bulk edit process includes editing each associated design in the set of selected designs by, for each associated design in the set of selected designs, replacing each instance of the original asset in the design with an instance of the replacement asset. ([0072]-[0073], “At operation 412, one or more user inputs are received to modify and/or insert design elements within the isolation session. Various types of user inputs may be received to modify a design element that is included in the isolation session. These user inputs may identified one more design elements based, for example, on a selection state of the design elements or proximity of the modification input to a design element. For example, a user input to change a color may be received via a right-click with a mouse or a long touch with a touchscreen on a design element. Examples of the user input may indicate to reposition, resize, rotate, or otherwise modify an identified design element. Other examples of user inputs may indicate to modify the color, width, height, or textual content of an identified design element. The user input may also insert a new design element onto an artboard that is included in the isolation session. In some implementations, the user interface prevents modifications to design elements that are excluded from the isolation session. At operation 414, the design elements are modified or inserted based on the received user inputs, and the modifications and insertions are propagated to associated design elements in the isolation session. For example, the modification may be applied to an identified design element and the design elements associated with the identified design element simultaneously. The associated design elements may be identified using a design element association data structure.”)
Regarding claim 8, Salian teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 1, further including: receiving a first request from a client application, the first request including the data identifying the original asset; ([0063], “At operation 404, a design element selection user input is received to select a first design element that is on a first artboard of the multiple artboards. For example, a user may use a mouse to click or double-click on the first design element or touch the first design element on a touchscreen. Other examples of a design element selection user input include a click-and-drag with a mouse to identify a region of a workspace that includes a design element and a touch-and-drag on a touchscreen to identify the region.” [0037], “The design element selection engine 114 manages the selection state of design elements on the workspace. In some implementations, the design element selection engine 114 receives user inputs or requests from other components of the application 108 to select or deselect one or more design elements on the workspace.” FIG. 1, application 108) automatically identifying the set of associated designs in response to receiving the first request, ([0065], “At operation 408, one or more other artboards that include design elements associated with the first design element are identified. For example, the one or more other artboards may be identified using a design element association data structure based on the other artboards each including at least one design element associated with first design element.”)
generating a first response including data in respect of the set of associated designs; ([0065], “At operation 408, one or more other artboards that include design elements associated with the first design element are identified. For example, the one or more other artboards may be identified using a design element association data structure based on the other artboards each including at least one design element associated with first design element. These first artboard and the other identified artboards may then be included in the isolation session.” [0050], “The design element association engine 120 generates and manages associations between design elements within the workspace. For example, the design element association engine 120 may create design element association records in the design element association data structure 122.”) and communicating the first response to the client application. ([0033], “The computing device 102 may communicate with one or more other computing devices over a network 138. For instance, the computing device 102 may communicate with a computing device 136 over the network 138. The computing device 102 may be implemented as a server, a desktop computer, a laptop computer, a mobile device such as a tablet device or mobile phone device, as well as other types of computing devices.”) FIG. 1 gives an example that the design element association engine is located in the computing device. Salian, in [0033], also teaches the functions can be implemented on a server. Once the server generates the response, the response would be sent back to the user interface.)
wherein the first response causes the client application to display a design selection user interface on a client system, the design selection user interface permitting user input to select or deselect one or more of the associated designs in the set of associated designs. ([0050], “The design element association engine 120 generates and manages associations between design elements within the workspace. For example, the design element association engine 120 may create design element association records in the design element association data structure 122. In some implementations, the design element association engine 120 may include an association event listener 134 that listens for events that generate or terminate an association between design elements. For example, the association event listener 134 may listen for copy-and-paste events and generates an association between the copied design element and the pasted design element. In some implementations, other user inputs may also trigger the design element association engine 120 to associate design elements, such as a selection of a menu option. The design element association engine 120 may remove associations between design elements based on specific user inputs. For example, the association event listener 134 may listen for modifications to design elements that satisfy a disassociation condition. Responsive to the association event listener 134 determining that a modification satisfies a disassociation condition, the design element association engine 120 may remove the modified design element from any design element association records in the design element association data structure 122. Examples of disassociation conditions may include changes to the shape of a design element, and/or changes to a font size or style of a design element.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the different embodiments of Salian to provide feasible solution for a light front-end implementation.
Regarding claim 11, Salian teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 8, further including receiving a second request from the client application, the second request including data identifying a set of selected designs, the set of selected designs including one or more of the associated designs, ([0072], “At operation 412, one or more user inputs are received to modify and/or insert design elements within the isolation session. Various types of user inputs may be received to modify a design element that is included in the isolation session. These user inputs may identified one more design elements based, for example, on a selection state of the design elements or proximity of the modification input to a design element. For example, a user input to change a color may be received via a right-click with a mouse or a long touch with a touchscreen on a design element. Examples of the user input may indicate to reposition, resize, rotate, or otherwise modify an identified design element. Other examples of user inputs may indicate to modify the color, width, height, or textual content of an identified design element.”)
and wherein performing the bulk edit process includes editing each associated design in the set of selected designs by, for each associated design in the set of selected designs, replacing each instance of the original asset in the design with the replacement asset. ([0073], “At operation 414, the design elements are modified or inserted based on the received user inputs, and the modifications and insertions are propagated to associated design elements in the isolation session. For example, the modification may be applied to an identified design element and the design elements associated with the identified design element simultaneously. The associated design elements may be identified using a design element association data structure.”[0072])
Regarding claim 12, Salian teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 11, wherein the second request further includes the data identifying the replacement asset. ([0072], “At operation 412, one or more user inputs are received to modify and/or insert design elements within the isolation session. Various types of user inputs may be received to modify a design element that is included in the isolation session. These user inputs may identified one more design elements based, for example, on a selection state of the design elements or proximity of the modification input to a design element. For example, a user input to change a color may be received via a right-click with a mouse or a long touch with a touchscreen on a design element. Examples of the user input may indicate to reposition, resize, rotate, or otherwise modify an identified design element. Other examples of user inputs may indicate to modify the color, width, height, or textual content of an identified design element.”)
Regarding claim 13, Salian teaches:
A computer implemented method including:
receiving, via a user input device, user input identifying an original asset; ([0063], “At operation 404, a design element selection user input is received to select a first design element that is on a first artboard of the multiple artboards. For example, a user may use a mouse to click or double-click on the first design element or touch the first design element on a touchscreen. Other examples of a design element selection user input include a click-and-drag with a mouse to identify a region of a workspace that includes a design element and a touch-and-drag on a touchscreen to identify the region.”)
receiving user input identifying a replacement asset; ([0072], “At operation 412, one or more user inputs are received to modify and/or insert design elements within the isolation session. Various types of user inputs may be received to modify a design element that is included in the isolation session. These user inputs may identified one more design elements based, for example, on a selection state of the design elements or proximity of the modification input to a design element. For example, a user input to change a color may be received via a right-click with a mouse or a long touch with a touchscreen on a design element. Examples of the user input may indicate to reposition, resize, rotate, or otherwise modify an identified design element. Other examples of user inputs may indicate to modify the color, width, height, or textual content of an identified design element. The user input may also insert a new design element onto an artboard that is included in the isolation session. In some implementations, the user interface prevents modifications to design elements that are excluded from the isolation session. At operation 414, the design elements are modified or inserted based on the received user inputs, and the modifications and insertions are propagated to associated design elements in the isolation session.”) the rest of claim 13 recites similar limitations of claim 1, thus are rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 14, Salian teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 13, wherein the original asset is an image-type asset. ([0049], “The user interface 118 may include a workspace 132. The workspace 132 can for example display a design project. The design project may include, for example, design elements arranged on artboards. The user interface 118 may include other elements and components, such as tools used for graphic design, image editing, and image manipulation for use as part of the application 108, which are not described here but which also form a part of the application 108. For instance, the user interface 118 may include tools for adding, manipulating, and removing text, shapes, and images to the workspace.” [0027], “As used herein, a design element is a graphical component of a design. Examples of design elements include shapes, images, text fields, and user interface elements such as buttons, drop-down lists, text entry fields, etc.”)
Regarding claim 15, Salian teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 13, wherein identifying the set of associated designs includes: generating a first request that includes an identifier of the original asset; ([0063], “At operation 404, a design element selection user input is received to select a first design element that is on a first artboard of the multiple artboards. For example, a user may use a mouse to click or double-click on the first design element or touch the first design element on a touchscreen. Other examples of a design element selection user input include a click-and-drag with a mouse to identify a region of a workspace that includes a design element and a touch-and-drag on a touchscreen to identify the region.” [0037], “The design element selection engine 114 manages the selection state of design elements on the workspace. In some implementations, the design element selection engine 114 receives user inputs or requests from other components of the application 108 to select or deselect one or more design elements on the workspace.”) communicating the first request to a server application; ([0033], “The computing device 102 may communicate with one or more other computing devices over a network 138. For instance, the computing device 102 may communicate with a computing device 136 over the network 138.”) and receiving a first response that includes data identifying the set of associated designs. ([0033], “The computing device 102 may communicate with one or more other computing devices over a network 138. For instance, the computing device 102 may communicate with a computing device 136 over the network 138. The computing device 102 may be implemented as a server, a desktop computer, a laptop computer, a mobile device such as a tablet device or mobile phone device, as well as other types of computing devices.”) FIG. 1 gives an example that the design element association engine is located in the computing device. Salian, in [0033], also teaches the functions can be implemented on a server. Once the server generates the response, the response would be sent back to the user interface.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the different embodiments of Salian to provide feasible solution for a light front-end implementation.
Regarding claim 16, Salian teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 13, further including: displaying a design selection user interface,(Fig. 3 and 5) the design selection user interface permitting user input to select or deselect one or more of the associated designs in the set of associated designs. ([0050], “The design element association engine 120 generates and manages associations between design elements within the workspace. For example, the design element association engine 120 may create design element association records in the design element association data structure 122. In some implementations, the design element association engine 120 may include an association event listener 134 that listens for events that generate or terminate an association between design elements. For example, the association event listener 134 may listen for copy-and-paste events and generates an association between the copied design element and the pasted design element. In some implementations, other user inputs may also trigger the design element association engine 120 to associate design elements, such as a selection of a menu option. The design element association engine 120 may remove associations between design elements based on specific user inputs. For example, the association event listener 134 may listen for modifications to design elements that satisfy a disassociation condition. Responsive to the association event listener 134 determining that a modification satisfies a disassociation condition, the design element association engine 120 may remove the modified design element from any design element association records in the design element association data structure 122. Examples of disassociation conditions may include changes to the shape of a design element, and/or changes to a font size or style of a design element.”)
Regarding claim 17, Salian teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 16, wherein the design selection user interface includes a first original design preview, the first original design preview showing the first associated design prior to replacing each instance of the original asset in the first associated design with an instance of the replacement asset.([0071], “In this example, the design elements that are included in the isolation session are shown in a first style that is different from the rest of the workspace 332. As discussed above, the first style may be an active style in which the first design element 346, second design element 348, third design element 354, and fourth design element 356 are displayed in the same manner as they were before the isolation session was initiated” FIG. 5A and 5B)
Regarding claim 19, Salian teaches:
A computer processing system including :one or more computer processing units; (FIG. 1) and non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the one or more computer processing units, cause the one or more computer processing units to perform a method ([0007], “Another general aspect is a system that includes at least one processor, memory storing a design element association data structure configured to store associations between design elements, and memory storing instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to implement an application.”) The rest of the claim recites similar limitations of claim 1, thus is rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 20, Salian teaches:
Non-transitory storage storing instructions executable by one or more computer processing units to cause the one or more computer processing units to perform a method ([0007], “Another general aspect is a system that includes at least one processor, memory storing a design element association data structure configured to store associations between design elements, and memory storing instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to implement an application.”) The rest of the claim recites similar limitations of claim 1, thus is rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 21, Salian teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein:
the first design page includes a first instance of the original asset; (FIG. 5A, page 340 includes element 346. )
the second design page includes a second instance of the original asset; (FIG. 5A, page 342 includes element 356. )
the third design page includes a third instance of the original asset; (Salian only gives example for two pages. However, it would have been obvious for a person ordinary in the art to apply the example to more pages.) and
the bulk edit process includes: editing the first design page to replace the first instance of the original asset with a first instance of the replacement asset; editing the second design page to replace the second instance of the original asset with a second instance of the replacement asset; editing the third design page to replace the third instance of the original asset with a third instance of the replacement asset. ([0073], “At operation 414, the design elements are modified or inserted based on the received user inputs, and the modifications and insertions are propagated to associated design elements in the isolation session. For example, the modification may be applied to an identified design element and the design elements associated with the identified design element simultaneously. The associated design elements may be identified using a design element association data structure.”[0072]. Apply the replacement operation to the elements in different pages.)
Claims 22-24 recites similar limitations of claim 21, thus are rejected accordingly.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salian in view of Marino et al. (US 2017/0278289 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Salian teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 1, further including: performing the bulk edit process (see claim 1)
However, Salian does not, but Marino teaches:
determining that the replacement asset is compatible with the original asset; ([0416], “In some embodiments, where the source digital content selection module 118 is a marketplace or exchange where the source digital content is selected …and thus the selection, is automated and made based on inputs such as one or more parties' bid or offer price for one or more impressions of their provided source digital content integrated into host regions of certain dimensions, host regions satisfying a certain standard host region dimension, or host regions whose metadata or whose target digital content metadata satisfies particular preset criteria and/or is compatible with provided source digital content data.”) and performing the edit process in response to determining that the replacement asset is compatible with the original asset. ([0430], “When a host region is identified and this metadata matches or is compatible with the metadata of a particular piece of source digital content (e.g., it is a brand that exists on in the metadata's list of favorable brands) this is deemed a favorable placement. Conversely, when there is not a match, that source digital content may be downgraded or bypassed. In this way, creators of content can select the brands they would like to work with.”)
Salian teaches bulk edit to original elements. Marino teaches the new editing has to compatible to the original elements.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Salian with the specific teachings of Marino to produce best editing results.
Regarding claim 5, Salian in view of Marino teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 4, wherein the original asset is an image-type asset and determining that the replacement asset is compatible with the original asset includes: determining that the replacement asset is an image-type asset; (Salian [0027], “As used herein, a design element is a graphical component of a design. Examples of design elements include shapes, images, text fields, and user interface elements such as buttons, drop-down lists, text entry fields, etc.”) and determining that the replacement asset has an aspect ratio that is compatible with an aspect ratio of the original asset.( Marino [0081] “the content integration system is configured to represent a host region using a predetermined data structure or an object. For example, the content integration system is configured to represent a host region using a data structure including a predetermined dimension (e.g., a height dimension, a width dimension). When the content integration system has identified a host region, the content integration system associates the identified host region with the predetermined data structure that represents the identified host region.”[0416], “In some embodiments, where the source digital content selection module 118 is a marketplace or exchange where the source digital content is selected …and thus the selection, is automated … their provided source digital content integrated into host regions of certain dimensions, host regions satisfying a certain standard host region dimension, or host regions whose metadata or whose target digital content metadata satisfies particular preset criteria and/or is compatible with provided source digital content data.” The predetermined dimension (height and width) means the aspect ratio is determined. This dimension is compatible with that of the original asset.) The combination of claim 4 is incorporated here.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YANNA WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615