DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 15 December 2025 has been entered. Applicant amended claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 14-17, and 19-20. Applicant cancelled claims 5 and 18; and added claims 21-22. Accordingly, claims 1-4, 6-17, and 19-22 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract should avoid phrases which can be implied such as “Aspects of the present disclosure relate…”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nelson et al US 20070073868 (hereinafter Nelson).
Regarding claim 1, Nelson teaches a system (Figure 1-2 disclose systems for detecting and characterizing a network. Paragraph 17 discloses the system detects networks and characterizes detected networks as trusted, untrusted, or semi-trusted networks. The system leverage network connection and/or authentication information for determining whether a network is trusted, untrusted, or semi-trusted) comprising:
at least one processor (paragraph 33 reveals the system comprises a processor); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform a set of operations, the set of operations comprising (paragraphs 33-34 disclose the computer system includes a memory unit. The memory unit stores data and/or instructions, and may comprise any suitable memory, such as a dynamic random-access memory. The instructions are executed by the processor):
detecting a set of wireless networks available for communication by the system (paragraph 41 discloses detecting an available network. The detection unit detects broadcast beacons (thus plurality of networks) which include the network provider SSID);
obtaining a wireless network certificate associated with a first wireless network of the set of wireless networks (paragraph 56 discloses information about the network is retrieved. The information can include the network's SSID… and identity certificates);
evaluating a chain of trust of the wireless network certificate to validate the wireless network certificate, wherein the wireless network certificate includes a common name that corresponds to a network name of the first wireless network (paragraph 97 discloses Home Authentication Servers provisioned to recognize an "IPASS/" formatted NAI TTLS request will respond in the same manner as an aggregator AAA server and present a server-side certificate for validation by the client 202. The certificate may carry vendor-specific signing information or the trusted central server 216 may verify the content of any field (like the Common Name) presented in the certificate or trusted central server may simply rely on the presence of the proper Root Certification Authority that the enterprise has provisioned and distributed to the client. Paragraphs 57-58 discloses the network information is verified by interacting with the network provider. Paragraph 76 discloses the authenticity of the available network may be confirmed by leveraging the Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) certificate information presented in both https-based and tunneled 802.1X AAA methods. The primary condition for absolutely determining a network provider is based on availability of an 802.1X EAP Service on the trusted central server 216 with a valid Certification Authority on a known SSID "hint" or a combination of SSID (public name), IP and valid https responses. Paragraph 51 discloses a determination is made about whether the network information store contains information matching the network-supplied information[which includes the SSID and the identity certificate]);
displaying a wireless network list comprising the set of wireless networks, wherein the first wireless network is displayed in association with a certificate indicator based on validating the wireless network certificate (paragraph 43 discloses based on the characterization/validation step 504 which is presented in greater detail in Figures 6 and 7, a preliminary network indicator is displayed. The display unit presents an indication of the available network and its classification in a graphical user interface. The display unit displays trusted networks, while according to other policies, the display unit 308 may display all networks); and
in response to a user selection of the first wireless network from the wireless network list, establishing a connection with the first wireless network (paragraph 60 disclose that once the client system perform the steps of matching the information, the system establish a connection with a network provider. Paragraph 74 discloses any unrecognized network should be characterized fully prior to displaying it as available to the user for network selection).
As to claim 2, Nelson teaches wherein: the chain of trust includes a node associated with an establishment (paragraph 76 discloses the authenticity of the available network may be confirmed by leveraging the Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) certificate information presented in both https-based and tunneled 802.1X AAA methods. The primary condition for absolutely determining a network provider is based on availability of an 802.1X EAP Service on the trusted central server (thus node associated with an establishment) with a valid Certification Authority on a known SSID "hint" or a combination of SSID (public name), IP and valid https responses); and validating the wireless network certificate thereby validates an association between the first wireless network and the establishment (paragraphs 57-58 disclose the network information [of the first detected network] is verified by interacting with the network provider. Paragraph 76 discloses the authenticity of the available network may be confirmed by leveraging the Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) certificate information presented in both https-based and tunneled 802.1X AAA methods. The primary condition for absolutely determining a network provider is based on availability of an 802.1X EAP Service on the trusted central server (thus node associated with an establishment) with a valid Certification Authority on a known SSID "hint" or a combination of SSID (public name), IP and valid https responses. Paragraph 51 discloses a determination is made about whether the network information store contains information matching the network-supplied information[which includes the SSID and the identity certificate]).
As to claim 3, Nelson teaches wherein: the node associated with the establishment corresponds to an intermediate establishment certificate (paragraph 76 discloses the authenticity of the available network may be confirmed by leveraging the Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) certificate information presented in both https-based and tunneled 802.1X AAA methods. The primary condition for absolutely determining a network provider is based on availability of an 802.1X EAP Service on the trusted central server (thus node associated with an establishment) with a valid Certification Authority on a known SSID "hint" or a combination of SSID (public name), IP and valid https responses); and the chain of trust further includes an intermediate regional certificate signed by the intermediate establishment certificate (paragraph 76 discloses the authenticity of the available network may be confirmed by leveraging the Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) certificate information presented in both https-based and tunneled 802.1X AAA methods. The primary condition for absolutely determining a network provider is based on availability of an 802.1X EAP Service on the trusted central server (thus node associated with an establishment) with a valid Certification Authority on a known SSID "hint" or a combination of SSID (public name), IP and valid https responses).
As to claim 4, Nelson teaches wherein obtaining the wireless network certificate comprises: initiating a handshake with the first wireless network; and receiving, as a response of the handshake, the wireless network certificate (paragraph 96 discloses networks which respond to both an EAPOL-Start and subsequent 802.1X TTLS Request formatted with a known aggregation identifier (e.g., "iPASS/") will attempt to negotiate a TLS certificate to complete phase 1 of the TTLS request. Completing the SSL handshake and validating the received server-side certificate against the appropriate Certification Root Authority Certificate residing within the client 202 can absolutely validate the authenticity and availability of services on the network).
As to claim 6, Nelson teaches wherein the common name is an exact match for the first network name of the wireless network (paragraph 51 discloses a determination is made about whether the network information store contains information matching the network-supplied information[which includes the SSID and the identity certificate]; paragraph 97 discloses Home Authentication Servers provisioned to recognize an "IPASS/" formatted NAI TTLS request will respond in the same manner as an aggregator AAA server and present a server-side certificate for validation by the client 202. The certificate may carry vendor-specific signing information or the trusted central server 216 may verify the content of any field (like the Common Name) presented in the certificate or trusted central server may simply rely on the presence of the proper Root Certification Authority that the enterprise has provisioned and distributed to the client).
As to claim 7, Nelson teaches wherein: the wireless network certificate is a first wireless network certificate; and the set of operations further comprises: evaluating a second wireless network certificate associated with a second wireless network of the set of wireless networks (paragraph 41 discloses detecting an available network. The detection unit detects broadcast beacons (thus plurality of networks) which include the network provider SSID. Thus a plurality of networks are detected. Per paragraph 56, information about each network (this a second network) is retrieved. The information can include the network's SSID…identity certificates); and based on determining the second wireless network certificate is not valid: prohibiting a connection with the second wireless network; or displaying a warning for the second wireless network (paragraph 23 disclose the client characterizes the network based on whether the network attributes match expected attributes. The client can characterize the network as a trusted network, untrusted network, or other network type. If the attributes do not match, the client 106 may characterize the network provider 104 as an untrusted or semi-trusted network. After characterizing a network, the client 106 can preclude connections to untrusted networks).
As to claim 8, Nelson teaches method for automatically connecting to a wireless network (abstract and paragraph 17 disclose method for detecting a network via a connection management system. The system detects networks and characterizes detected networks as trusted, untrusted, or semi-trusted networks. The system leverage network connection and/or authentication information for determining whether a network is trusted, untrusted, or semi-trusted), the method comprising:
obtaining a wireless network certificate associated with the wireless network (paragraph 56 discloses information about the network is retrieved. The information can include the network's SSID…identity certificates);
evaluating a chain of trust of the wireless network certificate, wherein the wireless network certificate includes a common name that corresponds to a network name of the wireless network (paragraphs 57-58 disclose the network information is verified by interacting with the network provider. Paragraph 76 discloses the authenticity of the available network may be confirmed by leveraging the Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) certificate information presented in both https-based and tunneled 802.1X AAA methods. The primary condition for absolutely determining a network provider is based on availability of an 802.1X EAP Service on the trusted central server 216 with a valid Certification Authority on a known SSID "hint" or a combination of SSID (public name), IP and valid https responses. Paragraph 51 discloses a determination is made about whether the network information store contains information matching the network-supplied information[which includes the SSID and the identity certificate]. Paragraph 97 discloses Home Authentication Servers provisioned to recognize an "IPASS/" formatted NAI TTLS request will respond in the same manner as an aggregator AAA server and present a server-side certificate for validation by the client . The certificate may carry vendor-specific signing information or the trusted central server may verify the content of any field (like the Common Name) presented in the certificate or trusted central server may simply rely on the presence of the proper Root Certification Authority that the enterprise has provisioned and distributed to the client); and
automatically establishing a connection with the wireless network in response to identifying a trusted node of the wireless network certificate (paragraph 60 discloses that once the client system perform the steps of matching the information, the system establish a connection with a network provider. Paragraph 74 discloses any unrecognized network should be characterized fully prior to displaying it as available to the user for network selection. Paragraph 23 discloses after characterizing a network, the client connects with trusted networks in response to the network attribute matches the expected attributes).
As to claim 9, Nelson teaches wherein: a root node of the chain of trust corresponds to a trusted root certificate authority (paragraph 96 reveals the server-side certificate (the server is the root node) is validated against the appropriate Certification Root Authority Certificate residing within the client, which can absolutely validate the authenticity and availability of services on the network. Paragraph 97 also disclose an enterprise/root node provisioned the proper Root Certification Authority); and the trusted node is a different node than the root node in the chain of trust (paragraph 97 discloses Home Authentication Servers provisioned to recognize an "IPASS/" formatted NAI TTLS request will respond in the same manner as an aggregator AAA server and present a server-side certificate for validation by the client. The certificate may carry vendor-specific signing information or the trusted central server may verify the content of any field (like the Common Name) presented in the certificate or trusted central server may simply rely on the presence of the proper Root Certification Authority that the enterprise has provisioned and distributed to the client. Thus the trusted central server/node is different than the enterprise/root node that provisioned the root certification authority).
As to claim 10, Nelson teaches wherein obtaining the wireless network certificate comprises: initiating a handshake with the first wireless network; and receiving, as a response of the handshake, the wireless network certificate (paragraph 96 discloses networks which respond to both an EAPOL-Start and subsequent 802.1X TTLS Request formatted with a known aggregation identifier (e.g., "iPASS/") will attempt to negotiate a TLS certificate to complete phase 1 of the TTLS request. Completing the SSL handshake and validating the received server-side certificate against the appropriate Certification Root Authority Certificate residing within the client 202 can absolutely validate the authenticity and availability of services on the network).
As to claim 11, Nelson teaches wherein the common name is an exact
match for the first network name of the wireless network (paragraph 51 discloses a determination is made about whether the network information store contains information matching the network-supplied information[which includes the SSID and the identity certificate]; paragraph 97 discloses Home Authentication Servers provisioned to recognize an "IPASS/" formatted NAI TTLS request will respond in the same manner as an aggregator AAA server and present a server-side certificate for validation by the client 202. The certificate may carry vendor-specific signing information or the trusted central server 216 may verify the content of any field (like the Common Name) presented in the certificate or trusted central server may simply rely on the presence of the proper Root Certification Authority that the enterprise has provisioned and distributed to the client).
As to claim 12, Nelson teaches wherein the trusted node is defined as at least one of: a user preference; or as part of a provisioning profile (paragraph 97 discloses the trusted central server may simply rely on the presence of the proper Root Certification Authority that the enterprise has provisioned and distributed to the client. Thus the trusted central server relies on the provisioned Root Certification Authority file).
As to claim 13, Nelson teaches wherein the chain of trust includes a node associated with an establishment (paragraph 76 discloses the authenticity of the available network may be confirmed by leveraging the Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) certificate information presented in both https-based and tunneled 802.1X AAA methods. The primary condition for absolutely determining a network provider is based on availability of an 802.1X EAP Service on the trusted central server (thus node associated with an establishment) with a valid Certification Authority on a known SSID "hint" or a combination of SSID (public name), IP and valid https responses), thereby validating an association between the wireless network and the establishment (paragraph 76 discloses the authenticity of the available network may be confirmed by leveraging the Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) certificate information presented in both https-based and tunneled 802.1X AAA methods. The primary condition for absolutely determining a network provider is based on availability of an 802.1X EAP Service on the trusted central server (thus node associated with an establishment) with a valid Certification Authority on a known SSID "hint" or a combination of SSID (public name), IP and valid https responses).
As to claim 14, Nelson teaches method for verifying an identity of one or more wireless networks (abstract and paragraph 17 disclose method for detecting a network via a connection management system. The system detects networks and characterizes detected networks as trusted, untrusted, or semi-trusted networks. The system leverage network connection and/or authentication information for determining whether a network is trusted, untrusted, or semi-trusted) the method comprising:
detecting the one or more wireless networks (paragraph 41 discloses detecting an available network. The detection unit detects broadcast beacons (thus plurality of networks) which include the network provider SSID);
obtaining a wireless network certificate associated with a first wireless network of the one or more wireless networks (paragraph 56 discloses information about the network is retrieved. The information can include the network's SSID…identity certificates);
evaluating a chain of trust of the wireless network certificate to validate the wireless network certificate, wherein the wireless network certificate includes a common name that corresponds to a network name of the first wireless network (paragraph 97 discloses Home Authentication Servers provisioned to recognize an "IPASS/" formatted NAI TTLS request will respond in the same manner as an aggregator AAA server and present a server-side certificate for validation by the client 202. The certificate may carry vendor-specific signing information or the trusted central server 216 may verify the content of any field (like the Common Name) presented in the certificate or trusted central server may simply rely on the presence of the proper Root Certification Authority that the enterprise has provisioned and distributed to the client. Paragraphs 57-58 discloses the network information is verified by interacting with the network provider. Paragraph 76 discloses the authenticity of the available network may be confirmed by leveraging the Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) certificate information presented in both https-based and tunneled 802.1X AAA methods. The primary condition for absolutely determining a network provider is based on availability of an 802.1X EAP Service on the trusted central server 216 with a valid Certification Authority on a known SSID "hint" or a combination of SSID (public name), IP and valid https responses. Paragraph 51 discloses a determination is made about whether the network information store contains information matching the network-supplied information[which includes the SSID and the identity certificate]);
displaying a wireless network list comprising the one or more wireless networks, wherein the first wireless network is displayed in association with a certificate indicator based on validating the wireless network certificate (paragraph 43 discloses based on the characterization/validation step 504 which is presented in greater detail in Figures 6 and 7, a preliminary network indicator is displayed. The display unit presents an indication of the available network and its classification in a graphical user interface. The display unit displays trusted networks, while according to other policies, the display unit 308 may display all networks); and
in response to a user selection of the first wireless network from the wireless network list, establishing a connection with the first wireless network (paragraph 60 disclose that once the client system perform the steps of matching the information, the system establish a connection with a network provider. Paragraph 74 discloses any unrecognized network should be characterized fully prior to displaying it as available to the user for network selection).
As to claim 15, Nelson teaches wherein: the chain of trust includes a node associated with an establishment (paragraph 76 discloses the authenticity of the available network may be confirmed by leveraging the Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) certificate information presented in both https-based and tunneled 802.1X AAA methods. The primary condition for absolutely determining a network provider is based on availability of an 802.1X EAP Service on the trusted central server (thus node associated with an establishment) with a valid Certification Authority on a known SSID "hint" or a combination of SSID (public name), IP and valid https responses); and validating the wireless network certificate thereby validates an association between the first wireless network and the establishment (paragraphs 57-58 disclose the network information [of the first detected network] is verified by interacting with the network provider. Paragraph 76 discloses the authenticity of the available network may be confirmed by leveraging the Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) certificate information presented in both https-based and tunneled 802.1X AAA methods. The primary condition for absolutely determining a network provider is based on availability of an 802.1X EAP Service on the trusted central server (thus node associated with an establishment) with a valid Certification Authority on a known SSID "hint" or a combination of SSID (public name), IP and valid https responses. Paragraph 51 discloses a determination is made about whether the network information store contains information matching the network-supplied information[which includes the SSID and the identity certificate]).
As to claim 16, Nelson teaches wherein: the node associated with the establishment corresponds to an intermediate establishment certificate (paragraph 76 discloses the authenticity of the available network may be confirmed by leveraging the Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) certificate information presented in both https-based and tunneled 802.1X AAA methods. The primary condition for absolutely determining a network provider is based on availability of an 802.1X EAP Service on the trusted central server (thus node associated with an establishment) with a valid Certification Authority on a known SSID "hint" or a combination of SSID (public name), IP and valid https responses); and the chain of trust further includes an intermediate regional certificate signed by the intermediate establishment certificate (paragraph 76 discloses the authenticity of the available network may be confirmed by leveraging the Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) certificate information presented in both https-based and tunneled 802.1X AAA methods. The primary condition for absolutely determining a network provider is based on availability of an 802.1X EAP Service on the trusted central server (thus node associated with an establishment) with a valid Certification Authority on a known SSID "hint" or a combination of SSID (public name), IP and valid https responses).
As to claim 17, Nelson teaches wherein obtaining the wireless network
certificate comprises: initiating a handshake with the first wireless network; and receiving, as a response of the handshake, the wireless network certificate (paragraph 96 discloses networks which respond to both an EAPOL-Start and subsequent 802.1X TTLS Request formatted with a known aggregation identifier (e.g., "iPASS/") will attempt to negotiate a TLS certificate to complete phase 1 of the TTLS request. Completing the SSL handshake and validating the received server-side certificate against the appropriate Certification Root Authority Certificate residing within the client 202 can absolutely validate the authenticity and availability of services on the network).
As to claim 19, Nelson teaches wherein the common name is an exact
match for the first network name of the wireless network (paragraph 51 discloses a determination is made about whether the network information store contains information matching the network-supplied information[which includes the SSID and the identity certificate]; paragraph 97 discloses Home Authentication Servers provisioned to recognize an "IPASS/" formatted NAI TTLS request will respond in the same manner as an aggregator AAA server and present a server-side certificate for validation by the client 202. The certificate may carry vendor-specific signing information or the trusted central server 216 may verify the content of any field (like the Common Name) presented in the certificate or trusted central server may simply rely on the presence of the proper Root Certification Authority that the enterprise has provisioned and distributed to the client).
As to claim 20, Nelson teaches wherein: the wireless network is a first wireless network; the wireless network certificate is a first wireless network certificate; and the method further comprises: obtaining a second wireless network certificate associated with second wireless network of the one or more wireless networks (paragraph 41 discloses detecting an available network. The detection unit detects broadcast beacons (thus plurality of networks) which include the network provider SSID. Thus a plurality of networks are detected. Per paragraph 56, information about each network (this a second network) is retrieved. The information can include the network's SSID…identity certificates); and based on determining the second wireless network certificate is not valid: prohibiting a connection with the second wireless network; or displaying a warning for the second wireless network (paragraph 23 disclose the client characterizes the network based on whether the network attributes match expected attributes. The client can characterize the network as a trusted network, untrusted network, or other network type. If the attributes do not match, the client 106 may characterize the network provider 104 as an untrusted or semi-trusted network. After characterizing a network, the client 106 can preclude connections to untrusted networks).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al US 20070073868 (hereinafter Nelson) in view of Jonker et al US 7483984 (hereinafter Jonker).
As to claim 21, Nelson teaches all the limitations presented in claim 1 above. Nelson does not teach, yet Jonker teaches wherein the first wireless network is displayed in further association an encryption indicator, thereby indicating the first wireless network is both validated according to the wireless network certificate and encrypted (column 2, lines 63+ discloses the access client displays an encryption indicator in association with the carrier network's identifier. Column 9, lines 31-34 and Figure 15 discloses a carrier network locked/unlocked column 1608 includes a graphic indicating whether or not the carrier network is protected by security measures such as encryption).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display in Nelson’s system with Jonker’s teachings of displaying an encryption indicator such that the user is alerted on whether or not the carrier network is protected by security measures such as encryption (column 9, lines 31-34 of Jonker).
As to claim 22, Nelson teaches all the limitations presented in claim 14 above. Nelson does not teach, yet Jonker teaches wherein the first wireless network is displayed in further association an encryption indicator, thereby indicating the first wireless network is both validated according to the wireless network certificate and encrypted (column 2, lines 63+ discloses the access client displays an encryption indicator in association with the carrier network's identifier. Column 9, lines 31-34 and Figure 15 discloses a carrier network locked/unlocked column 1608 includes a graphic indicating whether or not the carrier network is protected by security measures such as encryption).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display in Nelson’s method with Jonker’s teachings of displaying an encryption indicator such that the user is alerted on whether or not the carrier network is protected by security measures such as encryption (column 9, lines 31-34 of Jonker).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Wyatt et al US 20170346853 (hereinafter Wyatt).
Wyatt discloses evaluating a chain of trust of the wireless network certificate to validate the wireless network certificate, wherein the wireless network certificate (paragraphs 72 and 115) as disclosed in claims 1 and 14.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2437
/BENJAMIN E LANIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437